Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I think the bronze would really suit your car.
    This is it.
    11226046_904636889597980_3130725025257387368_n.jpg?oh=8b42337b4521ea1e50eb282d8f932a73&oe=5652FED3

Yes, bronze all day, everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

cool, ordered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

cool, ordered.

Good choice.

Ya the bronze on black looks great imo

I want to do something with my alloys but I'm not too sure what colour to go for :o

Neon pink is in i hear :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Gun metal is the safer choice.
    Bronze can look awesome when it works, but based on that photo... looks strange as you say.

The back wheel looks better than the front, but with the light that's on it I think the back looks more like gunmetal/graphite than bronze.
    Oh well, you obviously wanted the bronze anyway.

I want to do something with my alloys but I'm not too sure what colour to go for :o

Neon pink is in i hear :pac:

Pfft.

You'll be the coolest kid in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Stay away from colours on that car, it wouldn't suit I reckon TP.
    Subtle is key. I'd say gunmetal is the way.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Stay away from colours on that car, it wouldn't suit I reckon TP.
    Subtle is key. I'd say gunmetal is the way.

Haha oh for sure, it'd be a cold day in hell when i put pink on my car, the lights are mad though, I might go with the gun metal, or just get them tidied up

Gun metal is the safer choice.
    Bronze can look awesome when it works, but based on that photo... looks strange as you say.

The back wheel looks better than the front, but with the light that's on it I think the back looks more like gunmetal/graphite than bronze.
    Oh well, you obviously wanted the bronze anyway.

I have not finished the order yet but bronze was my original colour choice, but when I saw that chaser I had 2nd thoughts, it just seemed way too bright, I wanted a darker look like in this picture. Same wheels.
    20140911_183320.jpg

There are 2 options on JDMdistro website, Bronze, anodized bronze
    356736.jpg

Only 8j Chris, come on :)

8j front, 9j rear. Toyota fitment is crap.

9j ain't bad, I was bidding on wheels earlier for the e36.
    I appear to have lost but no confirmed sale yet...

8.5j front, 10j rear!

9j ain't bad, I was bidding on wheels earlier for the e36.
    I appear to have lost but no confirmed sale yet...

8.5j front, 10j rear!

Good sizes, I would almost risk 8.5 on the front myself but I know 8 will fit no problem and I dont want to start rolling arches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Chigurh.jpg

Chigurh.jpg

He ordered them an hour ago SC :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Must dl that film and watch it again :)

Anyone know do car manufacturers sell oem clutch "kits"? Or just the parts individually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Started my work placement report nothing more depressing than doing college work during the summer especially when it's on your days off. I got 3k words done so I'm getting through it a bit quicker than I thought I would at least.

Anyway where is the best place to buy them touch up pens maybe Renault dealer they are hardly that expensive are they ?

CIP4 wrote: »
    Started my work placement report nothing more depressing than doing college work during the summer especially when it's on your days off. I got 3k words done so I'm getting through it a bit quicker than I thought I would at least.

Anyway where is the best place to buy them touch up pens maybe Renault dealer they are hardly that expensive are they ?

Halfords sets are great in fairness, about €15 for the lacquer and all!

Do they actually match reasonably well I now it will never be perfect but more to take the bare look off a few marks on the handles and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Well That's a guess I always fill it when it's half a tank I might let it run down this tank for the craic and see I think they could be a 60 litre tank. It's just they all go on about euro 5 engines and high Mpg and you never see it. Ah sure if it's the only thing I have to complain about I'm not too bad.

Try the brim it and refill mpg test when you do empty that tank. The aul lads laguna is on 6.0l/100km average on it's computer. Seem about right for the driving he does. You should be getting better or same doing longer journeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Metzger, just saw your ad over on BMWH. Must be something special you have lined up. I wish I was in a position to buy, I'd have it in a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The 335i is a credit to him.

Hopefully you get what you want for it MM and the replacement is a nice clean slate for you to go forward with and maintain on the same lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Probably not allowed to ask for best/good used car dealers in public, but assuming it's allowed: Can someone PM me good used car dealership, specifically interested in Audi A4 - 2008-2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

arleitiss wrote:
    Probably not allowed to ask for best/good used car dealers in public, but assuming it's allowed: Can someone PM me good used car dealership, specifically interested in Audi A4 - 2008-2009.

You can. Where abouts in the country?

Dublin preferably, any part of it.

arleitiss wrote:
    Dublin preferably, any part of it.

I'm the other side, so wouldn't be tuned in with dealers up that area.

Some of the lads will be along with decent suggestions.

I'm the other side, so wouldn't be tuned in with dealers up that area.

Some of the lads will be along with decent suggestions.

Okay, thank you.

arleitiss wrote:
    Okay, thank you.

Did you try the big names, main dealers etc.

I know of someone who bought a 10 a4 back in 2013 off Murphy and Gunn and sang their praises.

Did you try the big names, main dealers etc.

I know of someone who bought a 10 a4 back in 2013 off Murphy and Gunn and sang their praises.

Main problem on big dealer site I see is that cars start at 16k.
    I am looking more of 11-12k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What's the point? You'll take no one's advice, go buy some scrapper from a dealer in Ballymount then come back moaning when it calfs.

Should be looking at the car not the dealer anyhow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭job seeker

How much is the n.c.t? I can't find it on the website..

job seeker wrote: »
    How much is the n.c.t? I can't find it on the website..

55 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Top Gear's Clarkson, Hammond and May sign Amazon deal

wish they'd gone to netflix, as I already have that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

nd wrote: »
    Top Gear's Clarkson, Hammond and May sign Amazon deal

wish they'd gone to netflix, as I already have that.
    Now, will all the adoring fans follow them to Amazon. I'm willing to bet not (and that includes me)

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

Is Amazon Prime available here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

timaru89 wrote: »
    Is Amazon Prime available here?
    Technically, No.

There are way around this. If you really wanted to pay for it

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

Pity they didn't sign with Netflix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,843 ✭✭✭✭bear1

T minus 3.5 hours :D can't feckin wait for work to end!!
    Car parked outside all packed and cleaned, have to say about the Accord leaving aside the pain it has caused me, you can fit a serious amount of stuff in the boot.
    Very impressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Anyone know if it'll be possible to watch it without a subscription? ;)

DakarVert wrote: »
    Anyone know if it'll be possible to watch it without a subscription? ;)

Everything is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

bear1 wrote: »
    T minus 3.5 hours :D can't feckin wait for work to end!!
    Car parked outside all packed and cleaned, have to say about the Accord leaving aside the pain it has caused me, you can fit a serious amount of stuff in the boot.
    Very impressed.

Do you still have the thesis man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,843 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Do you still have the thesis man?

I do, my parents in law are using it as they are constantly having car trouble.
    May get rid of it soon though cause it's becoming nonviable in the long term.
    Also planning on changing the Accord hopefully before the year is out.
    Only reliable cars in constant use are the Fiats surprisingly

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭job seeker

55 quid

I asked as I wasn't sure if id have to go early to get a new rear wiper blade as the old one was in bits. 2/3 clips broken and half of the rubber pulled off. Anywho went in early to get one. I tried 3 different places including Halfords and none of them had a rear wiper blade in stock.. So got fed up and just went for it, fearing the worst. It passed n.c.t for 1 year.. Not really a fan of the yellow n.c.t disc though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,861 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

bear1 wrote: »
    [...]
    Also planning on changing the Accord hopefully before the year is out.
    [...]
    Hooray! :D

I asked as I wasn't sure if id have to go early to get a new rear wiper blade as the old one was in bits. 2/3 clips broken and half of the rubber pulled off. Anywho went in early to get one. I tried 3 different places including Halfords and none of them had a rear wiper blade in stock.. So got fed up and just went for it, fearing the worst. It passed n.c.t for 1 year.. Not really a fan of the yellow n.c.t disc though.

Congrats on it passing :) . Still I don't know how you would drive around with a rear wiper in bits. I use my one a good bit in rain especially when reversing. I would generally change them all on a yearly basis or earlier if needed it rains way too much in Ireland to have bad wipers that can't clear the window properly.

Nice one. At least it passed. Ive noticed that the inspections have gone a bit half arsed lately. They didnt even open the boot for my test this year. The new discs are a bit bright alright. A garda can tell the car is tested 100m on approach to a checkpoint :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

Congrats on it passing :) . Still I don't know how you would drive around with a rear wiper in bits. I use my one a good bit in rain especially when reversing. I would generally change them all on a yearly basis or earlier if needed it rains way too much in Ireland to have bad wipers that can't clear the window properly.
    That is the one thing I actually do miss from my old car. Not that they're nessesary, just handy really. But why the hell do saloons not have rear wipers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Saloons don't really need them. Hatches definitely do though.

They'd look terrible anyway