Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silliest Place Names in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I can't believe nobody mentioned Ballinspittle yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Co. Kilkenny has places called piltown and stoneyford.
    Not so much funny or silly place names but i like them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

There's a place in Offally called Blueball. Seriously.

Also one that makes me smile is Bunnyconnollan in Sligo ... Makes me think of bunny rabbits!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭Archeron

Nurney, co Kildare. Every time I see the sign I wonder if I have just accidentally driven through an enchanted wardrobe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

There's also a Muff Crescent in Nobber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

I have an uncle who used to live in a place called The Ballack in Wexford.

Great craic when we were kids. Me - "Are we going to visit the bollix?" Mam - "WHAT?!" Me - "I SAID, are we going to visit The Ballack?"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

Feakle. yuck

• Registered Users Posts: 12,998 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Everything in this thread.

Hon. mention: Bod an Fhir Mhairbh (Dead Man's Penis), Co. Kerry.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Letterfinish

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Termonfeckin

I wonder has any town ever decided it wanted to change its name? Not as in the Dingle/Daingain thing, but just change its name completely out of embarrassment.

I've a feeling the English named a lot of these towns as a bit of a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Irishguy16

Red cow is definitely up there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Sillybillyford

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

There's a place called Camp in Kerry, there's also a place called Spa. #

# In before someone says there's a lot of Camp Spas in Kerry....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Knock

Knock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Who's there?

Howie

Howie who?

Howie gonna go diving in Muff now if there's no diving club?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ballyjamesduff
    Honestly what the duck were they smoking t come up with that shiite

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

Lordship, Co. Louth
    And there's one Rhode in Co. Offaly - the other Rhodes are in Greece

bpmurray wrote: »
    Lordship, Co. Louth
    And there's one Rhode in Co. Offaly - the other Rhodes are in Greece

There was also N & S Rhodesia, named after Cecil Rhodes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Londonderry.

Have ye ever heard such nonsense?

DERRY!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Ballyhooley sounds like a fun place.

close by there is a townland called Sheep walk west. I was informed by someone living there that there is a sheep walk east too!

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CUCINA

Sally's Gap

• Registered Users Posts: 41 TheArtOfNoise

Muff! nuff said...

CUCINA wrote: »
    Sally's Gap

The Sally Gap.

And there's always Moll. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moll%27s_Gap

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

Ballylickey, Co. Cork, Pratt's Bottom, Uncouth Lane and Licky End in England might be another thread :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Ballyjamesduff
    Honestly what the duck were they smoking t come up with that shiite

I'm related to 98% of the people living there.