Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork City Marathon 01/06/2015

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

echancrure wrote: »
    Thanks Paul,
    you did amazing too, you took the wind for me: I used you (and many others) a lot, as much as I could, and didn't give much back!!

Enjoying Champagne in Carlow with my better half who did her first half marathon today. Happy couple!!

Report to follow!

THANK YOU CORK!!!!

Hey - very well done today - you kept me going too - but I'm not the Iziger fella ;)

Bib No.|Username|PB|Goal|Result
    245|Murph_D|3:36:17|3:27:59|3:29:16
    355|Echancrure|3:09:30|2:59:58|2:59:17
    931|jamesbere|first timer|3:45:00|
    930|run_Forrest_run|3:03:31|2:59:59|2:58:13
    633|Ecoenergy|3:29:26|3:14:59|
    57|hot buttered scones| first timer|3:59:59|3:49:27
    495|dintbo|3:53:47|3:29:59|3:32:48
    935|PaulieYifter|2:58:06|2:59:30|2:59:20|
    376|quinlivan|3:51:01|3:54:59|

Half Marathon
    |viperlogic|1:23:33|1:22:59|1:22:55
    |unirunner2|1:31:01|1:29:59|
    |annapr|2:01:37|1:59:59|
    |raddo|1:52:14|1:49:59|
    |averagejoe123|1:37:20|1:29:59|1:28:40
    |paulers06|1:49:26|1:47:59|1:47:49|
    |sixpack's little hat|1:22:26|1:19:59|
    |Fieldsman||2:10:xx|

I'm no sandbagger: :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Thanks Paul,
    you did amazing too, you took the wind for me: I used you (and many others) a lot, as much as I could, and didn't give much back!!

Enjoying Champagne in Carlow with my better half who did her first half marathon today. Happy couple!!

Report to follow!

THANK YOU CORK!!!!

I wish mate!!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭mush500

Aiming for sub 4 and came in 3.57- delighted! Stayed with pacers for 15M and thanks lads if you're reading it- didn't mean to head off so early and didn't get to say thanks!

Rough conditions but great support and organisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Airtel31

At start with the incoming weather I was happy to finish but with a PB of 4.26 I stuck with the 4hr pacers lost at 14 mile the 4.15 at 22 miles managed to get in 4.20.08 I was delighted with myself
    On another note I was so proud of my city today I live in Dublin and this my 3rd marathon to come home and get that reception in that weather was simply outstanding the names on the bibs is definitely the way to go, the only issue was traffic at the maradyke but otherwise it was brilliant, the jellies and the oranges were great Rebels ABU

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Thank Bahanaman.

I even felt good after finishing: not in a heap like in Connemara 7 weeks ago.

Thrilled!!

Looking forward to read all about your own race after the summer Bahanaman!! Keep it up!

Ha ha! Hopefully Frankfurt will be as good to me as Cork was to you! Enjoy the bubbly! Well deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭echancrure

Hey - very well done today - you kept me going too - but I'm not the Iziger fella ;)

Hey!!!
    I am even surprised to be still up at this time with half a bottle of champagne and a full bottle of wine! (not recommended, tut tut...)

Sorry for the confusion! Thanks Paul!

Same for Forest. I know he had many encouraging words for me when the 3 hours pacers caught up with me (finally :rolleyes:) but I still don't know what he looks like!!!!

Listen...
    congrats to every one.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭unirunner2

Half Marathon
    |unirunner2|1:31:01|1:29:59|1:32:04
    |raddo|1:52:14|1:49:59|

Hi

Was caught out a small bit at the start as i couldn't find the 1:30 pacers, then the balloon popped up near the start time and i misjudged where they were, which was my own fault, i wasn't too bothered by it though as i was planning on a slower start, however i spent probably too much of the first few miles trying to reel them in, by the time i caught them in the moynihan road, i was ok, but when the link road came and the tough wind i let go.. i didn't have the extra bit to last at that pace with the rain and wind, i was happy with my time though, you win some you loose some and sometimes you just have to go with the plan that gets you to the finish in a good time. Well done to all , some great times their in very poor conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭raddo

Half Marathon
    |raddo|1:52:14|1:49:59|1:50:19

Finished just over my goal time, very happy though as I got a new PB!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Half Marathon
    |annapr|2:01:37|1:59:59|1:55:18
    |raddo|1:52:14|1:49:59|1:50:19

Absolutely delighted... except precision timing only has my 'gross' time (1:56:xx), above is my garmin time... happy either way, but I'm claiming the garmin time.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Anyone have any links to pics of the race? Not that anyone ever looks gorgeous in them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

paulers06 wrote: »
    Anyone have any links to pics of the race? Not that anyone ever looks gorgeous in them!

Try Peter Mooneys Flickr account, he was running yesterday and normally has an album of the races he does.

Edit: Scratch that, nothing on his page yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Alfie Tupper

loads of links on the cork running blog

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

great, I'll take a look. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Some of mine are here... just not completed yet !! A good few hundred more to be added yet so keep an eye out for them.

Hopefully have them all done by tonight - so long as nothing else goes wrong :(

Didn't get everything I wanted as my camera eventually just froze after getting a serious soaking and a few other things went 'thits up' as well. Murphy was out early yesterday enforcing the law !!

Well done to everyone yesterday, especially the 'slower' runners who got caught in the worst of the weather and also to all the stewards, volunteers, musicians and those manning the water stations who took a serious soaking in the name of fun !!! Shame about the weather but them's the breaks...

Photos Here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/sets/72157653863365645

• Registered Users Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Hey!!!

Same for Forest. I know he had many encouraging words for me when the 3 hours pacers caught up with me (finally :rolleyes:) but I still don't know what he looks like!!!!

here I am, front and centre #930 (Glenn). I can't for the life of me remember how to embed the image from flickr so I'll post the link to it instead.

https://flic.kr/p/tGaTSn

Photo Credit goes to Doug Minihane.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

here I am, front and centre #930 (Glenn). I can't for the life of me remember how to embed the image from flickr so I'll post the link to it instead.

How's it going Glenn. Was I talking to you in the physio tent afterwards. Glenn with 2 N's here as well.

Yes, I see now.
    Here is us with me tucked in behind Eoin. Credit Jonathan Kenneally.

https://flic.kr/p/tXRmG3

You two really led that group. Look like same shoes as mine by the way: Asics DS Racers

Ecoenergy wrote: »
    How's it going Glenn. Was I talking to you in the physio tent afterwards. Glenn with 2 N's here as well.

ah yes you were, jaysus tis a small world! How's the body today?

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

ah yes you were, jaysus tis a small world! How's the body today?

About 5 pints afterwards and I was a new man. Going downstairs is a bit of a problem today though. Roll on the next one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Yes, I see now.
    Here is us with me tucked in behind Eoin. Credit Jonathan Kenneally.

https://flic.kr/p/tXRmG3

You two really led that group. Look like same shoes as mine by the way: Asics DS Racers

https://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/18362394885/in/photostream/

Yes, I see now.

yep, I use the DS Racers, a great lightweight shoe with enough support for a marathon.

Some of mine are here... just not completed yet !! A good few hundred more to be added yet so keep an eye out for them.

Hopefully have them all done by tonight - so long as nothing else goes wrong :(

Didn't get everything I wanted as my camera eventually just froze after getting a serious soaking and a few other things went 'thits up' as well. Murphy was out early yesterday enforcing the law !!

Well done to everyone yesterday, especially the 'slower' runners who got caught in the worst of the weather and also to all the stewards, volunteers, musicians and those manning the water stations who took a serious soaking in the name of fun !!! Shame about the weather but them's the breaks...

Photos Here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/39020932@N05/sets/72157653863365645

Thanks for these - you always come up trumps at Cork!

Cork Marathon 01/06/2015

Preparation

I ran the Connemara marathon in April, 7 weeks before Cork, in a PB time of 3:09:30 beating my time by 5 minutes. I was happy with that, especially since I had finished antibiotics only 2 weeks before for a chest infection. The only thing was, I crossed the line in a heap and had very bad calves and toes cramps afterwards. I made two decisions after that. First I got salt tablets to help with the cramping (by the way, they cost a bomb, for what they are really, to order on the Internet). And second, really sprinting at the end of a marathon does not agree with me. So if I can avoid it, no more putting myself in the red at the end; it is simply not worth the 2 seconds gain.

Of course, I have to mention that I also had a DNF in Dublin last year trying to go sub 3 for the first time in what was my second marathon. Ended up in an ambulance at mile 21. I was stubborn and did not drink enough. My better half was none too pleased. I switched to P&D up to 55 miles training plan after that and promised to keep an eye on my hydration levels.

So Connemara was good to me. It is where I ran my first marathon last year, so it will always be a bit special for me. The course has a couple of challenging hills and I reckon they add about 6 minutes to my time compared with a ‘normal’ marathon.

With 7 weeks to prepare for Cork, after a week of full rest, I jumped immediately on the 8 weeks P&D plan for in-between marathons, skipping the first 2 weeks.

In my head 3:09:30 in Connemara minus 6 minutes due to the hills and losing 2kg from 71 to 69 would bring me under 3 in Cork.

As well following the P&D plan, I did 3 High Intensity Training sessions in the gym at work during those weeks, one of which was plyometrics, which I found were a great workout. Took my new salt tablets on my long runs to get used to them: found them quite hard to swallow at speed but manageable. Bought a new slim belt to carry my homemade gel and tablets as I had decided not to take my heavy duty, water carrying drink bottle, for the first time in a marathon.

Training was going well until at 2 and half weeks remaining I had to give up running totally for 6 days due to deadlines at work. Not ideal at all, but I really could not do otherwise. Restarted the training, ran Stoneyford’s 10k (39:26 which is not great, but then again there are a couple of drags on that course). Weight management terrible: only lost 0.5kg since Connemara...

2 weeks to go before Cork I ran more miles than the plan asked: I added the long run that I had missed during my 6 days off because of work commitments and also ran with my better half on her long run to help her prepare for her first half marathon also in Cork. As a result I did 70 miles that week...

One week to go and I really felt the effect of all that hard running the week before: Monday and Tuesday I slept at least 10 solid hours each night. I was wrecked. Only ran 2 recovery 5 milers in the last week while trying to ignore a little niggle in my left knee (early symptoms of re-emerging ITBS that I had last year?). Weight? 70kg: only 1kg lost instead of the planned 2...

Day Before Race

Weather watching had been a great pastime and the forecasts were predicting strong Southwest wind (I didn’t care much about the rain). Looking at the course, and mindful of what happened to me in Dublin, my plan was to go at an ambitious 6:40 pace for the first 6 miles (with most of the wind in my back hopefully) and then settle for 6:50 up to half way with a time of 1:28:30. At half way I would decide depending on how I felt, the wind etc. whether to carry on with a sub 3 or ease up and be happy with just a PB.

Going down to Cork on Sunday was nice and quick from Carlow on the motorway. Picked up our numbers in about 5 minutes and listened to the first talk to get us in the mood. I half toyed with the thought of using one of the 3 hour pace band that was available to help me stay on cue but in the end I thought that with the rain it would melt away so I stuck with my usual plan of doing mental arithmetic based on the miles signs and my stop watch. Gorgeous lunch at the Market Lane Restaurant for an incredible tenner.

We stayed in the Gresham Metropole which was a great location very close to the start. The only thing left was deciding on the kit. I went with a tee shirt rather than a singlet because I thought the wind chill would be bad and that I wouldn’t get too hot anyway. So with my Asics DS Racers, homemade gel and pre-race drink ready it was time to relax awaiting for the morning to come.

Race Day

I didn’t sleep too bad considering, probably managing 7 hours. Breakfast was a bit late at 7am for a 9am start so I didn’t take-in too much. Weather didn’t look too bad either. Pre-race nerves kept me busy on the loo (sorry) but nothing unusual in that. So everything was ready to go.

I made my way to the start, leaving the hotel at 8:30 wearing just a plastic disposable poncho. I sheltered in a bus stop and I didn’t feel too cold as the wind was still light at this stage. I met Paul (aka PaulieYifter on boards) who introduced himself to me with about 5 minutes to go on the start line. It was great to speak to him knowing he was going for a sub 3 also and that he had done it before. Paul would become an important part on my race in the second half. I knew Forest (aka board’s run_Forrest_run) was also going for sub 3 but there was simply way too many Finbarr’s singlets milking around to be able to identify him.

So off we went, I crossed the line about 10 seconds after the gun making sure to start my stopwatch as I did so. I felt good and it seems that I found the right pace straightaway. I didn’t find the start congested as in Dublin which is a great thing for me as I am not used to run in a group as I do all my training on my own. I am always afraid to bump into somebody and can’t really relax in a group. I didn’t see the first mile sign but by mile two I was about 5 seconds behind my 6:40 target. The 3 hours pacers started behind me (they seem to have stuck rigidly to the 3 hour sign on the side of the start line rather than being near the front). Paul was also behind me somewhere. I felt good and it was my strategy to go a bit fast anyway. Mile 3 (3 times 7 minus 1 minute: these calculation would keep me busy all race long, taking slightly longer as the race progressed) I was bang on time. Made sure to use the first drink station so as not to repeat my Dublin mishap.

I was running pretty much on my own or at least not in a group, and even with the wind slightly in our back, and in a pattern I would keep all day, I selfishly slipstreamed behind people whenever I could. Got great support at the first relay change. Took first my gel at mile 5 or so and my first salt tablet taken not long after without too much fumbling either. So, feeling nice and relaxed looking forward to the tunnel and ease up my pace a little after that to 6:50.

There was no singing for me or such like in the tunnel: that’s the disadvantage of not running with a group! One thing I didn’t want to happen was my mind to become clouded and close-in as it did in Dublin: I wanted to remain clear headed to be able to decide if sub 3 attempt was on at half way. Remaining hydrated was obviously a big part of that but also trying to make eye contact with the supporters as much as I could.

The section after the tunnel was more exposed and that’s where I started to feel the effect of the wind although I don’t think it was as bad as predicted. At mile 11 my tummy felt a bit queasy and crampy, nothing major, but I didn’t take my second gel as planned to give it a chance to recover. It lasted a couple miles and disappeared after the next drinking station so no worries. Maybe that was the effect of the late breakfast.

As planned my pace dropped a little and I reached half way point in 1:28:43 (according to Precision Timing afterwards) which is a 6:46 pace. Decision time then.

I honestly felt perfect at that stage with a clear mind so absolutely no reason why I could not carry on at a 6:50 pace for as long as I could. The next traffic light in my mind would be at mile 21 after the drag uphill on Model Farm Road: if I could reach that target on time then, given the descent afterwards, I would have a chance.

Adrenaline even made me give a big roar to the accordionist under the bridge in the park at 14 miles or so!

I tried to take a salt tablet after my gel before mile 15 but that’s when I discovered that they had started to disintegrate because of the rain / sweat mixture in my belt. Anyway managed to pop one into my mouth only for it to come out again after I thought I had swallowed it! Never mind. Reached for another but this time I could only feel a half exploded one between my fingers full of salts. I managed to keep that one down. But that was a lot of fiddling with my belt, I definitely need to find a better solution before the next race.

It is around mile 15 that a large group of about 10 runners led by Finbarr’s singlet wearers, including Forest, caught up with me. I imagine it included Forest because he recognised me and mentioned Boards. I asked them if they were the 3 pacers, but no, these were a little further back. I also asked them if they were aiming for 2:30! No came the reply, only 2:59! I hung on to them, slipstreaming as much as I could. It felt nice to run with that group. It is around that time that my mental arithmetic started to fail not helped by the fact that I kept missing the mile signs. That lasted for two or three miles.

Eventually I dropped back a little and got caught up by the 3 pacers at last! I don’t know how they kept their balloon in that wind! Must be like running with a fully open parachute in your back: amazing. I didn’t panic and once again hung on to them trying to relax. Took my third gel.

Later though I found myself at the back of that pacer group and that’s when I saw PaulieYifter again. I was delighted to be with him as I found the pacers a little too fast for me on Model Farm Road and I had no idea how fast we were going nor if I was on target or not. I thought that by sticking with Paul I would get under 3. A little in front I could see the pacers had caught with Forest’s group and merged. I stayed as much as I could behind Paul really milking it as I was suffering a little. I really used him a lot. Thanks for all the help! By the descent on mile 21 the pacer’s group was just 20 yards in front of us and that descent did me a world of good.

Eventually though it was me, PaulieYifter and another guy running on our own.

Worried about the sub 3 goal and with no means of knowing my pace I asked Paulie how we were for time. He either replied “We’re not f**king gonna make it” or the opposite: “We’re f**king gonna make it”. I don’t know which he said. It is also entirely possible that he didn’t use the f-word at all, but like in the case of that famous Bob Geldof's tirade for Live Aid: I heard it anyway.

But I was none the wiser about the sub 3. I felt ok though and I was reassured that my 2 companions kept checking their GPS watch at regular intervals. I relied on them for pace. I slipstreamed behind the third guy and felt good. The rain was heavier at that stage and with my glasses I couldn’t see much in front apart from his blue shorts and the little white fabric label jumping up and down inside it. That’s how close I was to him. I could only assume that Paul was right behind me somewhere.

Then at mile 23 mental arithmetic started to work again: 3 times 7 minus 30 seconds plus 1:30 for the 0.2 miles meant that we had 30 seconds in hand! Of course, that calculation took me a little while to get right: it passes the time.

My glutes were complaining at that time: getting tighter. But everything else felt ok and my breathing in particular was nice and regular. I just ignored everything else.

Missed mile 24 sign but still following those blue shorts...

Mile 25. Simple math: I was gonna be ok! But just at that time one supporter (or joker?) shouted what I thought was “Go on, only 3k to go!!” What the ??? No he’s wrong, I misheard him, no way! I am fine.

The guy I was following accelerated a little I did too, a little, just to be sure, but he quickly took 10 yards on me.

Never-mind, turn right onto the bridge. Wipe my mouth so that I don’t look like a slob on the finish photos for a change.

Run tall, enjoy. Finish strong without sprinting like a mad man as I promised myself. Speaker announcing more sub 3 runners: us! The finish. Punch the air. Big smiles. Perfect.

59:24 on my stopwatch: I did it... (official time 2:59:17)

Immediately afterwards I felt fantastic, much better than after Connemara and I was happy about that too. I straight-away congratulated and thanked blue shorts guy for the help in slipstreaming and for taking out the guess work out of pacing: his first name as printed on his number was ‘Trust’. I don’t know why I worried really!

Gave big thanks to Paul too and we chatted a little while on our way to the post race massage. I don’t think it would have worked for me without those 2 guys...

Post Race.

Enjoyed the massage from the two ladies (one for each leg! Thanks!) and made my way back (slowly) to the hotel to pick cup clothes for myself and my wife who was due to finish her first ever half. I felt bit cold naturally as I had nothing on me but my soaking running gears. Made it back on time to the finish line once again to see my wife finish in 2:06. Delighted for her as she only took running last year: some achievement!

The hotel was kind enough to allow us to use their pool after the race so we had the best recovery possible. I’d definitely use the Gresham Metropole again.

Overall, despite the conditions (which were not as bad as predicted, but then again you are more sheltered in a city than in the countryside or in the Connemara landscape) this was my best marathon experience. Support was great and everything felt good for me.

I need to invest in a better belt and a salt tablet dispensing system. I may even consider a GPS watch, eventually. But I still like my current ‘non-system’ of pace keeping: it makes me focus on my running form and keeps my mind busy!

Best advice? Trust your training!

The future? Holidays in Sicily in 3 weeks, then may be Achill in August and / or Galway bay in October.

Dublin? No thanks: it’s too busy for me...

Thanks to everyone. I am humbled.

Very well done indeed - that's a big chunk off the PB. Trust me I was working off you two just as much. I was pretty happy we were well on pace for sub 3 but at the time you asked me my quads were screaming at me so I was a bit concerned - what I actually replied with was 'I haven't a fuppin clue' :) I relaxed again once I got to the Mardyke Bridge because I know well how long it takes from there.

Nice report, nice to have met you and well done again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Cork athletics Flickr account - 1500+ Photos from Start area, Patrick's Bridge (1 Mile), & Christy Ring Bridge (1.75 & 3.5 Miles).

excellent report echancrure, Here's my tuppence worth:

mile 3 - first good soaking of the day. I also felt I was going a little too fast and that had me worried for later on. But since we lined up very close to the starting line by the time we saw the pacer balloons way back it was too late and we decided to use the pacers as a safety net...boy did it pay off :)

mile 7 (the tunnel) - (pop first gel). yikes, that's a steep hill. Bit of a head-wind then out of the tunnel until the slip road up for Mahon Point...the tunnel and that sharp pull up was the first sign of increased heart rate for the day..I was beginning to work at this point.

mile 7-11: we were in a nice group, the odd bit of banter (lead by my fellow Barr's mate, Eoin). All was OK we had the wind in our backs and I was tucked in nicely anyway.

mile 12-18: Pop second gel. This is where things changed. I suddenly found myself at the front of the pack with Eoin beside me. The wind was rolling in as we worked hard along the Blackrock walking route, head-wind as we passed the half way point. I remarked to Eoin "what just happened there, why are we at the front during the head-wind?" I tried to keep positive :D

Met echancrure at mile 15 along the Marina, had a brief info share and our group gained a fellow runner. As we turned right and headed over the South Ring via the footbridge I was glad to get a break from the wind again. The canopy of trees all the way to the Marina was nice..and I was on familiar training ground...I know this part like the back of my hand. Heading out onto the South Ring and up that sharp pull for Turner's Cross Eoin informed me we were losing time..I suppose I could have looked at my own Garmin but I was in denial..I didn't want to know :D
    As we headed up towards Tramore road I was feeling it and wanted someone to take the front.

Mile 19-Home
    I distinctly remember the moment that one of the lads behind me said "here are the pacers"...balls I said...we're done for now. When a group gains, you know more than likely you won't be able to stick with them..stress kicked in. This happened right on the corner of that big church at mile 19 (don't know the name of it), perhaps the man above was helping us out..

After a brief 'hello' from our pacers Denis and Paul we followed their instructions and tucked in as we powered on beyond the Lough.

The pacers were unreal for instructions on how to keep it relaxed, mind the breathing, on down-hill sections not to be silly and tear off etc. They even handled the water stops for us, allowing us to hold our lines as they passed the water between us.

I knew Model Farm rd. was the last of the up-hills, I'd been training on that road every Tuesday morning, finishing my 10 mile run up there at marathon pace for the past 7 weeks...no surprises, just keep following the men with the balloons.

The rest is a bit of a blur, the Straight rd was long (and to think it used to go out to the Ballincollig roundabout before coming back in...:eek:)).

The leaders of the half marathon were passing us and Paul reminded us that we were running a different race, leave them off.

We met more Barr's support crew, Ken, Martin and Connor. Martin was great, following on his bike but keeping a respectable distance for other runners but he was still there and his words of digging in or the last 2 miles really hit home.

The last 2 miles was something like a military operation, the pacers were really talking to us, engaging and telling us to hold it together.

Then the moment of realisation came on the bridge when Paul moved a bit to the left and said "right lads, go for it if ye want.." that was my time to pick it up for the last few hundred yards. As I powered on for a brief moment a shot of breathlessness hit me and I feared did I hammer it too hard, I felt like I was going to collapse...but then the finish line made itself visible (about time):D

2:58:13
    Hugs all round, raw emotion for those few moments.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great report echancrure, and of course a great run too, congratulations.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Fieldsman

Well done to everyone on Monday. I found the second mile in the half very congested going through that park. from there on it wasn't too bad and on the last 3 miles I felt strong and was passing loads of people so probably didn't work hard enough earlier on. Finished in 2 06 gun time maybe 2 04 chip. I enjoyed it except for the half hour wait in the hotel to get a hot shower and the long journey back to Galway.

2:58:13
    Hugs all round, raw emotion for those few moments.

Fantastic sub 3 PB Forrest! :eek:

Congrats! :cool:

Enjoy and see you around!