Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disc Harrow

• 20-02-2015 1:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭

Well lads new on here so be gentle!!!!

Have plans to start re-seeding ground at home as there has been none done for maybe 20 years, the plans is to do little and often and without having to plough if possible. We have a 95hp tractor with a set of front weights and my question is what size of a disc harrow would she be able to handle???
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If your not ploughing, whats the disk harrow for? One of those Einbroock (spelling?) thingies is what you need.
    They are pricey, however. You would buy a 3 or 4 furrow non spring loaded plough, and a set of disks for less.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If your not ploughing, whats the disk harrow for? One of those Einbroock (spelling?) thingies is what you need.
    They are pricey, however. You would buy a 3 or 4 furrow non spring loaded plough, and a set of disks for less.

Einbock tine harrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

If your not ploughing, whats the disk harrow for?.

We've often tilled with a disc harrow. You need to have a perfect kill on grass/ weeds and then burn it off. Plenty weight on the discs and off you go.

That's how most land is re seeded around here

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Would you need to keep the disks at a very shallow angle? Otherwise would you not just cut lots of ribbons of sod?
    Of course, up round us, the ploughing (downhill) also provides a welcome degree of drainage.......

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Would you need to keep the disks at a very shallow angle? Otherwise would you not just cut lots of ribbons of sod?
    Of course, up round us, the ploughing (downhill) also provides a welcome degree of drainage.......

I'd start with a few straight runs then angle then in. Had some very good results and some very bad. Got to a stage where depending on field soil type, quality of kill and weather, the tilling could take from a few days (5 or 6 passes) up to 3 weeks and the field full of scraws. Due to this unpredictability I went back to ploughing 2 years ago. At least you know exactly what you're dealing with.

P.S, pure disaster with old pasture that has tough root system.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

You'll pull a 10ft disk harrow with that tractor no problem.

Something like this, but bigger http://www.donedeal.ie/harrows-for-sale/mf-28-disc-harrow/6313860?offset=1

jimmy G M wrote: »

Something like this, but bigger http://www.donedeal.ie/harrows-for-sale/mf-28-disc-harrow/6313860?offset=1

Can't believe I'm gonna say this but the massey harrows ain't great. You want the old knverland harrows I think it is. Made of pure solid steel

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Was gonna give the ground two runs in opposite directions of a disc harrow and two runs of a power harrow (which my uncle has)

Would love an overseeder but unless you were going out for hire I couldn't justify the expense! I nearly fell over at the show in Punchestown when I was quoted €13k plus vat for one. I did see a grand chain harrow and seeder set up from Dh machinery but it was still close to 6k and my budget is definitely under €2k

Really don't wanna go down the ploughing route I think I brings up a lot of stones and I'm trying my best to avoid hardship!!

cheers was guessing that she'd handle an 8ft but a 10ft would be great I've seen plenty under my 2k budget on donedeal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Was gonna give the ground two runs in opposite directions of a disc harrow and two runs of a power harrow (which my uncle has)

Would love an overseeder but unless you were going out for hire I couldn't justify the expense! I nearly fell over at the show in Punchestown when I was quoted €13k plus vat for one. I did see a grand chain harrow and seeder set up from Dh machinery but it was still close to 6k and my budget is definitely under €2k

Really don't wanna go down the ploughing route I think I brings up a lot of stones and I'm trying my best to avoid hardship!!

Another option would be a rotovator. Did this a few years ago rather then ploughing and did a great job. Did 2 runs thien a run with a zig zag grass harrow, put the seed out with a spinner then another run with the zig zag and then rolled it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Theres disc harrows and theres disc harrows.for disc lea ground it has to be heavy and a good angle on it, alot of harrows are only suitable for ploughed ground.my one does about seven feet even that puts a nice pull on a 100hp tractor but I dont have flat land

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Reggie. wrote: »
    Can't believe I'm gonna say this but the massey harrows ain't great. You want the old knverland harrows I think it is. Made of pure solid steel

Bit light by the looks of them. Would probably do grand on ploughed ground.
    I picked up a Bamford 12ft back in the late 90s. Had been modified previously by fitting the linkage off a kverneland spring harrow. Handy for going uphill or if getting bogged as it allows the front to lift but the rear can still be in the ground.
    I fitted a levelling board behind it to level the ridges. 13ftx1ft plate with rail bolted on for weight. Was pulled by a Ford 6600 2wd for a spell but was underpowered. Now pulled by JD 6400 4WD 100hp. You need a bit of forward speed for good results with a disc harrow
    Replacement discs and bearings can be a problem as some shafts (like on mine )are square. Have to shift it with loader sometimes as some gaps here are less than 12ft.
    Wouldn't be a fan of using it for reddening bawn ground. Too time consuming and all those sods. Need a big Simba or similar for that. Serious weight to dig up the soil.

cheers was guessing that she'd handle an 8ft but a 10ft would be great I've seen plenty under my 2k budget on donedeal

Just make sure the discs are good. Should be around 12 to 14 inches wide and that the inner bearings are good as they can be hard to find

Wouldn't be a fan of using it for reddening bawn ground. Too time consuming and all those sods. Need a big Simba or similar for that. Serious weight to dig up the soil.

There's a lad with a big set of Dowdeswell discs but he's a nice bit away from us doubt he'd travel over just for 4/5 acres at a time! Hence why I was hoping to do it myself. I'm hoping to either undersow with Arable silage or put in a red clover silage.

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭ABlur

If land hasn't been tilled in an age you will need a heavy duty harrow to break the scraw. Had a guy with a mounted yoke and it was only bouncing along the surface making slits. Had to get a trailed disc Kvern or Simba and a 130 hp to drive it two runs of that €50 an acre to contractor well worth it. Power harrowed after mighty job.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Another option would be a rotovator. Did this a few years ago rather then ploughing and did a great job. Did 2 runs thien a run with a zig zag grass harrow, put the seed out with a spinner then another run with the zig zag and then rolled it.

did that exact thing last spring on a few acres, worked a treat, would highly recommend it, and you would pick up a good rotovator, small chain harrow and wagtail for under 2k I would think if you don't have them already.

Was that a spade type or a spiked rotovator?? I always thought rotovators were fierce slow??

Spike, but as it's a fairly shallow depth so wasn't too slow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

My contractor has a Lemken Rubin disc ,we done some rough mountain ground with it last year 2 runs then 2 runs power harrow made a great seedbed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Spike, but as it's a fairly shallow depth so wasn't too slow.

Cheers for that! Any idea what sort of horses you'd need for one of those??

A bit like that one all right. Use for tilling for years doing the beet, spuds and veg.

100 inch Howard, put new pins in it a few years ago so like new again. Old but running well.

Like this one http://www.donedeal.ie/rotovators-for-sale/sold/8480632?offset=30

Cheers for that! Any idea what sort of horses you'd need for one of those??

We run it with a 7610, but have also run it with a 7810, tw15, jd 3050 and 6400. 100hp does the job.