Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool v Man Utd, 22nd March, 1.30pm K/O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Lucas on for Allen please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Mig
    ----Can----Skrtel---Sakho
    ---Hendo---Lucas
    Moreno
    Gerrard
    Coutinho---
    Sterling---Sturridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Great stuff from United but when you have a fullback like Valencia and a CB like Jones, you will give up chances. Lallana's chance came from a sliced clearance from Val to Henderson. Jones terrifies me at all times He is near the ball.

Rooney is off colour today but hopefully he comes out a bit brighter second half. Still expecting a Pool win once they up the intensity but delighted that it hasn't been a foregone conclusion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

There must be a strong temptation to bring Gerrard on soon.

• Where's rarnes? Turtyturd? Monkey9?

Ah lads don't be hiding come out and play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Utd by far the better team, I think Liverpool will have to match them in midfield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I wouldn't change anything just yet! Who would you take off for Di Maria anyway? Everyone playing well except Rooney and he's not going to be taken off..
    edgecutter wrote: »
    For who and why?
    The obvious would be Young. Though you could also swap him for Fellani or Mata. The guy was signed to transform the team and be our focal point from midfield. This was said by all fans and the manager. He's either the most expensive British signing and our best world class player, or it's time to get rid. Get him on and let him show us which is which. Perfect opportunity to go for the kill and finish this game with a 2 or 3 nil win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Liam O wrote: »
    Sterling is wing back and Can is their RCB, if ever there was a position to be exploited it's there.

1-0 up at halftime at Anfield and comfortable. No need to disrupt the defensive shape. Team on the pitch is capable of scoring the second. Rooney does need to sharpen up though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,949 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'd take Allen and Lallana off for Lucas and Manquillo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fair play to Jamie Carragher giving credit where it's due

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

K4t wrote: »
    The obvious would be Young. Though you could also swap him for Fellani or Mata. The guy was signed to transform the team and be our focal point from midfield. This was said by all fans and the manager. He's either the most expensive British signing and our best world class player, or it's time to get rid. Get him on and let him show us which is which. Perfect opportunity to go for the kill and finish this game with a 2 or 3 nil win.

Settle down. There's no need to call for changes when they're not needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

If you told me at the start of the season we would leave Di Maria and Falcao on the bench to start with against pool I'd be sickened, turns out we are comfortable enough without them starting. Handy players to be able to call upon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

If Liverpool cop on for 2nd half and utd stay the same I would expect Liverpool to win 1-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Peist2007 wrote: »
    1-0 up at halftime at Anfield and comfortable. No need to disrupt the defensive shape. Team on the pitch is capable of scoring the second. Rooney does need to sharpen up though

The last few minutes there weren't comfortable. Proactivity is needed here, they're there for the taking.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

rumors from Anfield BR has sent word for Pele to tog out

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Where's rarnes? Turtyturd? Monkey9?

Cut out trying to goad other posters. Posts like this will only serve to cause problems.

Thread is going so smoothly, let's not try kicking off personal arguments, ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,120 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Where's rarnes? Turtyturd? Monkey9?

Stop being such a child. You're winning, enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Why take off players who are playing well?

• Lord TSC wrote: »
    Cut out trying to goad other posters. Posts like this will only serve to cause problems.

Bit of fun, ment no harm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

You planning on using that one in your stand up routine? I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

That Nivea ad with Henderson and the lads is crap ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

He's playing at RWB, can't really blame him if he's way out of position.

Rooney has been the worst player on the pitch and he's on 250k a week.
    For the money he supposedly wants id expected him to be able to play any where:p

Liam O wrote: »
    The last few minutes there weren't comfortable. Proactivity is needed here, they're there for the taking.

That was from a couple of sloppy clearances which led to nerves for a couple of minutes. Liverpool did nothing and it passed. I dont see how weakening ourselves defensively to bring on a player who will struggle in the lack of space is going to stop the odd sloppy moment or nervous spell. We need to stay as solid as possible and Young, for all his limitations, is putting a shift in and Blind hasnt really been left exposed once as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Lord TSC wrote: »

Maybe thats why lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Pool got sorted after half time against Swansea. This game is long from over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

United's bench looks like a Mexican drug cartel.

CAtVGYlWgAEsBb2.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

The boy has it all. Marvellous technician and a superb human being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,120 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

45 to go but a massive turnaround needed if we are to get anything from this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Settle down. There's no need to call for changes when they're not needed.
    I am calm; but it's like Real or Barca having Messi or Ronaldo on the bench when they're both perfectly fit to play and you would hope rearing to go.

He's either world class or he's not. Fellani, Young and Mata should not be keeping him out of the team, no matter how well they are playing; which is good but nothing special (obviously a great goal from Mata).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Henderson anonymous again today.
    Can poor, Moreno poor, Allen exposed.

Surely we can't play any worse in the second half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Stop creating trouble mick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

py2006 wrote: »
    If Liverpool cop on for 2nd half and utd stay the same I would expect Liverpool to win 1-2

Why continue to post drivel. Do you not understand Liverpool have been muck because we've made them muck. If we do the same again for 45 minutes we will win this comfortably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

That was from a couple of sloppy clearances which led to nerves for a couple of minutes. Liverpool did nothing and it passed. I dont see how weakening ourselves defensively to bring on a player who will struggle in the lack of space is going to stop the odd sloppy moment or nervous spell. We need to stay as solid as possible and Young, for all his limitations, is putting a shift in and Blind hasnt really been left exposed once as a result.

Sterling got through him early in fairness. De Gea to the rescue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,372 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Di Maria in big games does not struggle with lack of pace, Blind's been exposed plenty, Sterling has just been rubbish. Di Maria works as hard as anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Sideshow bob with the killer pass....get the **** in there oh yeaaaaaa

Herrera no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Gerrard is on for Lallana/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

It's nicely poised should be a cracking 2nd half.

I am calm; but it's like Real or Barca having Messi or Ronaldo on the bench when they're both perfectly fit to play and you would hope rearing to go.

He's either world class or he's not. Fellani, Young and Mata should not be keeping him out of the team, no matter how well they are playing; which is good but nothing special (obviously a great goal from Mata).

Rather than thinking about his reputation, why not just look at whats in front of you? Taking Young off and putting Di Maria on will leave Blind exposed alone to Sterling during Liverpool's inevitable attempted comeback in the second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,480 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We need to pressurize them
    Break it up
    Retain the ball
    Score next
    And win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Why continue to post drivel. Do you not understand Liverpool have been muck because we've made them muck. If we do the same again for 45 minutes we will win this comfortably

Or unless Liverpool make utd muck the it won't matter what utd will do!

My God.... Chicken and egg paradox!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭Robson99

Young n Rooney both poor. Utd loads of possession but creating little. Di Maria for young fairly soon

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭ShakerMaker91

Gerrard on grand job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 704 ✭✭✭frisbeeface

Sterling in the front 3, Hendo at RWB and Gerrard into midfield?

• 8-10 wrote: »
    Herrera no?

Touch and control and layoff was the big fella
    Herrera with the through ball

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Ironic how the in form Allen Henderson & Coutinho are get the run around united midfield. Shows how important experience is in games like this the small bit of joy Liverpool get carrick wins a free stays down a little extra takes the sting out of Liverpool. Saying that about experience Herrera hasn't had many in this fixture and he's been the best player on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Henderson rwb so and Sterling pushed on?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Lucas on for Allen please. That would have been my change rather than Gerrard for Lallana. Hopefully the captain can inspire something because we need it.

There were 2 clear chances in that half, and utd too k theirs which is ultimately the difference so far, but utd were clearly better overall and Liverpool need to create more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Touch and control and layoff was the big fella
    Herrera with the through ball

Yeah I figured the through ball was the killer pass not the layoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

wow

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Gerrard on is great to see, get some physicality in the middle now. Hack the legs off Fellaini now and nick a goal.

EDIT: Oh Stevie you f*ckin clown....