Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 Race plans thread

• 20-03-2015 11:26am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭

March 15th : Trim Duathlon
    April 26th: Joey Hannon Olympic
    May 24th: Lough Cutra Olympic
    June 13th: Tri an Mhi Half
    July 5th: Athlone Half
    July 25th: Kinsale Sprint
    Sept 5th: Lost Sheep
    Oct 17th: Half Challenge Mallorca (perhaps)

Have also signed up for the local mid week bike racing league which i intend to do a few of.

Has anyone done Lough Cutra? Good course ?Was either this or tri athy olympic.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

March 15th : Trim Duathlon
    April 26th: Joey Hannon Olympic
    May 24th: Lough Cutra Olympic
    June 13th: Tri an Mhi Half
    July 5th: Athlone Half
    July 25th: Kinsale Sprint
    Sept 5th: Lost Sheep
    Oct 17th: Half Challenge Mallorca (perhaps)

Have also signed up for the local mid week bike racing league which i intend to do a few of.

Has anyone done Lough Cutra? Good course ?Was either this or tri athy olympic.

did LC oly last year

cold swim, but nice calm water, sheleterd lake
    Bike course is two laps around the lake, some bit of bad road surface, and stretches where it is hard to put the watts down. byt the second loop those from the later waves will be out on the course, and it gets very congested
    run: approaching cross country in patches, fields, woods, lot of it not on paths. finishes at the castle on a paved road. 2 laps in case you weren't sure if your liked it or not the first time

NOt a pb course, but smashing location. i'm going back this year with different expectations and i'd suspect i'll enjoy it a lot more

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

mossym wrote: »
    did LC oly last year

cold swim, but nice calm water, sheleterd lake
    Bike course is two laps around the lake, some bit of bad road surface, and stretches where it is hard to put the watts down. byt the second loop those from the later waves will be out on the course, and it gets very congested
    run: approaching cross country in patches, fields, woods, lot of it not on paths. finishes at the castle on a paved road. 2 laps in case you weren't sure if your liked it or not the first time

NOt a pb course, but smashing location. i'm going back this year with different expectations and i'd suspect i'll enjoy it a lot more

Cheers Mossy !!

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

3rd May - Hollywood Sprint
    16th May - Felda 10k Road Race
    13th June - Tri an Mhi Half
    26th June - Leinster 25m TT
    12th July - Carlingford Olympic
    22nd August - Budapest 70.3

feck it ye lads heading off for foreign half's are making me jealous..:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

-29th 03 ennis duathlon ( A race
    -like to do joey hanon ( test race )
    -17.05 saint poelten ( b race )
    -love to do uk midle disantce champs in bala on 6th of june ( if i do A race)
    -and tri an mhi on the 13th of june (c race) but would be a shame not to do it as so close and i really like the race and it is the best value for money half i have seen in europe so far this year.
    -kilkee on the 26.06 as my favorite race has to be on the list ( but need to see )
    -5 of july irish half champs ( A race)

than less racingas as i will do a built block (if i dodnt do kilkee I do galway aquathon champs bring bike and cycle home as the first long ride )
    -zell am see August 30th ( triple A race)
    barcelona october the 4th ( double A race)

would love to do the sprint and oly nat champs but they dont suit in timing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Lots of bike racing but A races are RAS Mumhan and Suir Valley

some of these are entered, some are maybes, some are definite, but for now the season is shaping up like

11 Apr North Tipp Sprint
    26 Apr Joey Hannon Oly
    24 May Cutra Oly
    13 Jun Boru/Killaloe Tri Sprint
    27 Jun HOTW
    18 July Lough Derg Sprint
    25 July itri Ennis Sprint
    5 Sept Lost Sheep

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

mossym wrote: »
    some of these are entered, some are maybes, some are definite, but for now the season is shaping up like

11 Apr North Tipp Sprint
    26 Apr Joey Hannon Oly
    24 May Cutra Oly
    13 Jun Boru/Killaloe Tri Sprint
    27 Jun HOTW
    18 July Lough Derg Sprint
    25 July itri Ennis Sprint
    5 Sept Lost Sheep

Big gap in August there Mossy.
    Going local this year, myself. Mostly sprints, need to go fast again.

June - Salthill, Longford (Tarmonbarry), HOTW
    July - Lanesboro, Ennis.
    August - Loughrea, CK, Spiddal, Salthill.
    Sept - Kenmare

BTH wrote: »

it's still a work in progress, lots of racing pre august to worry about first, will see what needs doing for LS then.

strong local vibe to mine as well, Cutra the furthest away and that only 70 minutes away. Most are less than 30 minutes drive, a few there i'll cycle to for the warm up

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭rodneyr1981

June - Salthill, Longford (Tarmonbarry), HOTW
    July - Lanesboro, Ennis.
    August - Loughrea, CK, Spiddal, Salthill.
    Sept - Kenmare

Jasus BTH I'll be sick of the sight of u in Aug :-)

May - Lough cultra
    June - salthil
    July - Athlone HIM
    Aug - Loughrea, ck, spiddal, salthil
    Sept - tbc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,990 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Have a few bunched together

June 6th - Crooked Lake Sprint
    July 12th - Escape from Ireland Swim
    July 26th - Belfast Titanic Olympic
    August 23rd - DCT Olympic (A Race)
    August 29th - Lakeside Sprint Ballyhsannon
    September 26th - Pulse Clogherhead Sprint (B Race)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Leaving himself available as a sub for the Beast?? Sure you only need a training day or two to be ready :rolleyes: ;)

AKW wrote: »
    Leaving himself available as a sub for the Beast?? Sure you only need a training day or two to be ready :rolleyes: ;)

thats it yeah.

serious cake eating practise needed before i'd be ready for the beast

august has nothing that stands out as appealing to me. there is a local tri but i think they have gone well into fleecing mode at this stage with their pricing and i won't support it. I entered both of Nenagh's tris for less than the cost of their sprint.

would look at a race if it made sense in terms of LS prep. we'll see how it pans out

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

May - Mallorca 70.3, Athy sprint
    June - Hotw
    July - Oct run focus with DCM as end goal and A race. Half mara PB as interim target, venue TBC

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

May - still deciding

June
    Crooked Lake (B race)
    Fingal tri - Skerries - Local race
    HOTW (A race)

July
    Lanesboro
    Belfast

August
    CK (A Race)

Sept