Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home of the Year RTE 1 - 8.30pm Tuesdays

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

No way that home should of won, its a eyesore so cold and way too open.
    Either the won made from mud or the cluttered one should of won.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭awanderer

No way that home should of won, its a eyesore so cold and way too open.
    Either the won made from mud or the cluttered one should of won.

In a way,I agree. I am not shocked that it won. I certainly don't think it is an eyesore but you could certainly see the architect's print and the quality of the workmanship more than the owners' personal touch. In fact, the bedroom, which is the only room where they had the opportunity to show their personal taste, was rather bland.

I feel that it would have deserved to be house of the year more than home of the year.

I liked the one with tons of colours and sofas (don't remember which one it was, just that there was a pool table decorated with flower:D) simply because it felt like a happy, cosy home created by and for its owners who didn't care about the fact that magazines state that walls should be grey, lines straight and style minimalist:). It was obvious that that house didn't stand a chance however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,504 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Just catching up now - late as usual!

Could they drag the judging out any more if they tried? They're all only short of crying over some of the houses - get a grip lads!

"It's our JOURNEY" - Puke :mad:

And how many times can they say "We HAVE to pick a winner" "We're here to pick a winner".

And then abruptly from I'M NEVER LETTING THIS HOUSE GO, to "we have a winner". Seriously bad editing going on here. Seriously bad acting going on here if I'm honest!

Right - who won?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Just catching up now - late as usual!

"It's our JOURNEY" - Puke :mad:

And how many times can they say "We HAVE to pick a winner" "We're here to pick a winner".

They forgot to mention that it was a roller coaster of emotions though. Everyone knows that any self respecting reality program is a journey AND a rollercoaster! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

I didn't think any of the houses matched the quality of the NI programmes. I know its 'Home' of the year not 'House' ............etc
    Personally I hate windowed ( fenestrated if you're posh ) gable walls. Architects do it to let in lots of light but it makes nonsense of blending the house into the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Well I was pleased the monstrosity that went through to the final last week didn't actually win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

God I hate the judges and the pretentiousness of it all. Look at that turd of an award. How apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Finally got round to watching the final/ Happy enough to see which house won. Would have been sad if Cob House won.

OMG, what a junk statue/thing that was awarded to the winning house!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Was it a hunk of wood?????!!!!!! :p

The house that won was my favourite all along

amdublin wrote: »
    Was it a hunk of wood?????!!!!!! :p

The house that won was my favourite all along

Pretty much!!! Looked like some hipster variation of an award statuette

QUOTE=sligeach;95513791]God I hate the judges and the pretentiousness of it all. Look at that turd of an award. How apt.[/QUOTE]

love that comment so much a thumbs up wasn't enough :)

I find the absolute snobbery in fashion, cookery and now these "look at our gorgeous house" programs to be vile!! where else would these "Judges" earn a living in the real world?? oh yeah wait, that's why they don't actually live in the real world....22b, yellowbrick road, lollypop lane, La la land!!!!! perfect address for them!

They are looking for houses for Series 2.

http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2015/0717/715475-home-of-the-year-2016-it-could-be-you/

Anyone on for having Declan visit their gaff?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

They are looking for houses for Series 2.

http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2015/0717/715475-home-of-the-year-2016-it-could-be-you/

Anyone on for having Declan visit their gaff?!

I like Declan and Hugh. Helen is okay but I don't think that she would be saying "wow" in my home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

I see they are doing a re-run of the series. That's one series I don't intend to watch again. The houses were okay, but the judges' interaction with each other was a pain. Taken as individuals, they were okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

Eyepatch wrote: »
    I see they are doing a re-run of the series. That's one series I don't intend to watch again. The houses were okay, but the judges' interaction with each other was a pain. Taken as individuals, they were okay.

A little harsh ? The Architect tried to set the context for the house design but the other two focused on interiors mainly. You will always get a kind of mock banter going on the RTE programmes - just like the 'Lords and ladles' cookery programme but I think they should be like Kevin McCloud in Grand Designs and play it straight,?

New series starting tonight???

Or is it a rerun of last year's?

Ah crap, it's a repeat.

How have I managed to miss the rest of them over the weeks???

Ah crap, it's a repeat.

How have I managed to miss the rest of them over the weeks???

Yes repeat.

I like Declan :pac:

Hope they are doing a new series

I hate this farmhouse, I think it is so HICKEY!

Had to turn it off - couldn't listen to those fakey plummy accents for longer than about 10 seconds.

Not sure even a new series will persuade me back if it's the same 3 judges.

Had to turn it off - couldn't listen to those fakey plummy accents for longer than about 10 seconds.

Not sure even a new series will persuade me back if it's the same 3 judges.

Really? Ah I like them.

Who's watching?

This house is amazing!!!!

Really like this hallway/staircase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

House is amazing
    But the stairs leading into fire place is hurting my anxiety!!

Yay it's back!

New lady judge (she seems nice!)

It is all a bit white and cream

Am watching :) . Also love the staircase.
    Hope this season won't be all white with a bit of grey though.
    I hate it when fashion replaces style.

Whoa it's a pretty cool house all the same

I love Declan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Waaaaaannnnnt this barn house!