Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big scary training log

• 05-03-2015 12:57pm

I've avoided doing one of these until now, but feck it, what better way to track my progress I suppose.

My background is a bit messy. I was big time into sports when I was a kid. I played basketball and hockey, and I did Kenpo. I was really fit. Then a knee injury and boys happened and my fitness rapidly declined.

I started with a PT in Westwood a number of years ago, I was extremely overweight and hoped he would fix everything. Of course, he didn't, or I should say - I didn't. What he did make me realise was that I loved lifting weights! When he left westwood and started his own gym I went with him and did his morning "bootcamp" classes three times a week. Bootcamp was very much lifting focussed with some work on a spinning bike, but very little. I loved it. However, his overly strict approach was just too much for me to handle at the time. He expected 100% at all times, food wise, a single rice cake was a cheat meal. It wasn't achievable.

So fast forward a little and I joined crossfit, again, I absolutely loved it from the get go. Unfortunately for me though, my diet was in absolute tatters and so I was getting bigger and hating it so much. Once someone commented on "the size of my arms". I left.

So I've finally got my sh*t together. Lost 15kg. Taken up Running. And gone back to crossfit.

My running has now taken a major step back because of injury, so I'm in recovery mode. I was supposed to be doing the Edinburgh Marathon at the end of May but was officially told last night that I won't be doing it. I'm a bit upset but determined to continue to get fitter and stronger.

And here I am!

(I didn't mean for that post to be so long, apologies!).

Wednesday 4th March 2015

Deadlifts:
    5 x 60kg
    5 x 65kg
    5 x 70kg
    5 x 75kg
    5 x 80kg

Ring rows; body weight
    3 x 8

Metcon, 5 rounds for time;
    11 x pullups (with band)
    7 x 5kg wall balls
    20 x air squats

Time: 9:08

Run: 20 minutes very easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,624 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Good to see a new log.

Keep up the good work...onwards and upwards!

Thursday 5th March

Nice and easy.

Barbell Complex; 3 rounds of the following without putting the bar down. 20kg bar.

3 x deadlift
    3 x hang clean
    3 x front squat
    3 x push press
    3 x back squat
    3 x hinges
    3 x push press from back

Power clean (cannot get my form right so my weight is shyte)

3 x 20kg
    2 x 30kg
    4 x 2 x 35kg

Metcon;

Every minute on the minute

Odd minutes;
    5 x 20kg front squat
    5 x push ups

Even minutes;
    5 x burpees over the bar
    5 x sit ups

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Fair play Whoops! Look forward to reading the progress

Friday 6th March

Barbell complex. 3 rounds of each. 20kg bar.

3 x Deadlift
    3 x Hang Clean
    3 x Split Jerk
    3 x Back Squat
    3 x Hinge
    3 x Push press from back

Workout was;

15 x Hanging knee raises
    10 x 25kg Deadlift
    5 x 25kg Power Clean

As many reps as possible in 9 minutes.

Then straight into 6 minutes to get your max clean and jerk.

1 x 20kg
    1 x 25kg
    1 x 30kg
    1 x 35kg
    1 x 37.5kg

Failed on 40. I was weak this morning. Hanging knee raises slowed me down so I only got 4 rounds in and only a 37.5 clean and jerk. Only 15 minutes of work but flippin nora I felt it!

My shoulders ache.

I can't wait til Sunday for a rest!

• Registered Users Posts: 36,355 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I did a version of your workout at the weekend except with clean and push presses (both during the first 9 minutes and the second portion). Found my grip was tested throughout and - yes - my shoulders were smoked after. Good workout though, enjoyed it.

You probably RX'd loyd? I have not perfected my toe to bar yet! I would have been still on my first round by the end of 9 minutes. My hands are in bits!

Edit: I missed your ninja edit earlier! Yeh it was a good workout. Tough though. My shoulders have worked hard this week.

There's a crossfit community even in Bray tomorrow, you might be doing it? Up to the top of Bray head, metcon at the top, back down, 100 kettlebell swings, and then into the sea! Then to the Martello for a hot whiskey :D Should be good craic.

No, but it sounds awesome!! Enjoy it! :)

Saturday 7th March

Bray head climb.

Stations along the way were;
    - 1 burpee
    - 10 Air squats
    - 20 lunges

TABATA squats at top of hill

Run down to sea front

100 kettlebell swings

Dip in sea

I'm awake for sure!

Monday 9th March

Bodyweight Complex x 3 Rounds;

10 x Pull-ups (with band)
    10 x Push ups
    10 x Sit ups
    10 x Overhead squats

Strict Press

3 x 6 x 15kg
    1 x 17 x 15kg

Metcon; 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 for time.

40kg Deadlift
    20" Box Jump

3:39

30 minute very easy run

Tuesday 10th March

Bodyweight Complex x 3 rounds
    10 x Pull-ups (with band)
    10 x Push-ups
    10 x Sit-ups
    10 x OH Squats

Deadlifts
    8 x 40kg
    8 x 65kg
    8 x 65kg
    8 x 65kg
    8 x 65kg

Metcon
    5 rounds for time

200 metre run
    10 x 25kg Thrusters
    60 skips

5 rounds in 14:49

Wednesday 11th March

Front squats

8 x 15kg
    8 x 20kg
    8 x 25kg
    8 x 30kg
    8 x 30kg
    8 x 30kg
    8 x 30kg

Metcon; 3 Rounds for time

7 x Wall Balls 5kg Med Ball
    14 x Lunges 5 kg Med Ball overhead
    21 x Sit-ups 5 kg Med Ball overhead

Time: 4:28

30 minutes easy run

Starting to feel a bit stronger with my running, I might be ready to increase a bit.

Jesus this was a disaster of a weekend.

Zero exercise since Thursday. I've eaten rubbish and drank an awful lot of Guinness and Whiskey.

I was supposed to be doing the Cara Bundoran 10 mile of Saturday, and going for a little few pints after that, but as I am "injured" I just went to the pub instead. I won't be drinking again for another month and am en route back to dublin now. I'll be weak in the gym this evening but it'll get done.

As expected bad food and booze took its toll.

Backsquats were weak and my hip felt right so I had to stick at 50kg.

Box jumps were pathetic.

Backsquats

2 x 20kg
    2 x 30kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 50kg
    2 x 50kg
    2 x 50kg
    2 x 50kg
    2 x 50kg
    2 x 50kg

Box Jumps

10 x 20 inch
    10 x 22 inch
    10 x 24 inch

Metcon - extremely easy workout

7 rounds
    7 hanging knee raises
    7 push-ups
    7 air squats

4:38

Meh. Tomorrow will be better.

New mobility programme is hard on the aul knees :/

Spent a bit time working on double unders. Still cannot do one. Not one. Grrrrrr.

Push press
    5 x 20kg warmup
    2 x 25kg
    2 x 30kg
    6 x 2 x 32.5kg

I have way more in me than that.

Metcon
    500 skips
    50 box jumps
    500 skips

Time: 14:30

What's in the mobility program? I can't imagine any mobility program is designed to be hard on a joint. Is there a possibility that something else in your training is irritating your knees? Speaking from experience of having a bad case of knee tendonitis for the first half of 2013, pay attention to this one.

Every workout logged here so far has had some sort of squatting or jumping / landing component in it for example...

Oh no, it's superficial, bruising on the inner knee from the movement. My joints are all good. It's a thing called six point rock, which I've tried to find a video of online but none of them are quite right.

It's basically going from being on all fours, knees wide apart sitting back onto your heels, and rocking forward so your chest touches the floor. 10 times for three rounds. It hurts! It does open out the hips though.

Oh no, it's superficial, bruising on the inner knee from the movement. My joints are all good. It's a thing called six point rock, which I've tried to find a video of online but none of them are quite right.

It's basically going from being on all fours, knees wide apart sitting back onto your heels, and rocking forward so your chest touches the floor. 10 times for three rounds. It hurts! It does open out the hips though.

Ah! Is there any mats at the gym you can throw down while doing it? But yes, carry on I just tend to be on high alert when people mention knee irritation! :)

I think my coach was cranky on Monday so he said suck it up and get use to it :pac:

So no, no mats :P

I've signed up for yoga! I've never done yoga before. I'm not sure how I feel about it but it's supposed to be good for....things. I'll be running more and more now again and building my tibialis so I guess yoga can't do me any harm. Good for the mind and all that jazz :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,624 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Any particular kind of yoga?

I did a few hot yoga classes (different to Bikram) and found them really good for my hips.

My mind was unaffected :)

I like yoga
    The ones that aren't aimed as just being exercise i mean

Just....yoga? :o

I know nothing about yoga. I do know it's going to focus on sports strength and mobility though. It's in my gym. So she knows the kind of stuff we try and get our bodies to do.

Might be nice sure!

New knee ouchie mobility.

Front squats

5 x 20kg
    2 x 30kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 40kg

Metcon
    21 x pull-ups
    21 x 5kg wall balls
    15 x pull-ups
    15 x 5kg wall balls
    9 x pull-ups
    9 x 5kg wall balls

Time: 6:28

1 hour of yoga. Flippin nora, it's really really bloody hard!

Deadlifts

5 x 20kg
    2 x 40kg
    2 x 60kg
    2 x 80kg

6 x 2 x 85kg

Metcon; 5 rounds for time.

60 skips
    6 x 30kg Power Clean
    3 x 30kg Front Squat
    1 x 30kg Push Press

5 rounds in 9:28

Happy enough.

I'm so bloody sick. I should have stayed in bed this morning but having done nothing (bar walk the dog) over the weekend. I didn't want to start the week out badly. Stupidity 101.

Strict Press

1 x 3 x 15kg
    1 x 3 x 20kg
    1 x 3 x 22.5kg
    3 x 3 x 24kg

20 Minute AMRAP (as many rounds/reps as possible)

5 x Pull ups
    10 x Push ups
    15 x Air Squats

I did 12 rounds + 34 reps. And I nearly cried my chest was in so much pain :(

Stubbornness isn't always a great trait.

Didn't even make Yoga.

No exercise in almost a week. I need to get better before I lose the plot.

I'm the same- mind yourself and get better

Back in the gym this morning and I just about got through it.

I'm weak. Really weak. I haven't eaten much in over a week and between that, and me still being sick, this morning was really hard.

So.

Pull ups 4 x 8 - purple resistance band, on the brightside, I managed these fairly OK so I think I'll be good for less resistance when I'm better.

Metcon

10 x 25kg Thrusters
    200 metre run
    10 x 25kg Power Snatch

5 rounds in 17:46

That workout took everything I had.

Wednesday 1st April

Feeling a bit stronger today. I'd say I'll be 100% by the weekend \o/

Mobility is getting easier on the knees!

Barbell complex - 20kg

3 x deadlift
    3 x hang clean
    3 x front squat
    3 x push press
    3 x forward hinge
    3 x back squat
    3 x push press from back

Repeat for 3 rounds without putting the bar down.

5 x 12kg + resistance goblet squat
    10 x 12kg + resistance chest high kettlebell swings

Repeat for 3 rounds

Metcon 3 rounds for time

400metre run
    21 x 20kg overhead kettlebell swings
    12 pull-ups [with band]

3 rounds in 15:46 - struggled

5 x 1 minute push up plank. 45 second rest.

5km easy run

I'm actually off my face with buzziness.

Wooohoooo. I'm back \o/