Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chasing the sub 50 10k - for what seems like forever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

I'd take that on a manky night, good session well done. Remember you are building to a crescendo, your going really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

That's a brilliant session bs. I can't string 2 sub 5 min kms together in training never mind 2 sets of 3!!!! I'm so impressed. You're definitely very close to the big sub 50!! Exciting times ahead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

great session, all coming together for you now. There's something invigorating about running in the rain!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Sounds like you did great to me!! Not easy in awful weather and you still ran really well, you'll be in great shape for the race!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

This is great running and sounds like you're really enjoying it too! Good luck with your race now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

Quick up date ;

Thursday - 6 mile steady@ 5:45
    Friday - ten mile @ ten min mile
    Big rest until tomorrow

Might have agreed to do the half marathon on Saturday ! Sure how bad can it be ??? I've lots of training done .... well two ten miles in three months . Eek

The plan is do just do it as a LSR . Adding three miles from last week ??? Dunno why I want to do just think I want to do races without racing so not can caught up in result .

I don't think there should be any issue really ? It shouldn't effect my ten k training . I'm going to run with some peeps from work don't by their first half !!!

Not planning on tapering . Doing a tough s soon Tuesday and a 3/4 miles slow Thursday ?

I wouldn't jump up to running a Half, an extra 3 miles is big jump from where you are you are likely to be extending running time by 30 odd minutes, which is a big jump, you've been going well, why not stick to the your plan, them extra 3 miles could mess up last few weeks training for your 10k.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    I wouldn't jump up to running a Half, an extra 3 miles is big jump from where you are you are likely to be extending running time by 30 odd minutes, which is a big jump, you've been going well, why not stick to the your plan, them extra 3 miles could mess up last few weeks training for your 10k.

I thought you might let me away with it !!! I suspected that you or annapr would call me out and secretely hoping you would!! Of course your right dunno what I was thinking yesterday must have been still drunk from the wedding at the weekend ! I don't even like half marathons ! You have given sound advice to date so no reason to stop listening now ! Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bluesquare wrote: »
    I thought you might let me away with it !!! I suspected that you or annapr would call me out and secretely hoping you would!! Of course your right dunno what I was thinking yesterday must have been still drunk from the wedding at the weekend ! I don't even like half marathons ! You have given sound advice to date so no reason to stop listening now ! Thanks again

:pac: :pac:

For a minute I thought the real Bluesquare had escaped from the closet :pac::

As G says, if it's not in the plan, don't do it... your 10k training is going so well, we will be really mad at you if you sabotage it! :D

annapr wrote: »
    :pac: :pac:

For a minute I thought the real Bluesquare had escaped from the closet :pac::

As G says, if it's not in the plan, don't do it... your 10k training is going so well, we will be really mad at you if you sabotage it! :D

I couldn't bear it if you were cross so I better behave myself . Although after last nights performance I don't think I need a half marathon to self sabotage !

My resting heart rate has been acting weird since about this day last week. It would normally be high the day after a tough session and would settle late evening . Since last week its has become a bit jumpy , so one minute 46 then jumped to 70 etc. Im not constantly checking it but when I feel a bit weird I'll look ! A weekend at a family wedding is also distorting the numbers but I just feel off. I've booked blood tests next week to check out usual suspects . I'm very precious.

Anyways I had three days no running and another mammoth session last night . Hit all the targets

First 3k : 5:05,456,4:58
    Second 3k: 4:45,4:54,4:57
    2k: 4:49,4:59

It felt horrific , like a bad race . I was mostly in red all of the time . All of the others I felt strong and heart rate was strong and steady . My buddies think I'm nuts because I clearly hit the pace but some of them didn't . I think some of the problem was that the pace setter is coming back from fitness and started too fast and I followed then when she slowed I kept going cause wanted to make those targets , this meant in reality I was racing. So used to being behind being out front I got carried away . King of training .

Anyway it hurt a lot and today my heat rate is mostly over 70 which is awful.

I don't appear to be coming down with anything. Hopefully just life stresses. Next week a break from this crazy session before doing the full monty right two weeks before race.

I couldn't bear it if you were cross so I better behave myself . Although after last nights performance I don't think I need a half marathon to self sabotage !

that was a great session, hopefully nothing sinister in the HR and you're not coming down with anything.

You probably need to test resting heart rate, first thing in the morning, before coffee, work, and peple come into the equation, as once your up and moving around, even unseasonly warm weather will affect it. Session should be hard,and looks like you where running stronger as session progressed, l'd say it was a good one, make sure to run recovery run, and keep the rest easy, ru recovery as slow as possible you'll be suprised how much they help once you drag yourself out.

Life stress can have a major impact on your heart rate and how you feel generally, in my experience! Sounds like you did great in the session, sometimes it just feels crap anyway but you were able for it, that's what matters!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

+1 to what KennyG has said. Your true resting heart rate is the rate you take before you get out of bed in the morning, before your feet touch the ground. Everything else is just an average reading, so for e.g. my RHR is usally around 48bpm. I've just looked there and its currently 75, I'm just sitting a desk typing but I'm not resting, and that's about average for being in work, it's usually around 80-90 when I walk the dog and it would normally be about 68-70 watching TV.

Don't focus too much on what your HR is throughout the day, as long as your morning RHR is consistent and your easy run HR is the same for your easy run pace you don't really need to worry too much about it. The indicator that something is wrong (coming down with a cold, over training etc) is when you RHR, taken while still in bed, has risen a considerable number of BPM for a few days in a row.

There's never any harm to get some tests done of course but try not to focus too much on what your HR does on a given day. As KG said, even warm weather can affect it, what you ate for breakfast etc!!

Well done on the session, I need a rest just reading it :p

Thanks guys - I should probably stop wearing the watch as I'm nothing if not obsessive.!!

Anyways Thursday :

5 mile with 8*400 at alleged 5k pace with 200m active recovery

1 mile warm up @ 6:10min k
    400m - 7:44,7:23,722,721,705,730,712,652(min miles)
    2k cool down @ 9:52 min mile

As you can see disaster . The aim was to have a kind of fartkek session . I could not pace properly and went too fast and ended up having to walk/jog recover for the last 4. So it was kind of a nothing session . Good for weight loss though

Saturday : No half marathon . (Thankfully)

LSR: chatty 10 mile @ 9:44min mile (all in aerobic zone)

Sunday: Ran with the slow run sabotagers. Managed to contain them slightly and did 10k in 58:58mins. Would have preferred a slower run but it was one of those days that I needed company to get out the door .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

5 mile with 8*400 at alleged 5k pace with 200m active recovery

"Alleged 5k pace" - love it. I'm robbing that for my own log.
    Keep up up the good work!

Friday morning and I am exhausted . Already making excuses not to do a ten miler in morning - the other fella in my head is having none of it . Ba****d.

Anyways Tuesday:

Fartlek with long intervals(saving last McMillan session until next week)

Fartleks are fun. Everyone gets a chance to lead and you can't overtake the leader .

Warm up - 3.2k @ 6:13
    Approx 4K worth of fast bits ranging from 300m to 800m with pace in between vo2 max and 5k pace (4:36-4:46)

Approx. 2.3k of slow bits in between @ average pace of about 6:40

Then a mile give or take cool down

Total run: 11k

This was a nice session and a welcome break from the tough sessions we have been doing lately . This felt challenging without pressure to meet target paces .

Thursday:

Now I hate Thursday lunchtime running . It's always hard and I never throw the moves I expect given my extreme athleticism. Sigh

So I decided not to bother with the session as it was never going to work out anyway . I can only do 5 mile and just ran out of the house with no plan . Warmed up for about 1k then decided to run at a comfortable steady pace secretely hoping this would be deadly fast . It wasn't 5:20 min kwas the best I seem to manage and it wasn't feeling that comfortable . Sped up slightly to 5:10 for a k then slowed down again to 5:17. Took a little breather ( this is standard on Thursday runs) then headed back - the return journey always easier as wind at back and mostly a slight decline .

I did the first k back in 4:53 and it felt easier then any of the above. I knew a difficult hill was presenting itself shortly so I did a nice easy k at 6:10. as I wasn't feeling martyrish

I went back then to comfortable steady and going with the legs and ran a 5:30k . Then just to really bring the old blue square back out of the closet finished it off with a fast k of 4:50.

What a crap run. I just went into granular detail to remind myself next time to have a goddamn plan .

:pac: you are funny... so much easier if you go out with a plan to rebel against, instead of just random rebellion...

No long run done on Saturday couldn't get out of bed . After a lot of cake ran tenk k later on in the evening at a 6:09 mink. It felt easy but I thought I was clipping along . I'm still waiting to be surprised and the end of the run by an amazing pace despite feeling the run was easy .

Legs starting to hurt , shins, calves , butt etc etc . Good job rub planned for Thursday . I should really roll myself but sleep always seems more appealing .

Five miles done Sunday evening , again at 6:00 mink.

Getting a head cold and not feeling very motivated right now . Need to stock up on vitamin D!!!

And knees I forgot knees . They ache as well.

Stupid iron low again . I mean seriously , I need to chew iron bars at this stage . I'm not anemic just low iron stores - again . I take daily heavy duty supplements but every time I up the mileage the iron levels go down . Two weeks to prop them up.

Best sandbagger ever wha??

Stupid iron low again . I mean seriously , I need to chew iron bars at this stage . I'm not anemic just low iron stores - again . I take daily heavy duty supplements but every time I up the mileage the iron levels go down . Two weeks to prop them up.

Best sandbagger ever wha??

Is the low iron contributing to all the aches too?

It did cross my mind . Makes sense really . Good job I'm so self obsessed I hop down to doctors at any slight change in energy . Hopefully I've caught it on time.

Had a quick look at my km count :

July: 124k
    August:168k
    Sept: 175 km

The last time I got my bloods tested was June .

Sorry to hear this, it's so frustrating! I have the same problem so definitely sympathise! Do you just have to take more to up your stores so, or do they suggest anything else? Mainlining beef juice perhaps? [insert vomit emoji]

Same problem here ladies, low ferritin levels. I've really uncreased my beef/steak intake along with the supplement. I'm not really a red meat lover at all. The joys.

I am a complete carnivore. I think my caffeine/calcium intake affects absorbation.

I take 325 mg of ferrograd c everyday and now have to double the dose for a month . Every single time I reach a peak of fitness - bang iron is low !

I did read that some runners are just unfortunate to loose an abundance through their gut when it's doing all that jiggling and through soles of feet and skin.

I'm sure I should eat liver but hey I don't love running that much

Iron also does weird stuff with a thyroid issue - so my guess is the gp is not worried - although I may have to get some uncomfortable tests if it doesn't go back up in a month .

I was feeling very sorry for myself last night but over it now .

Run didn't go as planned . Firstly I have lost my charging clip so was watchless !!! Imagine ! The initial 3k was nasty - I was way behind the pack which was disappointing as had taken pole position for the last month or so (average 5:07) .

Slowed down for break and stomach shouted loudly for an emergency trip to the local casino . The gang started into their second block of 3k and I wandered off for a gamble .

Once I hit the jackpot I jogged slowly back to meet them then ran the last 500m @ 4:50 or so .

Then well rested took on the final 3k in 4:55. Maintained effort enough to stay with the pack but then I was more rested then them.

I think I peaked two weeks ago and now the lack of iron in my body is making me good prey for the fairies.

I needed to pull it together - I have this . No unnecessary trips to fairy land needed .

I was thinking of trying a park run at race pace on Saturday but not sure if this will help or hinder me .

I am fit , I am strong , I can run at a 4:59 min k all day long ...,,,

Of course you can!

What does the plan say for this weekend? Thinking of doing the parkrun at 10k pace?

Of course you can!

What does the plan say for this weekend? Thinking of doing the parkrun at 10k pace?

It does say that for sure !! The genius that wrote the plan didn't do the last weekend and taper, it got as far as the last McMillan thingy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Low ferritin here too. The doctor thought I was stone mad when I mentioned that runners are prone to anaemia.

Not long now till your goal race. Hope the parkrun and taper go well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I take Spatone. I'm 39 male only ran my first 10k last summer.

It's liquid form I have two sachets every morning with 10ml of Artic Med in real orange juice.

Works for me.

5k = 21.29
    10k = 44.49
    10mile = 1:17
    HM = 1:43
    M = 3:58

Obviously the podium is quite safe.

Ran a HM last Sunday, have a 10k this Sunday and a full marathon next Sunday week and i will be pissed if I am not between 3:45 and 3:50.

I take Spatone. I'm 39 male only ran my first 10k last summer.

It's liquid form I have two sachets every morning with 10ml of Artic Med in real orange juice.

Works for me.

5k = 21.29
    10k = 44.49
    10mile = 1:17
    HM = 1:43
    M = 3:58

Obviously the podium is quite safe.

Ran a HM last Sunday, have a 10k this Sunday and a full marathon next Sunday week and i will be pissed if I am not between 3:45 and 3:50.

Well done on your pbs ! Hope the man argon works out . I'd be happy just to hear a 49 59 in a tenk !

So annoyed so very annoyed.

Had a sports massage Thursday at lunch so no run . Felt fine all week like energy levels better but hadn't run sinceTuesday Then this morning 8 mile @6:00 mink . It felt ok and then as chatty but av the age heart rate at end was 175 . I'm mean sorry what , stupid watch!!! That's at least 20bmp higher then normal heart rate and the that pace

I feel ok do not feel ill- just annoyed now . Hoping it was an anomaly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Had a sports massage Thursday at lunch so no run . Felt fine all week like energy levels better but hadn't run sinceTuesday Then this morning 8 mile @6:00 mink . It felt ok and then as chatty but av the age heart rate at end was 175 . I'm mean sorry what , stupid watch!!! That's at least 20bmp higher then normal heart rate and the that pace

I haven't a chance to read through your posts but you need to incorporate speedwork sessions into your weekly routine. I do this with a running club every Wednesday night. When I started I was hovering around the 51-54 min mark. Then I started speedwork (on a track) and training for HM. My 10k times just tumbled.

Actually got it down to 44:19 yesterday which was a PB and 1st place in v35 category...but 46th out of 540 overall and would only have place 12th in v40...:o

I have ran more HM/10 mile/20 mile events this calendar year. That was only my 3rd 10k this year.

Jeez, don't start a post that way... with all the injuries flaring up around here I was afraid to read further. :eek: Hopefully just the watch acting up.

Did you abandon your parkrun plan?

Looking forward to Saturday? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

I think you're racing this weekend? Hope you're feeling better and it goes to plan!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Best of luck!

Good luck this weekend BS, hope you smash it.

Best luck if your racing, remember pain is weakness leaving the body :D give it socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Good luck!

Oooh good luck BS!! Hope you have a great race :)

Was it today or tomorrow? Am i too late to wish you luck? Hope it went well if it was today!!!!! Where's the update???

Thanks for all the well wishing folks.

I didnt race - I got struck down with the winter vomiting bug coulpled with a with a bad flu. As did my entire family which needless to say was unpleasant .

Just back to work this morning after been out all week . Haven't ran or even walked anywhere In many a day .

Despite the horrific week and the not racing bit it probably was a good respite for the shin which was giving out mightly. Back in the saddle tomorrow and plan b to be put into action Ina couple of weeks .

Nice flat course - corkaigh park . Did a 5k there about 2 years back . The watch had it clocked way to long by about 800m- now if I assume the garmin was blinky due to tree coverage , pacing will be a mare .

Anyways. have to get running agsin first

So sorry to hear you missed your race BS... but all that great training will still stand to you, it won't go to waste!

Here we go again ! Haven’t stopped running just posting . I never did run the sub 50 i just got mopey and whiney , took my foot off the pedal and missed the boat. I was king of training ! It felt good but never translated to races !

Anyways decided to start reposting as I have recently Pbd twice at half marathon distance without trying too hard . The first one with the bestest negative spilt you have ever seen . So yeah I’m On a high and have a new mantra ! I’m never “racing” a race again .

For my own records I’m going to post my two Race reports ! Whoop whoop

Barcelona Half Marathon 2018

Race Report

There were no planned tactics. It was a FUN RUN. A long run from Tesco up to Gormanston and back. Easy.

After not a particularly early start (thankfully) and fueled by a white snickers (not as tasty as I’d hoped !) we headed from the hotel and merged with a sea of runners on their way to the start line .

The sea got confused when it came to the bag drop and lengthy lines caused some tioletless anxiety . Our corale was sardines. We were penned and peeing opportunities passed.

Finally we were moving and with a holler and a whoop we were off. Vamos Vamos!

The kilometers zoomed by and were barely registered - a nice slow start slightly congested in places . We tagged behind some girls from A local Irish club whom seemed to be setting an agreeable pace consistent with our vague notion of trying to hit the 2 hr mark.

We lost our pacers at the 5k water station , grabbed a bottle and continued our cruise . Left to our own devices and the banging Barcelona samba streets the pace increased unnoticed as we cheered on local lovebirds and even managed to be interviewed by luminous wig wearing madridistas with a hidden camera in their glasses. (Really )

After been shocking surprised by the ten k mark it was loudly and Unanimously declared that this was the best race ever ever.

Our wonderful supporter (I have been asked to amend to one of our wonderful supporters) Anna (the most wonderful) appeared at 11k with a motivational mantra and our lovely legs managed to start moving even faster. Promised a gel stop at 15k we pegged it to the water station clocking our fastest 5k of the race so far . Allez Allez!!

After some icky refreshments and some stripping we were off again . Somebody ( You know who you are) thought that doing ten k pace at end of a half marathon was a super idea . Apparently this was fueled by the burning desire to dust the 2 hr pacers. Arriba Aribba - earth to earth pacers!

We spent the last 5k cruising past carnaged comrades , including a sprint up a mountain at 18k ( it so was) . A sprightly winter wind appeared briefly but failed to dent our devilish dashing. The chit chat got the heave ho as a wee bit of effort was required for the final push. What a push it was ! (not helped at all by the teeny tiny downhill ). Our final two unnamed (amend to wonderful and not at all hungover) supporters had managed to get the finish line - so a sprint finish was required ! We were back at Tesco !!! Bring it Barca !!

What a race , what a run . What a whopping pb!!

Splits: 5:51,541,5:51,5:45,5:29,
    5:34,5:21,5:23,5:29, 5:26,
    5:19,5:22,511,5:19,5:25
    5:48,5:17,5:01,5:15,5;09
    5;06,4:30

Meath Spring Half Marathon 11th March 2018

Race Report

For this half Marathon we swapped the wide samba sidelines of Barcelona for the musky manured country roads of Bohermeen. Bohermeen was originally supposed to be the target race but after the buzz of Barca and downing of my co-targetee by the Australian flu , the foot was well and truly off the pedal. With a bit of cajoling one of the fantastic four did agree to come for the “crack!”

Anyways we did the teeth chattering jog to the start line and lined up where we stopped which happened to be just behind the ballooned 2 hour Pacers. “ The Snow” was top of the sandbagging citations with everyone around cussing it ! If only for that snow hey!!

We followed the pacer for 3k ish. After a bold move by the cajoled one we maneuvered past the balloons and quickly moved steadily away from the pacers . Gulp- too soon maybe?

The course is pleasant (the perfuming aside)and the inclines are barely noticeable in the first half . Most folk were club folk running in twos and threes which made early passing a bit of an exercise . The thought did pass my mind that many of these guys would pass me later. Hardly the mindset of a champion .

The locals were out in force (about 15?) - mostly at the water stations . Hard working urchins handed out sports capped mini bottles that were perfect for the journey . I’m ridiculously bad at hydration so forced myself to drink a sip every km .

The turn back towards the start brought a country breeze and the reminder we had to do it all again . The brain didn’t like this and slowed down scared, in this loop the hills were looming. It was time for the hill mantra “ one two Freddy’s coming for you , three four you better lock that door!”.

I only had to get to 16k were I gifted myself with a wee rest for more gel buzz. Lazy bones me may have made a meal of the gel. Well rested I clocked the fastest k of the race afterwards.

Only 5k to go. This wasn’t fun anymore . My legs hurt - my calf screamed but I soldiered on just wanting it done . I tucked in behind two lads who were setting a steady pace and tried to keep up.

At about 2k to go I had become part of a determined group of about 5 battle wearied warriors running in formation with the two lads leading the pack .

Once we turned the corner and started on the home straight there was none of this solider messing and we raced each other to the finish line . I wasn’t doing too well in the placings until I spotted the clock . I had a chance of a pb !! Whoop whoop . Out of my way soldier boys!!! This girl is taking it Home!

Spilts:
    5:40,5:28,5:27,5:26;5:20
    5:21,5:26,5:26,519,5:18
    5:28,5:27,5:27,5:25,5:30
    6:10,5:15,5:24 ,5:23,5:20
    4:07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Well done! I know I should be able to work it out from the splits, but what we're your actual finish times?

chickey2 wrote: »
    Well done! I know I should be able to work it out from the splits, but what we're your actual finish times?

Oh yeah that would have helped I suspose .

First one 1:55:31 second one 1:54:53

I have been much fitter and trained harder and always bottled it on the day . 1:59:10 previous Pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Oh yeah that would have helped I suspose .

First one 1:55:31 second one 1:54:53

I have been much fitter and trained harder and always bottled it on the day . 1:59:10 previous Pb

Great pb!