Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete Beginner - Lessons?

Options
  • 24-02-2015 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

Hey, I'm considering taking up golf as a hobby. I enjoy watching the sport and a lot of my friends play so I would like to get involved. I am in my late 20s and have never played. I did one round of pitch and putt a few years ago and that's about it (needless to say I wasn't very good).

So I'm just looking for some advice here as to what would be the best way to start. Should I get some lessons? I don't really want to just start going onto the course with my friends yet for a number of reasons:

1. I will slow both my friends and other players on the course down;
    2. I will be terrible and don't want to embarrass myself too much;
    3. I don't want to destroy the course with my poor drives.

So my preference would be private lessons on the course and driving range. I'm not looking to become the next Tiger Woods, I just want to get a grasp of the basics before venturing onto the course and playing a live round. Any advice would be much appreciated.

P.S. I have seen a deal on Groupon for unlimited golf lessons until the end of this year with Kevin Beirth, a PGA pro, for €249. Not sure is this good value but on the surface it would appear to be.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Not sure you need unlimited lessons but you should start either in a group lesson(cheaper) or book 5/6 lessons with a pro they usually do a deal if you are booking that many.