Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England, Sunday 1st March 3pm; RTE/BBC

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

England
    Fcukin brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

Yessss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Grand slam before the world cup? I'll take that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Snowchaser

Fantastic win but loosing Sexton was bad. Madigan was a disaster when he came on. Let's hope sexton is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Great from Henshaw. Suck it up Hook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Our structure fell apart when Madigan replaced Sexton. Great win in the end.

To be fair the drop to the second out half in Ireland is huge. Sexton is head and shoulders above every 10 in the NH.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭A-Train

Some brilliant performances out there today, too many to mention, delighted for Henshaw. Ireland dominated, great to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Joubert was very hit and miss today. That decision against POM to give England the penalty for an elbow on the gorund was laughable. Just like the All Blacks in the WC final, he tried his best to let England back into the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

England
    That's Ireland 15 points up on points difference too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

The slam is on.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭beertons

P_1 wrote: »
    Remember Keith Wood looking like a smurf from that a few years back

Ah come on now. Isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Great match

Hope O'Brien will be OK

Players are paying a heavy price for these wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Fantastic effort, well done! Tactical masterclass delivered the game by 60 minutes, although I'll admit to a few nerves in the last 15.

My 3 Irish players of the day

1) Mike Ross. I've been promoting Moore, but Ross completely nullified Marler, who has been propping very well in the last 18 months. Take a bow Mike.
    2) Conor Murray. A tad too much kicking in the last 10 minutes, but otherwise a first-rate game.
    3) ROBBIE HENSHAW. Best defensive 12 in world rugby? (genuinely) Just excellent. Connacht fans bask in your reflected glory!

I miss Ireland on days like these :( Think of me when u down your sweet-tasting pints...

Edit: obviously not literally sweet-tasting, because that would be Budweiser, which is inexcusable, but you know what I mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Just a question, why did England not get the try in the last minute?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

What's with these trenchcoats for rugby subs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

jamo2oo9 wrote: »

Forward pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

chupacabra wrote: »
    Joubert was very hit and miss today. That decision against POM to give England the penalty for an elbow on the gorund was laughable. Just like the All Blacks in the WC final, he tried his best to let England back into the game.

Thought Ireland got a away with a lot on deck, like England. Lots of clear outs from the side. Lot of leeway given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

That photographer woman nearly ran over Paul O'Connell's son... stupid mare..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,842 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Just watching Paulie there it struck that that may be the last time we see the great man in a Six Nations game in Dublin. Whatever he is a fecking legend

jamo2oo9 wrote: »

Ref called a forward pass.. didnt even go to the TMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Pinergy was class in the handshake with ROG! :D

Junior fear of god stare there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Ref called a forward pass.. didnt even go to the TMO

Touch Judge called it according the to the beeb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Warren Gatland
    POC bringing the young fella in for a few cans. Be grand.

Might be a good replacement 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Great stuff, every man giving 100%. A slight off day for one or two lads, but a top drawer game from most. Scrum deserves massive credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

France tried kicking to Zebo as they thought he was a weak link... They were wrong....England looked at that game and said, yes! we'll kick to Zebo too, ....what's that Einstein said about doing the same thing and expecting different results..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭letowski

Well that wad absorbong, delighted!

Just I want to say, I was really impressed by the young guns the way the stood up today, the likes of Jordi emptied himself for the team, McGrath, TOD, Zebo and of course Henshaw.. all really really good. Future is bright.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

I shall buy an Asian wife with my wife winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Take a bow Mike Ross. Huge performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭English Lurker

Congratulations - very deserved.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Touch Judge called it according the to the beeb.

Big call not to go to the TMO.... not even to show it to the England team and fans... Didnt look hugely forward from our camera angle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hook is offended by the manner of the win.....

walshb wrote: »

Hooks offends hook in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

SOOOOOO HAPPPPPPPYYYYYY !!!!! :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

Man is alway offended :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

What a great result for Ireland. I'm am so relieved that Ireland won against the English today.

And of course, that "****" kicking game was to our advantage against England after all from the words of COS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Out in a bar with a load of English men, good craic and even joining in with us for the fields. :D

C'mon Ireland.

A truly heroic and gutsy display for the boys. They forever bring joy, both in victory and defeat. Great result today. Wales match will be a huge ask. Wales have to be favourites?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Wang King wrote: »
    France tried kicking to Zebo as they thought he was a weak link... They were wrong....England looked at that game and said, yes! we'll kick to Zebo too, ....what's that Einstein said about doing the same thing and expecting different results..

Noticed that. They eventually gave up and kicked to Bowe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Lol, poc saying Jonny will be annoyed at inaccuracies. Sexton the grouch

Backrow immense. Jordi, POM and ToD were excellent. Englands first two games they were made to look far better then they are against weak defence.

Murray and sexton class. Murray is best 9 around at the moment. Set piece was excellent.

Some hints of expanded gameplan and one pass will stick and we will eventually give someone a hiding, hopefully its wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Hook is a purist and he's right in that sense.

For me, we got a great result but we've a good bit to work on. Wales away will be unreal

POC didnt quash talk of retiring, Im worried :(

Wales match will be a huge ask. Wales have to be favourites?

..........what?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Humble Joe. Classic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Have to say TOD and Murphy were ****ing ridiculously excellent

And typical Hook: "Where do England go now when that's the best they can produce."

Always looking to down play and explain why we win. Slating the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

<<<<<< Mayo for Sam, Robbie for Taoiseach! Hopefully Connacht will be inspired by their team mates performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

The fact Paulie brought his son out to share that winning moment with him......last time we see him in Lansdowne road I think

What a win! The pub is buzzing

Hopefully sexton is OK

Come on the green!