Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AF Forum Mock Draft 2015 interest list & Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Shaq Thompson went to the Browns

First the Colts steal a franchise from Baltimore and now they steal a pick from Cleveland :p

Sorry but you have to redo the pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

And there it is every single GM's worst nightmare when making draft picks - you select someone already picked! Had to happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Picks made and PM sent.

They were both fairly straight forward with the players on the board. Would have looked at corner for the Pack but didn't see anyone worth the pick at that point. I would be slightly concerned about taking Dawson as there are character issues there but he offers great value at this point and is going in to a very strong locker room.

For the Hawks I was considering Funchess at WR/TE or Lynden Trail along the D-Line but the recent changes at centre make that the main need for me. Grasu should be a very competent replacement for Unger and can pair up with Wilson for the next decade.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Shaq Thompson went to the Browns

First the Colts steal a franchise from Baltimore and now they steal a pick from Cleveland :p

Sorry but you have to redo the pick
    franglan wrote: »
    And there it is every single GM's worst nightmare when making draft picks - you select someone already picked! Had to happen...

Only just saw this now, I can change one of my picks if the Colts go Dawson or Grasu.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

franglan wrote: »

I was sure I'd do it. Had my picks typed up and had to open about 3 other webpages just to go through the list before publishing... I was still waiting for the reply and/or PM pointing it out!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭tripperman

I hope Ali isn't on the list, very sorry about that lads, don't know how I made that mistake, I prepared that yesterday, Ali was my 3rd choice for this round a little raw but a real talent if the right coach gets him, he does need more bulk on his frame but has the power and skill set required imo that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

tripperman wrote: »
    I hope Ali isn't on the list, very sorry about that lads, don't know how I made that mistake, I prepared that yesterday, Ali was my 3rd choice for this round a little raw but a real talent if the right coach gets him, he does need more bulk on his frame but has the power and skill set required imo that is

I was just going to select him for the Pats. Definitely think he could be one of the steals of the draft.

Raf32 wrote: »
    I was just going to select him for the Pats. Definitely think he could be one of the steals of the draft.

Ah so I'm not alone in his fan club, for me a little work his needed on him but he could be a starter by end of sesaon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

And the 64th and final pick of this years Boards.ie draft is........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Mr Irrelevant of the boards draft is Duke Johnson :pac:

Someone should tweet him the good news

We're done :D Only took me 67 pm's.

*sibs well earned pint*

I nominate Leslie91 to be commish next year!

What time next Thurs does the other less important draft start?

*sibs well earned pint*

Great stuff mike, not cracking on for round 3 no? We have a week and a half to kill here.

We can do I guess. Can't do 32 GM's though. Maybe 10 or so GMs and you make 3 picks in a row like last year

Right, sign up, I'm in

I won't limit it though, if you're interested you're in

in bold not because I'm a mod cos I'm not but people might notice and sign up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

*sibs well earned pint*

Jaysus no chance ;-)

Well done Mike.... you're a brave man to take this on year after year!.

Raf32 wrote: »
    Mr Irrelevant of the boards draft is Duke Johnson :pac:

He's a bloody good RB though. I've a feeling he might be a Charger round 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭The Bogman

I'd be up for a go at round 3 anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

The Bogman wrote: »
    I'd be up for a go at round 3 anyway

I'd be willing to give it a lash also

I'd be in for the 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Yeah I'd go for a third round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

My depth of college football doesn't go this deep, but I'll put in the research and go for a 3rd.

I wouldn't have enough knowledge of college football to be able to get the right players for 3 teams and to do it properly, but I'll keep eye out for the Chargers pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Aaaaand, we're done:

Team |Round 1 |Round 2
    Tampa Bay Buccaneers | Jameis Winston (QB) | Cedric Ogbuehi (OL)
    Tennessee Titans | Leonard Williams (DT) | DJ Humphries (OT)
    Jacksonville Jaguars | Brandon Scherff (OT) | Jay Ajayi (RB)
    Oakland Raiders | Amari Cooper (WR) | Arik Armstead (DT)
    Washington Redskins | Dante Fowler Jr. (Rusher) | Dorial Green-Beckham (WR)
    New York Jets | Marcus Mariota (QB) | Cody Prewitt (S)
    Chicago Bears | Randy Gregory (Rusher) | Eric Kendricks (LB)
    Atlanta Falcons | Vic Beasley (Rusher) | Ameer Abdullah (RB)
    New York Giants | Danny Shelton (DT) | Laken Tomlinson (OG)
    St Louis Rams | La'el Collins (OT) | Cameron Erving (C)
    Minnesota Vikings | Kevin White (WR) | Carl Davis (DT)
    Cleveland Browns | Shane Ray (Rusher) and DeVante Parker (WR) | Shaq Thompson (LB)
    New Orleans Saints | Alvin 'Bud' Dupree (Rusher) and Denzel Perryman (LB) | Breshad Perriman (WR)
    Miami Dolphins | Trae Waynes (CB) | AJ Cann (OG)
    San Francisco 49ers | Malcolm Brown (DT) | Jaelen Strong (WR)
    Houston Texans | Marcus Peters (CB) | Bernardrick McKinney (LB)
    San Diego Chargers | Melvin Gordon (RB) | Tre Jackson (OG)
    Kansas City Chiefs | Andrus Peat (OT) | Phillip Dorsett (WR)
    Philadelphia Eagles | Landon Collins (S) | Eric Rowe (CB)
    Cincinnati Bengals | Jordan Phillips (DT) | Jake Fischer (OT)
    Pittsburgh Steelers | Kevin Johnson (CB) | Demarious Randell (S)
    Detroit Lions | Ereck Flowers (OT) | Michaell Bennett (DT)
    Arizona Cardinals | Todd Gurley (RB) | Eli Harold (Rusher)
    Carolina Panthers | TJ Clemmings (OT) | Nelson Agholor (WR)
    Baltimore Ravens | Devin Smith (WR) | PJ Williams (CB)
    Dallas Cowboys | Jalen Collins (CB) | Quentin Rollins (CB)
    Denver Broncos | Owamagbe Odighizuwa (Rusher) | Clive Warford (TE)
    Indianapolis Colts | Eddie Goldman (DT) | Ali Marpet (OG)
    Green Bay Packers | Maxx Williams (TE) | Paul Dawson (ILB)
    Seattle Seahawks| N/A | Hroniss Grasu (C)
    New England Patriots | Byron Jones (CB) | Duke Johnson (RB)

I have to say that was very enjoyable and I learned a lot more about different players and teams which is always a positive. Great stuff everyone.

Big thanks to Mike for running it too, especially as it appeared to be much harder work than I'm sure he expected it to be when taking the reigns again :pac:

I'll throw my name into the hat for a 3rd round too, though I must say that I probably won't be able to make any picks on weekdays until after around 9pm. If that's okay, I'm in. :)

after the 3rd it could be worth having a thread where people give there opinion on the draft in an award style i.e.. best value player, most over drafted player etc

Mikemac
    The Bogman
    Raze them all
    HigginsJ
    United Irishman
    PaullyD
    Tripperman, I'd say few enough here would be college football experts. Just give it a go :)
    Heli
    phatkev
    Barney92
    Nasty crash
    DDC1990

Can we get a handful more GMs and we can kick off? If you sign up you'll be making 3 picks in a row. It worked last year and it'll work again.
    Paully D wrote: »
    Big thanks to Mike for running it too, especially as it appeared to be much harder work than I'm sure he expected it to be when taking the reigns again :pac:

In previous years we had 16 GMs sign up. This year we had about 38 involved

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Yeah well done Mike, tough job to get people committing.

As far round 3 happy to help from Friday evening onwards, packing the wife off to the in laws for a few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭phatkev

I'll take part in another round of picks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Barney92

I didn't go for the first two rounds this year due to exams, but they're over now so if you need someone for round 3 I'll give it a shot. Fair play to Mike for running it, it's been a very interesting read over the last few weeks.

Sure I'll give a go, let me know the teams and I'll start researching for them

I'll wait until I get home from work and if there are no more signups I'll give out picks tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

I'll wait until I get home from work and if there are no more signups I'll give out picks tonight.

Cheers Mikemac1 - enjoyed the 1st two rounds but can't take part in 3rd round sorry...

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

I'll continue to pick if there is space :D

I'll go as well.

Picks here lads. Any extra GM's that want to take the final picks are welcome or if we get none some GM's here can take them.

It's the same as last year that you make 3 picks in a row. It is expected that you add photos and jazz up the posts a bit, we can't have just text

Make full use of the list that was done in post 325 as doing something daft like drafting two QB's will result in ridicule. Wait! The Redskins did that a few years back, ok never mind :o

We don't have a whole lot of time so lets get cracking

Paully D pm'ed

65 Buccs - Paully D
    66 Titans - Paully D
    67 Jaguars - Paully D
    68 Raiders - HigginsJ
    69 Redskins - HigginsJ
    70 Jets - HigginsJ
    71 Bears - mikemac
    72 Rams - mikemac
    73 Falcons - mikemac
    74 Giants - DDC1990
    75 Saints - DDC1990
    76 Vikings - DDC1990
    77 Browns - Barney92
    78 Saints - Barney92
    79 49ers - Barney92
    80 Chiefs - United Irishman
    81 Bills - United Irishman
    82 Texans - United Irishman
    83 Chargers - tripperman
    84 Eagles - tripperman
    85 Bengals - tripperman
    86 Cardinals - helimachopter
    87 Steelers - helimachopter
    88 Lions - helimachopter
    89 Panthers - phatkev
    90 Ravens - phatkev
    91 Cowboys - phatkev
    92 Broncos - The Bogman
    93 Colts - The Bogman
    94 Packers - The Bogman
    95 Seahawks - TBC
    96 Patriots - TBC
    97 Chiefs - TBC
    98 Bengals - TBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Picks here lads. Any extra GM's that want to take the final picks are welcome or if we get none some GM's here can take them.

It's the same as last year that you make 3 picks in a row. It is expected that you add photos and jazz up the posts a bit, we can't have just text

Make full use of the list that was done in post 325 as doing something daft like drafting two QB's will result in ridicule. Wait! The Redskins did that a few years back, ok never mind :o

We don't have a whole lot of time so lets get cracking

Paully D pm'ed

65 Buccs - Paully D
    66 Titans - Paully D
    67 Jaguars - Paully D
    68 Raiders - HigginsJ
    69 Redskins - HigginsJ
    70 Jets - HigginsJ
    71 Bears - mikemac
    72 Rams - mikemac
    73 Falcons - mikemac
    74 Giants - DDC1990
    75 Saints - DDC1990
    76 Vikings - DDC1990
    77 Browns - Barney92
    78 Saints - Barney92
    79 49ers - Barney92
    80 Chiefs - United Irishman
    81 Bills - United Irishman
    82 Texans - United Irishman
    83 Chargers - tripperman
    84 Eagles - tripperman
    85 Bengals - tripperman
    86 Cardinals - helimachopter
    87 Steelers - helimachopter
    88 Lions - helimachopter
    89 Panthers - phatkev
    90 Ravens - phatkev
    91 Cowboys - phatkev
    92 Broncos - The Bogman
    93 Colts - The Bogman
    94 Packers - The Bogman
    95 Seahawks - TBC
    96 Patriots - TBC
    97 Chiefs - TBC
    98 Bengals - TBC

No, No, that's cool I wasn't one of the first people to sign up for this....That's cool I'ma be over here starting my own draft :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Picks made and PM sent to Higgins who is up next:

65) Buccaneers - Preston Smith (DE)
    66) Titans - Ronald Darby (CB)
    67) Jaguars - Lorenzo Mauldin (Rusher)

Any thoughts?

I felt Darby was excellent value at that spot and Mauldin, while probably there or thereabouts in terms of value due to the deep rusher class this year, seems to be a nice fit for the Jaguars in a position of huge need.

Any thoughts?

I felt Darby was excellent value at that spot and Mauldin, while probably there or thereabouts in terms of value due to the deep rusher class this year, seems to be a nice fit for the Jaguars in a position of huge need.

I'll stick mine up in the morning, one of my teams needs a pass rusher & glad you didn't take the guy I was eyeing up.

Pressure is on me to make a good pick for my own chargers Leslie Will run me if I pick a bust ðŸ႒, I tried editing ali marpet pick but didn't work out just shows the link when I'm copying and pasting could a mod tell me what I'm failing to do right I put in the brackets [as heli ] said did cut out a lot of text but no image just a link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Any thoughts?

Ronald Darby is a steal in the 3rd given I've seen some mocks have him in the first. One or two guys have him over PJ Williams - which is a moot point of course.

Picks made and PM sent, sorry for the mix up in order, had made the Skins, Jets and then Bears pick before realising what I was doing.

The Bears take a monster 6'6" 338lbs tackle and he will be moving to right guard. Beef up the run game which was 27th in rushing yards in 2014

Will have the Rams & Falcons picks up when the boss fecks off to their meeting ;)

The Bears take a monster 6'6" 338lbs tackle and he will be moving to right guard. Beef up the run game which was 27th in rushing yards in 2014

Will have the Rams & Falcons picks up when the boss fecks off to their meeting ;)

Was there any consideration given to Brett Hundley at this point?

None

Maybe he'll go late 3rd round to the Cardinals.

I'm no tape expert, I just watched a small bit but Gregg Cosell who watches tape all day long ripped him. I read other various reports on him. Seems a great guy, I listened to his interview on the Rich Eisen podcast but still that doesn't matter so much

I'm not drafting him for the Bears and my Rams and Falcons won't be taking him either

None

I'm no tape expert, I just watched a small bit but Gregg Cosell who watches tape all day long ripped him. I read other various reports on him. Seems a great guy, I listened to his interview on the Rich Eisen podcast but still that doesn't matter so much

I'm not drafting him for the Bears and my Rams and Falcons won't be taking him either

I think he is getting a bit hard done by as he was behind a sieve of an o-line, I would honestly take him at the top of the 2nd if I was the Bucs or Titans and draft Leonard Williams at the top of the 1st.

None

If the whole Rivers/Mariota BS dies down (which it should), then I can see the Bolts taking the likes of Hundley or Petty in 3rd/4th.

DDC1990 pm'ed

I'll fix up my posts when I get home this evening

The Rams don't have a lot of needs and they took a tackle and a center in this draft. Going by you can never have two many defensive backs I took a cornerback who can play free safety if needed

Falcons took a pass rusher and a running back so far. They need some defensive line help to support that pathetic pass rush. Grady Jarrett will help anchor the line and take up blockers creating opportunities for others

DDC1990 pm'ed

I'll fix up my posts when I get home this evening

The Rams don't have a lot of needs and they took a tackle and a center in this draft. Going by you can never have two many defensive backs I took a cornerback who can play free safety if needed

Falcons took a pass rusher and a running back so far. They need some defensive line help to support that pathetic pass rush. Grady Jarrett will help anchor the line and take up blockers creating opportunities for others

In work so I'll pick when I get home. Shouldn't be too long though.

Does anyone know what time the actual draft starts next Thurs?

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Does anyone know what time the actual draft starts next Thurs?

8PM Eastern I believe.

1AM here in oul sod (Friday).