Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I had a fun morning

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Just a heads up, there is a VW show on tomorrow in mullingar. Looks like it's going to be a great show!

https://www.facebook.com/events/904708529573360/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Just a heads up, there is a VW show on tomorrow in mullingar. Looks like it's going to be a great show!

https://www.facebook.com/events/904708529573360/

I'll be there. :P

Good stuff! I'll be in a grey a3 8l on s3 wheels. If you see me in it don't be afraid to come over and say hello!

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Good stuff! I'll be in a grey a3 8l on s3 wheels. If you see me in it don't be afraid to come over and say hello!

I know what your car looks like. :)

Sadly I will be going up there in the Punto, not a VW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Ah, it's so easy to get us petrol heads from bad mood, to good mood. :)
    After Work I was tired as a dog, so went in to local shop to get few things on my way home. When i came out some fella was around my car, looking at it. So I just walked up and opened it.
    He imidiatly went: oh, I am so sorry, I was just admiring your car. It is really lovely! Dont these have spoilers out of factory?!
    So had a wee chat, showed car around and he really liked it. So here's me going back home in a great mood and like 3 days of pure slavery at work never happened. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I had a fun morning

Nutts corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

I'm actually thinking of leaving my mx5 in Holland and buy a S40 in Ireland.

Asmooh wrote: »
    I'm actually thinking of leaving my mx5 in Holland and buy a S40 in Ireland.

Interesting transition.

GvidoR wrote:
    Interesting transition.

Mostly because of the 1700 worth of export/import costs, and the mx5 is more expensive in insurance compare to the S40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Mostly because of the 1700 worth of export/import costs, and the mx5 is more expensive in insurance compare to the S40

Drive it back, VRT can't be that expensive on a €1500 car.

CianRyan wrote:
    Drive it back, VRT can't be that expensive on a €1500 car.

Vrt: 833
    Tax: 145 for 3 months
    Insurance: 175 / month
    NCT: 55
    License plates: unknown
    Export costs: 150
    Transport: 350

Car is still in Holland :)

Licence plates are about 20 quid :p

Licence plates are about 20 quid

Oh haha, well for the total price I have a nice car :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Nutts corner?

Yep was up there this morning.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Decking waste water pipe under the kitchen sink snapped, oh put the dishwasher on and we went out, I came back to a kitchen with water everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

After months of rattles, humming and knocking the Honda is finally quiet :)
    Turned put to be the wheel bearing, completely rusted through. New wishbone cured the knocking and with silent injectors the car is back to normal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

GvidoR wrote: »
    I know what your car looks like. :)

Sadly I will be going up there in the Punto, not a VW.

hope the rain holds off for you,:)

bad enough having to be in mullingar in the 1st place:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

davycc wrote: »

...wonderful supermacs there too...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

166man wrote: »

No such thing! :eek:

(Unless you're destroyed drunk of course)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

BBQ time?
    dGAaSwB.jpg

166man wrote: »

the diet of kings sure:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Oh my god...
    gnAjpX0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

To the Silver 00 corolla saloon driver.

I am sorry about the flamethrower attack this afternoon i was merely changing down a gear to go home for some dinner. I hope we can all move forward from this and come out the other end better people.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Did you melt his front plate? :P

Why what's so bad about Mullingar? :eek:

Anyone else going to the show tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    Why what's so bad about Mullingar?

It's just because it's Mullingar, there need not be any explanation!!!!

Why what's so bad about Mullingar? :eek:

Anyone else going to the show tomorrow?

one of my housemates is from there and she has all the charisma of this fecking priest :D

im in east meath myself and its not stopped raining all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

When your that gvidoR come down to portumna.
    We're drifting there tomorrow :)

We had a track walk tonight, we felt like f1 stars :)

I'm about 10 mins from Mullingar, feckin raining on and off all day, Mullingar has a special aura to it, the natives are either riding their sisters or stopping random cars asking for a lend of a score (true story) all with an underlying hatred for anyone with an endumacation this is accompanied by the official town scent of a mixture of BO, Stale Dutch Gold and McDonald's. Great place altogether.

In all seriousness though the show is looking like it'll be a great one. Hopefully the felters haven't heard of it lol.

YbFocus wrote: »
    When your that gvidoR come down to portumna.
    We're drifting there tomorrow :)

We had a track walk tonight, we felt like f1 stars :)

What time will you be there? Don't know if I'll make it there or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

What time will you be there? Don't know if I'll make it there or not.

From 8am until late man! Just when you're down this way!

Ye may remember me on about this golf a while back. It's been up nearly 2 weeks, updated today, and I'm not lying, there hasn't been 1 single call about it, not even a timewaster!! Priced dropped from 3950 to 3650, although still ambitious, there's others on dd, with lower specs for similar money. I thought this yoke would be sold in a matter of days!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-vw-golf-gttdi/9682128

That's a decent unmolested golf, I'd put the original grille on tbh it looks better and also they aren't recaros.

ShaunieVW wrote:
    That's a decent unmolested golf, I'd put the original grille on tbh it looks better and also they aren't recaros.

Are they not? Look the exact same as them, bar the recaro stitching.

I explained the grille situation last week, basically, the little dip that's taken out of the bonnet for the vw emblem has been filled in and resprayed, so the original grille won't fit in properly, unless the fillers are hit out, which would damage the paint then... etc. I'd have it on if it was me, looks mank the way it is. Still shouldn't deter a youngin who wants to fcuk the car up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Where's everybody? :eek:

Are they not? Look the exact same as them, bar the recaro stitching.

I explained the grille situation last week, basically, the little dip that's taken out of the bonnet for the vw emblem has been filled in and resprayed, so the original grille won't fit in properly, unless the fillers are hit out, which would damage the paint then... etc. I'd have it on if it was me, looks mank the way it is. Still shouldn't deter a youngin who wants to fcuk the car up anyway.

Not much you could do there then!
    Most people didn't bother Filling the notch and it bugged the bejaysus out of me, no they are VW sports seats is what there called I think. The recaros bolsters are far deeper and the material is different too.

Considering you payed very little for the car, the VRT isn't very much.
    The S40 still has to be taxed and NCT's, tax will be more and they are known to throw up issues.

Transport is irrelevant if you drive the car. Take the long road, make it fun. ;)

CianRyan wrote: »
    Considering you payed very little for the car, the VRT isn't very much.
    The S40 still has to be taxed and NCT's, tax will be more and they are known to throw up issues.

Transport is irrelevant if you drive the car. Take the long road, make it fun. ;)

True, but still costs extra,depends on how you are.. my cars never had issues because I fix things all the time and don't want for issues to happen :) NCT will not find anything lol.

I think the VRT is a lot for a car that is from 1992... its actually more than I paid for the car

MX5 In Ireland (exc all import, vrt etc): 2614 / year

Volvo S40 in Ireland 2418 / year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

An extra €196 p.a. not to be bored of your t1ts.

Sounds like a good deal to me.

You will never notice that price over a year, it's less than €1 a day.

Honestly, the S40 doesn't even compare to how much fun you'll have in the MX5.

You will never notice that price over a year, it's less than €1 a day.

Honestly, the S40 doesn't even compare to how much fun you'll have in the MX5.

I know, but the MX5 I will keep in Holland (Wich I will go to every 2 months).
    the S40 is not for fun but for driving :)

Remember that I pay 43 euros a month for insurance now and 300-ish roadtax.

and isnt it better to build up NCB here and then do the Mx5 as import as second car?

Very few companies will mirror NCB to a second policy - unless you mean as a classic.

I know, but the MX5 I will keep in Holland (Wich I will go to every 2 months).
    the S40 is not for fun but for driving :)

Remember that I pay 43 euros a month for insurance now and 300-ish roadtax.

You can't use your NCB on a second car in Ireland, you'll have it on the first car but you'll have to start fresh on the second. So if your reason is to build up NCB and run them both, in doesn't make sense.

You could also sell the S40 and be up €1800 for the year, ever consider that? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

I must admit I'm seriously tempted. :o

One of my colleagues got a pretty simple modification to well known 4ZZ-FE engine (95bhp/130Nm):

- 1ZZ-FE intake manifold + throttle body + airbox to throttle body hose off avensis,

- 1ZZ-FE exhaust manifold off celica (slight modifications to fit to corolla exhaust),

- all the rest remains unchanged.

Result:

DSC_0009_zpseo8yk69k.jpg

Although power's not up significantly (well, 20bhp more, but available within very narrow range of revs), but at least 130Nm available from as low as ~2700 rpm is something worth fighting for. :D

What ya think?

joujoujou wrote: »
    Where's everybody? :eek:

watching the GAA in my case :D and looking for a goodwood festival stream;)

Youtube?!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-e9UKJjq_Do

You can't use your NCB on a second car in Ireland, you'll have it on the first car but you'll have to start fresh on the second. So if your reason is to build up NCB and run them both, in doesn't make sense.

You could also sell the S40 and be up €1800 for the year, ever consider that? :)
    Yes, I maybe.. but I also don't want to destroy the MX5 and let it get a lot of km on it :)

hard choice.
    Very few companies will mirror NCB to a second policy - unless you mean as a classic.

Yes I ment that

you legend thanks:D:cool:

A lot of Volvo dissing here today :(

The S40 (which I hate) and MX5 are two completely different cars to be fair. Literally off the phone with a friend who says he wants a car like mine (S60) so he might go and test drive a GTI :confused:

Eh...you're doing it wrong.