Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Lads, I'm looking for a cheap runabout to use around the city at the moment and my 166 is costing me a fortune...

what do ye think of the Rover Cityrover? i find myself quite drawn to them but are they any good? cheers :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ah Jaysus no. They were rubbish back then
    They're 1.4 anyway, so you'll still pay normal running costs.
    Seicento 900cc is what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Lads, I'm looking for a cheap runabout to use around the city at the moment and my 166 is costing me a fortune...

what do ye think of the Rover Cityrover? i find myself quite drawn to them but are they any good? cheers :o

Hahahahhahahahahahahahahahaha

hahahhahahahahahahhhahahahahaha

city rover ? reliable ?

hahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahhaha :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus no. They were rubbish back then
    They're 1.4 anyway, so you'll still pay normal running costs.
    Seicento 900cc is what you need.

Up to 1.0 the tax is €199

So Micra, Polo, Swift, Justy, Cuore, Yaris, Charade are all considerable options. :P

The Seicento is great craic in the city though. It's like a go kart. Way more fun than pretty much anything.

They're also cool.

The boxy ones are kinda cool. The newer, round ones - not so much.

Boxy one is the cinquecento

Potato potahto. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

New turbo in the saab, oh my my my :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I've had some pretty rubbish cars as daily drivers and I have driven a City Rover.

I honestly cannot comprehend how bad they are

A Seicento would be perfect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Washed the mondeo and parked it up immediately. Left it for a few hours (brake disks were gone 'rusty'). Go to move it and the brakes were seriously seized. Usually there might be a small bit of resisting but they'd free up after a second or two. This time was different. Drove about 10 miles and it still doesn't feel right, like something is still rubbing slightly (almost like the handbrake is left up a notch or two)? Can feel it different to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

You'd be actually off your rocker to consider one of those. Utterly woeful cars and I'm pretty sure they were based on some Indian foulpiece of machinery.

I'd avoid, 166's aren't too bad...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

GvidoR wrote: »
    How long did it you have it for? Never seen it until you put the ad up.

only about 1.5 mths, spent more time off the road than on it;)
    broke my heart big time with random break downs at the worse possible times/places:(

glad to be rid of it and to have a small pile of cash to put aside for serving the rolla and 3mths tax :D i can live like a king again:pac:

Got some nice things in the post this morning. :)

19687422476_38fbfc5d7a_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Is that there first estate since the Mk. IV?

The Golf estates were never discontinued. They were available from the MK3 forward.

0616055-Volkswagen-Golf-Variant-1.9-TDI-105-pk-Highline-2008.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

The Golf estates were never discontinued. They were available from the MK3 forward.

All the Golf estates bar the Mk 7 look a bit crap to me, all out of proportion.

GvidoR wrote:
    Got some nice things in the post this morning.

Just got them for the nose, or are you looking to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

It's like porn to him. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

On a day like today I would use this...:cool:

355321.jpg

All the Golf estates bar the Mk 7 look a bit crap to me, all out of proportion.

What about the MK3 and MK4? Both of those look good, imo. Not a fan of the MK5/MK6 estates myself but yes the MK7 looks great. I'd love to have the Golf R Sportwagen. :cool:
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    It's like porn to him. :D

Not far from the truth. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

What about the MK3 and MK4? Both of those look good, imo. Not a fan of the MK5/MK6 estates myself but yes the MK7 looks great. I'd love to have the Golf R Sportwagen. :cool:

To me they just look wrong, never liked them up until the current one. Just my opinion anyway!

:(:(:(:(:(

Right in the feels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

if a bora was turned into an estate, it would just be the golf estate? or am I missing something?

slow day in work

if a bora was turned into an estate, it would just be the golf estate? or am I missing something?

slow day in work

Bora = MK4 Jetta

Jetta and Golf use the same chassis. You can put a Bora front end on a Golf and boom, you have a Bora estate. North America have them, they just call them Jetta estates though. They look awesome, imo.

1578.jpg

They look good from the front but the back end of the Mk4 estate is really awful

Looks nice to me.

71878787-519551adb58e12.jpg

Awful

Nearly as bad as the Corolla

There's a saying in Latvia... "Don't argue over taste" (but in original, it doesn't sound like an order, if that makes sense)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

There's a saying around here that goes "The Bora, and all it's incarnations, is a manky thing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Gvido man you are grueling blinded by the vw light :)

While they have a massive cult following they are just very very dated looking cars.
    I loved them, had a golf and a passat to do big miles reliably, but never more than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

This is a bit of weird link, but does anyone remember a TV ad, must be over 10 - 15 years ago, with a bunch of Irish lads off on an adventure out of Ireland, featuring the phrase "no more thick ankled girls"?

For some reason, in my brain Boras occupy the braincells next to that ad and images of good "shturdy" rural lady football/camogie players in general.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Gvido man you are grueling blinded by the vw light :)

While they have a massive cult following they are just very very dated looking cars.
    I loved them, had a golf and a passat to do big miles reliably, but never more than that!

I'm not blinded by anything. I just like what I like. I was in a scrap yard today and there was a JDM R33 Skyline. The fusebox had all Japanese writing on it, I found that awesome, even took a picture of that. I like other brands too.

Some examples of what I would love to have: BMW E34, BMW E36, Mercedes 190E, Honda CRX, Honda Integra DC2, Nissan S13, I could go on and on...

Even if I did prefer VW over other brands, how is it worse than religiously sticking to Toyota or whatever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I was in a new Jag XE today.

I was underwhelmed

ba_barabus wrote: »

I was underwhelmed

I'm still not convinced the rear lamps aren't from an A5

Whatever about the mk7 golf estate, the leon fr has it sold for me...

seat-leon-st-first-drive-08.jpg?itok=MzxHbr6l

I'm not blinded by anything. I just like what I like. I was in a scrap yard today and there was a JDM R33 Skyline. The fusebox had all Japanese writing on it, I found that awesome, even took a picture of that. I like other brands too.

Some examples of what I would love to have: BMW E34, BMW E36, Mercedes 190E, Honda CRX, Honda Integra DC2, Nissan S13, I could go on and on...

Even if I did prefer VW over other brands, how is it worse than religiously sticking to Toyota or whatever?

Sorry man my last post did read a bit angrily!

Totally get you and your right, its no different than anyone else at all.
    Just the love of a mk3 golf estate would be very unusual when considered for example alongside a mk4 Supra.
    If you get me better now :)

Well someone has to love em, right? I would like a Lada too. :P

You're very left wing :)

I do play left wing, as a matter of fact. :)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Winger_(ice_hockey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I never understood the concept of a 'dated' looking car. It was either nice or ugly the day it came out and it doesn't change from there

Dated isn't about good looking or ugly though...

Like I love e36's, love them. But they have very dated looks, it screams the 90's.

It's a beautiful car to me but I will never argue with anyone who says it's dated, it looks old, but then thats half the reason I like it anyway :)

A car that you would say hasn't aged is something that looks newer than it is. Be it beautiful or ugly, it doesn't come into it.

What's wrong with the 90's?

I love the E36 too. Unfortunately my insurance company didn't want me to keep it. Maybe I should've gotten a quote on it before buying it. :o

What's wrong with the 90's?

I love the E36 too. Unfortunately my insurance company didn't want me to keep it. Maybe I should've gotten a quote on it before buying it. :o

You're really going ready into it now :)
    There's nothing at all wrong with the 90's, all my cars but 2 were from there.
    I have a plan for an 80's car next.
    I have no care for anything new, nothing interests me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭micks_address

ba_barabus wrote: »

I was underwhelmed

Test drive?
    How do they compare interior size and boot size to say an octavia or insignia?

You're really going ready into it now :)
    There's nothing at all wrong with the 90's, all my cars but 2 were from there.
    I have a plan for an 80's car next.
    I have no care for anything new, nothing interests me!

I don't know what you meant in the first line but I can relate to the rest of the stuff you said. :D

When you say "next", is it going to be something to replace the E36 or a second (pre 1985 for chape tax) weekend car?

I don't know what you meant in the first line but I can relate to the rest of the stuff you said. :D

When you say "next", is it going to be something to replace the E36 or a second (pre 1985 for chape tax) weekend car?

I think I will keep the e36 as a daily for another year and retire it then, I want to keep it. I may very well turbo it and make it a very loved track car.

I'd like an e34 or an e30 soon though. Then I promise I will try something else :)

I have grown such a love for that e36 outside I just couldn't part with it!

I think I will keep the e36 as a daily for another year and retire it then, I want to keep it. I may very well turbo it and make it a very loved track car.

I'd like an e34 or an e30 soon though. Then I promise I will try something else :)

Getting blinded by BMW light, eh? Huehuehue. :pac:

There's a couple I want to try out and then I'll head on my merry way.

The 530d, I loved the power and torque and the fact it done 38-40mpg.

The 323i, I fell in love with the balance and handling of it. I couldn't care less about the 19-25mpg :)

I want to do the e30 thing as I think they are awesome too :D

Then I'll buy a Tiida, or a Quashqai.

No, no, no. Stay with BMW's. ;)