Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scotland v Ireland build-up thread

1789101113»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Hopefully it's along the lines of "we cannae win today laddies, so let's git oot thur an' make shur that the bloody Sassenachs dinnae win the trophy", then they proceed to capitulate completely and allow us to run up a cricket score.

Disclaimer: Scottish people may not actually talk like this.

Something along these lines would be grand :)https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8kG9j5Io6yw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

The history of these sort of results makes grim reading; Wales having put big scores on Italy in Rome in the past, Ireland traditionally struggling to run up a score in Murrayfield, and England have utterly dominated Le Crunch in the last decade in Twickers.

However, as last week showed us, history isn't everything, and I reckon there'll be a surprise yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 The Libertine

Is it fair to say that in the past Ireland have targeted at least 3rd place in the 6 Nations every year? Apparently to balance the books that's the minimum the IRFU demand, hence the conservatism of our previous 2 coaches. Schmidt I believe is in danger of falling into this trap with this conservative choice, even though 3rd is the worst we can do at this stage, its a million quid extra per place. I have no idea what this means in terms of his team selection.

Maybe it means that he doesnt really mind if we dont win this tournament as 3rd is in the bag and he wants to iron out last weeks problems and keep going along the style he has been playing of late? The selection of Fitz instead of Zebo suggests he doesnt plan on kicking the hole off the ball non stop for the whole game and sexton will look for territory rather than air with his kicks?

I believe we will have a better idea what is going on in his head, not from his team selection but on when he brings the subs on. If he waits too long leaving Reddan and Madigan sitting around doing nothing than I think its fair to say he is still planning on teh World Cup but if he allows the team to cut loose and gives Cronin, Hendo, Reddan and Maddigan at least 30minutes than we will know that hes trying to win the thing. This leaves the selection of Jones still baffling and yeah no matter what way I look at it I cant figure it out. Its a win win as far as the IRFU stand so its just the fans Schmidt needs to placate so maybe this team selection is a nod to keeping both sets of pressure at arms length, kind of achieving niether in the process. I dunno! I just hope we hammer them, I went balls out and put Madigan as my outhalf in fantasy rugby so I need tries and an early start from him!!

Get in there Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

Slightly off topic- but any ideas where the Irish team are staying in Edinburgh. Would really appreciate it if anyone knew. Thanks!!

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Is it fair to say that in the past Ireland have targeted at least 3rd place in the 6 Nations every year? Apparently to balance the books that's the minimum the IRFU demand, hence the conservatism of our previous 2 coaches.

absolute complete bull sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭redmca2

The way the 6 Nations winner is decided and the fact that its format is skewed by one match per opponent instead of a home & away in each season means for me that as long as we win on Saturday, then 4 wins out of 5 will be a good result for the 2015 6N Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I'm gonna go completely against the grain and say that I think France will either beat or draw with England. Whatever happens, I really doubt england will cut loose. There will only be one score in it.

England are good, but they're vulnerable in key areas, and France are poor, but the strength of their squad means they're always capable of putting in a big performance on any given day. Ireland beat France by 7 points at home, and I think Ireland are a better team than England.

I also think Ireland will score poorly against Scotland and only beat them by between 7 and 10 points thus making the final game between France and England ridiculously tense and bring the championship down to the wire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Is it fair to say that in the past Ireland have targeted at least 3rd place in the 6 Nations every year? Apparently to balance the books that's the minimum the IRFU demand, hence the conservatism of our previous 2 coaches. Schmidt I believe is in danger of falling into this trap with this conservative choice, even though 3rd is the worst we can do at this stage, its a million quid extra per place. I have no idea what this means in terms of his team selection.

Maybe it means that he doesnt really mind if we dont win this tournament as 3rd is in the bag and he wants to iron out last weeks problems and keep going along the style he has been playing of late? The selection of Fitz instead of Zebo suggests he doesnt plan on kicking the hole off the ball non stop for the whole game and sexton will look for territory rather than air with his kicks?

I believe we will have a better idea what is going on in his head, not from his team selection but on when he brings the subs on. If he waits too long leaving Reddan and Madigan sitting around doing nothing than I think its fair to say he is still planning on teh World Cup but if he allows the team to cut loose and gives Cronin, Hendo, Reddan and Maddigan at least 30minutes than we will know that hes trying to win the thing. This leaves the selection of Jones still baffling and yeah no matter what way I look at it I cant figure it out. Its a win win as far as the IRFU stand so its just the fans Schmidt needs to placate so maybe this team selection is a nod to keeping both sets of pressure at arms length, kind of achieving niether in the process. I dunno! I just hope we hammer them, I went balls out and put Madigan as my outhalf in fantasy rugby so I need tries and an early start from him!!

Get in there Ireland

Post of the day
    :P:P:P:P:P:P

Not one bit of sense made!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

redmca2 wrote: »
    The way the 6 Nations winner is decided and the fact that its format is skewed by one match per opponent instead of a home & away in each season means for me that as long as we win on Saturday, then 4 wins out of 5 will be a good result for the 2015 6N Championship.

Arguably, it's easier to win the championship when we play both England and France at home, than when we play Scotland, Italy and Wales at home.

France haven't been themselves recently, but playing them in Paris is always a huge ask, while away games in Murrayfield and Italy are games we usually expect to win.

If we could change it so that we have Wales, France and England at home in the same season, we'd expect to win the championship every second year

sydthebeat wrote: »

absolute complete bull sh!te

Whilst we encourage 'attack the post, not the poster' we do hope you can keep it civil whilst doing so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

.ak wrote: »
    The history of these sort of results makes grim reading; Wales having put big scores on Italy in Rome in the past, Ireland traditionally struggling to run up a score in Murrayfield, and England have utterly dominated Le Crunch in the last decade in Twickers.

However, as last week showed us, history isn't everything, and I reckon there'll be a surprise yet...

The largest Welsh margin in Rome in the 6 Nations is 30 points. Below is their winning margins:

2013: 17 points
    2011: 8 points
    2009: 5 points
    2007: -3 points (Italy won)
    2005: 30 points
    2003: -8 points (Italy won)
    2001: 10 points

So only once have they won by a margin that would be enough to get close to Ireland or Englands PD (10 years ago). As you said history isn't everything and I can see Wales beating that 30 point record tomorrow. But it just goes to show that game is almost never comprehensive at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

molloyjh wrote: »
    The largest Welsh margin in Rome in the 6 Nations is 30 points. Below is their winning margins:

2013: 17 points
    2011: 8 points
    2009: 5 points
    2007: -3 points (Italy won)
    2005: 30 points
    2003: -8 points (Italy won)
    2001: 10 points

So only once have they won by a margin that would be enough to get close to Ireland or Englands PD (10 years ago). As you said history isn't everything and I can see Wales beating that 30 point record tomorrow. But it just goes to show that game is almost never comprehensive at all.

Thanks for pointing out that when Wales had a negative points difference it was because Italy won :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

mfceiling wrote: »
    Just wondering here and maybe some of you will have the stats to hand (everything can be proven with stats - 96% of 38 people know this)...

So far in the 6N - who are each teams top try scorers and are they wingers?

England - Jonathan Joseph (Centre/Wing) - 4 tries
    Ireland - Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray, Tommy O'Donnell - 1 try each
    Wales - Rhys Webb (Scrum half) - 2 tries
    France - Romain Taofifénua, Brice Dulin, Yoann Maestri, Mathieu Bastereaud - 1 try each
    Italy - Luca Morisi (Centre) - 2 tries
    Scotland - Mark Bennett (Centre) - 2 tries

With the exception of JJ who played on the wing for the majority of the Italy game due to Mike Brown's concussion, it would appear that no wingers are their country's top try-scorers in this championship.

England - Jonathan Joseph (Centre/Wing) - 4 tries
    Ireland - Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray, Tommy O'Donnell - 1 try each
    Wales - Rhys Webb (Scrum half) - 2 tries
    France - Romain Taofifénua, Brice Dulin, Yoann Maestri, Mathieu Bastereaud - 1 try each
    Italy - Luca Morisi (Centre) - 2 tries
    Scotland - Mark Bennett (Centre) - 2 tries

With the exception of JJ who played on the wing for the majority of the Italy game due to Mike Brown's concussion, it would appear that no wingers are their country's top try-scorers in this championship.

I'd imagine that wouldn't be the case for the 4N. For which there would be multiple possible explications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Neither ourselves or Wales are set up to score a lot of points in the way we approach games. England have to be favourites, as of the three teams really capeable of winning the championship, they have demonstrated the greatest ability to score tries. Our greatest hope is that France can find some of the holes in the English defence that Scotland did last weekend. I have a funny feeling if the pressure is on, the English might bottle it, they're a relatively young and inexperienced team at this level. It's funny that two years in a row now, the faith of the championship will rest with France in the last game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭redmca2

stephen_n wrote: »
    Neither ourselves or Wales are set up to score a lot of points in the way we approach games. England have to be favourites, as of the three teams really capeable of winning the championship, they have demonstrated the greatest ability to score tries. Our greatest hope is that France can find some of the holes in the English defence that Scotland did last weekend. I have a funny feeling if the pressure is on, the English might bottle it, they're a relatively young and inexperienced team at this level. It's funny that two years in a row now, the faith of the championship will rest with France in the last game.

To reinforce this argument note that even Italy scored 3 tries against England, so opportunities are bound to open up for France even if they lose the match

Getting very close, any sign of match thread?

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Getting very close, any sign of match thread?

Why don't you volunteer? I suspect there is growing fatigue among the small group of posters who have done the majority of match previews over the last couple of years. Of course you do need a bit of time to spare...

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Why don't you volunteer? I suspect there is growing fatigue among the small group of posters who have done the majority of match previews over the last couple of years. Of course you do need a bit of time to spare...

I thought, maybe wrong, the game threads where handed out to people before the 6 nations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Maybe I'm naive but I think this team can really open up on Scotland if they're let loose. Even in defeat last week we should have scored a few more tries only for individual errors at crucial moments.

I think Ireland will win by 20 and it will be enough for the title.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Sorry guys, quick question for those that have experience getting to Murrayfield. Best way to get there from the city center? Or just do the 40 min walk? Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭total former

ktulu123 wrote: »
    Sorry guys, quick question for those that have experience getting to Murrayfield. Best way to get there from the city center? Or just do the 40 min walk? Cheers!

There's a tram that runs direct but it's likely to be mobbed coming up to match time. I always like to walk out and soak up the atmosphere.

And by atmosphere, I mean lager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭accidentprone1

Big Nelly wrote: »
    I thought, maybe wrong, the game threads where handed out to people before the 6 nations?

There's a sticky about it. The Ireland/Scotland match is still up for grabs apparently.

This is your moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Yup, on matchday the walk is good craic. Wouldn't even consider public transport.

The preview is still available for anyone who wants it:

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057369005/6/#post94757494

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Just walk it - thats what we always do as you can get the atmosphere. Oh, and stop off at one of those tiny cafes for a Rugby pie - it will stop your heart for about 2 minutes but you will be grand after the initial shock to the system! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

Jesus, after all the great previews I can't believe no-one's doing the tournament decider!

Flipper22 wrote: »
    Jesus, after all the great previews I can't believe no-one's doing the tournament decider!

The nerves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

The pressure!

I guess someone is just waiting until the very last second before they put it up.

braveheart-hold-original.jpg

braveheart-hold.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

more of the same please (without the last 5 mins) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Thanks for pointing out that when Wales had a negative points difference it was because Italy won :p

Always better to head them off at the pass Swiwi.
    stephen_n wrote: »

The one thing that jumped out about England for me last week was how many chances they butchered. They have 11 tries but 6 of those were against Italy and 3 against Scotland. So in the other 2 games they scored 2 tries. They ran riot in one game but other than that they haven't been that impressive on the try front. Wales on the other hand can score a lot if they get in the mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I guess someone is just waiting until the very last second before they put it up.

If we don't have someone late tonight, I might do it. I won't have time till late enough.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,172 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

ive done scotland twice, so..... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

timaru89 wrote: »

more of the same please (without the last 5 mins) ;)

I was in a hotel bar in Tralee for that game. The place was mobbed being St. Patricks day. The place went wild when we won.

And then the place emptied :confused: There was me and about 2 others blokes left there to watch the rest of the games to see if we could win the championship. I don't think most people realised the importance of the following games.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

There's a tram that runs direct but it's likely to be mobbed coming up to match time. I always like to walk out and soak up the atmosphere.

And by atmosphere, I mean lager.
    crisco10 wrote: »
    Yup, on matchday the walk is good craic. Wouldn't even consider public transport.
    DUBACC wrote: »
    Just walk it - thats what we always do as you can get the atmosphere. Oh, and stop off at one of those tiny cafes for a Rugby pie - it will stop your heart for about 2 minutes but you will be grand after the initial shock to the system! :D

Cheers lads, found the tram alright. Will probs stick to the walk. These Rugby pies sound interesting. Just eat it & don't ask questions yeah? haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭timaru89

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I was in a hotel bar in Tralee for that game. The place was mobbed being St. Patricks day. The place went wild when we won.

And then the place emptied :confused: There was me and about 2 others blokes left there to watch the rest of the games to see if we could win the championship. I don't think most people realised the importance of the following games.
    Was in Rome at the game, then packed on to the tram back to Piazza del Popolo where the France game was on a big screen. Safe to say the Irish TMO didn't receive many compliments!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I can do a match thread

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I can do a match thread

Miaow!

Nice one. A bit of pussy before the big game. Promising start to the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭TommyOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭John Kelly of

sorry to go a bit off topic guys but am going to match tomorrow and have never been to Edinburgh. Any recommendations for where to watch the other 2 games before and after the match at Murrayfield? I have to fly out tomorrow nite at 830pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭managerman

stadio flaminio in 2007 was a great day! sunshine in rome! i remember watching the france game in the team hotel before i had to grab a flight back to dublin..
    heading to edinburgh 2moro, anyone know the team hotel again, would be a great spot to watch the match again

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Flanman91

Scotland are a very good side having watched all of their games they have been very unlucky not to secure a win to date. I'm hoping Ireland will flog them for points but taking all games into account we will be lucky to get a win. I hope I'm very wrong..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭John Kelly of

sorry to go a bit off topic guys but am going to match tomorrow and have never been to Edinburgh. Any recommendations for where to watch the other 2 games before and after the match at Murrayfield? I have to fly out tomorrow nite at 830pm

We ended up watching the Wales game in a decent pub about 5 mins walk from the ground. Exit tram and turn right. Watched the England game in the stadium on big screen.
    Tram system is excellent. Got a day ticket for 9 quid. The tram goes from airport to city and stops at Murrayfield stadium on the way back.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    First paragraph is not a bad summation but if we win by 20 Wales have to win by 50+. That's a lot...

Just skimming through this thread as a I was away. This post made me laugh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 BSarsman

What a wonderful afternoon of Rugby....6-7 hours of magnificent entertainment.....keep the time difference for TV....It really added to the afternoons enjoyment tension...as we went from one match to the next.......Ireland ABU

Just wondering did BBC block out the full day like RTE 2 did? or they swap around channels??

I bet BT and Sky are falling over each other to buy the license rights now.....imagine the publicity if Sky had a day of rugby like that.....

Just to show how bad it was, after the Ireland v Scotland match the UPC box turned it self off because nobody had changed anything in such a long period, went into auto shut down

The TV tried it a few times as well

:-)