Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Billions [Showtime] [** Spoilers **]

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

That's a great ending to the show, new "bad guys" and the 2 main characters getting together, Chuck being Axe's "Strategist" is a great move even if the final scene around the table seemed like they were agreeing the rules of a threesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,917 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

ya I'm delighted they have gone with a story line of Chuck and Ax together, and also glad the general is kept in it. It was not looking good for him for a while. A satisfying end to the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Clareman wrote: »
    I think Taylor is going on a solo run to setup her own book based on her algorithm, she even has the logo setup

Great call.You're the delphi oracle.:)

Two cracking episodes to end the season.

Charles Rhoades senior cracked me up.

"Monogamy is a form of socialism,it's testosterone redistributed.":D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Pentecost

That's a great ending to the show, new "bad guys" and the 2 main characters getting together, Chuck being Axe's "Strategist" is a great move even if the final scene around the table seemed like they were agreeing the rules of a threesome.

Ha ha I thought it was just my pervy mind getting threesome vibes there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

****ing delighted to see Chuck get ****ed over although he's likely to end up ok when it wraps up.

I was hoping Connerty would make a complete **** of him in front of everyone but it wasn't to be.

I loved the way he half thought Connerty would listen to him after the way he treated him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭BandMember

yabadabado wrote: »
    ****ing delighted to see Chuck get ****ed over although he's likely to end up ok when it wraps up.

I was hoping Connerty would make a complete **** of him in front of everyone but it wasn't to be.

I loved the way he half thought Connerty would listen to him after the way he treated him .

You know that Chuck is far from finished yet - there's so many ways this can go now. Clearly, he's going to be after the AG big time and with no restrictions now, he's bound to be a loose cannon and then you have the Axe angle and of course his attempt to run for Governor. A lot of life in him yet!

If anyone is going to end up f**ked over in the end, you get the feeling that it will be Connerty - more than likely by Chuck.......or by Sacker (even though I thought/think herself and Connerty have unfinished business), whose role in bringing down Chuck won't be forgotten by him........or did she just do it to save herself (as she is the ultimate mé féiner) and will help him from the inside?

Ah f**k it lads, can they not just start the new season now??? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Patww79 wrote: »

The whole "whisper talking" alone makes me want to see the end of Chuck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

Why did Taylor screw over the boyfriend?

The whole "whisper talking" alone makes me want to see the end of Chuck

the what?

Kuva wrote: »
    the what?

The whole hushed tones he's been doing in the past season when he's talking

Never noticed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Mikenesson

Patww79 wrote: »
    I'd find Chuck infinitely more likeable than Connerty. I hope he destroys him and Sacker.

What's likeable about Chuck? He's awful imo

He's not even an Alpha Male and he's a loser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,897 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Can anyone tell me if Episode 12 is the last of the series?

I haven't watched it yet, and the 1st 2 series were 12 episodes, but TV.com says there is 13 episodes in Series 3.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Kuva wrote: »
    Why did Taylor screw over the boyfriend?

They didn't kind of, Taylor told Axe why he was in town accidentally on purpose, Axe used it to his advantage to go short on the business the boyfriend was investing in and made a heap of money off it. The boyfriend say it as a betrayal, which it was and wasn't kind of. I think they knew what they were doing, cared about the guy, but wanted to succeed more.
    NIMAN wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me if Episode 12 is the last of the series?

I haven't watched it yet, and the 1st 2 series were 12 episodes, but TV.com says there is 13 episodes in Series 3.

Yep, only 12 episodes this season.

Brilliant TV, love the turnarounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,894 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Got caught up with the finalé last night (working late this week and hard not to read this thread :p) and that was just a brilliant ending to the season.

I was wrong about Taylor/Axe playing the Russian.. it really WAS a move against Axe. Bit surprised to see Mafee go with, but I suppose considering he brought Taylor in to AxeCap initially it made sense he'd be the most likely candidate.
    Not sure if Ben Kim is as in the clear as he made out, but fair play to Wendy turning down the offer in the manner she did. Taylor came off as supremely overconfident in that scene (and the later one with Axe) that ultimately that's gonna be their undoing.

I didn't expect the twist at the end for Chuck.. I figured the setup was probably going a bit too easy, but didn't expect the entire group there when he walked in to his office. Glad to see the General survive though.. he makes a great bad guy!

As for the final scene, I LOL'd at the "threesome" suggestion above (did cross my mind as well though :p), but Axe, Chuck and Wendy against their enemies next season has a LOT of potential!! :)

Bring it on!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I just watched the first couple of epsiodes of Sons Of Anarchy, my goodness Wendy/Tara hasn't aged at all :)

Watched the final episode last night, really enjoyable.

But I have a question re: Chuck walking in to see all his enemies in his office.

Shortly before, we saw Sacker and Brian in a bar discussing Chuck, and Brian was saying he was going to nail him, and we saw Sacker saying he had got it wrong and Chuck was going after the General......so surely if they were in on the double cross, this conversation wouldn't have happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

But I have a question re: Chuck walking in to see all his enemies in his office.

Shortly before, we saw Sacker and Brian in a bar discussing Chuck, and Brian was saying he was going to nail him, and we saw Sacker saying he had got it wrong and Chuck was going after the General......so surely if they were in on the double cross, this conversation wouldn't have happened?

I just assumed Jock got to them after this conversation to offer them new positions in return for catching Chuck. Maybe I'm wrong but it could have been explained better maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,479 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's where he discovered the plan before he approached the general

Ah I see, so then it was more in the past than the show suggested it was.

I think it was all in the same evening, Chuck has done something to every single one of them and they all were aware of it apart from the General. So I'm sure they all seen the gain they can get from hanging Chuck and went for it.
    The next morning they were ready to pounce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

What had Chuck done to Sacker ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Really enjoyed the finale and looking forward to axe and chuck working together,
    My main gripe is with the ease with which connerty and sacker supported the general. Connerty is portrayed as idealistic, foregoing wealth, for the pursuit of social justice (turned down a job with axe). So I understand he hates chuck but surely he and sacker also despise everything the general represents.
    Sacker was disgusted with the way the prisoner was treated, but still backing the general for either personal gain or personal revenge, for me, doesn't fit with their characters.
    Still very enjoyable show, doesn't take itself too seriously.

yabadabado wrote: »
    What had Chuck done to Sacker ?

He asked her to talk to her dad to get info on the cable companies. She didn't so he went to him directly.
    It was breezed over in the show, basically saying that she agrees with how ruthless Chuck is in getting ahead. By her siding with the others, she is also being ruthless to get ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

joe40 wrote: »
    My main gripe is with the ease with which connerty and sacker supported the general. Connerty is portrayed as idealistic, foregoing wealth, for the pursuit of social justice (turned down a job with axe). So I understand he hates chuck but surely he and sacker also despise everything the general represents.
    Sacker was disgusted with the way the prisoner was treated, but still backing the general for either personal gain or personal revenge, for me, doesn't fit with their characters.

Yeah it seems very out of character for them alright unless its meant to show how dealing with one person like Chuck can taint good people and start driving them down the wrong path which I suppose was also hinted at when Connerty was willing to start investigating the FBI people even when his own boss wasn't sure it'd be legal/ethical.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    He asked her to talk to her dad to get info on the cable companies. She didn't so he went to him directly.
    It was breezed over in the show, basically saying that she agrees with how ruthless Chuck is in getting ahead. By her siding with the others, she is also being ruthless to get ahead.

Connerty is idealistic but was ripe for revenge after his humiliating dismissal.

Not so sure about the same with Sacker in spite of the perceived sights she suffered in relation to the prisoner and Chuck talking to her father behind her back.

She's extremely ambitious and will do anything to get ahead in the game.That would pretty much be my characterisation of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭BandMember

seligehgit wrote: »
    Connerty is idealistic but was ripe for revenge after his humiliating dismissal.

Not so sure about the same with Sacker in spite of the perceived sights she suffered in relation to the prisoner and Chuck talking to her father behind her back.

She's extremely ambitious and will do anything to get ahead in the game.That would pretty much be my characterisation of her.

Anyone else think that she might still end up working for Chuck from the inside and help him take Jock down? I mean, we all say that she'll do anything to get ahead and it's just a matter of time before Jock does get taken out, so she'll want to be on the right side of the battlefield when that happens....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,459 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

In reality it wouldn't, likely just throwing viewers off the scent.

Really enjoyable season, what happened last night was what I expected to be the bulk of next season. Instead, it's possibly even better. For the first time I actually think all will go down, bar maybe Dake and Mafee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

joe40 wrote: »
    Really enjoyed the finale and looking forward to axe and chuck working together,
    Still very enjoyable show, doesn't take itself too seriously.

Just what I was thinking. It'll be hell for Connerty working under the General, and he has to realise that.