Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Singles thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

yeah im not great with flying either, if i wanted to go to place like america or thailand i wud prob go by myself as its more to check the culture and scenery rather than the night life bu for a party holiday id like sum else with me coz i think there wud b safety in numbers

Yeah... I would go to Thailand on my own... And yeah... To check all that culture... Yes! Culture!

Ethernal, gratz on nct. When my car passes not it's like a second birthday!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 HotGuy1986

that's cheap

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

How do you pass the day/evening when your alone(esp if your awlful shy!!)

The days are hard sometimes but bars, clubs etc are a great way to meet people. If you go on organised trips you can meet others too. Alcohol helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

There are Funtrek Tours as well, which specialise in guided tours of various places around the world. Groups just meet up at the airport, meet the guides and away they go. It's a good chance to meet new people in the group (s), and just have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Trebor176 wrote: »
    There are Funtrek Tours as well, which specialise in guided tours of various places around the world. Groups just meet up at the airport, meet the guides and away they go. It's a good chance to meet new people in the group (s), and just have a great time.

Ooh I'd be very interested in one of those!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

so this is where ye're all hiding :P

so lately my car's fcuked, my phone's fcuked, my finances are fcuked, and so is college, the only thing not getting fcuked is me :(

deise08 wrote: »
    Ooh I'd be very interested in one of those!

They're a good idea. It would save a lot of organising, as Iit would more or less have been done already. Of course, the chance of meeting people is great. I'm sure the craic is mighty :)

What happened the car?

They're a good idea. It would save a lot of organising, as Iit would more or less have been done already. Of course, the chance of meeting people is great. I'm sure the craic is mighty :)

I was going to Peru with those group tour things but the chef wouldn't let me take holidays. They are seriously expensive though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

What happened the car?

Long story short, the gearbox done a number on me and i lost all my gears, so its being redone, again! third time lucky eh?

for the meantime I'm plodding around in my project car which is a death trap :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I'm hoping to do America in July and I'll be going solo :) get to go where I want

Autosport wrote: »
    I'm hoping to do America in July and I'll be going solo :) get to go where I want

I'd love to go there for a few weeks and go around a few of the states. Route 66 sounds great as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭heyday30

Howdy folks.

Howdy! :)

I travelled to London alone last June. Had a great time and could do what I liked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

I'd love to go there for a few weeks and go around a few of the states. Route 66 sounds great as well.
    im def doing that wen im rich :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

ah no not at all
    one ting i cnt wait for is going on hols with my future partner n of course it will be all inclusive :)
    i have goals n ambitions lol :P

Good stuff....twould be mighty craic alright not to be facing into heading away off alone!!!

Though I've friends who have girlfriends years and years (5+)and have never gone anywhere for weekend etc....only each other's houses (they live at home!)....it's not like they do be out every weekend etc either

Though that would get Old very quickly for me tbh..(mainly as I've wasted enough of me life so far)....but sure fcuk it....it works for them :)

Autosport wrote: »

Fair fcuks to ya.....your braver than me!!!

Are you visiting anyone or doing all completely alone???

Go for it!!!
    If your brave enough for travelling on your own....it deos look cool like....though I'd rather visit likes of New York/Boston first

Take some guts to travel on your own like that. Don't think I could do it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well damn. My good buddy got dumped by his misses after together 6 years. Disgustingly same situation I was in half year ago...
    He is in bits.... We drink tonight like no tomorrow.

Well damn. My good buddy got dumped by his misses after together 6 years. Disgustingly same situation I was in half year ago...

C'mon you got a new wingman now! I'll be seeing you in the City soon :)

Ah poor lad. Break ups r rotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Football Friend

I went for 2 weeks solo in Africa at the beginning of March. Was really good, though not sure I could last much longer on my own for purely logistical things like having to drag your bags to the jacks and sitting beside annoying people on the plane. Ya meet some interesting characters though!

heyday30 wrote: »
    Take some guts to travel on your own like that. Don't think I could do it !

It's the same as going around Ireland alone only without the ignorance and expense.

I went for 2 weeks solo in Africa at the beginning of March. Was really good, though not sure I could last much longer on my own for purely logistical things like having to drag your bags to the jacks and sitting beside annoying people on the plane. Ya meet some interesting characters though!

Wow. Africa!
    did you do safari?

I'd love to do that.

Good stuff....twould be mighty craic alright not to be facing into heading away off alone!!!

Though I've friends who have girlfriends years and years (5+)and have never gone anywhere for weekend etc....only each other's houses (they live at home!)....it's not like they do be out every weekend etc either

Though that would get Old very quickly for me tbh..(mainly as I've wasted enough of me life so far)....but sure fcuk it....it works for them :)

na if i didnt go off with my partner, id go off with my friends, i need to travel further than someones house at least once lol!!!

Wow. Africa!
    did you do safari?

I'd love to do that.

Ah I was mainly in Cape Town and did a 4 day tour up the coast so only got a game drive in. Really want to do a proper safari but kruger park was at the other side of the country and I really wanted to see Cape Town. Got to do some pretty cool stuff that were on the bucket list.

It's a really cool spot though. Highly recommend it!

im def doing that wen im rich :)

Oh yes, it's a must ;)
    Go for it!!!
    If your brave enough for travelling on your own....it deos look cool like....though I'd rather visit likes of New York/Boston first

I'll see about next year. Though, I said next year last year, and the year before that, and never did anything about it. I didn't get much of a break at all last year, and the best I can do this year is a few days off to just chill! I've no holidays booked.

Yes, New York is a must for me. I'd like to see Chicago, San Francisco and maybe Vegas and LA. Boston is also somewhere I'd like to go to, but New York is top of the list. Could I do it on my own? I'm not so sure at all. It would be nice to have that special someone to come along with me. Maybe next year so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Hi, I'm new here! To this thread anyway, because I've just discovered it. I've been single for the last 6 or 7 months, and I'm getting lonely now.

That's what I'm hoping to do :)

Oh yes, it's a must ;)

I'll see about next year. Though, I said next year last year, and the year before that, and never did anything about it. I didn't get much of a break at all last year, and the best I can do this year is a few days off to just chill! I've no holidays booked.

Yes, New York is a must for me. I'd like to see Chicago, San Francisco and maybe Vegas and LA. Boston is also somewhere I'd like to go to, but New York is top of the list. Could I do it on my own? I'm not so sure at all. It would be nice to have that special someone to come along with me. Maybe next year so ;)

The only thing about New York from what I heard is you have to que a good while to see everything....though I nearly still would and I hate queuing....(just from friends/ppl in work told me!!)

I did my J1 in provincetown, capecod just off of Boston,then went travelling NY, stayed with my aunt In Queens and was in Harlem too and checked out Boston a bit, some adventure, still plenty more of America to see :D

The only thing about New York from what I heard is you have to que a good while to see everything....though I nearly still would and I hate queuing....(just from friends/ppl in work told me!!)

That's the only disadvantage. I'm someone who hates standing for lengthy periods, and obviously that includes queuing.

would love to visit the Grand Canyon too :) and the usual tourist parts New York etc

I'd like South America more for some reason. I like the idea of going to see all the ruins and maybe visiting really bustling cities.

eternal wrote: »
    I'd like South America more for some reason. I like the idea of going to see all the ruins and maybe visiting really bustling cities.

If I could speak any Spanish I'd be gone like a shot! Can you speak any?

If I could speak any Spanish I'd be gone like a shot!
    I would be in Spain only for having this illness thing and a Spanish guy told me there is no way you can live in these places without the language, that the locals don't like it. I need to learn Spanish definitely. I just can't master languages. I presume you can travel through the tourist areas though maybe with broken Spanish.

eternal wrote: »
    I would be in Spain only for having this illness thing and a Spanish guy told me there is no way you can live in these places without the language, that the locals don't like it. I need to learn Spanish definitely. I just can't master languages. I presume you can travel through the tourist areas though maybe with broken Spanish.

Snap there. I reckon going around South America for a few months without decent Spanish would be hard. I'm terrible at languages but would really love to learn. I downloaded a language app called duolingo recently. It seems pretty good but I haven't used it too much yet. You should give it a go too.

I should. I have enough spare time that I should be doing better things. Thanks :o
    I felt embarrassed by the fluency of English that the Spanish people I met had whereas I had no Spanish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭oceanstreet

I did my J1 in provincetown, capecod just off of Boston,then went travelling NY, stayed with my aunt In Queens and was in Harlem too and checked out Boston a bit, some adventure, still plenty more of America to see :D

P Town, gay capital of the North east...swear I only spent an afternoon there :D

yeah my friends were organizing it n a few days be4 we left my friend said btw its a gay spot, i was sickened, so many hot guys and notn i cud do with them, like torture it was! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Evening pals

I'm not your pal, guy (South Park reference in case someone thinks I'm being a d**k)

I'm not your friend. pal. :)

I'm not your guy, buddy! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭oceanstreet

yeah my friends were organizing it n a few days be4 we left my friend said btw its a gay spot, i was sickened, so many hot guys and notn i cud do with them, like torture it was! :(

Big burly men frenchying it up doesn't turn ya on, no? ;)

:) ha ha ha

so who is/ are your friend?

Would you have someone you could call up to go out with? away with?

:) ha ha ha

so who is/ are your friend?

Would you have someone you could call up to go out with? away with?

dis was wen i was in college in waterford, gud oul stephen and mary, we're fb friends bu havent talked to them properly in a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

This cough is doing my head in, can't sleep with it :mad:

dis was wen i was in college in waterford, gud oul stephen and mary, we're fb friends bu havent talked to them properly in a long time

I didn't know you spent time in Waterford, PM. :) How long ago was that?