Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Southampton v Southampton old boys (Liverpool) 22/02/15 KO 4.15pm SKY SPORTS1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

Lovren is septic lads, anxiogenic, he is a liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'd love to know why Can and Lovren are the wrong way round.

The ref and linos are not really keeping up with play. The weather is ****ing terrible for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    All at sea for that Elia chance. He's ****ing dreadful

He's been muck for years. Had a lot of promise when he first came on the scene, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Referee having a shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Good first half. Referee has been very poor. Wonder goal from Coutinho after 3 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jaysis let off for Liverpool there. Mig lucky he didn't handle it.

Actually he did, very lucky.

By the way, your initial view of the Sterling penalty was correct . It was in fact I who was engaging the privilege of wrongness, apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Lovren is just awful. He'll be sent off in this game if there's another half like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Blondie919

The ref must have been abused by Southampton fans on his way to the match. Or else he just doesn't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

SantryRed wrote: »
    Southampton getting robbed here. Referee giving them nothing.

Only the Allen one was robbery.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I though it hit his hand after it bounced off his face.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

NukaCola wrote: »
    First one was a peno and a sending off?
    Would have been ridiculous.

Can pulled him back, probably not enough for him to go down, but enough to impede him from a clear shot on goal. Which is a clear foul, inside the box, from the last man, to deny an obvious goal scoring chance.

Peno and red card.

we miss Sakho

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Southampton unlucky to be losing this.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

I'd love to know why Can and Lovren are the wrong way round.

I'd say it's because he trusts Can to play anywhere, but Lovren very much needs to be supported and get a more winnable match-up (ie. not up against Clyne.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Jaysus, getting battered here.

Lucky not to be 3 down and be down a man!

Midfield getting totally overrun, Allen/Lalana not good enough against a physical midfield.

Giving an awful amount away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

What a half of football...Liverpool well on top..unlucky not to have a peno too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Referee having a shocker.

He's brutal. Clear peno for pool and clear sending off for handling outside the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Dreadful officiating. 3 penalties and a sending off not given.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Well they have thrown Ashley Barnes to the wolves yesterday even though he played the ball before his follow through connected with Matic

you cant be serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Today shows how important Sakho is not only to the defence but to retaining possession in midfield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

F off Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Brilliant by Migs. I thought he had just redeemed himself, seems like he has transformed into Neuer now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

And Mignolet should have saw red there too.

Must be one of the biased refereeing performances I've ever seen.

Would love to see the Saints destroy them now in part 2 after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

Missing Sakho and Lucas big time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

The ref having an absolute howler here .. Southamption are going to be raging if the don't pick up something here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

jester77 wrote: »
    He's brutal. Clear peno for pool and clear sending off for handling outside the box.

In fairness to the ref he can't tell from his angle. Needs the linesman's help there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Colemania

Stating the obvious but Allen and Lovren are f***ing awful

quarryman wrote: »
    And Mignolet should have saw red their too.

Definately :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,949 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Just because fans shout for a penalty doesn't mean it's even a possible one. There was one proper shout for each team. Ref has been poor all round.

impossible to tell really! :p

2zfn2b4.jpg

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Lol at that first half. Kevin is our friend so far anyhow. Some strike by Coutinho though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Maybe it's just raining so hard that the ref can't see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,978 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Well he has been awful and its costing Southampton more than Liverpool clearly but he didn't give the penalty for the Sterling one either so it's unfair to say he is biased. He is just bloody horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Memnoch wrote: »
    Can pulled him back, probably not enough for him to go down, but enough to impede him from a clear shot on goal. Which is a clear foul, inside the box, from the last man, to deny an obvious goal scoring chance.

Peno and red card.

He put his hand on him, no pull happened at all :confused:

I've seen them given but its almost unbelievable, with the benefit of a replay that you actually think its a foul. Stupid even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

You focus on your team making the magic 40 points. The league wouldn't be the same without you

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,750 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I had to ragequit the match after the third clear penalty wasn't awarded. Looks like all I've missed is a few more poor calls from Friend. Shame, match itself was decent enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I think the ref is doing ok. Maybe sterling should have had a pen but them things swing in roundabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

For all the stick he's getting, of the big decisions really only the Allen penalty was a poor call.

For Mignolet, it's right on the edge of the box and if anyone is going to spot it it's the linesman.

The Djurdevic penalty call was a complete dive and the tackle on Sterling was excellent.

Again with the Allen one, the linesman needs to be calling that if the ref doesn't.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

You drunk on this wet Sunday afternoon mate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

There we go chest 1st so would have been a harsh call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I don't know how any objective fan could think Southampton were robbed that half.

Can on Djurcic - no pen.
    Allen challenge - pen.
    Sterling shout - 50/50 whether it's a penalty or not.
    Handball in Liverpool box - no pen.
    Mig block - on the line, also hit his chest then hand, would've been extremely harsh indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

impossible to tell really! :p

2zfn2b4.jpg

Maybe this angle

Lemonheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Get Moreno on for Markovic, Clyne is running rampage down our left.

Maybe this angle

It hit his chest and then his arm.

Not a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Unsurprisingly Henry sees no issue with the handball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

NukaCola wrote: »
    He put his hand on him, no pull happened at all :confused:

I've seen them given but its almost unbelievable, with the benefit of a replay that you actually think its a foul. Stupid even.

No need to be uncivil. The hand on the shoulder is enough to slow him down and affect his shot. From behind, no attempt to play the ball.

I don't see how you think it's not a foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

The ref is going to make a few big calls in the 2nd half. Someone will get to him at HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

rarnes1 wrote: »
    It hit his chest and then his arm.

Not a chance.

Anyway doesn't matter.
    Look where the lines man is.