Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

166man and Ded_Zebra's VW Bi-Polo Project

• 13-03-2015 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭

Recently myself and 166man bought a VW Polo together. Her name is Betsy, The guy we got it off said that the old lady that owned it before him called her that so the name lives on :)

So a bit of background on the car. Well it's a 1.0l with 1.1l tax and about 500cc performance. This is definitely the slowest car I've ever driven, 0-60 is a feature of this car but no one has developed a timing device capable of recording such a long time. :p

"What does the car need?" I hear you ask!

Well it needs:
    • Front passangers side tyre
    • An exhaust flexi joint as it's bolwing quite badly
    • A really good clean inside and out
    • A service
    • A Thermostat
    • A knock in the front suspension sorted
    • NCT
    • Tax
    • and it needs to become Bipolar!!!! More about that as the proect progresses;)

I don't have any pictures of it as we got it. Hopefully 166man will be along with some:) All I have is this one of the mighty engine :D:D

AAE529DCCCAA4B14BCF66938F8CE23A6-0000363222-0003740427-01024L-97A7AF1603A146FC903A02753C96ADBA.jpg

First thing anyway was we washed it. 2BM obviously!! wouldn't want to damage that paint

0C230CBC84DD4CC2BC35B3CDDB391805-0000363222-0003740428-01024L-523BDE0A670C485CA6916C06113DEF66.jpg

3B2186E2036541B0AD023304591C6887-0000363222-0003740429-01024L-55745519374E4092B48D9C304304D570.jpg

Don't have any pics of it clean either! Hopefully 166man does.

Passed a big mile stone the other day :)

2DB65F4D6F044128B14CADAD14AF40B2-0000363222-0003740425-01024L-A7EB0CFB06AC4C5099E869B24218C341.jpg

1888B6C425C04FAE8CD37E7B68D271BB-0000363222-0003740426-01024L-604880B5A32E42FD866A24DF29FE9192.jpg

Standard ride height on these things is madness. Wouldn't see it on a tractor. Thankfully we got some 50mm lowering springs from DGT and they even came on shocks :)

13E2D3A2EAE5420BA8BC9D05C26AAC4E-0000363222-0003740423-01024L-767CBCE8AFD8480B8E88A33F9961B7B4.jpg

Here is Betsy failing the shoe test miserably.

6B9B71FEA9644F27B55D4B438AE6D5AA-0000363222-0003740422-01024L-A75F655A8762462BAA3A422CF116F3B1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Old shocks coming out.

B1920A238EEB48518C81BDB0098F2158-0000363222-0003740421-01024L-4CA39F66E611410D9DB510B00386CE9B.jpg

New and the old.

12449A0B337B4D688DFE3EA9DFF69FDC-0000363222-0003740419-01024L-131FE0560ECA44BCB96FD3543E1312DD.jpg

New going in.

F379940188CC41829A5E2575FDC473D9-0000363222-0003740418-01024L-2E24272CBB0F48E69927290B1F0AE889.jpg

New ride height. Passes the shoe test now :) and it'll come down another bit when it's driven and has a chance to settle.

D1BD077F4952431EADBEA4276C744522-0000363222-0003740416-01024L-B5927590185C47ED9F4E2D5CD947EBCD.jpg

FCA072954DA143E2AAD5AD7AAED23905-0000363222-0003740415-01024L-532C8215FB234989A9E8031D4781C6B5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

I'll be watching with interest at how this one develops but God those runners are a bit cool runnings aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,499 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Needs more engine

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Needs more engine

We thought about getting a 1.4 but the hilarious slowness is the best bit of the car :P

This project is all about show and no go anyway :pac:

Oh forgot to put in that we also got a new tyre on it today to replace the one with the bulge in it. Told the tyre fitter that we wanted something cheap and he very honestly described it as a black bin bag. Nice of a tyre fitter to be honest rather than tell you they're great and all the taxi drivers use them

Here is our lovely new Matador

E65BD894A28A48ECB4F9B01E33E6FFAB-0000363222-0003740424-01024L-16DDCCEA19A448BDBD263290A56B5450.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

This should be fun :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Lovin it :D

I once considered putting a turbo on a 1 litre with a GT15 I once had for the lols

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

subscribed -this is going to be deadly:D

davycc wrote: »
    subscribed -this is going to be deadly:D

Hopefully :D

I have more pictures of stuff that has gone on but stupid pix.ie isn't working so haven't uploaded them yet :(

Well we've all seen Minis with Union Jacks on the roof so.... eeeehhhh yeah... :P

A0C8E0CE1C93400A8675864986CD3344-0000363222-0003742951-01024L-50387131D3C64EAC865D9E87AED0CBD4.jpg

5277E2268EB440CCB4E322A454D6C9B8-0000363222-0003742950-01024L-105D5D8CD5BA400BBD1980F736D6E24F.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

You two with start a trend with all the tdi fanboys....can see that flag becoming a regular addition to vw's up and down the country....like the first matte black car I saw, it looks class

• Registered Users Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭job seeker

Is that a wrap or sprayed? Looks cool.

The flag is sprayed on. Much cheaper than wrapping it :p

We got a few other small bits done today, I've a couple of pics I'll put up in a bit. Hopefully Tim will finally get some of the pictures he took up :rolleyes::p

Our wing mirrors weren't gold and that was a big problem... So we fixed it

71A69AF6515143D5ACDC7F435D2EF477-0000363222-0003743250-01024L-632A9DA4BAE044939805DFB15870CB3A.jpg

Then this started happening. Hope OSI does't mind!!! :D

7D211437FE2046E9B006F0D425AD0177-0000363222-0003743252-01024L-0EC180C847A74B58BDE9BBA125C9C133.jpg

B503560D6EC34DA98AB27BF6E73AD593-0000363222-0003743251-01024L-C9151E807C574F519BDD2847691D467C.jpg

Also, since lowering the car it has driven terribly. So today we had a go at changing the camber on the front. We set it for the maximum negative camber we could get and it's way better now :cool::cool:. Actually quite go-karty now :D:D:D. It's probably set up with a bit too much camber but we'll get it right with trial and error eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

2XuzDt.jpg

fcfil0.jpg

oHnQoL.jpg

i5qCyv.jpg

It's been eventful so far but such craic, car has as much power as my dishwasher but that nearly is part of the fun.

And in case anyone thought she will be going for her test in the next few weeks and will be taxed when the logbook arrives...

Lucky NCT guy....:pac:

Are ye taking a leaf out of the mighty car mods book, whit the budget street cred?
    Also ye should do the same with the wing and the japanise comic. Or mabe use a simpsons comic??? lol

It started as that alright but has sort of has turned into our own thing. Just a case of doing whatever we want to as long as it's stupid and something we wouldn't do to a car we liked. We'll see where it goes.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

this is rapidly coming to a point where you need to cable tie stitch something. nothing says my build is budget but serious quite like cable tie stitches.

If we ever damage a bumper or something that's what we'll do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

As ye have the paint brush out, might be the right time to paint on a few "Go Faster Stripes". Also needs some Furry Dice....... Only saying...like.

My sister likes the flag on the roof so much that she's going to wait an Italian one on the roof of her punto :D:D:D

I like the stripes idea, furry dice is there just needs installation.

If anyone else has ideas keep them coming, can't promise we'll do them but the more ideas the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    If we ever damage a bumper or something that's what we'll do :D

no, no, you have this all wrong :pac:. there are extra marks for stitching something that didn't really need to be stitched. like the bumper to the wing for example.

you're possibly also doing it wrong if you don't put the passenger side wiper arm onto the drivers side wiper spindle for a properly good single wiper conversion.

Geo-Metro-zip-tie-repair.jpg
    wiper5.jpg

Lol that's pure class!!!!! :pac::pac::pac: We'll be doing that I think :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Loving this thread.... by chance, I got a free Polo a couple of weeks ago.
    The German flag roof is brilliant, and as my one is red, only two colours to spray!
    So a saving already :D

Some serious expenditure already, battery from scrappy, €20, Wiper motor & linkage from breaker, €40, and fan belt broke yesterday, another €12! My God, the price of motoring is staggering..........

NCT is booked for this coming Sunday, poor chap may have an easy or a hard day with this one, depending on how you see it...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

166man wrote: »
    NCT is booked for this coming Sunday, poor chap may have an easy or a hard day with this one, depending on how you see it...!

Nice to see the dolly birds in the booking department still bump you up the list of you sweet talk them.
    Waiting list...what waiting list

Nice to see the dolly birds in the booking department still bump you up the list of you sweet talk them.
    Waiting list...what waiting list

Just pop onto the site between midnight and 2am and you'll usually get a slot in good time ;)

You could make a wacky mixtape prior to the test and have it playing when the tester starts up the car and tests it.. Then watch the shenanigans unfold..

Living on a prayer?

Or perhaps saying your prayers?

You Decide..

job seeker wrote: »
    You could make a wacky mixtape prior to the test and have it playing when the tester starts up the car and tests it.. Then watch the shenanigans unfold..

Living on a prayer?

Or perhaps saying your prayers?

You Decide..

That's actually a hilarious idea.... Is it an NcT fail if the radio is jammed on and can't be turned off, or maybe connect it up to the brake pedal lol

haha loving it... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Vito Andolini

Well! Did it pass or fail miserably?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Quite brilliant!
    Or how about a 2nd "ghost" radio hidden up under the dash and wired to the brake lights.
    Can picture the tester doing everything he can, to silence the damn thing....:D.