Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sick of the scumbags in this city ** Mod Warning in Op **

• 16-03-2015 11:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭

I always try and see the best in the city, but the scumbags seem to be taking over. Was in town this afternoon and the number of ferrell kids running amok in the city centre was crazy.
    I had to pop to Dunnes to pick something up a little while ago, about 9.30. Driving back towards the Parkway one of a gang of about 15 kids threw a rock at my car and I now have a 6 inch dent and scrapes in the front passenger side panel of my car. To say the response when I rang Henry street was underwhelming would be an understatement.

Mod Edit to Including Warning from Post #87
    I've deleted a number of posts, this is the only warning that's going to be given, any bickering/generalisations/racism will lead to bans. There's the basis of a great discussion here, please do so within the guidelines of the charter and rules of boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,206 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Limerick really needs a bit of investment, especially socially. IMO, you need to get a child away from this cycle of "scum". Try and get them intrested in something other than drink and drugs by the age of 13 and they may actually become something and contribute to the society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Lots of schools off today, I too noticed higher than normal levels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

It's not even a Limerick issue. It's all over the country. Gangs of teenagers engaged in pure scumbag behaviour. They get a kick out of vandalism and harrassing people.

The guards turn a blind eye because there is little to nothing they can do about it.

Under 18? Do what you want, nobody will stop you. The laws aren't there and the political will is not there to change the law either. Even at that, judges just give them a slap on the wrist.

Our entire justice system is a joke. The scum know this and they have zero reason to be deterred from behaving like animals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

The funniest thing about scumbags is it actually takes effort to be and look like one. These people are actively trying to have the scumbag look with sh!t tracksuit pants, hoodies and runners. The idea that some people are not only okay with being perceived as degenerates but actively pursue it like they're proud to be one is hilarious to me. And they're completely anti-intellectuals as well lol. Be careful not to use any sort of post secondary education vocabulary if you're talking to them or they'll be too confused and think you're a snob. They're all products of their environments and failure peers, the epitome of sheep. Pity them.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Limerick really needs a bit of investment, especially socially. IMO, you need to get a child away from this cycle of "scum". Try and get them intrested in something other than drink and drugs by the age of 13 and they may actually become something and contribute to the society.

Who would want to invest their money in this city lol? Think about it, if you have money and are looking to invest in an area in Ireland, would you really consider Limerick over other cities or towns given it's current business situation and social issues? Investors are looking to make money, not lose it.

You're right about getting the kids away, though. But the kids will still be with their parents and more often than not the parents are just as scummy so moving them to places with less scummy influence just negatively effects the areas they're moved to, like in the rejuvenation project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

The funniest thing about scumbags is it actually takes effort to be and look like one. These people are actively trying to have the scumbag look with sh!t tracksuit pants, hoodies and runners. The idea that some people are not only okay with being perceived as degenerates but actively pursue it like they're proud to be one is hilarious to me. And they're completely anti-intellectuals as well lol. Be careful not to use any sort of post secondary education vocabulary if you're talking to them or they'll be too confused and think you're a snob. They're all products of their environments and failure peers, the epitome of sheep. Pity them.

Every civilisation needs a working class, a middle class but not necessarily an upper class.
    No civilisation needs a lower class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Had a similar experience on childers road near the train tracks. Nasty gouge out of the windscreen whatever little johnny threw.

They start em young in fairness, had a very cultural crowd moved into one place i lived, the gravel in other peoples front "gardens" never failed to entertain the under 10s. Well not so much the actual gravel but firing it at peoples cars... and it wasn't some sort of jealousy by them - they had a newer car than most of us...

Spate of thefts from cars by young teens in another spot I used to live in.

Don't ever ever leave doors unlocked or handbags on show in lidl car park near green fields by the way. Saw a future triple digit conviction contender in and out of a car in 3seconds and gone on his BMX there one day. Wasn't his first time judging by the speed and confidence of execution. Not even shaving yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

Had a similar experience on childers road near the train tracks. Nasty gouge out of the windscreen whatever little johnny threw.

They start em young in fairness, had a very cultural crowd moved into one place i lived, the gravel in other peoples front "gardens" never failed to entertain the under 10s. Well not so much the actual gravel but firing it at peoples cars... and it wasn't some sort of jealousy by them - they had a newer car than most of us...

Spate of thefts from cars by young teens in another spot I used to live in.

Don't ever ever leave doors unlocked or handbags on show in lidl car park near green fields by the way. Saw a future triple digit conviction contender in and out of a car in 3seconds and gone on his BMX there one day. Wasn't his first time judging by the speed and confidence of execution. Not even shaving yet.

And what did you do?

If we all do nothing, nothing will be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

policarp wrote: »
    Every civilisation needs a working class, a middle class but not necessarily an upper class.
    No civilisation needs a lower class.

You will always have a lower class,because a lot of people wont get off there arse to get work only to sign on and down to boozer,no wonder some of these kids are running amuck,and these parents are the first to blame everyone for there misfortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

And what did you do?

What are the options exactly?

1) Call the guards. By the time they arrive, if they even do, the guy is gone. If by the chance of a small miracle they do come promptly and arrest the offender there are two outcomes - underage and next to nothing happens them, over 18 and you can add it to the 50+ other convictions they usually have so if effect it is the same. Nothing happens them. Nobody goes to jail in this country for breaking into a car.

2) Confront the scobe. Resulting in three possible outcomes. You get a hiding or worse if they have a knife. You give them a hiding and wind up in trouble, and unlike the scobe you do get punished. Three you stop them, teach them a lesson and get away with it.

I wouldn't have much confidence in the last of those outcomes panning out in my favour.

It simply pays to be a scumbag in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

I'm totally not okay with the vandalism, theft etc but I think a lot of the "feral" kids in Limerick add to it's character. It's certainly not all negative.

For instance, one day I saw a group of tourists walking up William street. Two girls were walking toward them. They must have been 13 or so. They were loud and one was singing. As they met the tourists one starting moon-walking backwards and dancing and singing at the group.

Needless to say the tourists were dumbfounded. It put a smile on my face. This is just one small example of the attitude in this city which I find very difficult to explain and which I appreciate a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

And what did you do?

In the lidl case:
    I commandeered a bike from another child. Chased the first child and battered him senseless. No I'm joking, I explained the error of his ways and sponsored him for pro cycling training - gave me quite the workout trying to catch up to him.

In the case of children throwing stones on childers road, I wrenched the wheel mounted the kerb and chased them across the green and all the way home. At this point I judged the parents to be in need of a hand up not a hand out so I hired them on the spot for my successful business and sponsored their children's training for Olympic shotput.

In the case of the under 10s firing gravel around? Beat them senseless. Oh wait, No. I called in the ARU. Helicopters tear gas the whole shebang.

Wtf do you think I did? What would you have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,467 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It simply pays to be a scumbag in this country.

It really irritates me when I see 'in this country' at the end of a global problem.

There is almost nothing that can be done to or for the prepubescent scumbags. Jail and community service can't apply. Some kind of reconciliation process where the tracksuited offender apologises to you (while being escorted by their tracksuited parent who now knows your identity )

What could possibly be done 'in this country'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

I'm totally not okay with the vandalism, theft etc but I think a lot of the "feral" kids in Limerick add to it's character. It's certainly not all negative.

For instance, one day I saw a group of tourists walking up William street. Two girls were walking toward them. They must have been 13 or so. They were loud and one was singing. As they met the tourists one starting moon-walking backwards and dancing and singing at the group.

Needless to say the tourists were dumbfounded. It put a smile on my face. This is just one small example of the attitude in this city which I find very difficult to explain and which I appreciate a lot.

William Street should be listed in guide books as a place for tourists to avoid.
    Anchored by H Samuels at one end crappy pubs at the other, it really is an appalling place which gets steadily worse as you go south along it, Chippers, Dealz,charity shops. A golden triangle for scobes.

William Street should be listed in guide books as a place for tourists to avoid.
    Anchored by H Samuels at one end crappy pubs at the other, it really is an appalling place which gets steadily worse as you go south along it, Chippers, Dealz,charity shops. A golden triangle for scobes.
    Hey, that was supposed to be a positive story! Anyways, at least William Street is no longer out patients for St. Joseph's. They must have changed some policy because it used to be quite "interesting" back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

:confused: you mean go north (from o'connell st)

fryup wrote: »
    :confused: you mean go north (from o'connell st)
    Don't confuse going up william street with North :)

Remember, Ennis Road is the North side of the river shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^

ah go away out of that with your geographical terms of reference

everyone knows from o'connell st you're walking up william st and from wickham st you're walking down it

simple logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Scobes in a charity shop? You must be joking. Charity shop customers are almost exclusively elderly, mainly women, of working and lower middle class backgrounds. And middle class adults in their 20s and 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Have heard of a few instances of this yesterday, so it looks as though the op was not the only one.

Unbelievable that the gardai would not respond and address.

To throw my 2 pence in, a contributing factor to this is that those in the justice system do not have to live with or deal with these people in their lives. It impacts. I feel as every bit angry and understanding of the effects on people of anti social behaviour, as any civil person would, but to have it come to your door and it is a whole different ball game. So I am not saying they don't care, but I am truly convinced they really, really do not understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

You can't ring the guards on anyone under 18. You can, but they don't fall under the category of "enforceable by law". The guards know they can do nothing and are every bit as tired of that as the people who ring that don't. Parents ddon't care enough to discipline either so unfortunately these kids end up lost causes. You can't defend yourself unless you're willing to go to court for "assault of a minor". Your only option is to put some distance between you and move to the country :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

A garda walking the streets would help. Its been a while since I saw that in Limerick city centre..but to be fair I don't find Limerick that bad for scum bags . Certainly not as much as a few years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

vkid wrote: »
    A garda walking the streets would help.

This.

I rarely, if ever, see a police presence in the city centre, but on the occasions that I do it's always at night. Obviously there's a greater threat of more serious crimes in the later hours so I can see why they'd prioritise night over day.

But it doesn't send out a great message to anyone in the city during the day and, in particular, the shop owners. Only the other week I saw some little pup come sprinting out a jewellers with the owner hot on his heels and I'm sure that's only one of many similar instances.

Would a couple of guards walking the streets prevent all instances of this type? Probably not, but it would at least act as a deterrent for some of the less brazen miscreants.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

True, when you're in the Dublin city centre you'll see plenty of Gardai walking around. They're used more as tourist guides than anything but still good to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,278 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Oh look, another "get off my lawn" thread. Some people want to live in a police state or Singapore.

It's the liberal approach like this that has contributed to where we are now.

The lack of accountability, responsibility, farcical outdated laws and general lack of law enforcement really does make this country a banana republic. Maybe what this country needs is a bit of harsh rule where individuals are actually accountable for their actions and punished accordingly, instead of the usual excuses of poor upbringing, disadvantaged areas, blah, blah.

I'm all for putting something in the water where a chemical identifies the "scobe" gene and renders them sterile so they can no longer breath future generations of social wasters. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

Parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,467 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

bazz26 wrote: »
    It's the liberal approach like this that has contributed to where we are now.

The lack of accountability, responsibility, farcical outdated laws and general lack of law enforcement really does make this country a banana republic. Maybe what this country needs is a bit of harsh rule where individuals are actually accountable for their actions and punished accordingly, instead of the usual excuses of poor upbringing, disadvantaged areas, blah, blah

What has any of this got to do with liberal approach? What would you do to a child who misbehaves? If parents choose to do a really poor job, then what is society to do? Taking children into government custody is a case of the cure being worse than the ailment. Blame liberals I suppose, whatever that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

What has any of this got to do with liberal approach? What would you do to a child who misbehaves? If parents choose to do a really poor job, then what is society to do? Taking children into government custody is a case of the cure being worse than the ailment. Blame liberals I suppose, whatever that means.

Fine/reduce allowances for parents. They'd very soon put manners on their own kids.
    Only problem is that would require enforcement by lawmakers/Gardai which won't happen in Ireland anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Xennon

Parents should be legally responsible for anything their kids do imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,278 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If the child misbehaves then the parent(s) should be accountable until the child is old enough under the eyes of the law to be accountable themselves. You issue fines/summonses or reduce dole/social welfare entitlements to get the message across that your child is your responsibility.

Again the current softly, softly approach of not being able to do anything because they are minors, offers no deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

20 euro a week cut off the parents dole would soon sort out the problem of vandalism.
    Plus no legal aid if you're found guilty of a crime in court.