Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

WALES Superthread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Not sure if this is the right place but great to see the Champions League going to the Millennium. Surprised it hasn't happened before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Wales 10th in the new FIFA world rankings! How has that happened?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

fullstop wrote: »
    Wales 10th in the new FIFA world rankings! How has that happened?!

The rankings are based on a mathematical formula and using Wales's results and the aforementioned formula Wales points total is the 10th most of the countries in the ranking list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Wales
    Austria
    Serbia
    Ireland :D
    Moldova
    Georgia

Not too bad, could have been a LOT worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

iDave wrote: »
    Not sure if this is the right place but great to see the Champions League going to the Millennium. Surprised it hasn't happened before.

I'd say it was because they missed out on a Euro game

Well this weekend the Welsh Premier league kicks off, and the first live game (On S4C, Sky Channel 104 or 134) is tomorrow night, Kick off 17:15

The Mighty LLANDUDNO TOWN (My home town) vs Aberystwyth

It's our first ever season in the WPL and we play on a plastic pitch

Was seriously debating whether to start a match thread in the forum :D:D

Big game for us tonight, win tonight and on Sunday would more or less put us through, glad to see we've got a full squad with no major injuries.

Going for a 2-1 win for us tonight and a 4-0 win on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Achtung! Bono

And, ahead of England for the first time in the FIFA rankings. :eek:

That's only good for trolling my english mates, and of course getting into Pot 1, apart from that the rankings are complete bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

scudzilla wrote: »
    Big game for us tonight, win tonight and on Sunday would more or less put us through, glad to see we've got a full squad with no major injuries.

Going for a 2-1 win for us tonight and a 4-0 win on Sunday

I looked at the group earlier in the week and 4 points here would be enough. As the 3 points guaranteed against Andorra makes it impossible for 2 other teams to finish on more points.

Well that went well

gwneud yn dda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Well done,lads. On the brink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Great stuff, as good as there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Delighted for Wales someone to cheer on in the finals albeit barring a poor result for Scotland in Georgia tomorrow night :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

major bill wrote: »
    Delighted for Wales someone to cheer on in the finals albeit barring a poor result for Scotland in Georgia tomorrow night :D

Huh? England will definitely get there. NI will probably get there and the Scots might get there, if we don't. Plenty to cheer on. Delighted for Wales. A win on Sunday seals it for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Berserker wrote: »
    Huh? England will definitely get there. NI will probably get there and the Scots might get there, if we don't. Plenty to cheer on. Delighted for Wales. A win on Sunday seals it for them.

Without derailing the Wales thread, eh no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

major bill wrote: »
    Without derailing the Wales thread, eh no thanks

Yeah, god forbid. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Gareth Bale really is something else

astonaidan wrote: »
    Gareth Bale really is something else

Hate the way the term "world class" is thrown about these days but it really is appropriate for this guy. Always delivers on the big occasion for Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Hate the way the term "world class" is thrown about these days but it really is appropriate for this guy. Always delivers on the big occasion for Wales.

If he isn't world class he's the closest thing to it. Well done Wales!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Genuinely excited now for Wales.

One victory away from the promised land. I'll be cheering them on all the way (cos unfortunately we won't be there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

Can't help but be delighted for Wales ... long long wait since their last appearance at a finals. Congrats to them ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Also what's impressive if that they, and Iceland, are topping their respective groups - no need for the 3rd place play-off at all. Fair play to them.

Actually, I wonder have the extra places had a hugely positive effect on the smaller nations who know that they've a chance of finishing third and getting a play-off, and therefore playing out of their skins and actually topping groups, versus the negative effect on bigger nations who just feel they have to show up to win and feel that they can afford mistakes due to the extra number of places but then fail to get going at all?

Nearly time, nervous, excited, been close before but never this close

Is this on TV here? Tried the Welsh channel on Sky but no joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Is this on TV here? Tried the Welsh channel on Sky but no joy.

On sky sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

cmon BALES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Was a penalty there I thought. Hope Wales get the win here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Can see Israel getting one on the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I remember when Wales acted like this in Dublin. Horrible stuff.

Israel I meant Israel!!

4 minutes injury time

Church goal rightfully disallowed for offside in last minute.

Not a great display, excellent in first 20mins though

Could still do it tonight if Belgium fail to win

Belgium lead...4 minutes left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Wales lose 0-2 but they qualify as Cyprus beat Israel.

Never have I felt so happy after we've lost, waited my whole fcukin life for this moment, near miss after near miss we've finally done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

scudzilla wrote: »
    Never have I felt so happy after we've lost, waited my whole fcukin life for this moment, near miss after near miss we've finally done it.

Congratulations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Congratulations Wales.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I'm happy that Ryan Giggs never got the chance and yet Joe Allen does! :pac: (there's no justice eh?!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

I'm happy that Ryan Giggs never got the chance and yet Joe Allen does! :pac: (there's no justice eh?!)

Ah but poor Ian Rush never got a chance either.

Rush, Giggs, Southall, Saunders, Hughes, Bellamy, Speed, All world class players and I think all playing at the same time and we still never made it

365187.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Congratulations. Delighted for ye. Hopefully we'll be joining ye today.

Happy with that draw, 1 easy game and then 2 not so bad in Russia and Slovakia

Better revive this old thread, seeing as we're gonna win the tournament :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Well done, Wales. Keep it up for the next game. ;)

Russians are looking awful, if they play like this against us then that's another 3 points there for the taking

The big one tomorrow, i really really fancy us to scrape this one, tight affair with Bale scoring a last minute winner