Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda released without charge after crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,926 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

c_man wrote: »
    Reported to who? To the local station? :) With the way things were here, especially in the 90s I think you'd have to be very naive to think the Garda would have gotten in any trouble. Mesrine65 on the other hand...

I'd have done it and lived with a clear conscience.
    If someone had been killed by one of these drunk drivers and I hadn't reported it on the other hand ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

If someone had been killed by one of these drunk drivers and I hadn't reported it on the other hand ...

Fair play, as said though I'm very sure absolutely nothing would have come of your report. I don't think you get how prevalent (and socially acceptable) drink driving was up until even just a few years ago. Add to that the fact that it's a Garda...

It's not as prevalent in this day and age though hence the fewer number of deaths. This is because everyone seems to have a different attitude to it now and would have no problem reporting incidents of drunk driving. Reporting saves lives.
    This lad seems to have been arrested thankfully and we will see what happens as a result of the investigation.
    Drunk driving is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭durtybit

He fled from the scene of a crash which he had caused. T

This didn't happen

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

opti76 wrote: »
    if the off duty Garda gave a urine or blood sample as opposed to a sample of his breath then you cant charge him with anything as you have no proof he was over the limit .

but don't let that get in the way of a good old fashioned witch hunt .. carry on ..

Isn't leaving the scene of an accident a crime? I thought it was.

Drunk driving is unacceptable.

Totally agree. It is one of the great social changes seen here in the past while imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭durtybit

Egginacup wrote: »
    Isn't leaving the scene of an accident a crime? I thought it was.

Where does it say he left the scene of the crime?

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

You would and your GEE!
    You would have said fcuk all for fear of having yourself pulled over every 1/2 hour for being a snitch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

There was only ever retired guards working the door of the garda club. There's no big car park in front of it either. In the nineties you would find drunken nurses coming out of the garda club, drunken guards coming out of coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

J K wrote: »
    There was only ever retired guards working the door of the garda club. There's no big car park in front of it either. In the nineties you would find drunken nurses coming out of the garda club, drunken guards coming out of coppers.

Are you calling bluff on our doorman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,879 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Why didn't you report them?
    Seems cowardly not to do so and you might have saved a life.

report them to who? Other guards?

Egginacup wrote: »
    You would and your GEE!
    You would have said fcuk all for fear of having yourself pulled over every 1/2 hour for being a snitch.

It's Ireland, not Chicago and the mafia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

He fled from the scene of a crash which he had caused. No need to jump to any conclusions. The guy is a scumbag whether he was drunk or not.

I'm not disputing that at all, to be fair.

My problems lies in how people will inevitable y use this as another excuse to Garda bash and are snidely jumping to the conclusion that his choice of career must mean he will be let off scott free, where there is absolutely no evidence that that will be the case.

His being an off duty Garda is irrelevant.

Reported to who? To the local station? :) With the way things were here, especially in the 90s I think you'd have to be very naive to think the Garda would have gotten in any trouble. Mesrine65 on the other hand...

Exactly. Even if they didn't work there I'm sure your local Gardai would have known who they were.

By ignoring what they were doing you put people's lives at risk.

But no, it's easier to bluster and pontificate about what ignorant fools the Gardai are and tar all of them with on brush then actually do something about those few who do wrong isn't it?

report them to who? Other guards?

Well...yes.

That's what the Gardai are there for isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

An off duty Garda? >> What's that? I thought a Garda was never "off -duty"?

bjork wrote: »
    An off duty Garda? >> What's that? I thought a Garda was never "off -duty"?

Are they not allowed any time off? I didn't think it was legal to make some-one work all day every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,879 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Well...yes.

That's what the Gardai are there for isn't it?

you dont seem to be getting the irony of it

But no, it's easier to bluster and pontificate about what ignorant fools the Gardai are and tar all of them with on brush then actually do something about those few who do wrong isn't it?

Tar them all with a brush? How on earth can you not be familiar with the culture of secrecy, corruption and covering-up that was rife through the Gardai. You may have missed all the steps taken in the past few years to break this down, and the scandals that came out.

Are they not allowed any time off? I didn't think it was legal to make some-one work all day every day.

I doubt they get paid for being "on duty" while off duty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Why didn't you report them?
    Seems cowardly not to do so and you might have saved a life.
    Report them to who, their colleagues?! :rolleyes:

They are a tight knit bunch who do look out for each other & do cover for each other, I know, I have family who were detectives (now retired)

And by the way, I resent being called a coward, what the fúck would you know about me? :mad:

J K wrote: »
    & ex-military :rolleyes:

Believe it or not, back in the 90's an awful lot of Garda were working the doors as nixxers when 'off duty'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I think people underestimate just how acceptable drink driving was 15, even 10, years ago.

Mesrine65 wrote: »

They are a tight knit bunch who do look out for each other & do cover for each other, I know, I have family who were detectives (now retired)

And by the way, I resent being called a coward, what the fúck would you know about me? :mad:

You sound like one, that's all

crusier wrote: »
    You sound like one, that's all

I will not reply to you as I truly wish to, as I would not like to be banned...

Thanks for the reply

crusier wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply
    You're welcome ;)

It was most brave of you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think people underestimate just how acceptable drink driving was 15, even 10, years ago.

And they also underestimate how socially acceptable it is now, away from online fora and TV soap storylines. I'd safely say there are more people doing it now then ever before. The guard was unlucky he hit a squad car, otherwise there would have been whole mad scramble to get a tractor for a tow, as so often happens in these cases.

If you saw someone breaking a law that you could have done something about and maybe saved a life then in my opinion it is extremely cowardly not to have done something about it.
    How would you have felt if the next morning you heard that a drunk had killed someone on the road and you could have prevented it from happening?