Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ring door bell prank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I used to be brutal at knick knack. I would always fall or something and end up getting caught. Too fecking clumsy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭Choochtown

cena wrote: »
    Actually kids 1- 7 cena. Not the first time it happened
    I have never done it before . I really don't care for them to ring the bell but when you hear the heavy feet a running is the annoying. Prank fail on there half

I'm confused. You've chased them 7 times but you've never chased them before???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

People still have door bells? I thought knocking at the door was a thing of the past. Call or text and tell me you're outside. Otherwise **** off and don't disturb me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Best thing is live in complete darkness.
    They won't ever bother you again.

Don't react as that's what they want attention.

Set ed209 from robocob to take them out you have 20seconds to comply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I don't bother answering the door unless I'm expecting somebody. Sure it could be the TV licence guy or 'wanna buy a bitta carpet' but nearly always a waste of time, in any case.

Genuine callers rarely come unannounced anymore.

Just don't answer the door and the kids and the salesmen and the people collecting money for retired dolphins will all get bored and go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Had the door bell ring tonight after ten. Young lads. I could hear them run off as o went to the door I could see them.

Went off in car to find just to give them a scare . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.
    I know them from football.

Do you have a special set of skills, skills that would make you a nightmare for people like them..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

At least they ran away when you went to answer the door - could have been Electric Ireland or some other salesman instead; can't chase them off unfortunately.

Nope why?

They were being ironic, because your posts are full of spelling errors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

They were being ironic, because your posts are full of spelling errors

No, that wasn't the joke. Anyway, I've seen far worse spelt posts on here. At least the OP didn't post in all-caps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Until today I have never heard this being called anything but 'run away knock'. Clearly ye're all wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

At least they ran away when you went to answer the door - could have been Electric Ireland or some other salesman instead; can't chase them off unfortunately.

You haven't seen me in my hockey mask and chainsaw!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

ScummyMan wrote: »
    That's a bit extreme

more than words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

All they want is the chase.
    We used to do it to one particular neighbour(who was a bollix anyway) who could chase us for up to 3 hours a night without giving up.
    He was like the cop robot fella in Terminator 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Until today I have never heard this being called anything but 'run away knock'. Clearly ye're all wrong.

We played it as 'run away knock' too.

As an extra twist we would bring TV remotes and change the channels thru the window.

Fun times. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

Choochtown wrote: »
    I'm confused. You've chased them 7 times but you've never chased them before???

It has been 8 times they have done it. I let it go for first 7 times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

It has been 8 times they have done it. I let it go for first 7 times

Let it go, let it go. Turn away and slam the door

/gets coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Let it go, let it go. Turn away and slam the door

/gets coat

The doorbell never bothered him anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭thickhead

cena wrote:
    How dear you. I was there coach in football (gaa) last year.

And how does that make you exempt from being a pedophile ?

thickhead wrote: »
    And how does that make you exempt from being a pedophile ?

its actually a terrible comment to make and after hours is good for funny comments and I would class that as bad taste.

Why is it when a guy helps or works with kids that always comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭thickhead

its actually a terrible comment to make and after hours is good for funny comments and I would class that as bad taste.

Why is it when a guy helps or works with kids that always comes up.

I don't care if he works with kids

ok dokey

Think this is a job for senior ding dong

If you ever need him just ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

All they want is the chase.
    We used to do it to one particular neighbour(who was a bollix anyway) who could chase us for up to 3 hours a night without giving up.
    He was like the cop robot fella in Terminator 2.

The trick when playing knick knack was that you didn't need to be a faster runner than the 'bollix'. You only needed to be faster than your pal who was in front of you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Wait until they ramp it up a few notches.

1. "Thunder and Lightning" - they ring the doorbell like fcuk while banging and kicking the door - just to scare the bejaysus out of you.

2. They set fire to a plastic bag full of dog shít on your door step, ring the bell, fcuk off to a viewing point and watch you stamp out the fire.

Although dog shít is harder to find these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Had the door bell ring tonight after ten. Young lads. I could hear them run off as o went to the door I could see them.

Went off in car to find just to give them a scare . fools didn't know what to say when I pulled up.
    I know them from football.

Keep your hair on
    There's not many could say in all honesty that they never knocked at someones door when they were young and ran away I know I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Knick knocking and throwing berries was nothing My oh says they used to throw muck balls at each others houses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Yea, I was part of a tough crew that pelted windows with berries too! We used a modified catapult, cut a plastic bottle in half use the top half and tape a balloon around the end of it, drop the berries in and you could fire them off at serious velocity, they would splat on the window!

We also put a cooked sausage in someones letter box, I sort of regret that now, probably a bit much.

Ah forgive yourself! At least it was cooked - they could've eaten it if they were hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

OP, the only logical solution now is to remove the door and brick up the entrance. You and any visitors will have to enter and leave the house through a window but it's a small price to pay for a peaceful evening. Also the joke would be on the kids as they spend hours staring at your house wondering where the door has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

We called it knock down ginger, no idea why.

My son, who is now almost 20 did it with some friends when he was younger, but the householder chased them and had a heart attack. The police were involved, the man was taken to hospital and recovered thankfully. But, it was very hard to deal with, most people have done it when they were kids, they didn't mean the man to end up in hospital, but he did, as a parent I felt responsible but they were just being stupid kids. Thankfully he and his family didn't take it any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

Yea, I was part of a tough crew that pelted windows with berries too! We used a modified catapult, cut a plastic bottle in half use the top half and tape a balloon around the end of it, drop the berries in and you could fire them off at serious velocity, they would splat on the window!

We also put a cooked sausage in someones letter box, I sort of regret that now, probably a bit much.

Haha brings back memories. Anyone who didn't do knockers as a kid had no childhood.

The little fecker are still ringing the door bell. just here 5 miins ago. Thinks it is time to get the guards involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

The little fecker are still ringing the door bell. just here 5 miins ago. Thinks it is time to get the guards involved
    You should definitely call the guards. Will teach them a lesson.

Shannon757 wrote: »
    You should definitely call the guards. Will teach them a lesson.

I am going to have too. not even a joke now. If i found one at the door I am not sure what I would do.

How about CCTV on the door to use as evidence?

Not my house to be able to out any up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

A bucket of water out of the top window will sort them out.

pablo128 wrote: »
    A bucket of water out of the top window will sort them out.

they run off after ringing the bell.

What can you tell the guards then. What can they do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

they run off after ringing the bell.

Drench them as they run up to the door. You might have to wait for a while but I personally would be there waiting for them.

Leave the light off in the room though!:pac:

What can you tell the guards then. What can they do?

Didn't you say a few posts back to tell the guards and your asking what can they do If I tell them

Yes but unless you have any prof there's nothing you can do.
    Are they still out there or do you know where they live?

My sister lives in a part of Suburbia which is very popular with joggers. She has one of them fancy-pants intercoms at the driveway. Every morning, her children blitz the morning joggers with a piercing scream. I shouldn't laugh, but there is nothing more entertaining than seeing the joggers practically leap from the pavement at each shrill squeal. Rightly puts a smile on your face. Sorry joggers :pac:

Yes but unless you have any prof there's nothing you can do.
    Are they still out there or do you know where they live?

Ya i know where all of them live. As I said in my first I was there coach in football. I know all there parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Ya i know where all of them live. As I said in my first I was there coach in football. I know all there parents

Well think of the little shy ones who were forced out of peer pressure to join in but secretly hated every second of it and go to bed feeling really bad about and ashamed of themselves for not being able to stand up for their convictions.

Sorry, I was unaware. Go ahead call the guards.

Well think of the little shy ones who were forced out of peer pressure to join in but secretly hated every second of it and go to bed feeling really bad about and ashamed of themselves for not being able to stand up for their convictions.

I couldn't care less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

I couldn't care less

I hope you no longer coach kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

My mates and I did a terrible knick-knack a few years back. We got their wheelie bin and carried it to the front door (empty bin, carried it so they wouldn't hear the wheels). We got the hose and ran it round to the front and filled the bin to the brim. Then we leaned the wheelie bin full of water against the front door, rang the bell and legged it. There must have been 200 litres of water in that thing at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

jungleman wrote: »
    My mates and I did a terrible knick-knack a few years back. We got their wheelie bin and carried it to the front door (empty bin, carried it so they wouldn't hear the wheels). We got the hose and ran it round to the front and filled the bin to the brim. Then we leaned the wheelie bin full of water against the front door, rang the bell and legged it. There must have been 200 litres of water in that thing at least.

Jesus dude, that could have caused some serious damage. Not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

We called them knick/nick knocks. as in knocking on the door. Never heard it being called knick knack which many here do. To me, Knick knacks are little ornaments or collectibles.
    People still have door bells? I thought knocking at the door was a thing of the past. Call or text and tell me you're outside. Otherwise **** off and don't disturb me.
    I don't bother answering the door unless I'm expecting somebody. Sure it could be the TV licence guy or 'wanna buy a bitta carpet' but nearly always a waste of time, in any case.
    this is why I have never bothered to get a doorbell, if I move house and there was a doorbell I would remove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

OP is bang on about this.

I'll tell you what you should do. The next time one of these little ****ers starts banging the door down get after them in the car. Grab one of them and throw him in the backseat and take him for a drive to some industrial estate.

He'll smarten up right quick.