Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The biggest lies in movies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

And despite the fact that cars are never locked in movies when people exit them, the bloody car the girl is trying to get into is locked! So then she fumbles to get the key in, drops it into the gutter (oh, and of course it's pouring rain so the gutter is a torrent) and only just gets into the car and locks all the doors before the bad guy arrives. And then the car won't start....

And one of my favourites. When people are running in films, that is, running for pleasure/exercise rather than a chase scene, they always run too fast. This is because a typical 'real' run, lasting 40-60 mins, is far too slow to look at. It seems boring. So the director gets the actor to sprint through the scene and then stop, gasping for breath. In real life, runners don't gasp for breath on training runs. Handily though, the run and the gasping can then become a metaphor for the difficulties the character is facing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

That any time there is a car chase in a city or town, there will be a pile of empty boxes to mow down for some reason.

That any time someone goes grocery shopping there will always be a French baguette sticking out of one of the bags.

That people can chat at a normal volume in a nightclub.

That the grizzled veteran cop who's about to retire and his new sassy young partner who hate each other will become close friends/develop a father-son type bond.

That people living in medieval times were clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

- Thunder AND lightening strike at the same time.
    - That bloody bleepy blop sound that computers constantly make.
    - Shopping always consists of a bread roll sticking out of a bag.
    - Cars are never dirty, always spotless. (Watching homeland on netflicks here and its the same deal).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

You can steal someone's wallet just by bumping into them. If you're on a train all you have to do is brush past them.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

The amount of fuel that is stored in steel 40 gallon barrels at ports airports building sites etc without being marked as flammable. It inevitably explodes during a gunfight.
    There's always ingredients at hand anywhere to make a homemade explosive device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,712 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Goya wrote: »
    That the grizzled veteran cop who's about to retire and his new sassy young partner who hate each other will become close friends/develop a father-son type bond.
    Unless the grizzled veteran cop is black, in which case he will be dead by half-way through reel 2, and the sassy young partner will spend the rest of the movie bringing to justice the bad guys responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

davedanon wrote: »
    And despite the fact that cars are never locked in movies when people exit them, the bloody car the girl is trying to get into is locked!

Despite probably 99.97% of cars having remote central locking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Married couples hide their bits when getting out of bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    Married couples hide their bits when getting out of bed

I'm always trying to hid my gut from my OH... I'm sure she thinks I'm the same Adonis as when we met 20 years ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

People can type infallibly at lightning speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The construction and size of space ships

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

KungPao wrote: »
    At the all of Braveheart when they are wearing kilts hundreds of years before they were invented/commonly worn.

They.didnt wear kilts in bravebeart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,712 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    They.didnt wear kilts in bravebeart
    Certainly did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Peregrinus wrote: »

That's not a kilt. That's an off the shoulder dress. All the rage in Paris and Milan this year I hear. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

That characters can have a normal discussion in the middle of a nightclub setting with a full party and blaring music happening around them.

This is a really popular one for some reason. I didn't occur to me, but I have a related gripe. If they can do this, how come a lot of films and tv shows can't produce crisp, audible dialogue in perfectly normal non-explodey situations? I constantly cranking the damn volume up, and then the fecking ads are always much louder, so you have to turn it down. Ok, the fact that our surround sound system remote is broken might have something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭finglashoop

jackwigan wrote: »
    Why is a sprinter knackered after a few seconds yet a marathon runner can keep going for hours... There's your answer.

At full galllop. A marathon runner isnt sprinting

The remote central locking thing has spawned a movie meme, though. It's when the resourceful secret agent/Jason Bourne figure needs to escape a situation, so he/she steals some car keys, then walks through the carpark pressing the button and waiting to see which car responds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Computer programming is fast and exciting and you can type at a 100 words a minute and hack banks and governments, when in reality its slowly typing something in, running it and then ERROR in big red letters comes up and it be like, fùcks sake, off to stackoverflow so.

TallGlass wrote: »
    Insane local/regional/international knowledge when driving/walking/running, these guys very very rarely get lost anywhere in the world.

Yeah, this. I loved the Bourne films, but for some reason the scene that jarred with me the most was the bit where Jason steals a taxi outside a supermarket, after just being shot, and after the most cursory glance at a stolen map, he drives unerringly to his destination through the suburbs of Moscow.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭mapaca

Goya wrote:
    That people living in medieval times were clean.

And had perfect hair/teeth/nails/skin etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Get 3 coffins ready.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

mapaca wrote: »
    And had perfect hair/teeth/nails/skin etc...
    Funny enough generally they had good teeth, with low rates of caries and dental crowding. Certainly lower than say a century ago. Going way back "cavemen" usually had very good teeth. It was only after sugar became a popular and cheap commodity that dental decay became widespread. In the medieval only the wealthy had access to such rich foods and subsequently were more likely to suffer from bad teeth. Outside of illnesses their hair and skin was probably OK too.

Actually that can be another movie lie. Where they go the opposite direction and show medieval and ancient world folks in general as filthy dirty and dishevelled. Cosmetics, perfumes and shifting fashions have been part and parcel of humanity since the very early days. Still, crowded medieval cities would have been pungent places to walk around.

Battles are another suite of movie lies. No matter what the period. The single arrow to the body and instant fall down dead being one obvious one. Far more likely that such a wound would render the person out of the fray, only to die of blood loss or massive infection, hours, days, even weeks later. It can take a lot to kill someone, even gunshots unless to the head or heart can take time. The opposite of that of course is the film hero sustaining all sorts of debilitating injuries while staying moving, or living long enough to give a speech.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

+ 1 on what Wibbs said, I'll add the "knife to the belly" or "shot in the stomach" does not mean instant death like the movies portray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You can get to the boarding gate for a flight without a ticket.
    This used to be possible in the states for domestic flights, and is still possible in some smaller regional airports.

The U.S. never really considered domestic terrorism to be a big deal and up until the mid-2000s (even after the WTC attacks) it was common for people to be accompanied by family or friends all the way to the gate. Even now you can still do it in the U.S. if you just ask nicely.

In the E.U. you generally can't unless the passenger needs special assistance up to the gate, but their assistant isn't travelling with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭De Bhál

if you are being chased on foot and get to your car, the car won't start until the person chasing you reaches the car and is banging on the window. That or if you really need a car to start in a get-away scenario it'll take three turns to get it started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭farmerwifelet

That when on there own at home women always wear matching lingerie sets to bed - never granny pants and an ol bra. They always then go downstairs to check out the scary noise in said matching undies (or get attacked by mutant intelligent sharks!)

when baking women get adorable smudge of flour on there nose/cheek and guy thinks how cute she is. instead of saying eh you are a mess there love.

also men only really notice they are in love with a girl when she is marrying someone else and needs some elaborate car/horse chase to get to the church to prevent said wedding and girl is delighted and just dumps fiance there and then! instead of lamping the numpty for ruining her wedding day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Chiorino

Every car has a spare key hidden in the sun visor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

when baking women get adorable smudge of flour on there nose/cheek and guy thinks how cute she is. instead of saying eh you are a mess there .

Yeah, their kitchens never look like a ginormous tube of brown superglue exploded in them when baking. Totally unbelievable…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

davedanon wrote: »
    Yeah, this. I loved the Bourne films, but for some reason the scene that jarred with me the most was the bit where Jason steals a taxi outside a supermarket, after just being shot, and after the most cursory glance at a stolen map, he drives unerringly to his destination through the suburbs of Moscow.

Hhhheeeellllooo

This is Jason Bourne . not my wife .

Jason Bourne is a trained killer , of course he's going to know where he's going after only a glance of the map.

My wife on the other hand is also a trained killer , you should taste her cooking

Computer programming is fast and exciting and you can type at a 100 words a minute and hack banks and governments, when in reality its slowly typing something in, running it and then ERROR in big red letters comes up and it be like, fùcks sake, off to stackoverflow so.

Obviously, you're not very good at your job. Hugh Jackman can do it while looking at seventy different screens. That's why he can do it so quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

also men only really notice they are in love with a girl when she is marrying someone else and needs some elaborate car/horse chase to get to the church to prevent said wedding and girl is delighted and just dumps fiance there and then! instead of lamping the numpty for ruining her wedding day!

People losing mobile phone signal, or battery whenever the plot demands, leading to a convoluted race to the church, or through airport security or running alongside a train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,294 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"Welcome to 'Henchmen Shooting Training'. Over the course of the next few weeks, you will learn how to shoot your enemy who has likely already killed 90% of your friends. Now remember, only ever shoot your enemy in the shoulder, the leg, or just wing them a bit in the side."

"Shouldn't we shoot them in the head or chest?"

"No. That is not nearly evil enough. They must be shot somewhere that is a minor annoyance at best, but that if not medically treated within a few days, may cause an infection."

"May...?"

"Yes. For the truly evil part is having them worry with uncertainty of infection, the hassle of keeping the wound clean and bandaged, as well as dealing with minor pain for a few days after they've killed us. That way, we still hurt them after our death. That is true eeeeviiilllllll...."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Also, how does one become an evil henchman? Do you apply on the internet or craigslist? Are you eligible for Irish Life insurance? What happens to the family as a result of some good guy lad going on a rampage with a machine gun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

squirting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

The good guy flicking a cigarette butt at the pool of fuel leaking out of a crashed car, to create a raging fireball and kill the unconscious bad guys as he walks away.

The butt would be extinguished by the liquid fuel before it reaches the flash point of the vapour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Unless the grizzled veteran cop is black, in which case he will be dead by half-way through reel 2, and the sassy young partner will spend the rest of the movie bringing to justice the bad guys responsible.
    MendozAAAAAAAA! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭matchthis

The Neverending Story

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

People are kept captive tied to chairs, in tiny cells or whatever for days and no toilet breaks.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    People are kept captive tied to chairs, in tiny cells or whatever for days and no toilet breaks.

They're all wearing adult nappies…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

When you're brushing your teeth there's no evidence of any toothpaste in your mouth, foaming like a rabid dog. And if someone goes to talk to you don't have to spit it out and can go on talking normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Women wake up in bed with perfect hair and perfect makeup every morning, it's like magic and the bed doesn't look slept in.

Women can also emerge from a swimming pool with their makeup fully intact.

If you pick someone up in a club unexpectedly and bring them home your house is either immaculate, with a fully stocked fridge and drinks cabinet, or is like a scene out of hoarders, but you can clear it up in the time it takes them to count to 10. It's never semi-decent, needs a bit of a hoover, and we'll need to empty the dishwasher if you want a cup of coffee.

After woman has been chased by the baddie, fumbled with her keys, finally unlocked the car, got in, almost failed but then managed to get it started and thwarting the baddie by mere seconds, finally getting onto the highway with a sigh of relief - that's the exact moment the baddie she somehow didn't notice hiding in the back seat will decide to garrote her.

The only housework people in movies ever do is folding laundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Even poor people live in large apartment in new york. In reality not even rich people live in large apartments in new york.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Noboby goes to the jacks for about 30 minutes and comes out complaining about pins and needles and dead legs or a sore neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

ScumLord wrote: »
    Even poor people live in large apartment in new york. In reality not even rich people live in large apartments in new york.

It doesn't matter what job they have, they always live alone in an immaculate, tasteful loft apartment right in the centre of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

"Just put it on my card!". Hands over the credit card with a flourish. Never, ever gives them the PIN though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

maudgonner wrote: »
    "Just put it on my card!". Hands over the credit card with a flourish. Never, ever gives them the PIN though...

Americans are only starting to use chip and pin, and it's not terribly unusual not to sign for things either. They worry that PINs will enable fraud...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

maudgonner wrote: »

chip and pin still isnt in regular use in the states.