Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015 Mod Note in OP 9/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Dickerty wrote: »
    Back in the gym after injury, not yet on the pitch. Would be good to have him, Lucas and Flanagan back for the tail of the season, we could have a few games close enough...

Don't think he is ever out of the gym. Has to look good for the summer:P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭garra

MD1990 wrote: »

Yup, when the sun's out, get the guns out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

MD1990 wrote: »

Needs to brush up his CV, he'll be looking for a new job.
    As we showed with Kelly - if we can't rely on your to be fit, then we can't rely on you.
    I'd imagine he'd have plenty of suiters in Spain, LB is a very specialised position, and he has a decent pedigree...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,631 ✭✭✭brevity

Never been in Coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

brevity wrote: »
    Never been in Coppers.

Thats more rare these days than people who have been in it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

rob316 wrote: »
    This again.

The 5th spot only comes active if the winner of the EL or CL finishes outside the Top 4.

I think the only way 4th spot would lose out is if both the EL and CL winners came from ENG and both finished outside top 4, is that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

So we are going for the title then, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,421 ✭✭✭✭rob316

xabi wrote: »
    I think the only way 4th spot would lose out is if both the EL and CL winners came from ENG and both finished outside top 4, is that right?

Correct, the probability is probably like 1 in a billion though, Arsenal winning the CL lmao :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

NukaCola wrote: »
    I said a few weeks back that we'll be doing very well to make it to the mid 60's point wise. This run of form has been incredible though. 2 ppg is looking quite possible.

I'd say probable, the amount of games might effect us though, but keep defensively solid and we should have a right chance.
    Even beating besiktas and not loosing to city will help keep the run going.any points picked up in the city game would be great with them having to play a few of the teams around LFC.

Capable of 3 atm, 9 out of Spurs, Southampton and City would be last season type phenomenal!
    Beat City and we are only 7 points behind them.

If that happens I'd be aiming higher than 4th.

To me getting top 4 this season would be a better achievement then last season.

3rd is possible, get a result at Arsenal and you never know.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭Underpaid Mike

K-9 wrote: »
    I'd say probable, the amount of games might effect us though, but keep defensively solid and we should have a right chance.

Capable of 3 atm, 9 out of Spurs, Southampton and City would be last season type phenomenal!

3rd is possible, get a result at Arsenal and you never know.

Ah here, 4th is still a stretch. Lets not start jinxing everything talking about 3rd just yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

brevity wrote: »
    Never been in Coppers.

Not missing much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I was secretly laughing at all the Utd fans taking about 3rd and maybe 2nd as a possibility a couple of weeks ago ,we are not yet in 4th and will be a miraculous recovery if we do get it from the position we got ourselves into .
    Let’s not open ourselves up to potential embarrassment talking about 3rd when 4th is still a huge huge task , we are due a result or two to go against us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

Was Ronnie Whelan bullied by someone when he was growing up or something? Honest to god if there is a more dreary, negative muppet associated with this club then I've yet to hear him. The man is completely devoid of any optimism, it must be a nightmare when dinner is being served in his home.

'ah listen love these potatoes are just lacking character, I just dont think they belong on my plate. I just can't imagine these vegetables ever making it into my mouth, we just lack high quality stuff in this house'

Anyway here's his latest drivel
    Despite all the hype surrounding Philippe Coutinho, former Liverpool player Roonie Whelan remains unconvinced.

Whelan was one of Liverpool's main players in the 1980's and thinks the Brazilian can still improve aspects of his game.

"I would be wary about the current canonisation of Philippe Coutinho," he wrote in his column in The Herald.

"My problem with Coutinho begins and ends with his inconsistency and the amount of times he gives away possession when he reaches the final third."

Coutinho grabbed headlines at the weekend after he scored a wonderful goal against Southampton to help Liverpool win 2-0.

Whelan's words are a stark contrast to John Aldridge who recently said the 22 year old can go on to become a 'Brazilian great'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

Was Ronnie Whelan bullied by someone when he was growing up or something? Honest to god if there is a more dreary, negative muppet associated with this club then I've yet to hear him. The man is completely devoid of any optimism, it must be a nightmare when dinner is being served in his home.

'ah listen love these potatoes are just lacking character, I just dont think they belong on my plate. I just can't imagine these vegetables ever making it into my mouth, we just lack high quality stuff in this house'

Yet when he's on LFC TV he's m@sterbating to Coutinho and the team in general. I honestly don't know why they have him on the channel, knowing well most people watching him have knowledge of his opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Ah, there'd be something wrong with Ronnie if he couldn't make a distinction between Coutinho of the last 2/3 months compared to the one earlier in the season.

I wouldn't cannonise him either but I can't remember us having a similar type of player through much of the EPL years.

The Herald?

Ah here

Yes, of course he gives the ball away - he's an attacking player who's job it is to beat defenders and create chances. More times than not, the defender (or the 2nd defender) will win.

But he is also capable of creating goals from nothing, scoring from nothing, and really makes us tick, WHEN ON HIS GAME. Main concern with him is you can tell from 10 mins in what sort of game he'll have - see our last 2 games as examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Whelan's a united fan - enough said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I was secretly laughing at all the Utd fans taking about 3rd and maybe 2nd as a possibility a couple of weeks ago.

Let's not even mention first.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was secretly laughing at all the Utd fans taking about 3rd and maybe 2nd as a possibility a couple of weeks ago ,we are not yet in 4th and will be a miraculous recovery if we do get it from the position we got ourselves into .
    Let’s not open ourselves up to potential embarrassment talking about 3rd when 4th is still a huge huge task , we are due a result or two to go against us.

I think we should be talking about getting 3rd or 4th, not limiting it to 4th only. Things will certainly change over the coming weeks but there is only a 1 point difference between the 2 places at the minute. It's not as if Arsenal have it sown up yet or anything. Aim as high as you can imo, nothing wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

Instead of embracing the fact that we have a player in the final third who can split open defences, is unafraid to take players head on, is intelligent and is now starting to add a couple of goals to his game. Is he the world's best player? No of course not but he's 22, he's starting to shine in a league where usually Brazilians more often than not do tend to struggle and there he is working his ass off and playing his part in an exciting Liverpool team.

True to form though it's not enough reason for optimism for Ronnie. Still convinced he has a chip on his shoulder with something or someone at the club. Never failed through the years to gives his two cents of negativism.

We are just talking about winning games, regardless of who they are against or what those around us do. And we'll finish where we finish.
    I mean, how can you AIM to finish somewhere when you don't know how many points that will take?

Only consideration really is whether we reduce our focus for cup games, as the top 4 is within grasp now (as opposed to 10 games ago...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

No of course not but he's 22,

Every time I think about this it blows my ****ing mind.

Gbear wrote: »
    Every time I think about this it blows my ****ing mind.

Don't forget Sterling (20), Ibe (19), Can (21), Marko (20), even Balo (24) and D-Studge (25)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

We are just talking about winning games, regardless of who they are against or what those around us do. And we'll finish where we finish.
    I mean, how can you AIM to finish somewhere when you don't know how many points that will take?

Only consideration really is whether we reduce our focus for cup games, as the top 4 is within grasp now (as opposed to 10 games ago...)

Isn't that the whole point of a trying to win a league at the start of a campain to AIM to finish first even without knowing how many points it will take.

This time last year it was only dawning on some that we were title challengers. I didn't think the table would be like this a month ago and there's nothing between 3rd and 4th.

We do have some squad options unlike last season so I'd be hopeful.

The longer we stay in the hunt for 4th the Cups do lose their importance.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Isn't that the whole point of a trying to win a league at the start of a campain to AIM to finish first even without knowing how many points it will take.
    No, Dickerty.....

Ronnie Whelan is as two faced as they come. He will sing the praises of everything to do with Liverpool on LFCTV but he will **** all over them in his rag column or on RTE.

Don't know wtf his problem is.

Well yes, you are aiming to win, but at this stage, we cannot say "let's aim for 3rd" or "let's aim for 4th", all we can say is that top 4 is the aim because of CL.
    But we can't aim for a particular place, cause we don't know what others will do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Don't forget Sterling (20), Ibe (19), Can (21), Marko (20), even Balo (24) and D-Studge (25)!

Such future, very foundation.

Wow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Wow.

Sure even Simon Luc Hildebert Mignolet is only 26, 27 in a few weeks time but still fairly young for a GK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

I'm not writing Lallana off, just that we spent big on him and i dont see why. Even his Southampton form does not justify the price, but ya he a decent player but isn't showing his worth consistently. You'd have thought he'd settle better than most with the system we play.

Just because I think he isn't worth 23m+ does not mean I dont rate him.

Well that's grand then. I'd have to agree that he probably isn't worth that much but the way transfer fees haves gone recently it is totally understandable imo. Besides nobody thought Hendo was worth the money we paid and alot of people wrote him off in his first two seasons with us and now he will probably be our captain next season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Most of them wouldn't even get in to Coppers for that Longford nurse if it was an over 21s night, crazy.

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Sure even Simon Luc Hildebert Mignolet is only 26, 27 in a few weeks time but still fairly young for a GK.

Simon Luc Hildebert BRICKWALL, amirite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Let's be honest, you weren't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

When did I imply that he should be the second best player ever?

Him being the second most expensive signing in our history is a fact. We paid a big fee for a player who doesn't get into our best 11.

No no you never implied that of course. I was only saying why I don't like price comparisons as they can be very misleading to to transfer fees having so many variables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Let's be honest, you weren't

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94113927&postcount=4954

From 2nd Feb
    In fairness City have a much stronger first XI and a stronger squad and tend to do well on the run in .I think you will be doing well to keep in the top 4 ,Top 2 is above your level right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Wow.

Many potential, very promise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

so.. about this Longford Nurse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Wow.
    x43r0 wrote: »
    Many potential, very promise

Now to add 2/3 really experienced players and there would be a potencial for a great team there

Yes - as much as Skrtel and Lucas are elder statements by comparison, we need a little more. But then you look at Can, Henderson and even Sakho, they are great at encouraging players around them, so it's as much about personality type.

I'd love us to go nuts on someone like Schweinsteiger, a guy with real character and meat and having done it all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭garra

Ronnie Whelan is as two faced as they come. He will sing the praises of everything to do with Liverpool on LFCTV but he will **** all over them in his rag column or on RTE.

Don't know wtf his problem is.

Schizophrenia? There's only 2 Ronnie Whelans..

You were laughing at the then 3rd place team talking about 3rd, you must be laughing your ass off in here, the 6th place team talking about 3rd and 2nd

Yeh, there is a point there, but also have to consider form, injuries, fixture list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Did anyone else notice the crowd singing "dont you want me baby" at some point on sunday? I couldnt make out if there were emre can related lyrics being sung, or even which set of fans was singing, though i presumed it was liverpool fans coz we were winning at the time. Im certain i heard that song being sung though, anyone else notice it? It would be phenomenal if that emre can song made it to stadiums.

Momentum, character, as I said.

Basically United are going the wrong way.

K-9 wrote: »
    Momentum, character, as I said.

Basically United are going the wrong way.

I dont think United are going in the wrong way, I think they've been the same all season but Arsenal and Liverpool have improved

They are going in the wrong way they should be going up at this stage of the season.

Well maybe United are doing a Spurs now and will recover and it's all part of some cunning plan.

I thought ye would have 3rd sewn up by now tbh and we'd be outsiders for 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

They are going in the wrong way they should be going up at this stage of the season.

Maybe they should try route 1.
    oh wait....