Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Its worse when the name and surname are similar, eg Connor O'Connor

Yes, and you do hear them sometimes. Ryan Ryan and Brian O'Brien being other examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Its worse when the name and surname are similar, eg Connor O'Connor

The only thing worse is when 2 people with the same name, a unisex name like Jamie or Francis get married. Then you have 2 Jamie Dalys who are married to each other, nothing worse than it. When a letter comes in the post, who is it for ? WHO

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

fussyonion wrote: »
    I hate that I get all narky and snappy in the week leading up to that time of the month.

I hate how it makes me feel and how cranky I get towards my other half.
    But I can't help it; even though I wish I didn't carry on like that, it's just something I can't control.
    I've never gotten nasty or anything, just irritated.
    I have no sympathy for a fellow man who doesn't know how to defuse the Antichrist his lady as her time approaches :pac:. A wise man should know that providing copious supplies of chocolate, chocolate and then some more chocolate for their lady, has saved many a life.

Don't forget the needle and thread.......for when she needs to sew your balls back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

The only thing worse is when 2 people with the same name, a unisex name like Jamie or Francis get married. Then you have 2 Jamie Dalys who are married to each other, nothing worse than it. When a letter comes in the post, who is it for ? WHO

My parents are called Paula and Paul, very annoying! Also I have fmarried riends called Stacey and Tracey! Tongue twister names!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

I keep grinding my teeth in my sleep and it's starting to really bug me. I'm like a tightly coiled spring of tension and stress. Oh, it turned out to be the Shinners out looking for votes for one of their candidates. There'll be no votes for SF in this family.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Don't forget the needle and thread.......for when she needs to sew your balls back on.

The wise man knows how to play the game, yet always retains possession of his own gonads.:)

Just to clarify, I meant that as our balls in general, not just yours in particular:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Just to clarify, I meant that as our balls in general, not just yours in particular:D

I know, I know, but I just wanted to get that point out to the brothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

When you're driving somewhere (in town/the city), and you know it's usually hit & miss when it comes to finding a parking spot where your going (more on the miss side), and as your getting closer, you see a spot and think "feck it, I'm having it, not taking the chance" and park there. Then when your walking the 400-500 metres to your destination you see loads of free spaces much closer to where you're going (bonus points when it's pi$$ing rain).

Then, other times, the complete opposite effect,
    Your driving there, see you're space (the banker, from above), and think "feck it, I'll be brave, and go a little closer, sure there's always loads of spaces free much closer", and when you get there, get closer, nada, not 1 free space, you've to drive all the way around again, and to make matters worse, someone has parked a smart car in 'the banker'

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Kaiser Sosay

I keep grinding my teeth in my sleep and it's starting to really bug me. I'm like a tightly coiled spring of tension and stress. Oh, it turned out to be the Shinners out looking for votes for one of their candidates. There'll be no votes for SF in this family.:D

Who cares who you do or don't vote for though? It's just better to leave personal politics out of such a good thread imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

When you take something from a shelf in a supermarket and a load of things fall on to the floor because of the way they are packed.

Who cares who you do or don't vote for though? It's just better to leave personal politics out of such a good thread imo.

It seems that you care or you wouldn't have bothered posting a comment on my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Yes, and you do hear them sometimes. Ryan Ryan and Brian O'Brien being other examples.

Came across it in a list of people the other day, was wondering why anyone would sit there with their child and think it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Waking up all cold, shaky and feeling vulnerable after a nap.

Also majorly TA'd that the small KitKat I'd been saving for a desperate day (i.e today) had been scoffed by the other half this morning.
    He bit into the two-finger delight, without separating them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Waking up all cold, shaky and feeling vulnerable after a nap.

Also majorly TA'd that the small KitKat I'd been saving for a desperate day (i.e today) had been scoffed by the other half this morning.
    He bit into the two-finger delight, without separating them!

He's for it when he gets home if you are having your 'monthlies' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

People showing me videos they like on YouTube, particularly ones they think are funny, sweet sufferin jaysus is there anything more boring, especially if it's any longer than 30 seconds, there's only so long you can humour your friends!

I've now started to implement the 30 second rule, if it's any longer than that then fcuk off, I'm not watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

I've met a Finbar Barry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

kfallon wrote: »

Tell me about it. And the thing is, I'm in foul mood today. Really irritated.
    If he doesn't hop to the shop and buy me at least two normal-sized KitKats to make up for his greediness, there'll be heck to pay.
    And he sure don't wanna pay any heck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

kfallon wrote: »

No! I thought we had agreed to move the conversation away from Womens stuff!
    Between this and the 'shower' and 'house cleaning' thread my skin is crawling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell me about it. And the thing is, I'm in foul mood today. Really irritated.
    If he doesn't hop to the shop and buy me at least two normal-sized KitKats to make up for his greediness, there'll be heck to pay.
    And he sure don't wanna pay any heck.

I'd say he's a nailed on certainty to get the ride later.... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

When you see the neighbour of the nextdoor apartment who shares the same steps cleaning his ears and chucking the ear/cottonbud on the steps then you realise where and why the other earbuds are on the steps over the last few weeks, It was cigarette butts when they moved in, wonder whats next, dirty p1gs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Menas wrote: »
    No! I thought we had agreed to move the conversation away from Womens stuff!
    Between this and the 'shower' and 'house cleaning' thread my skin is crawling!
    Says the fella who couldnt draw his eyes off his neighbours knickers the other day:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Rosanna Davidson's quackery

Colser wrote: »
    Says the fella who couldnt draw his eyes off his neighbours knickers the other day:p

And I posted it here as a TA!
    Womens problems, the bane of the life we lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

And I posted it here as a TA!
    Womens problems, the bane of the life we lead.
    Dont start me on men or we will be here all night:mad:Its my specialist subject at the moment but you dont hear me cribbing about it...yet:D
    TA at the moment is the amount of sweet stuff around the office,sweets choccies cakes ect and I have no willpower to stop me eating them..Im bringing home my healthy stuff and dumping it and feel like crap after all that rubbish. Why isnt fruit as appealing as chocolate?:(

Colser wrote: »
    . Why isnt fruit as appealing as chocolate?:(

Because where is the guilt in eating fruit?

Adam, Apple and snake.

Don't mind me, I am a recovering catholic;)

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

When I'm looking at my phone in my room and it senses the light on above me - the brightness gets turned up to the last and I have to squint!

Adam, Apple and snake.

Don't mind me, I am a recovering catholic;)

To be fair I like my grapes in liquid form and that does make me feel a bit guilty sometimes. And a bit drunk

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

My OH hates most vegetables and refuses to compromise on it and sometimes I miss the taste of peas and onions :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,006 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

nicki11 wrote: »
    My OH hates most vegetables and refuses to compromise on it and sometimes I miss the taste of peas and onions :mad:

Why can't you make peas n onions for yerself. Doh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,036 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I sometimes do things in slightly odd ways. I make tea with loose leaves, for example. Some people, when they seem me do something, ask a question like "do you always do that?"

They don't realise that this question is borderline insulting. It implies that what I'm doing is an habit, and no thought goes in to it. The questioner doesn't understand it, so it must be irrational, right? :mad:

Using the tea example again: I didn't always make it that way, and I might not always make it that way in the future, if I find a better way. I could explain exactly why I do it this way today, if you were interested, but you're clearly not. Do you always do ... anything? No, because you're not a machine, and neither am I.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Why can't you make peas n onions for yerself. Doh.

Because I put them in food like spaghetti and apparently its too awkward to pick out (by either me or him) so I'd have to fry peas and onions separately every time I want food (there's always leftovers) and I can't do that everyday, who has time to make two separate dinners everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

nicki11 wrote: »
    Because I put them in food like spaghetti and apparently its too awkward to pick out (by either me or him) so I'd have to fry peas and onions separately every time I want food (there's always leftovers) and I can't do that everyday, who has time to make two separate dinners everyday.

While the pasta dish is cooking, fry your peas and onions separately. Keep warm and then separate your pasta between you both and justadd your extras into your dish. ;)

Was it Colser mentioned the trouble with men lately?
    I'm beginning to think men have worse bloody hormonal problems than women do at this stage :mad::p

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

I scraped my hand on a grater today. If that wasn't already bad enough I went to the first aid box to get a plaster. I took one out and tried to stick it on my finger, but it wasn't sticky and it fell off. I went through about 4 plasters before I got some cello tape and stuck it on. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Random soreness in your limbs.

That dry feeling in your throat and eyes when you can feel yourself coming down with something.

The OH wandering home langers at all hours of the morning. I am going to have to give her a good talking to when she eventually wakes!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

preachy articles giving out to us about the things we're doing wrong in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

TA that I haven't slept a wink since the weekend and I've ANOTHER wedding to go to tomorrow... I'm all wedding-ed out :(

bnt wrote: »
    I sometimes do things in slightly odd ways. I make tea with loose leaves, for example. Some people, when they seem me do something, ask a question like "do you always do that?"

They don't realise that this question is borderline insulting. It implies that what I'm doing is an habit, and no thought goes in to it. The questioner doesn't understand it, so it must be irrational, right? :mad:

Using the tea example again: I didn't always make it that way, and I might not always make it that way in the future, if I find a better way. I could explain exactly why I do it this way today, if you were interested, but you're clearly not. Do you always do ... anything? No, because you're not a machine, and neither am I.

I hear you on this, I think there is nothing worse (well there is) than someone offering yiu a cup of tea, and then handing you a mug with boiled water and a teabag floating in it...disgusting. Tastes completely different to tea pored from a pot....ideally not a metal pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

When you take something from a shelf in a supermarket and a load of things fall on to the floor because of the way they are packed.

Were you in Istanbul recently?

TA - Getting into that weather season where it's not cold enough for a jacket, but not hot enough for no jacket!

agh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,172 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

The phrases "going viral" and "trending" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Somehow being a celebrity allows you to dish out advice as some form of expert. Most notably Jenny McCarthy and her cure for autism. Rosanna Davison and her gluten free nonsense. Especially love this quote from The Irish Times:

"Davison thinks sourdough bread is easier on the digestive system and she “cites research that shows gluten to be the bad guy responsible for a huge range of medical conditions from autism spectrum disorders to schizophrenia to arthritis.”"
    and this beauty:

"Davison, who has completed a three-year course in Naturopathic Nutrition and Human Biochemistry, said: “The difference between me and the ICMSA is that I am not trying to sell anything.”
    And she wasn’t trying to sell anything – in May. Arguably she is now. Davison’s book Eat Yourself Beautiful, in which she shares her philosophy of plant-based functional nutrition".

http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/lady-in-bread-why-rosanna-davison-has-the-pastry-police-up-in-arms-1.2328309

TA'd at people's seeming inability to wash themselves. Few things worse than the stench of BO from some people. Also, one of our cats has reverted to total aggressive bastard mode with the cat he used to bully years ago, so we've had to put him on calming food and calming meds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Ringing the wrong number and all the confusion that comes with it, and then the fecker wouldn't even agree to repair my car! :pac:

Guess I'll have to continue ringing random numbers until someone agrees, where is the phone book again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

TA'd at people's seeming inability to wash themselves. Few things worse than the stench of BO from some people. Also, one of our cats has reverted to total aggressive bastard mode with the cat he used to bully years ago, so we've had to put him on calming food and calming meds.

some overlord you are , you can't even control your own house

arayess wrote: »
    some overlord you are , you can't even control your own house

It would be so very much worse without my presence.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

TA that I found out today I have ebv / mono. .aka "the kissing disease".

I haven't had any bit of action in 4months! !

Not knowing whether or not to trust product reviews. We need a new duvet and the best ones we've ever had were feather ones, but that was before we realised the cruelty involved. Anyways, I've been looking at reviews of non feather duvets and I'm confused by the reviews, lots of people give 4/5 star ratings and lots of people give 1/2 star reviews for the EXACT SAME PRODUCT:confused: It's not even one duvet, it's the same with different brands.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

It would be so very much worse without my presence.:D

That's what Marshall Tito, Saddam Hussein and Colonel Gadaffi said too, and they were right, so carry on with what you're doing...:cool: