Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I always thought Passat's commanded a bit more of a premium in regards to their purchase price? Or is there just something about those models I've linked to that make them less sought after in general? (I'm not a big VW fan, so they could always have been that cheap and cheerful, but I just always thought an 06 Passat would go for 7-8k for some reason).

They might be a bit on the cheaper side but you have to remember they are 9 year old cars now, having them at 7 or 8k would be madness. Them 05/06 passats are known to be troublesome too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd start with looking at the vacuum lines, check for splits, cracks, tears and so on, then clean the maf and egr, and if it carries on like that i'd be saying bye bye if i were you dude, you've had nothing but trouble with that car :(

Hadn't thought of the vacuum lines. With the Alfa whenever I had a maf, egr or lines problem there would be plumes of smoke.
    I mean I can hear the turbo spool up and then once it hit around the 2000 mark the spool stops and then starts to kick in again at around the 2500-3000 mark.
    I know man... trust me I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

bear1 wrote: »
    Hadn't thought of the vacuum lines. With the Alfa whenever I had a maf, egr or lines problem there would be plumes of smoke.
    I mean I can hear the turbo spool up and then once it hit around the 2000 mark the spool stops and then starts to kick in again at around the 2500-3000 mark.
    I know man... trust me I know.

the only reason im saying vac lines is because the exact same thing happens to my car if one comes loose or undone, i know they're not the same in any sense but it's worth a shot, you could also have a boost leak if the turbos doing that, again from what my own car is doing

It's a fooking bastard though, cause apart from the rattling beforehand the power was always there. Got the injectors conditioned and the power went more or less to ****e.
    Revs seems very restricted, you could floor it in any gear and it would start accelerating thne go "ah hang on" die for a bit and then slowly start coming back.
    Did a test yesterday and dropped down a gear to simulate a quick power grab overtake maneuvere.. I may as well have jumped out and pushed the car at that point.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Got a 3 tonne hydraulic jack. The difference between that and those Aldi 2 tonne jacks (and the ones that comes with the car ofcourse) is huge. Should've gotten one earlier.

New or second hand? I'm after a 3 tonne myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So I'm investigating my new problem and I wonder if anyone else can shed some opinions on this.
    Car is sluggish up to about 2500 revs and then the power slowly starts to kick in. Just came back from a diagnostics and it came with just one error which was a fuel heater issue.
    I'm starting to ponder if I'm suffering both a maf and egr issue at the same time.
    Thoughts?
    Its like the car doesn't want to rev

Have you a boost control valve? They always gave bother on the D4D's With similar symptoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Just bought something French and barge like. Happy out

19254039968_2b84f9694e_c.jpg

Sunny pic.

Drove it a good bit over the weekend. Never missed a beat. Solid cruiser. Few scrapes on the wing, a bit of T-Cut will take some of it out. Can live with it.

The 110 2.0 HDI is a solid engine.

19254038928_73155da76d_c.jpg

Interior is pretty clean too for the age. Everything works.

dgt wrote: »
    Have you a boost control valve? They always gave bother on the D4D's With similar symptoms

Not as such I believe, think its called the IMRC solenoid valve. But this for certain would have thrown up a fault :(
    It's just too weird, I need to depress and then floor the pedal in order to get the power back. Then it goes again and I need to repeat.
    Like I'm feckin michael flatley in the car :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not as such I believe, think its called the IMRC solenoid valve. But this for certain would have thrown up a fault :(
    It's just too weird, I need to depress and then floor the pedal in order to get the power back. Then it goes again and I need to repeat.
    Like I'm feckin michael flatley in the car :D

That car must have your heart broken at this stages

Stheno wrote: »
    That car must have your heart broken at this stages

Yes, at this point I'm fixing one issue and creating another.
    I'm also wondering shouldI have even bothered having the injectors reconditioned if I've lost power.
    Going to Italy with it in 3 weeks so I really need to get the car back to normal as quick as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yes, at this point I'm fixing one issue and creating another.
    I'm also wondering shouldI have even bothered having the injectors reconditioned if I've lost power.
    Going to Italy with it in 3 weeks so I really need to get the car back to normal as quick as possible.

This is the relationship I had with the E46. I can relate, dude :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

So I'm investigating my new problem and I wonder if anyone else can shed some opinions on this.
    Car is sluggish up to about 2500 revs and then the power slowly starts to kick in. Just came back from a diagnostics and it came with just one error which was a fuel heater issue.
    I'm starting to ponder if I'm suffering both a maf and egr issue at the same time.
    Thoughts?
    Its like the car doesn't want to rev

I had this problem with a c5. It was the maf.
    Plug it out and see what happens.

pred racer wrote: »
    I had this problem with a c5. It was the maf.
    Plug it out and see what happens.

I did, revs became limited to 2000 revs so that's that taken out of the question :(

Mycroft H wrote: »
    19254039968_2b84f9694e_c.jpg

Sunny pic.

Drove it a good bit over the weekend. Never missed a beat. Solid cruiser. Few scrapes on the wing, a bit of T-Cut will take some of it out. Can live with it.

The 110 2.0 HDI is a solid engine.

19254038928_73155da76d_c.jpg

Interior is pretty clean too for the age. Everything works.

I had one of these(saloon) for 4 yrs and >100k miles. Never missed a beat
    Great car for long journeys with kids.
    In all that time I had 3 issues that weren't service items.

Immobiliser fault, car will turn over but not start. Disconnect batt for 15 mins, sorted.
    Front ride height sensor, quite scary as the front suspension went up to it's highest and basically locked as I was going round a bend :eek:
    And a front brake pipe burst....seems common enough so have a look.
    It's worth bringing it to a Citroen specialist every now and again, small parts like suspension return pipes need to be replaced occasionally and if left can become expensive problems.

If you notice uneven tyre wear on the back it's the trailing arm bushes, it was a common problem and tbh not worth fixing unless it gets bad (I presume a car of that age has been done already)

Most importantly........
    Do not put crappy tyres on the front of it, it will just plough straight on in bends if the surface is even damp!!

Dunno if you wanted (or even needed) all that but hope it helps.
    I loved mine and I was sorry to see it go.
    If you need any more info, let me know.
    Well wear!

Edit: make that 4, the MAF went too

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'd a saloon too as did the oh
    Both of us loved them

Ours were both the 2 litre petrol

I'd a saloon too as did the oh
    Both of us loved them

Ours were both the 2 litre petrol

Petrol, the fuel of the devil.............:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

New or second hand? I'm after a 3 tonne myself.

Got it at a car boot sale. I hope it was new.

In other news;

Aaaaaaaah, those midges are eating me alive. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

pred racer wrote: »
    Petrol, the fuel of the devil.............:p

Fuel of Gods you mean. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Anyone have a mint green mk2 punto for breaking, the brother decided to park his into a pole head on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Was driving the pajero for today, lord, modern cars are so comfortable in comparison. My legs ache from pressing the peddles, as the seat isn't really height adjustable, gears are so stiff. Grinded them a few times, 5th instead of 3rd once or twice. I'd hate to have it for any more than 10 miles tbh. But it can move! Anybody know the horsepower it should be throwing out? (1998 2.8 diesel)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Will better tyres reduce road noise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Will better tyres reduce road noise?

Sure havn't they all db ratings now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Anyone have a mint green mk2 punto for breaking, the brother decided to park his into a pole head on...

I know a guy has one of them for breaking. I took the bumper from it.

Well i had a very productive night!

I built this :pac:

1zejn2w.jpg

And then i decided to break out the vintage guns and throw a 1926 Mercedes 540 K together :D

jt0yft.jpg

So much glue..... :o I'll finish it tomorrow at some stage and then paint the body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was driving the pajero for today, lord, modern cars are so comfortable in comparison. My legs ache from pressing the peddles, as the seat isn't really height adjustable, gears are so stiff. Grinded them a few times, 5th instead of 3rd once or twice. I'd hate to have it for any more than 10 miles tbh. But it can move! Anybody know the horsepower it should be throwing out? (1998 2.8 diesel)

My Shogun 2.8 was 123bhp, I'd assume a Paj is the same

I think someone that posts in the dashcam thread recorded that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The car passed this milestone on the way to work this morning.
    At 200k km now it is completely unsellable in Ireland :)

354334.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

if it is , it certainly wont be due to the mileage. Most people are not bothered about high mileage cars these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

if it is , it certainly wont be due to the mileage. Most people are not bothered about high mileage cars these days

People who do worry about the mileage on 16/17 year old second hand cars and generally people try to avoid selling cars to anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

Im noticing more and more cars around 6 years or less will have more than 100k on the clocks compared to maybe 10 years ago, if that makes sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Got some new wiper blades today.

It's so comforting not hearing that screech again! Plus the wipers actually work :D

Ah plenty are. Not when it comes to a diesel boggo passat or whatever but something like this etc the mileage may be a turn off.
    My mileage is still fairly low when in comparison with many on sale but it is climbing strong.
    Will be close to 140k at the years end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    Ah plenty are. Not when it comes to a diesel boggo passat or whatever but something like this etc the mileage may be a turn off.
    My mileage is still fairly low when in comparison with many on sale but it is climbing strong.
    Will be close to 140k at the years end.

I'll catch you by the end of the year.....:D

166man wrote: »
    I'll catch you by the end of the year.....:D

I'm going to leave mine running each night on blocks to make sure you don't!

Car back into the mechanic, I must be giving some financial boost to the Polish mechanics scene :D

Turbo lines came :D

Just need coolant and oil now

Finished my model car too, so far so good today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Car back into the mechanic, [...]
    Seriously, why you still load more into it? Get rid of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

joujoujou wrote: »
    Seriously, why you still load more into it? Get rid of.

Amen.

Cut losses and offload that car!

Hear you guys loud and clear and trust me I am contemplating it.
    The reason I haven't offloaded it is just the amount of work I've got going on coupled with a new born.
    Also, as I'm doing most of my job in Poland then I would have to drive the car back to Ireland just to get rid.
    Amazed that our 2 Fiats are the most reliable cars we've had.

Unregistered Users

Sell it for parts in Poland. ;)

Or maybe export to Russia - they take everything. :D

Unregistered Users

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Page not found. :P

THE NATIONAL Road Safety Authority has urged motorists to drive like absolute ****ing lunatics in wet road conditions today.
    Gardai have also asked all road users to exercise extreme disregard for the weather and to drive as recklessly as humanly possible.
    Chief Super Intendant Michael Murray told WWN that people should ignore all warnings and drive as fast as they can through the floods.

“If you are travelling under 120km an hour you are likely to get stuck in the flood.” he said. “The best thing to do is to make sure you are going fast enough to skim across the water like a large stone.”
    Careful drivers caused problems for rush-hour commuters in many parts of Dublin earlier this morning. Motorists have been urged to ‘shunt’ slow moving drivers off the road and out of harms way.
    “It is imperative these vehicles be taken out as quickly as possible to avoid further delays in traffic.” added Mr. Murray.
    The RSA advised that no road was impassable due to flooding. It is down to the driver to grow a pair of balls and tackle the flood head-on and as fast as possible.
    In Waterford motorists are being told to ‘man the **** up’ and avoid turning back when they see a flood.
    AA Roadwatch said motorists these days are turning into pussies and should be made wear ‘P’ plates if they refuse to challenge a flood.
    “People have gone soft over the past twenty years.” the organisation said. “Making drivers wear P plates are probably the only solution to this problem. ”
    “It’s only a sup of water lads.” they added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Page not found. :P

Boards.ie is blocking out some of the link, replace some of the stars :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Brilliant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I was at my mechanic today and he had Alfa 159 and Alfa GT in the yard. I am not proud of this, but I really liked both of the bastards in flesh.

I know our going jokes here around Alfas, but looks like that 1.9 JTD engine is pretty decent? I am doing a lot more driving now thanks to a woman in my life ffs :p . I cant believe I am thinking of it, but maybe its time for me to be a bit more sensible and get diesel lol.

Sell it for parts in Poland. ;)

Or maybe export to Russia - they take everything. :D

I'd say I'd get sweet f all if I sold it for parts.
    Jaysus I'm not going anywhere near Russia, shure they are mad loike

I was at my mechanic today and he had Alfa 159 and Alfa GT in the yard. I am not proud of this, but I really liked both of the bastards in flesh.

I know our going jokes here around Alfas, but looks like that 1.9 JTD engine is pretty decent? I am doing a lot more driving now thanks to a woman in my life ffs :p . I cant believe I am thinking of it, but maybe its time for me to be a bit more sensible and get diesel lol.

Well they ain't slow, our own pred holds the Irish land speed record with one.
    Set between Borrisokane and Birr on a frosty night.