Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭lukin

citykat wrote: »
    I wouldn't be a qualified lip reader but it was quite clear that Davy was roaring 'theres nothing f***ing wrong with him'. You'd hope that once the blood was visible, he was a little rueful about exploding like that.

Heh-heh,if Gleeson had his head taken off Davy would still say there was nothing wrong with him :)

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Alf Tupper

lukin wrote: »
    From what I saw when Austin Gleeson was being treated for the cut he got the camera switched to Davy and he was effing and blinding his head off.
    What about it do not know.It might have been nothing to do with Gleeson's injury.
    Edit:having watched it again on League Sunday it seems Davy was objecting to the free given for the foul on Gleeson which resulted in him being escorted from the field with blood streaming from his face.It was definitely a free though.

Please stop trying to defend the indefensible.

Just compare his carry on the line today to Donal Og's and Louis Mulqueen's etc

The whole Clare backroom team behaved with the utmost dignity apart from him.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for the vitriol that Fitzgerald screams at opposing players. It's not like it's a one off. He's been at it for years.

He's an utter disgrace to all decent Clare people and to decent hurling folk, full stop.

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Please stop trying to defend the indefensible.

Just compare his carry on the line today to Donal Og's and Louis Mulqueen's etc

The whole Clare backroom team behaved with the utmost dignity apart from him.

There is absolutely no justification whatsoever for the vitriol that Fitzgerald screams at opposing players. It's not like it's a one off. He's been at it for years.

He's an utter disgrace to all decent Clare people and to decent hurling folk, full stop.
    I'm not defending Davy Fitz at all.If you read my post you'll see I said it was definitely a free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭Gavlor

We should have had the game wrapped up at this stage but there is no allowing for this kind of refereeing. You have to feel for the players missing out on a league medal due to an incredibly inconsistent refereeing performance.

https://twitter.com/hurlingcrazy/status/729357931406364672

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Disgraceful refereeing by Kirwan today, absolutely disgusted by it. Sickening way to lose a game, clear foul ignored and free given for nothing to the opposition to effectively decide the game.

Some really good performances form Waterford today, particularly Curran and Barron, really impressed with these lads after the week they had.

Congrats to Clare, as sickened as I am, I must admit huge admiration for Tony Kelly and an absolutely masterful display today, super scores, real leadership too. Such a talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭skaface

Never so dissappointed after a match as I was today leaving Thurles..
    Referee was a disgrace, and in being so cost us
    Back to back League titles..
    In saying all this, we were Six points up twice during the game ( same last week) and couldn't
    Close out the game..
    Poor decision making on AND off the field cost us dearly today..
    Why was Tom Devine taken off , when he was causing havoc with the Clare defence..
    Also, when Brick was called ashore, we had no one to win a high ball in the forward line.. Maurice should have come on sooner IMO..
    Hopefully lessons will have been learned today,
    But we need to start closing out games and getting cuter on the field.
    We should have won this game today, no if,s or buts.. Titles are hard to come by, we don't want to be saying in seven or eight years time - they were a great team, very unlucky not to win.an All Ireland.. We've had that with the Marquee team of the last fifteen years..
    Time to start learning from.our mistakes.. Starting on June 5th... Rant over : -)
    UP THE DEISE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,113 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What now for us ???

June 5th will be extra tough with people expecting a backlash from us. Lose and its the dreaded qualifers which have not been kind on us in the past. Would love to shut up Davy and Clare and make a Munster final

Our heads are down now and they will be hard too lift again

Kirwan should never ref a Waterford game again and was a lucky man no Waterford supporter got there hands on him. McGrath seemed relaxed the complete opposite to Davy

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

Leave the referee aside for one moment and try to see where we came up short. As I said earlier we lost a 6pt lead twice,something wrong there maybe? Phillip Mahony I think was taken for 1.05,his lack of pace exposed more than once. Several times Clare moved the ball through the middle to pick off scores and the giving up possession for their puckouts led to this happening. Curran was immense, Bennett tried hard but there are better days ahead for him hopefully this year. So in truth if you count Aussie and Paddy Curran as our only 2 best forwards today it means we have room to improve for 4 weeks time in this dept. Maurice needs to start the next day as I feel his physicality can reap rewards

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Terrible referee generally but it's done now and on to the championship. Some good performances today.

Sok- no chance for the goal but dealt well with some dangerous high balls in second half
    Shane Fives-not as good as last week and maybe not fully fit
    Barry Coughlan-thought he done well and is very solid this year
    Noel -his best game this year for sure
    Philip- didn't think it was his best day made a few mistakes
    Darragh- brilliant point from play and excellent again
    Aussie- immense mostly
    Jamie Barron- his best game for us I thought
    Kevin- stepped up a lot from earlier in the year and hitting form at right time
    Tadgh- very poor in the first half with distribution , gifted clare 3 scores but fantastic in the second half
    Tom D- game passed him by in the first half but unlucky not to get a goal before taken off
    Brick- good game and surprised he was taken off just before the end
    Jake- took the goal well but quiet other than that
    Patrick C- excellent today bar one bad free , he is class
    Shane B- very closely marked today and not much ball broke his way but 2 good scores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Hard luck Waterford. Ye played your part in what was a brilliant game. Clare would swap their league medals for a win the next day. Waterford are a serious team and It will take a very good team to beat them from now on. Heads up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    Disgraceful refereeing by Kirwan today, absolutely disgusted by it. Sickening way to lose a game, clear foul ignored and free given for nothing to the opposition to effectively decide the game.

Some really good performances form Waterford today, particularly Curran and Barron, really impressed with these lads after the week they had.

Congrats to Clare, as sickened as I am, I must admit huge admiration for Tony Kelly and an absolutely masterful display today, super scores, real leadership too. Such a talent

A joke of a decision. Sickening to lose over that having played so well.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Some positives
    - we have a great team
    - Gleeson, Curran and Bennett are the real deal,
    - we have a very solid defence,
    - we have a host of players that are capable of scoring brilliant individual points,
    - Listen to the interviews of players and mangers after the game, we have a real classy set up.

some no so positives
    - Soky Driving the ball up the field from Puck outs is not working for us, also what he was doing to get blocked down at the death last week and then pucking out the last ball so fast is beyond me.
    - the refs decision not to give barron a free was bad, the Kelly free after was very bad.
    - what was worse was we had two puck-outs after the 70th minute, if we retained even one we would not have lost (the ball Barron won for the controversial 'no-free' was off a break from a Clare player from our puck-out),
    - Clare got the last 4 scores of the game.

We have absolutely no-one else but ourselves to blame.

congrats to Clare, who can begrudge them after a 37 year wait, another team would have been beaten, they are worthy league champions and in Tony Kelly they have a true genius.

We are as good as anyone and can win an All-Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Not much talk of systems after todays game, must admit that despite the result it was a great game to watch. Unrecognisable from last weeks borefest.

The ref shafted us at the end but thought we lost it on the line before that. We conceded the last four scores mainly cos we couldn't win a puckout. Devine wasn't getting many scores but he was an outlet, was winning ball and causing havoc up there. With Brick gone as well at the end who were we targeting? We ended the game half panicked and prob would have been better off if we went for short puckouts, worked it through the lines for those last few mins if even only to kill the clock. Instead we pumped long ball that was coming straight back down and over the bar. Hopefully this is something we learn from and we turn them over in Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Really sickened after that. Don't think there's much that can be said that hasn't been mentioned already. One thing that I noticed which wasn't mentioned is that (I felt at least) the ref could have allowed us one more upfield attack after Kelly's point. It was just on or before the 73rd minute mark at that point but I recall Tommy Ryan coming on for Brick in injury time which surely meant an extra 20-30 seconds. Who knows, we could have got an equaliser or free in in that attack. Nit picking I know but just an observation.
    It was a bad decision by the ref alright, a free in that surely would have sealed the win for us.
    Being 6 points up and losing that lead is poor though it has to be said, I think there was still around 20mins left at that stage so you knew it was still too early to try close out the game and Clare would come back at us. The last 10mins was horrible to watch as Clare were chipping into the lead and we just couldn't win a ball or break to save our lives.

To be fair to Clare they played well and at times (especially in the first half) they cut through us and seemed to take their scores much easier and more fluidly. Kelly took his goal well which really brought them back into it. Thought overall though we were the better team and I guess that's why it's a bitter pill to swallow.

Barron and Curran were excellent, the defence in general were decent, Brick won an ocean of ball and Aussie was top class as well. More of that in 4 weeks and we'll be in with a shout again. I'd say the players are hurting big time and will be eager to get another shot in a higher stakes game.

On a final point, 2-19 isn't bad scoring from a so called defensive, negative set-up!

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭IanVW

Think the biggest moan of the match was before throw in when shane o sullivan was announced as a starter🙈☺️

• Registered Users Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

The next time Waterford come out on the right side of a contentious finish, I must remember to head on over to the thread for the beaten team within minutes of the final whistle and engage in a spot of finger-wagging about taking it on the chin. Because nothing signals 'graciousness' like concern trolling.

Still, there's no point in complaining about the ref. Unless you have evidence of corruption - and remember that extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence - then you have to accept that refereeing capriciousness is something you have to factor into the game. The only way around it is to be four points up heading into injury time, not one or two. Time to dust ourselves down and move on to the next one. Well done Clare.

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭blueflame

Heartened by the performance - sickened by the result. Unfortunately some poor decision making left us in a position where we were vulnerable at the final whistle and hopefully we will learn from that. Having reviewed the coverage last night have to say that Kirwin's decisions were a disgrace - Baron was clearly fouled and quite frankly Tony Kelly three himself on the ground. When you hear Eddie Brennan admitting it was a wrong call and the free should have gone Waterford's way that is enough.

I also take issue with his decision at half time to blow the first half up with at least 10 seconds remaining on the clock - he added "at least one minute - Clare went up the file and scored a vital point, we had the puck out which Socky struck with 13 seconds left on the clock and Kirwin whistled for half time with the ball landing 40 meters from the Clare goal !!!

Going back to game, thought Patrick Curran was immense, really Like Devine as a player but at the moment would have to say he is far better coming into a game. It is almost like when he starts the pressure to perform is too great, he is still very young and this can happen, with experience he will become a definite starter for the future. . Maurice on the other hand takes an age to get into the game, and probably needs to start to make a real impact A lot of debate on here last week about Brick, thought he was outstanding yesterday and really stepped up to the plate when needed. Wrong call in my view to take him off he was out on his fee but was the coolest head on the park at that stage of the game.

Final comment on the behavior of Davy, all this talk about passion is rubbish - the guy is a disgrace and embarrassment with his antics on the line - i said it when he was in charge of Waterford and i say it again now - there is play acting and there is play acting, but his behavior is just totally unacceptable - all managers are passionate, but his actions exceed acceptability at any level

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭carter10

deiseach wrote: »
    The next time Waterford come out on the right side of a contentious finish, I must remember to head on over to the thread for the beaten team within minutes of the final whistle and engage in a spot of finger-wagging about taking it on the chin. Because nothing signals 'graciousness' like concern trolling.
    That's Clare for ya. There is a reason they turned the whole country against them in the 90s. Bad winners

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Tramore84

Sickened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Still, there's no point in complaining about the ref. Unless you have evidence of corruption - and remember that extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence - then you have to accept that refereeing capriciousness is something you have to factor into the game. The only way around it is to be four points up heading into injury time, not one or two. Time to dust ourselves down and move on to the next one. Well done Clare.

Iv gone through this Waterford thread since the game was over and I'm finding it hard to find many posts from Clare supporters telling Waterford supporters to stop whinging and move on. There will always be someone to start trolling so don't put us all in the same boat. First league since 1978 so we are entitled to enjoy it. Mean nothing really unless we win in a few weeks time though.

In fact most agree that we got the rub of the decisions at the end where if it was a free to Tony it certainly should have been one to Barron just before hand. And as pointed out by most the ref was poor for both sides. Waterford got 3 awful soft frees in the first half but luckily for us curran put each one wide which imo was justice. Look at the Cunningham incident too where we didn't get the free.

And as I said just after the game, heart went out to Gleeson yesterday as he was just unbelievable.

Roll on a few weeks time and another tight battle. Hope with us getting mcinerney, Conlon and Ryan back will just put us through

carter10 wrote: »
    That's Clare for ya. There is a reason they turned the whole country against them in the 90s. Bad winners

What happened there after the game, what do you mean by finger - wagging?.

Iv gone through this Waterford thread since the game was over and I'm finding it hard to find many posts from Clare supporters telling Waterford supporters to stop whinging and move on. There will always be someone to start trolling so don't put us all in the same boat.

There's a hint in my post if you want to look hard enough. Don't worry too much about it though, I don't put you all in the same boat. Enjoy the win, I know I would be if the roles were reversed.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

Tickets for munster championship on sale now on gaa website

Tramore84 wrote: »
    What happened there after the game, what do you mean by finger - wagging?.

Ah re- read, this was online finger wagging.

Tickets for munster championship on sale now on gaa website

After yesterday's thriller, I predict a crowd of at least 15,000.

Kirwan is not actually a Corkman by birth; he is from Offaly originally:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diarmuid_Kirwan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

I wonder was Kirwan the victim of ''bullying'' ? Surely not !!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Very disappointing finish to yesterday's game but once the final whistle goes that's it as far as I'm concerned. The ref didn't make us blow a 6 point lead in each half and we need to park that stuff now. Great to hear Curran thinking that way in his post match interview.

Fantastic game and credit to Clare for coming back twice.
    Great performances from Waterford all over the field. Hopefully this loss in a game they know they could have won will spur this team on to greater things and make them hungrier for the championship.

Déise abú!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

STIG83 wrote: »
    You leave it. Life's too short.

Fuking tramp!! And I say she was never to a game in her life!!
    You only get it from the people who show up once in a blue moo. I got it at the Limerick game in 2007 aswell, it was shocking stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

O Riain wrote: »
    You only get it from the people who show up once in a blue moo. I got it at the Limerick game in 2007 aswell, it was shocking stuff.

No need for it really, there is banter eg. Waterford playing KK, winding each other up before a match. All in good spirit.
    Then there is nasty low lifes like that Clare supporter yesterday.
    I always liked to see Clare do well, I didn't begrudge them in 2013.
    Was happy with Waterford minors winning the Al.

Might end up changing my mind on Clare now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

skaface wrote: »
    Never so dissappointed after a match as I was today leaving Thurles..
    Referee was a disgrace, and in being so cost us
    Back to back League titles..

In saying all this, we were Six points up twice during the game ( same last week) and couldn't
    Close out the game..

Poor decision making on AND off the field cost us dearly today..
    Why was Tom Devine taken off , when he was causing havoc with the Clare defence..
    Also, when Brick was called ashore, we had no one to win a high ball in the forward line.. Maurice should have come on sooner IMO..
    Hopefully lessons will have been learned today,
    But we need to start closing out games and getting cuter on the field.
    We should have won this game today, no if,s or buts.. Titles are hard to come by, we don't want to be saying in seven or eight years time - they were a great team, very unlucky not to win.an All Ireland.. We've had that with the Marquee team of the last fifteen years..
    Time to start learning from.our mistakes.. Starting on June 5th... Rant over : -)
    UP THE DEISE

Which reason lost Waterford the match?
    Neutral here and a supporter of both Clare and Waterford.

Waterford were the better team for most of the match to be honest but took the foot off too soon and as we all know Clare are a team that will NEVER give up.

6 points up and Waterford couldnt finish it off and I dont see how ref is getting all the blame, he didnt give Clare 7 points to win the match

The point Gleeson missed near the end which everyone around me though was gone over kind of turned the momentum to Clare

A small percentage of Clare supporters are wild and some of the shourest winners I've seen and stuff like that Clare supporters taunting the Waterford guy would make ur blood boil (no place for soccer fan like antics in gaa). Davy is not saint either but apparently it's on field persona and he's get carried away (remember the 2011 Munster semi incident when he was in charge of us ??)

I'd love to beat them more than Kilkenny or Tipp in the championship

Could the qualifiers route suite us more or better going for Munster silverware ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

From a Clare supporter best of luck in the Chship. There are dicks in every county and by god I've met them. You have a fine team with a good solid manager who has obviously got very tasty fingers and a great squad of dedicated players. Nothing between the two teams and if we go out I would love to see ye win an All Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭letsseehere14

PTH2009 wrote:
    A small percentage of Clare supporters are wild and some of the shourest winners I've seen and stuff like that Clare supporters taunting the Waterford guy would make ur blood boil (no place for soccer fan like antics in gaa). Davy is not saint either but apparently it's on field persona and he's get carried away (remember the 2011 Munster semi incident when he was in charge of us ??)

It's not "soccer fan like antics" it's just bad fan antics. What is this GAA inferiority complex that needs people to campare other sports good or bad! Over the years iv seen fans from practically ever big hurling county act like this. I was ashamed of some of the behaviour of so called Limerick fans before the match in the Gaelic Grounds last year. There are bad winners and bad losers in every county and results like yesterday brings them out even more than usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 meathhurler48

We have history with this ref. going back to an u-21 v Tipp in Thurles. We suffered at his hands all evening. Owen Whelan came on at half-time. He lasted 10 minutes before two yellows for harmless frees had him back in the dugout. Despite this we were only 2 points down entering injury time. Maurice was charging into the square looking for a winning goal with three Tipp backs hanging out of him. Instead of a penalty Mr. Kiwani gave a free out. Tipp got a last minute goal to run out winners by five.
    On our way out of the Kinnane Stand a few Tipp. supporters apologised and said that they didn't want to win games based on totally biased refereeing.
    When I saw his name pop up last week I had serious forebodings and I wasn't wrong. Funny thing is that, I could be wrong on this, I thought that Kirwan was removed from the senior refs panel two years ago.
    At any level Waterford should refuse to accept him as a referee in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

We have history with this ref. going back to an u-21 v Tipp in Thurles. We suffered at his hands all evening. Owen Whelan came on at half-time. He lasted 10 minutes before two yellows for harmless frees had him back in the dugout. Despite this we were only 2 points down entering injury time. Maurice was charging into the square looking for a winning goal with three Tipp backs hanging out of him. Instead of a penalty Mr. Kiwani gave a free out. Tipp got a last minute goal to run out winners by five.
    On our way out of the Kinnane Stand a few Tipp. supporters apologised and said that they didn't want to win games based on totally biased refereeing.
    When I saw his name pop up last week I had serious forebodings and I wasn't wrong. Funny thing is that, I could be wrong on this, I thought that Kirwan was removed from the senior refs panel two years ago.

Is this the same reff tipp had serious issues with going back to 2009 all Ireland v kk

It's not "soccer fan like antics" it's just bad fan antics. What is this GAA inferiority complex that needs people to campare other sports good or bad! Over the years iv seen fans from practically ever big hurling county act like this. I was ashamed of some of the behaviour of so called Limerick fans before the match in the Gaelic Grounds last year. There are bad winners and bad losers in every county and results like yesterday brings them out even more than usual.

The lads going on the local pub buses drinking cans since 9 in the morning will be back in force come championship time . Never went on any drinking busses although it sounds likes fun it never really appealed to me to get legless before a 4pm throw-in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Goldfinger banned - second ban today we've had as a result of this match. Play nice or don't play at all

Was at that game and indeed it was one of the worst reffing performances i've seen but I thought it was Sexton who reffed that not Kirwan. Also think Giveitfong wrote a good report on that game and the many bad decisions by the ref ( I could be wrong on both counts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭skaface

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Which reason lost Waterford the match?
    Neutral here and a supporter of both Clare and Waterford.

Waterford were the better team for most of the match to be honest but took the foot off too soon and as we all know Clare are a team that will NEVER give up.

6 points up and Waterford couldnt finish it off and I dont see how ref is getting all the blame, he didnt give Clare 7 points to win the match

I think the second .. In both games we failed to close out the game when we were ahead by Six..
    We need to address this if we are to Win.an All lreland.. We must get ruthless on the field of play and start putting teams away.. If KK were ahead by six, they would win by ten.. Much to ponder on for next few weeks.
    PS. The Ref was piss poor as well ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Was at that game and indeed it was one of the worst reffing performances i've seen but I thought it was Sexton who reffed that not Kirwan. Also think Giveitfong wrote a good report on that game and the many bad decisions by the ref ( I could be wrong on both counts)

Was Kirwan, his wikipedia was changed that day as well.

At any level Waterford should refuse to accept him as a referee in the futu
    I was there that evening and he was indeed a disgrace. Read about it here from Giveitfong https://deiseach.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/waterford-1-16-19-tipperary-4-12-24-under-21-giveitfongs-view/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

skaface wrote: »
    I think the second .. In both games we failed to close out the game when we were ahead by Six..
    We need to address this if we are to Win.an All lreland.. We must get ruthless on the field of play and start putting teams away.. If KK were ahead by six, they would win by ten.. Much to ponder on for next few weeks.
    PS. The Ref was piss poor as well ;-)

We were never ahead by 6 the first day. We led by 3 in extra time that was the height of it.

imgaine losing an all ireland/munster final like we did yesterday. We never do things easy in Waterford and if we are to win we will do it the hard way and already have dis year already

Vs Tipp (Last min free)
    vs Wexford
    we made hard work of it in Cork
    We could of easily won/lost vs Galway

What senior panelists are on the under 21 squad this year ???

• Registered Users Posts: 24 meathhurler48

No Carter 10. It was Kirwan. Just checked Munster GAA site.

Correct, see my 2nd post above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,605 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

PTH2009 wrote: »
    imgaine losing an all ireland/munster final like we did yesterday. We never do things easy in Waterford and if we are to win we will do it the hard way and already have dis year already

Vs Tipp (Last min free)
    vs Wexford
    we made hard work of it in Cork
    We could of easily won/lost vs Galway

What senior panelists are on the under 21 squad this year ???

Not never. We just tend to forget straightforward ones. League final last year was won pulling up. Munster finals in 2002 and 2007 were never really in doubt from a long way out (even though 2002 one didn't seem like it at the time, it wasn't till Dave Bennett put us 7 ahead that I started to relax a bit).

Clare hammering in 2004, Cork last year also stick out in the mind as games against top teams that were won handy.

Its funny how the mind forgets these and this perception of always doing it the hard way persists. Fact is there isn't a lot between a lot of the main hurling counties so close games are more likely to happen than not.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 ryan1990

STIG83 wrote: »
    No need for it really, there is banter eg. Waterford playing KK, winding each other up before a match. All in good spirit.
    Then there is nasty low lifes like that Clare supporter yesterday.
    I always liked to see Clare do well, I didn't begrudge them in 2013.

I know it was a tiny minority, but the last thing you should do is shove your victory into opposition supporters faces after a win.
    Davy was worse again, celebrating in front of us.
    Not sour grapes at all, just stating what I saw.
    Let's hope we beat them the next day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

I was there that evening and he was indeed a disgrace. Read about it here from Giveitfong https://deiseach.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/waterford-1-16-19-tipperary-4-12-24-under-21-giveitfongs-view/

Tipp man here, I was at that game and he rode Waterford out the gate. It was his first big Tipp game since he done us in the 2009 final and it appeared he was trying to make amends that night. I met a well known Waterford hurling coach on the way out and he was as angry as I've seen anyone after a game. He needs to be removed off the panel asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Although I would question some of the selections for Sunday (we finished the game without any real ball winning forwards, but this too was down to injuries, someone like tom devine should have been kept in reserve)

I have to say I think Derek mcgrath has handled the controversial finish brilliantly, he hasn't put a foot wrong, showed real class...
    He is a brilliant manager and We are so lucky to have him.

It's not the first time a decision like that cost a team - look at Tipp they came back in 2010, I always had great admiration for that Tipp team the only ones who came close to putting it up to kilkenny - they has crushing defeats but always fought on.

This is a bump in the road for us, even if we lose on the 4th of June it's not the end, there is too much quality and intelligence in this group to collapse over setbacks... even the victor in June could fall the next day out, so much quality in munster with Tipp, Limerick and Cork.

I am convinced we will win the All-Ireland with this group, but it will a great journey either way, this level headed and intelligent group of men representing us at senior level make it very easy to be proud