Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman who failed to pay TV licence fine taken to jail in five-hour taxi trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,380 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Jawgap wrote: »
    What?

If RTE just commissioned, then they'd issue a spec, the production companies would pitch and price in a margin to their final tender offer. The system would be inherently profitable for them because they'd know exactly what they've to produce and how much they'd be getting paid without having to rely on fickle ad revenues.

no . doesn't work, was tried and failed.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Gotta link?

The woman is wasting tax payer funds by not abiding by her court order, what a waste it was. Shouldn't have had a tv if she didn't want to pay for it.
    yes she should. she payed for it when she bought it from whoever.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

yes she should. she payed for it when she bought it from whoever.
    Is this a bot just here to disagree with everyone on everything? what a series of pointless comments.

conorh91 wrote: »
    Is this a bot just here to disagree with everyone on everything? what a series of pointless comments.
    his statement was that she shouldn't have a tv if she didn't want to pay for it, however she payed for it when she bought it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

his statement was that she shouldn't have a tv if she didn't want to pay for it, however she payed for it when she bought it

Well obviously the 'it' meant the licence, not the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭drdidlittle

the do gooders wouldn't be up in arms about anything as they don't exist. every one enjoys civil liberties, get over it. anyone to do as he suggests wouldn't be cost effective and could easily be got around, and they wouldn't change anyones behaviour, it would actually make them worse, as nothing can sort that sort out.

The law states that if you own a tv you must have a tv licance.
    Court fined her for not paying tv licance
    She didn't fully pay court fine
    Said woman is sentenced to jail term.

Correct system should be
    Fail to pay licance.
    Attend court.
    Judge fines you for not paying licance and orders it to be taken over 4 week.
    Judge calls next case.
    she

I understood your remark, I just don't see the point of those never-ending pedantic one-liners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Honestly, if I lived in Ireland I wouldn't pay a TV license because a) I don't watch TV, b) I don't subscribe to cable or satellite, c) I need a TV to display the hardware required to do my job, d) I don't listen to the radio. The concept of a TV license is ludicrous, just make all the channels subscription based instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Don't forget that broadcasting charge is lurking behind the scenes after we are all converted to pay the water charge. If you don't have a tv who cares, if you own a little radio you have to pay the broadcasting charge even though the tv and radio don't broadcast/transmit a signal.

They will be bringing in a kettle charge soon, so if you own a kettle you will have to pay tax to use it to boil water. And they will know if you have a kettle in your home from them being able to measure the amount of steam in your kitchen. This country is psychotic in nature, it's run by head-cases with a basic agenda to terrorise and assimilate all Irish citizens.

Another new tax coming in soon will be in regards to heat dissipation. If your home is not fully insulated and is releasing heat to the ether, you will have to pay a tax from unimaginable heat-loss. Then the final tax forwarded will be the coughing tax... you will be taxed on coughing as we all cough now and again so that seems to be coming in soon.

Shouldn't the people of Ireland file a class action suit against RTE for broadcasting TV signals into their homes without their permission? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

The cost of the TV licence is a load of shoite in my opinion. I avoided paying it until I appeared on their radar.
    But after that, you can't avoid it unfortunately. No amount of taking a stance will make it go away; and it will just increase eventually. You're just cutting off your nose to spite your face by not paying it (when you're on their radar). You have no excuse either if you end up fined/in jail (even if jail seems way too draconian, you are still warned).
    Financial trouble won't wash either if there has been no attempt to pay anything for several months and if the person doesn't get in touch with An Post to say they are stuck for money.
    You can choose not to pay it but it won't change a thing (only make things worse) and dislike of it (as is the case for nearly everyone) won't be deemed cause to waive it.

If you're broke, contact them when you get the licence invoice and set up an instalment plan. Set up an instalment plan anyway instead of paying a wedge of €160 in one go. It's slightly less painful. Slightly... :-/

RTE is an abomination of sh!te and over-used adverts imo sent forward to brainwash the populous. The best thing I ever done was dump that tv into the skip years ago.

Baby Jane wrote: »
    The cost of the TV licence is a load of shoite in my opinion. I avoided paying it until I appeared on their radar.
    But after that, you can't avoid it unfortunately. No amount of taking a stance will make it go away; and it will just increase eventually. You're just cutting off your nose to spite your face by not paying it (when you're on their radar). You have no excuse either if you end up fined/in jail (even if jail seems way too draconian, you are still warned).
    Financial trouble won't wash either if there has been no attempt to pay anything for several months and if the person doesn't get in touch with An Post to say they are stuck for money.
    If you're broke, contact them when you get the licence invoice and set up an instalment plan. Set up an instalment plan anyway instead of paying a wedge of €160 in one go. It's slightly less painful. Slightly... :-/

Are you kidding ? Why pay this unjust licence when you can get a free trip in a taxi to Dublin city to see the beautiful scenery on this 5 hour trip ? that's a nice day in my books, and then given a free bus ticket home. People actually pay for that kind of day out. I'll take the day's holiday over the tv licence fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

RTE is an abomination of sh!te and over-used adverts imo sent forward to brainwash the populous. The best thing I ever done was dump that tv into the skip years ago.

Its a shame you had to dump it though, given that you probably watch every channel but RTE.

The problem is this. If a new political party said they wanted to privatise RTE, they would be slammed on RTE around the clock. So no politician can even touch the issue. It can't even be discussed or RTE close ranks. Its disgraceful blackmail of the Irish people.

Correct system should be
    Fail to pay licance.
    Attend court.
    Judge calls next case.
    she
    she was paying it off in installments. so there was no issue

COYVB wrote: »
    Honestly, if I lived in Ireland I wouldn't pay a TV license because a) I don't watch TV, b) I don't subscribe to cable or satellite, c) I need a TV to display the hardware required to do my job, d) I don't listen to the radio. The concept of a TV license is ludicrous, just make all the channels subscription based instead

Spot on.

We already all pay for our internet, mobile phone contracts and TV cable connections. And now they want another charge called the broadcasting charge?

Here's an idea, get the cable companies to pay RTE for the pleasure of broadcasting their stations. If people want RTE, let them pay through their bills and if they don't they don't have to.

At least give the people a choice rather than being forced to pay for something they never watch.

As for RTE broadcasting Irish content, all I see is wall to wall American films, dramas and sitcoms. The Irish "content" is usually the same old canteen crew interviewing each other.

Gotta link?

That's a 'no' then (as usual)

Its a shame you had to dump it though, given that you probably watch every channel but RTE.

The problem is this. If a new political party said they wanted to privatise RTE, they would be slammed on RTE around the clock. So no politician can even touch the issue. It can't even be discussed or RTE close ranks. Its disgraceful blackmail of the Irish people.

Actually I don't watch any tv channel. The adverts drive me mad and this is why I dumped it ages ago. I download everything now and no adverts on anything I watch.

what tripe. its not one bit blackmail at all. the reason rte isn't privatized is because there would be no point, the private sector would have nothing to offer it that the private sector don't offer on their own stations, however rte for all their faults have stuff to offer that the private sector wouldn't touch. i support anyone who fights against privatizing of public services

That's a 'no' then (as usual)
    because there is no link. i just know it happened from someone reliable

You'd very soon see how many people in Ireland wanted to watch RTE by issuing a card to anyone who pays their TV license that lets them watch RTE services. I'd wager there'd be less than 10% of the eligible populous that'd bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭The Bowling Alley

She should pay for the fcukin licence then like the rest of us and not wasting state funds paid by us taxpayers

It absolutely sickens me to see this post thanked so much.

This forum is full of the biggest hypocrites I have ever come across. Ye bitch and moan about politicians...ye complain about just about every programme that RTE come out with....and then support a message like this.

I read about people in and out of the courts on a weekly basis getting off for the most disgusting of crimes. Larry Murphy committed some of the most horrific crimes every reported in this country and he only served ten and a half years. He never showed any remorse for his crime and refused mental help whilst behind bars, so he’s arguably still a threat to the public. Nevertheless, he was released.

When you can't afford to pay your licence, the guards arrive at your door with a warrant. They say that you must pay the fine in full, there's no paying weekly. In fairness to them, they give you time...but is this really the point?

In my city, a man bet a woman with a hammer and got off with it because she wasn't the most reputable citizen herself. That was the bones of the defence's argument. For a decent person to be sent to prison for not paying, what is essentially another tax is disgusting. For all you hypocrites to applaud that is just as bad.

I agree.

Yes, it does make you wonder what planet those folks are living on, and their mental stability to say such a thing imo.

because there is no link. i just know it happened from someone reliable

Of course you do :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Sure RTE's world class presenters are worth it.

So are the British Soap Operas and for Irish taxpayers to add to the Billions and Billions of income British Soccer Telly Ball gets from other sources.

Money well spent! Patriotic too!

When you can't afford to pay your licence, the guards arrive at your door with a warrant. They say that you must pay the fine in full, there's no paying weekly.
    This case has nothing to do with the Gardai. Gardai do not impose TV licence fines. Gardai also have no choice in the execution of committal warrants. Intentionally not executing a warrant to commit a person to prison would itself be a criminal offence.
    In my city, a man bet a woman with a hammer and got off with it because she wasn't the most reputable citizen herself.
    Was this in Waterford? Because if it's the same case I'm thinking of, the accused man pleaded guilty; the reason he was not imprisoned is because he was forced to undertake to maintain psychiatric treatment instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I'd love to make a really inciteful comment on this thread, but I fear it would go over the heads of the "hang the bitch" commentators here. I guess my age and generation doesn't compute with them. On you go then..

Of course you do
    i do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

conorh91 wrote: »
    I understood your remark, I just don't see the point of those never-ending pedantic one-liners.

It's tough to respond properly with only half a functioning brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭wupucus

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I'd love to make a really inciteful comment on this thread, but I fear it would go over the heads of the "hang the bitch" commentators here. I guess my age and generation doesn't compute with them. On you go then..

ok so, HANG THE BITCH !!!!

Add your comment regardless of said fools. Why fear if it goes over their heads ? post your comment, you have my attention.

Thanks. But No thanks. This place can be very toxic at the best of times. Too many political types hanging around these days that do not understand the reality of day to day life.

Too many political types hanging around these days that do not understand the reality of day to day life.

Always found this kind of comment weird. Surely everyone understands the reality of day to day life, lest they be dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    ...for Irish taxpayers to add to the Billions and Billions of income British Soccer Telly Ball gets from other sources.

Money well spent! Patriotic too!
    Not for the first time you have referred to the licence fee subsidising premiership football. Care to explain how? - here or the other thread you opened about it, either will suffice.

what tripe. its not one bit blackmail at all. the reason rte isn't privatized is because there would be no point, the private sector would have nothing to offer it that the private sector don't offer on their own stations, however rte for all their faults have stuff to offer that the private sector wouldn't touch. i support anyone who fights against privatizing of public services

Nothing tripe about it. If the privatisation of RTE was even mooted you could expect the entire apparatus of the station turned against the person who mooted it.

Where would the wives, sons and daughters or husbands of current or past presenters work if it wasn't for RTE? No interviews for them.

And not to mention the production companies closely related to former or current RTE staff? What work for them?

RTE is a nepotism and crony paradise all subsidised by Joe Public who can't really afford it.

Nothing tripe about it. If the privatisation of RTE was even mooted you could expect the entire apparatus of the station turned against the person who mooted it.

and rightly so.
    Where would the wives, sons and daughters or husbands of current or past presenters work if it wasn't for RTE? No interviews for them.

because the same doesn't happen in private businesses? come off it
    not to mention the production companies closely related to former or current RTE staff? What work for them?

same happens in private businesses. go with those you know, or those you don't for a contract? or to give work to?
    RTE is a nepotism and crony paradise all subsidised by Joe Public who can't really afford it.

so are many businesses. as i said, give work to those you know, or those you don't? well, joe public will afford it, unless they refuse to pay

And not to mention the production companies closely related to former or current RTE staff? What work for them?

You really understand how it all works!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

What taxi company did they use? Anyone's relatives? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I've noticed a good way to get lots of thanks on after hours. Somebody starts a topic in a new thread. The somebody else negates it and get lots of thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Only in Donegal perhaps. The Gardaí are a law unto themselves up there.

What's your problem with Donegal.???? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Heckler wrote: »
    Can't find a link but read the other day about a guy who tried to rob a post office with an accomplice armed with a hammer and apparently a gun. They got away with nothing and were caught not long after. The elderly staff are traumatised and treat everyone coming in now with suspicion.

What does he get ? A 5 year suspended sentence. Because he has no previous convictions (never been caught. You don't go from law abiding citizen to armed robber overnight) and is from an apparently respectable family the judge reckons he's a prime candidate for reform.

Farce. Two womens lives ruined and this ****bag is walking around free as a bird.

It's absurd isn't it?

Just think for a second. Someone who doesn't pay an outmoded, archaic and unjust charge for her entertainment box (a charge that should be completely eliminated) arrested in the early hours of the morning like some drug dealer and has her reputation and future tainted by such a stupid thing.

And then you read about guys like the one you mentioned above! Or worse, you'll read about dirt bags with not just one suspended sentence, but a string of them and often for really serious crime too.

This is a clear indication that the "theft", or non-payment, of government money is considered are more serious "crime" than the theft of private, public, property or beating some innocent citizen to a pulp.

It's a truly incredible country we live in.

With politicians wages it seems that they are oblivious to this country 'they' live in ? and its situation as always while they dine in exclusive abodes in a world far far away from our reality. No-wonder they come up with insane ideas on a daily basis just like Labour thinking they are the best government in history. Planet pluto or further out they seem to be to the Irish citizen.

worded wrote: »
    The shame is on the huge salaries at RTE.
    160 euro is way too much.

1 Euro would too much.

Our TV output is funded from advertising and it should ONLY be funded by that.

But the license is to ALLOW Joe Public to own something!

Historically, licensing was used to distinguish the responsible users from irresponsible users and such an idea is good. If you cannot handle your car in a responsible manner, your license to use your car is taken away (or at least should be). Therefore you make an effort to use your car properly.

But a license to own something you watch programmed content on that you have no control over or responsibility for is a bloody idiotic concept and is simply there to gouge money out of people.

The TV license came about from the old wireless license. That idea was people who used radios could also, technically, transmit as well as receive. A British idea that us gombeens simply copied.

Today, the idea of having to pay for a TV is just totally chronic, especially when the thing is flooded with poxy adverts.

thickhead wrote: »
    I have not broken the law once in my life.

Sure...

Never did an illegal U turn? Never took an illegal right turn? Never went through an amber light? Never jumped a red light? Never not picked up your dog's shite? Never looked at porn on the web (some of which is legal on other county's but illegal here)? Never watched something on YouTube? (chances are that was breaking some copyright law), Never watched a region 1 DVD on a Region free DVD player? Never been drunk in a pub? Never been part of a lock in?

...plus many, many more things that people do (including you) that are illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

At least now she can watch Fair City and other top quality productions with peace of mind

I would go mental, that'd be torture...

Correct system should be
    Fail to pay licance.
    Attend court.
    Judge calls next case.

No, the correct system SHOULD have been:

Oh, you're in the process of paying and you've already paid 200 Euro? Oh right, bye so and sorry for wasting your time madam.

BeerWolf wrote: »
    I would go mental, that'd be torture...

If the secret service in Ireland or any other country plopped me down in front of that insane stuff they 'Would' break me in no-time. Torture beyond belief indeed.

Don't forget that broadcasting charge is lurking behind the scenes after we are all converted to pay the water charge. If you don't have a tv who cares, if you own a little radio you have to pay the broadcasting charge even though the tv and radio don't broadcast/transmit a signal.

They will be bringing in a kettle charge soon, so if you own a kettle you will have to pay tax to use it to boil water. And they will know if you have a kettle in your home from them being able to measure the amount of steam in your kitchen. This country is psychotic in nature, it's run by head-cases with a basic agenda to terrorise and assimilate all Irish citizens.

Another new tax coming in soon will be in regards to heat dissipation. If your home is not fully insulated and is releasing heat to the ether, you will have to pay a tax from unimaginable heat-loss. Then the final tax forwarded will be the coughing tax... you will be taxed on coughing as we all cough now and again so that seems to be coming in soon.

And you'll still get **** on here trying to justify it.

They're just brainwashed folk, poor souls.