Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork City Marathon 01/06/2015

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭viperlogic

Full Marathon
    Bib No.|Username|PB|Goal|Result
    245|Murph_D|3:36:17|3:27:59|
    355|Echancrure|3:09:30|2:59:58|
    931|jamesbere|first timer|3:45:00|
    |run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|
    633|Ecoenergy|3:29:26|3:14:59|
    57|hot buttered scones| first timer|3:59:59|
    495|dintbo|3:53:47|3:29:59|
    935|PaulieYifter|2:58:06|2:59:30|
    376|quinlivan|3:51:01|3:54:59|

Half Marathon
    |viperlogic|1:23:33|1:22:59|1:22:55
    |unirunner2|1:31:01|1:29:59|
    |annapr|2:01:37|1:59:59|
    |raddo|1:52:14|1:49:59|
    |averagejoe123|1:37:20|1:29:59|
    |paulers06|1:49:26|1:47:59|
    |sixpack's little hat|1:22:26|1:19:59|
    |Fieldsman||2:10:xx|

Delighted that I PB'd, 1:22:55 for 29th place. Was hard work, that wind was cruel thou.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

yaboya1 wrote: »
    A successful dual raid on the PRC :D

Now hopefully they will have enough left to help you out with your beer mile training in the afternoon ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

Well done all! Was clapping from the sidelines....wrapped in a coat!
    Fair play to you all!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

menoscemo wrote: »
    Weather doesn't appear to have affected them too much

Weather was better than expected after some scary forecasts. However, after 12 o'clock it got progressively worse, so the slower end of the field might have a different story to tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Yester

Does anyone know where they give out the prizes?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

930|run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|2:58:13

Half Marathon

Delighted with how things went today. I thought initially I was going out too fast ahead of the 3hr pacers but when they picked us up at mile 19 I tucked in with a nice gang of us and we all worked together.

Unreal support today and unreal work-rate from all, big thanks to Paul Duggan and Denis Lyons the 3 hour pacers for the second half who got us home..couldn't have done it without them.

It was good to meet Echancrure at mile 15 too who also formed that hard working pack all the way to the finish.

Weather was better than expected after some scary forecasts. However, after 12 o'clock it got progressively worse, so the slower end of the field might have a different story to tell.

very true. I was very happy with the weather at 9am. However the heavy shower at mile 3 was a warning of things to come.
    The wind at Blackrock wasn't too bad. I struggled with the wind a bit at the Lee Rowing Club and again as we hit the South Link and on up Tramore Rd, things were getting tough then.

On the Park & Ride later on my heart went out to those still out there on the South Link in that rotten weather and they have so much more to go from there. It really is a tough tough event for the so called 'fun' runners as Jerry Kiernan would put it, nothing fun about it today.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

viperlogic wrote: »
    Full Marathon
    |run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|

Half Marathon

Delighted that I PB'd, 1:22:55 for 29th place. Was hard work, that wind was cruel thou.

I am guessing we were pretty close for the last little stretch if we crossed the finish line around the same time. Well done on today. That;s a great time.

well done Echancrure, you smashed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭viperlogic

I am guessing we were pretty close for the last little stretch if we crossed the finish line around the same time. Well done on today. That;s a great time.

You the red singlet I had a chat with at mile 2 and then you caught me at bridge around mile 12?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

57|hot buttered scones| first timer|3:59:59|3:49:27

Half Marathon

I've entered the chip time. The gun time was a minute more. Delighted and exhausted. Ran the 2nd half 7 minutes faster than the first. Fantastic experience and great crowds. Hearing my name being called gave me a great lift

wow, that's some going with those strong negative splits on a rotten day like today, well done.
    The name on the bib is a great idea, I was always a bit cynical about it but jesus at mile 23 to hear people shouting your name is a massive boost :D

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭isitraining

wow, that's some going with those strong negative splits on a rotten day like today, well done.
    The name on the bib is a great idea, I was always a bit cynical about it but jesus at mile 23 to hear people shouting your name is a massive boost :D

Who knew hearing your own name would be so important? Crossing over the bridge on the way onto Patrick street and hearing people cheering you on. This must be what the Olympics feels like! :)

Think that weather was better than doing it in 20+ degree heat. Super support. Well done Cork!

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Half Marathon
    |paulers06|1:49:26|1:47:59|1:47:49|

great day. Thought it was really well organised. The Garda and the crowd were great, really good support. I'll be back next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Think that weather was better than doing it in 20+ degree heat. Super support. Well done Cork!

Absolutely, got sunburned at the beginning of Limerick and struggled the whole way. Would take the rain any day

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Did the half at about 2:07 ..10mins slower than my PB but happy out as training was next to nothing due to a hectic May.

Thanks to all the supporters who braved the elements especially those with jelly babies in tow:) Weather was tough but definitely preferred it to the heat that was there last year ! Hope everyone enjoyed it , delighted to be warm and dry with the feet up now..

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

Great race today. Support was fantastic especially considering the rain at some states. I found the last 4 miles very tough and bled a bit of time so a chip time of 3.32.48 means I didn't quite hit my target but very happy with a sizeable eniugh pb!

Well done cork, I'll definitely do this again!

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

495|dintbo|3:53:47|3:29:59|3:32:48

Half Marathon

Almost forgot!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 BobDylan

Big thank you to the 2:15 half pacers. Their encouragement got my buddy and myself over the line at 2:14 : xx Delighted😄.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

4:31, delighted to finish but I was in agony for the last few miles. First marathon done,bring on the one.

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭echancrure

BOOM!
    sub 3 :)
    pb :D

Come on!!!!!

355|Echancrure|3:09:30|2:59:58|2:59:17

Half Marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭averagejoe123

Half Marathon
    |averagejoe123|1:37:20|1:29:59|1.28.40

That was rough but I'm delighted with the run. Big thanks to the 1.30 pacers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

echancrure wrote: »
    BOOM!

Come on!!!!!

Half Marathon

Congratulations fella on a lovely time. The fact that your previous pb is almost identical to mine and that your new one is almost identical to where I want to be means I was keeping an eye out for your result. Don't forget to write up a report.

Some great goals hit there all round by people.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

245|Murph_D|3:36:17|3:27:59|3:29:16

Half Marathon

Would have liked to have run a minute and a half faster but was hanging on for dear life with the 3:30 pacers in the end so kudos to them for a great job in difficult, changing conditions. The wind was less of a problem than feared but I would have definitely dropped more time in the last 4 miles without them.

Pacers FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

245|Murph_D|3:36:17|3:27:59|3:29:16

Half Marathon
    |averagejoe123|1:37:20|1:29:59|1:28:40

Fixing the table.

Well done all! Some great running out there today. Enjoy the celebrations

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

echancrure wrote: »
    BOOM!

Come on!!!!!

Half Marathon

Absolutely brilliant result echancrure! You must have had some feeling crossing the line with the sub 3 in the bag. Congratulations!

Itziger wrote: »
    Congratulations fella on a lovely time. The fact that your previous pb is almost identical to mine and that your new one is almost identical to where I want to be means I was keeping an eye out for your result. Don't forget to write up a report.

Some great goals hit there all round by people.

Thanks Paul,
    you did amazing too, you took the wind for me: I used you (and many others) a lot, as much as I could, and didn't give much back!!

Enjoying Champagne in Carlow with my better half who did her first half marathon today. Happy couple!!

Report to follow!

THANK YOU CORK!!!!

Bahanaman wrote: »
    Absolutely brilliant result echancrure! You must have had some feeling crossing the line with the sub 3 in the bag. Congratulations!

Thank Bahanaman.

I even felt good after finishing: not in a heap like in Connemara 7 weeks ago.

Thrilled!!

Looking forward to read all about your own race after the summer Bahanaman!! Keep it up!

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

3.17.24 Missed the target of 3.15 but delighted with the PB of 12mins over Dublin last October. Lost the pacers with 4 to go and struggled at the end but happy that I kept running despite the temptation to walk on the straight road. The journey from the finish line to city hall was horrific and I couldn't stop shaking when I got there but a hot coffe and a few pints and I felt great. I must update the table when I'm back on the PC cause I'm having trouble doing it on the phone. Well done everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Half Marathon

Delighted with how things went today. I thought initially I was going out too fast ahead of the 3hr pacers but when they picked us up at mile 19 I tucked in with a nice gang of us and we all worked together.

Unreal support today and unreal work-rate from all, big thanks to Paul Duggan and Denis Lyons the 3 hour pacers for the second half who got us home..couldn't have done it without them.

It was good to meet Echancrure at mile 15 too who also formed that hard working pack all the way to the finish.

Well done chief - I was wondering which one of the Barrs you were. I was surprised you guys stayed on pace when we came up behind you. Myself and Echancrure let you off the leash on the Model Farm Road but the 2 of us and another lad worked together to stay on sub 3 pace. Echancrure was a happy man at the finish and I'm sure you were too. 2 years ago I was on my own with the sub 3 pacer from 18 miles on but it was great to have such a big group today.

Conditions weren't great but fair played to all the support.

My 4th Cork marathon and it's my favourite after Boston.