Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Billions [Showtime] [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Bullocks wrote: »
    Is his trust fund that important ? Doesn't his old boy still have a ball of other money in the casino land ?
    How much did the wife make I wonder

Seeing Wags sign the end-of-day trading statement and noticing Wendy's trade was a very obvious story arc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Mushy wrote: »
    But that was based on prior knowledge to the stock plummeting which would be illegal. Unless of course Axe has to pay up on it and she is ok.
    That's going to be the kicker that will probably backfire on Chuck - they've now all effectively insider traded except Axe (on paper). By going after Axe, Chuck is going to get himself and his wife caught... Season 3 plot line anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Is his trust fund that important ? Doesn't his old boy still have a ball of other money in the casino land ?
    How much did the wife make I wonder
    His dad is cash-poor at the moment and is heavily leveraged against the casino lands - you know now that Axe knows that he will go after that as well. IMO the casino plotline is not over yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

His dad is cash-poor at the moment and is heavily leveraged against the casino lands - you know now that Axe knows that he will go after that as well. IMO the casino plotline is not over yet.

Good point , I'd say his dad will be his downfall whatever way it pans out . He is a good character in it being so pc incorrect and longing for the son to be a politician at the same time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yep that's twice Axe has been caught short by Chuck/his dad. When he figures it out though there will be outright war between them I reckon.

Axe could be going to prison, the FBI have him in the bar with one of the victims and an ex employee is one of the sick people aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Thargor wrote: »
    Axe could be going to prison, the FBI have him in the bar with one of the victims and an ex employee is one of the sick people aswell.

That'll make life uncomfortable but it won't be enough to send him to prison given the money he'll have to spend on lawyers. Not straight away anyway, depends how loyal those who had direct contact with him are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,895 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pentecost wrote: »
    That'll make life uncomfortable but it won't be enough to send him to prison given the money he'll have to spend on lawyers. Not straight away anyway, depends how loyal those who had direct contact with him are.

Yea, I know Axe is a hands-on kinda guy anyway, but all of that should have been left to his "fixer" (can't think of his name) to arrange really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yea, I know Axe is a hands-on kinda guy anyway, but all of that should have been left to his "fixer" (can't think of his name) to arrange really.
    Yeah the fact that it wasnt the fixer dude by the writers is very telling imo, same as Chucks enthusiasm for the whole fruit juice deal aswell.

Wonder if they got the fruit juice idea from this Juicero fad or if it was just a coincidence?

http://uproxx.com/life/juicero-offering-refunds-expensive-juicer/

Also cant believe I didnt recognise Axes fixer guy, he was the head of OZ, Tim McManus, Terry Kinny.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ok final episode, I've noticed that series now have the second last episode as the best in the series and the final 1 just as a setup for the next season.

I reckon there's something in about finding the guard who wants to be paid line with the noise blocking what was being said, I reckon Axe had a recorder on him for his chat with Chuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

** LOTS OF SPOILERS AHEAD.. DON'T SAY YOU WEREN'T WARNED **

I'm working from home today so just watched this over lunch...

It looks like things between Axe and Lara still aren't good given how quick she was to try and save herself - I wonder did the lawyer tell him when they met in the pool hall? Him not showing up at home as planned of course won't help matters.

I thought Taylor and Wild Bill were gonna have issues when Axe appointed them CIO rather than him, but apparently not... Wags was great as usual.

Axe of course will go down swinging, but without the help of Hall (who disappeared even before Boyd showed up at Axe's door) it will be a tough fight.

And Chuck... after his dad effectively disowning him, and him discovering Wendy meeting Axe (what did she whisper to him as they were taking him away I wonder?) and that she'll always side with him it seems, I was surprised to see him show up at home at the end. I also think the guy in his office quitting out of resentment to whatshername getting made head of criminal investigations will come back to bite him.

Overall a decent finale with some good setup for season 3. This has been probably my favorite show this season so looking forward to where it goes next.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Mr.S wrote: »
    He would have been searched before going into the cell, no?

Axe will buy himself out of prison, but i'm guessing a big back story on loosing Lara and the kids - same with Chuck, he'll chase Axe and be exposed for his plan but will loose Wendy.

Great season, just wish it was longer :(

Axe would have been searched but he'd be able to be passed something by a guard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,491 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I like the show and it's one of the better things on tele at the moment. But it's one biggest flaw is the silly angle of having Rhoades' wife working at the business he's trying to bring down.

That hug as Alexrod is being arrested was ridiculous.

You think that wouldn't be all over the media in reality?

They really need to...er..."axe" that in the next series. It's beyond silly now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭steve_r

Yeah it's quite artifical and contrived.

I liked how they left it with the finale with nearly everyone left in a mess of their own making.

Interesting contrast in the two relationships - Chuck could have/should have bailed on Wendy after those photos, while Lara looked to cut and run. It's interesting, from season 1 it would have looked like the foundations of both relationships are equally strong but that's clearly not the case.

I really enjoyed Season 2 and felt it really built well on Season 1. It's turned into a "must watch" show for me.

It's very good alright and the slow build on everyone's character is handled well. Lara showing her true colours when the chips are down, Chuck emerging into a world he would have rejected 20 episodes ago and more revelations on Alexrod's crooked nature are being unveiled brilliantly. I especially liked the way that nobody even questioned why the Feds were arresting Bobby, not even Wendy. They all know Axelrod is as bent as a ?3 note.

The only unconvincing character now is Wendy Rhoades while her husband (divorce proceedings or not) works to put him away.

On a side note, there's an Al Capone series with this guys face all over it. Surprised it hasn't been done yet.

255319.jpg

al-capone-9237536-2-raw.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Tony EH wrote: »
    I like the show and it's one of the better things on tele at the moment. But it's one biggest flaw is the silly angle of having Rhoades' wife working at the business he's trying to bring down.

That hug as Alexrod is being arrested was ridiculous.

You think that wouldn't be all over the media in reality?

They really need to...er..."axe" that in the next series. It's beyond silly now.

Agreed , there's no way that's happening in real life ,Wendy would be gone.

The idea of Chuck Rhodes blowing all his trust fund on taking down axe is also beyond silly,no guarantee of everything getting it back.

Awesome show anyway

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That was deadly, really enjoyed how that wrapped up this season.
    Axe is unsure about his future. His missus is unsure about him.
    Rhodes will need to make sure he has not left any threads, but he screwed over his father and family friend, and also he heard word from elsewhere of what he has done......so there are threads that need to be tied.
    Not sure about Wendy in this last episode, she is also a thread and knows alot that could bring either down.

Rhodes senior was some bollix giving those pictures to the son !
    Good show again , pity it's the last

Axe's wife was a scumbag for leaving before he got released

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Axe's wife was a scumbag for leaving before he got released

She doesn't love or trust him anymore, and was looking to protect herself and the kids if axe was locked up and their assets frozen.
    She invested into her sisters business (off the books), so is sorted in the short term, and once the legal fella told her that 1/2 of axes money would be hers when it's unfrozen, she was happy.
    She's a horrible character, but was doing right by her kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,459 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I've a feeling Chuck getting those pictures will prevent him from getting dragged in on that front.

I also feel the Ice Juice lad will be the one to unravel it all, just a case of when!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Rhodes senior was some bollix giving those pictures to the son !
    Good show again , pity it's the last
    It's coming back for season 3

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

She doesn't love or trust him anymore, and was looking to protect herself and the kids if axe was locked up and their assets frozen.
    She invested into her sisters business (off the books), so is sorted in the short term, and once the legal fella told her that 1/2 of axes money would be hers when it's unfrozen, she was happy.
    She's a horrible character, but was doing right by her kids.

I see that as she was doing what Bobby would do, protect her interests and future.

Wags was looking shook towards the end of the show , I dont think he will be fit for much without Axe

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭princess3901

I really like this show love the character Bobby Axelrod. However I find the character of Wendy Rhodes totally pointless. Really if she wasn't in it would she be missed?

At this point, I don't think she would. Not too much anyway. She's really just there to create drama now and her story - that of working in the organisation that Chuck is trying tro bring down - is becoming absurd. But, without that, she doesn't really have anything else.

There needs to be better writing for her in S3 and I think that will come in the shape of a falling out with Axelrod.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

At this point, I don't think she would. Not too much anyway. She's really just there to create drama now and her story - that of working in the organisation that Chuck is trying tro bring down - is becoming absurd. But, without that, she doesn't really have anything else.

There needs to be better writing for her in S3 and I think that will come in the shape of a falling out with Axelrod.

It's probably an off the wall suggestion but is there any chance it'll go the opposite with their respective marital issues..ak be drawn together in a romantic fashion??

I dunno.. I think she serves as the link between them - for whatever reason her loyalty to Axe and his guys means that she'll put them even above her relationship with Chuck and his ambitions. I think the reasons why that is could make a good story.

Even with Axe now seemingly cornered and her own marriage shaky, she's STILL standing by him... though I agree that with Axe and Lara seemingly also on the way out, things may get a lot more complicated for Wendy yet.