Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Christmas ads on the radio in September.

*sigh* there's no magic anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭pew

take your suitcase off the seat and put it in the luggage rack.

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭Serjeant Buzfuz

murph226 wrote: »
    Women that put lipstick around their mouth to make their lips look bigger.

Non existent District Court Juries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Non existent District Court Juries

Mod

Keep your crap from other threads/forums out of AH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

that's just because you're old, embrace it

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

We have our Christmas work night out booked since early August:o Couldnt get the early sitting so not eating until 9pm:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

People say this every single year, but it has been like this for fifteen years at this stage.

Maybe the magic is lost because you've gotten older, and not because signs of it are appearing around you earlier than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Dramatik

When you're doing something that you've done hundreds of times before but this time you have someone watching you and just as you're about to do the task the person says "ohh watch, out mind yourself!" or something along those lines and then immediately something goes wrong and they say "I told you so!" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

When you wake up in the morning dying for a piss but can't go until your erection goes otherwise you will urinate all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Shyness and bad hearing are a terrible combination! I either can't speak up because I'm shy and afraid of miss-speaking or I can't follow what is being said because conversation is being drowned out by background noise. It's grand if I'm face to face with someone - I can read their lips, but if someone is speaking beside me or behind me I might not even know that they're talking!

+1. I find bars with loud music impossible to socialise in. I spend more time with my ears in other people's faces. I've got some sort of cognitive distortion in which all noise, no matter how far away, sounds equally loud. My hearing's perfect otherwise, I could hear a pin drop!

I was in the toilets at work last week and a colleague stopped to talk to me as I was on the way out. With other colleagues flushing toilets, running water, using the hand dryer I couldn't hear a word of what she was saying! I just had to nod and agree and hope she wasn't telling me there was toilet roll stuck to my shoe...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

NOS3 wrote: »
    About to go to bed and you spill a full glass of water all over your bed sheets. :mad:

It's the wet patch for you so! :P

TA - whenever I have coffee, I crave something sweet.
    Just goes perfect together, but really trying to avoid sugar recently...
    Guess I better stay off coffee too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Rosie Rant wrote: »
    Shyness and bad hearing are a terrible combination! I either can't speak up because I'm shy and afraid of miss-speaking or I can't follow what is being said because conversation is being drowned out by background noise. It's grand if I'm face to face with someone - I can read their lips, but if someone is speaking beside me or behind me I might not even know that they're talking!
    I'd be shy enough, and a low-talker. Sometimes I say stuff and wonder if anyone heard anything I said. Meanwhile, the three family members that I see most are fairly deaf. It can be frustrating, even when I'm trying (louder than usual) to be heard...

I heard someone use the word 'deets' the other day, as a short for 'details'.

'here, send me on the deets...'

Did that extra syllable really tax your poor brain too much you had to shorten the word??

Jesus wept!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I thought it was just me with the hearing!! I am always having to ask people to repeat themselves. If I am out, I struggle to follow conversation especially when there is music or loud chatter. I've done the whole nod and smile and hope for the best. Its so awkward around people I don't know well :(. My Dad had trouble with his hearing in his last few years, and his Dad wore hearing aids. I resigned myself to the fact it's a family thing. The most frustrating thing has been getting the hearing tests at Specsavers and being told I have almost perfect hearing, just a tiny bit of low level loss. The hell I do! Tell that to my family who are sick to their back teeth of repeating themselves :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The priority boarding option on Ryanair.com. Why would any sane person pay for this when you have your seat reserved? Also 2.5euro for a text reminder about your flight? For braindead people who forget everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Colser wrote: »
    We have our Christmas work night out booked since early August:o Couldnt get the early sitting so not eating until 9pm:eek:

You'll be pissed before you know it so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

when people dont bring their rubbish to the bin in fast food restaurants and just leave it there as 'thats what theyre paid for'

I remember a good few years ago been in work and there was 4/5 older men who would be in the canteen every day, at the end of their lunch, they would just lift up the table and let all the stuff fall on the ground, like tinfoil of their sandwich's, empty crisp packets, cigarette butts ( it was a long time ago!!) ect, and one day someone pulled them up on it and asked why they were doing this, and their reply was simply "that's what the cleaners are here for!" :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I find bars with loud music impossible to socialise in.

You're not the only. I go out for some good conversation and some good craic. Leaning across a table struggling to hear and failing miserably while trying to lip read, is certainly not my idea of fun. I'd had my fill of smiling and nodding like an idiot, while someone asks me a question I can't possible hear.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

You're not the only. I go out for some good conversation and some good craic. Leaning across a table struggling to hear and failing miserably while trying to lip read, is certainly not my idea of fun. I'd had my fill of smiling and nodding like an idiot, while someone asks me a question I can't possible hear.:(
    agreed and even in night clubs when your trying to chat up some young wun without screaming in her ear or getting a bit too close, doesnt allow for my charasmatic personality to make up for my average good looks:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭dzilla

Yawners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,172 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

the phrase "throwing shade" used by sh*tty websites trying to be cool. Really - just f**k off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

dzilla wrote: »
    Yawners
    What? Everybody yawns. Explain yourself before you become my TA?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

everlast75 wrote: »
    the phrase "throwing shade" used by sh*tty websites trying to be cool. Really - just f**k off!

the term is cringy and cliched in celebrity journalism, but it does describe a type of behavior that is seen here on boards as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭franer1970

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    The priority boarding option on Ryanair.com. Why would any sane person pay for this when you have your seat reserved?

Last flight I was on only the first 50 or so were allowed carry on bags, the rest had to leave them at the end of the air bridge and collect them from baggage claim at the other end. If you only have a carry on that could be a pain.

No reminder from anyone not to put your passport back in your bag either. Would have been fecked if I hadn't remembered that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Banta

When the microwave door is just left open, and the timer isn't at zero.

(Could be something to do with deeper OCD issues though)

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    What? Everybody yawns. Explain yourself before you become my TA?

Its like that big pronounced open mouth yawn as if to pronounce to company that im tired or overworked or something

Blokes who close both buttons on a suit jacket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,057 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The fact that the term 'unlimited' is used when it's followed by 'fair usage '. So basically it's not unlimited then?

The advertising authorities shouldn't allow the use of unlimited unless it is truly unlimited.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Blokes who close both buttons on a suit jacket...

Fellas making their communion?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Waiters/waitresses who look at you as if you are mental because you ask
    For vinegar to go on the chips you have ordered. I don't care how upmarket you are trying to be, if you are serving chips, bring vinegar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

People who do that loud exhalation when they finish a drink. I understand it's common to exhale after drinking because you are sort of holding your breath when you think about it. But c'mon, do you need to do it so f**king loudly?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I may have said this a long time ago but it has just come into my head again.

In Subway when you as for a Subway Melt (clue is in the title) and the sandwich artists asks you if you would like the sandwich toasted. No, I want the cheese MELTED, not the entire sandwich toasted.
    They just dont get it.

And before anyone questions this, here's the info on the sandwich:
    http://www.subway.ie/menu/subs/classic/subway-melt-.aspx

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I may have said this a long time ago but it has just come into my head again.

In Subway when you as for a Subway Melt (clue is in the title) and the sandwich artists asks you if you would like the sandwich toasted. No, I want the cheese MELTED, not the entire sandwich toasted.
    They just dont get it.

And before anyone questions this, here's the info on the sandwich:
    http://www.subway.ie/menu/subs/classic/subway-melt-.aspx

So the Turkey is "reformed" meat and he ham is "formed", I had kind of gone off Subway, but that cliches the deal:)

NIMAN wrote: »
    The fact that the term 'unlimited' is used when it's followed by 'fair usage '. So basically it's not unlimited then?

The advertising authorities shouldn't allow the use of unlimited unless it is truly unlimited.

Imagine a 90s dance cover band:

2FairUsage

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    So the Turkey is "reformed" meat

Give me the bad ass, law breakin' Turkey meat any day.
    Always fallin' fowl of the law...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    So the Turkey is "reformed" meat and he ham is "formed", I had kind of gone off Subway, but that cliches the deal:)

The melted cheese performs a chemical reaction to make the meat form neutral. I may have just made that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

NOS3 wrote:
    About to go to bed and you spill a full glass of water all over your bed sheets.

To follow on with water related TAs, I was drinking water on the bus and we drove over a pothole. Water went everywhere. :mad: The universe clearly wants me to use a baby cup. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

To follow on with water related TAs, I was drinking water on the bus and we drove over a pothole. Water went everywhere. :mad: The universe clearly wants me to use a baby cup. :pac:

Or wear a nappy?:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Why isn't there a charity people can donate money to in order to assist Hungary build stronger defences at their borders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Trivially annoying when you can't hear someone in a loud environment and they can't understand why you're not able to hear them, almost as if they've never come across this phenomenon before.

Life is too short for nodding and pretending to hear what they said so I ask them to repeat themselves once and if I still don't get it I just shout back that I can't hear them. Sorry. It's not you, it's me.

Trivially annoying when people think I'm rude / socially awkward / quiet for doing the above. Not my fault I can't hear you and I can't be arsed going through 15 attempts for you to ask me if I'm going anywhere on holidays or how college is going.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

First time I heard the term "sandwich artist" is about ten posts up and that's going on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Go to min 2:13

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

When other people make a mess of your tea. I'm very particular and protective over mine!

On the rare occasion I make a largish withdrawal from my savings account I get a phone call from my new 'Relationship manager' at the bank to introduce themselves and bye the bye to tell me all about car loans etc etc.
    I am not fckin stupid you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

People who sit beside you on planes, trains or automobiles who think it's ok to spread their broadsheet paper across you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

DareGod wrote: »
    People say this every single year, but it has been like this for fifteen years at this stage.

Maybe the magic is lost because you've gotten older, and not because signs of it are appearing around you earlier than before.

No, it's because it's September..... I haven't seen a pumpkin yet so why am I being told to book online to visit Santa.

I don't see Easter eggs in January, I don't see Valentines cards in November.
    Nothing to do with getting older, well not for me.

My TA today is everybody else. Go fcuk yourself everybody. (Not the fine people of Boards)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Menas wrote: »
    On the rare occasion I make a largish withdrawal from my savings account I get a phone call from my new 'Relationship manager' at the bank to introduce themselves and bye the bye to tell me all about car loans etc etc.
    I am not fckin stupid you know!

AIB??
    I was getting hounded today lodging cheques into a special fund I'm saving up for something
    I find it hard to trust them tbh (I've v.little money)

AIB??
    I was getting hounded today lodging cheques into a special fund I'm saving up for something
    I find it hard to trust them tbh (I've v.little money)

Yes, aib!

People on trains who play music on their phones minus headphones. It's always ALWAYS sh*te music as well.

Always.

No, it's because it's September..... I haven't seen a pumpkin yet so why am I being told to book online to visit Santa.

I don't see Easter eggs in January, I don't see Valentines cards in November.
    Nothing to do with getting older, well not for me.

My TA today is everybody else. Go fcuk yourself everybody. (Not the fine people of Boards)

Never mind Santa....did you book your ticket to see June Rodgers???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Menas wrote: »
    Yes, aib!

Must be a new thing...your wan was really pushing hard for it...a pension plan or different saving scheme.....meh I'd rather spend it around South America/SE Asia and oz next year :D

Be better than see them go off with it