Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Part-time farming!! Is it worth it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

AP - no harm to you son but you really come across on this forum as either a gob****e or a troll? :rolleyes:
    You obviously know as much about relationships as you do about farming.

On a serious note AntrimGlens, I have earned approx 30k on farming the last 2 years on 30 acres part-time with very little work. I get myself a nice holiday and good few wkds away with herself from it. Maybe I do know very little about farming but I am doing ok with what I know. Question my farming practices all you like.

Don't know your circumstances or how much you farm or make from it. But from your post, kipping on the couch from 2am - 5am, skipping breakfast to head to work, hardly seeing your kids in the evening as you are out on the farm again. All for what, as you said yourself it's not the economics of it you have a gra for it.

Got to ask yourself who the real gobsh*te is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

AP2014 wrote: »
    On a serious note AntrimGlens, I have earned approx 30k on farming the last 2 years on 30 acres part-time with very little work. I get myself a nice holiday and good few wkds away with herself from it. Maybe I do know very little about farming but I am doing ok with what I know. Question my farming practices all you like.

Don't know your circumstances or how much you farm or make from it. But from your post, kipping on the couch from 2am - 5am, skipping breakfast to head to work, hardly seeing your kids in the evening as you are out on the farm again. All for what, as you said yourself it's not the economics of it you have a gra for it.

30k over 2 years is 15k a year, you said you have a SFP of 10k, so you made 5k / year from farming 30 acres.
    That's 166euro an acre. You would make more money by letting it out, less work, less risk, less hassle...

Not knocking your system of farming AP - but you seem to laugh at Antrim for all his hard work, but from what I can see, when it boils down to it - you still chose the less easier option as well... Why is this?

Now as for gob****e question.... well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Sami23

Fair points AP when you put it like that, for all that hassle Antrim you would want to be making a nice profit having to put yourself through that sort of routine and missing out on spending time with kids etc. Maby drystock would be a better option for you like someone else said.

30k over 2 years is 15k a year, you said you have a SFP of 10k, so you made 5k / year from farming 30 acres.
    That's 166euro an acre. You would make more money by letting it out, less work, less risk, less hassle...

Not knocking your system of farming AP - but you seem to laugh at Antrim for all his hard work, but from what I can see, when it boils down to it - you still chose the less easier option as well... Why is this?

Now as for gob****e question.... well....

Fair point and as discussed before, I wouldn't get the SFP/DAS and hopefully GLAS next year from letting it out. That's why I consider it the right option and I work the tax system, I know letting it out longterm is tax free. This way though I have control over my farm.

I am in no way laughing at antrim and where do I say that? I think his thread sums up the point of part-time farmers and the original post by feckthis. He is working all hours under the sun it seems, kipping on couch, struggling to see the kids it seems and not sure on the economics of it. Again I don't know all his circumstances this is just from what he posted and I can only go on that.

I earn more from my option and regain control of farm than leasing out. No doubt leasing is the easier option but as others have said on this thread about part-time farming, it gets them out, they enjoy it and it's a side earner. As It is for me. If I was working like antrim and a few others here I reckon I would lease as you suggest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

I think you have expensive pets that ultimately get eaten ...

I should of said the farm is holding its own. It's not costing me anything just time. I said if it was losing money I'd probably still keep a few. I don't keep pets. F##kers just cost money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭AnFeirmeoir

I think Antrims current workload is just for lambing and not like that for the rest of the year. I'm the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

But at least I'll have something worthwhile as an ASSET to pass on to the kids or sell if i choose because I have REINVESTED it back in the farm, I know you're not keen on expenditure.
    If I can't put a bit of effort in for 3 weeks of the year and endure a bit of hardship lambing ewes and calving cows to make me approx £80K in stock sales then I reckon theres loads of fellas here would want to give up and not just me.
    I've been down the drystock route and reared bull beef and ran hoggets over but theres very little emotional attachment for me in that as i don't see stock improving year on year, whereas with lambing and calving I can see my stock improving every year, but then thats the farmer in me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

But at least I'll have something worthwhile as an ASSET to pass on to the kids or sell if i choose because I have REINVESTED it back in the farm, I know you're not keen on expenditure.
    If I can't put a bit of effort in for 3 weeks of the year and endure a bit of hardship lambing ewes and calving cows to make me approx £80K in stock sales then I reckon theres loads of fellas here would want to give up and not just me.
    I've been down the drystock route and reared bull beef and ran hoggets over but theres very little emotional attachment for me in that as i don't see stock improving year on year, whereas with lambing and calving I can see my stock improving every year, but then thats the farmer in me?

Like yourself I might pass on my asset or I might sell and enjoy it. If you are making 80k I would nearly think of going full time, fair play.

I don't get overly emotionally attached as the heart can start to rule the head.

Which is why its still part time because as pointed out its reinvested in the farm for when I decide to quit my job and farm full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

Which is why its still part time because as pointed out its reinvested in the farm for when I decide to quit my job and farm full time.

Yeah, that my plan too. Working full time at the moment, paying off mortgage and putting aside a college fund for the kids. Dad is in his early 60s so all things going I have a 5 years to plan ahead and see if I can make a full time living off the farm in 7-10 years’ time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Cran

Toplink wrote: »
    Yeah, that my plan too. Working full time at the moment, paying off mortgage and putting aside a college fund for the kids. Dad is in his early 60s so all things going I have a 5 years to plan ahead and see if I can make a full time living off the farm in 7-10 years’ time.

As a link to similar trend anyone got thoughts on this question

One question is for each enterprise what's the required minimum ground to make a living? i.e pay mortgage, take holiday etc

Cran wrote: »
    As a link to similar trend anyone got thoughts on this question

One question is for each enterprise what's the required minimum ground to make a living? i.e pay mortgage, take holiday etc

Very difficult question.

Our household needs 5K( NET) coming in a month at the minute to meet the normal day to day costs, the mortgage payments and the savings plan for kids, 2 cars, 1 holiday a year and a decent lifestyle.

Getting this from Suckler farming :D

Things change though, mortgage will eventually be paid, kids savings plan will mature and if you really want to farm full time you'll make other financial sacrifices along the way. And herself works too, which definatly helps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Toplink wrote: »
    Very difficult question.

Our household needs 5K( NET) coming in a month at the minute to meet the normal day to day costs, the mortgage payments and the savings plan for kids, 2 cars, 1 holiday a year and a decent lifestyle.

Getting this from Suckler farming :D

Things change though, mortgage will eventually be paid, kids savings plan will mature and if you really want to farm full time you'll make other financial sacrifices along the way. And herself works too, which definatly helps :D

I'd say that 5k net is a fairly standard figure. We got by on a good bit less here for a couple of years but it was murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I'd say that 5k net is a fairly standard figure. We got by on a good bit less here for a couple of years but it was murder.

Jesus folks €5k a month net is above average earning..
    It must be about €9k gross, so ~€108k gross for the year.

I wouldnt think this is a "fairly standard" figure at all..

Do you mind me asking what you did to improve the situation?

I was in a similar situation in 2008 - 2010 but I made a decision to leave my small business and get a salary job. I had worked for myself for a good few years before that so it was a tough decision but the extra secure income took so much stress out of day to day living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

_Brian wrote: »

Not that high brian. Two salaries judicious use of tax credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Tyson Lannister

_Brian wrote: »

I have to agree with this. 5k net a month is more than a lot of couples earn per month, working in what would be regarded as good jobs. 5k a month is definitely not a standard figure, in my opinion. I mean that breaks down to e625 a week spent by each spouse on day to day costs! Wouldn't be much left over by most of the population after you take e625 from their net weekly pay....

Ya have him here. He went from having no answer on economics, to an 80k profit and then changing that sum as getting reinvesting back into the farm. I think he might be spoofing us a little :D

It's interesting though and what the thread is all about, is he a busy fool working all hours to improve things for the kids to inherit or keep the bank mgr happy? Hopefully he doesn't send himself into an early grave.

I reckon his wife as a businesswoman might be what he needs to run the farm for a year and see what she produces.

I have to agree with this. 5k net a month is more than a lot of couples earn a month, working in what would be regarded as good jobs. 5k a month is definitely not a standard figure, in my opinion.

It certainly is, I am in a well paid public sector job and don't get near it. Freedom might have a point though and it all depends on peoples expenditure and circumstances.

Ah yeah of course it depends on expenditure!!! Point being if you can afford to spend 5k a month on day to day household running costs, cars, kids savings plans etc and think it's a standard figure, you're a bit like Marie Antoinette when she said 'Let them eat cake' in regard your concept of the general population's current predicament.

Maybe these lads are living in that bog standard house Gorse Hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It would do us all a dis-service if any non farming folk were happen to read these posts and think that incomes in excess of €100k were "fairly standard" from farming alone..

5k a month net (e1250 per week) from part time suckler farming, I must upscale!

Ya have him here. He went from having no answer on economics, to an 80k profit and then changing that sum as getting reinvesting back into the farm. I think he might be spoofing us a little :D

It's interesting though and what the thread is all about, is he a busy fool working all hours to improve things for the kids to inherit or keep the bank mgr happy? Hopefully he doesn't send himself into an early grave.

I reckon his wife as a businesswoman might be what he needs to run the farm for a year and see what she produces.

AP read the post. I said £80k sales, even with your limited knowledge of getting someone to buy you a few stores you should know that sales does not equal profit. I never said anything about the farm not making profit and as far as keeping the bank manager happy there aint a penny of debt or borrowings on the farm.
    My initial post was about having money to reinvest in the farm whilst also drawing a full time equivalent wage from it equal to my current job, of course i could live on the sales alone if like yourself I spread no fertilizer and never drove in a fence post or strung a piece of wire up, but sales wouldn't be long deceasing if I used your farming practices and methodology.

Look there are too many variables in here to give a proper reply. Every lad has his own way of doing things be they right or wrong! I chose to pay my mortgage over 10 years. I also choose to have a good lump sum in place for the kids education. If I was earning less I wouldn't have these options. If I killed the savings plan and put the mortgage out over 25 years I'd survive on a lot less.

As Mike Tyson once said... Every man has a plan until he gets punched in the face!

AP read the post. I said £80k sales, even with your limited knowledge of getting someone to buy you a few stores you should know that sales does not equal profit. I never said anything about the farm not making profit and as far as keeping the bank manager happy there aint a penny of debt or borrowings on the farm.
    My initial post was about having money to reinvest in the farm whilst also drawing a full time equivalent wage from it equal to my current job, of course i could live on the sales alone if like yourself I spread no fertilizer and never drove in a fence post or strung a piece of wire up, but sales wouldn't be long deceasing if I used your farming practices and methodology.

We all have sales, it's profit you need to start talking about. You are getting very offended for a fella that started name calling people gobsh*tes. Ya get pulled up on a couple figures and everything is invest this, invest that, improve things to hand over to the kids. SPOOF!

I think judging by the rest of your post about fert, fencing and other nonsense you are basing your attacks on other threads and not this. The posts here is just about part time farming and whether it is worth it. You are the one who wrote you were kipping on couch, skipping breakfast, not seeing kids etc and then finished with this line:

She's not amused and as a business woman asks what am i thinking working every night, every saturday and ocassional sunday for nothing. I've no answer to the straight economics of it, no matter how much I have a gra for it. I know she's right but shurre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If I was out for a pint l'd be getting up and heading into the pub next door!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I always find it gas when two people start arguing on a forum like this. One could be Mike Tyson and the other an 80 year old woman.

Or more than likely both 80 year women....I'm off for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,485 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

hope you're not heading to my local:D

whelan2 wrote: »
    hope you're not heading to my local:D

Sure you're a woman, would you not be at home getting the dinner ready :D

ah i have that in the slow cooker, washing machine on, oh's pipe and slippers are ready for him beside the fire, last months accounts are up to date

A keeper!

You have a tendency AP of ruining a good thread, whether that is intentional or not I don't know.
    It's good to go against the norm every now and then, and question things. But you just seem to want to twist everything, derail threads, why I dunno...

Go on away for your pint, don't be in any hurry back...

i often wonder if people are working full time and farming part time do the kids/parents miss out on much, as a few posters here said they will hopefully go back farming fulltime in a few years , is that too late as kids will be grown up then, I know its very hard to manage everything but they are only young once

You have a tendency AP of ruining a good thread, whether that is intentional or not I don't know.
    It's good to go against the norm every now and then, and question things. But you just seem to want to twist everything, derail threads, why I dunno...

This coming from the fella that brought in info from another thread and nothing to do with this one. Get over yourself!

i often wonder if people are working full time and farming part time do the kids/parents miss out on much, as a few posters here said they will hopefully go back farming fulltime in a few years , is that too late as kids will be grown up then, I know its very hard to manage everything but they are only young once

I think everyone's situation is different, so to comment on what's best would be impossible and very unfair...
    Just cos you are farming part time, doesn't mean you don't spend as much time with the kids as you can - you make other sacrifices - like farming early mornings, late nights, etc...

But - I guess you're right in that something must give, everyone must decide for themselves...

dont forget the ignore function which is quite handy on boards

Or if unhappy with a post report it and let the mod deal with it.

This coming from the fella that brought in info from another thread and nothing to do with this one. Get over yourself!

I thought you said you were going to the pub...
    Jesus AP - don't let us keep you... Head on away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

smiley-rolleyes006.gif

Enough lads. Back on track please.

CgrMo.gif

I thought you said you were going to the pub...
    Jesus AP - don't let us keep you... Head on away...

A long night......but you are right, this bolloxology is derailing the thread so I'm away. Reckon ya could do with a few yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

most people on good jobs often tend to be travelling 30-50 miles/day and beyond. My better half put 30K kilometers on her car every year about 18K miles. My eldest lad is putting up about 12K miles a year on his. I will not mention what I put up in mileage a year. A couple putting up 30K car miles a year would have a car fuel bill of 100/week. If they had two fairish cars going down in value by 3.5K/year( you can add another 1-2K if you like) service, NCT and maintain same would cost 6-7K/year or another 100-150/week. Two car taxes and insurances 1500/year or 30/week. Transport costs 260/week

These people get nothing for nothing. Kids in college are costing me 8-10K/year and I am a tight f@@ker so this is where the saving for college comes in. Mortgage payments maybe of 200+/week ( and that is a handy mortgage). Property tax say 500/year, Bins 300, electricity 100/month, telephones 100/month, health insurance (family 2+2) 3K, heating 1.5-2K, water 200/year TV licience 120 and tv package basic 30/month. House insurance3-500/year. Without the college we are hitting 200/week. Kids free schooling 500-1000 each in national or second level.

If the washing machine goes on the blink, the TV pack or the computer crashes something like this happens every year 500 euro. So you can take it that average day to day cost before you cook a spud or buy a pint or give the bread snapper a euro for colours day if you have that sort of income is 6-700/week.

I forgot childcare costs I will not go there

Muckit wrote: »
    If I was out for a pint l'd be getting up and heading into the pub next door!!

I would not this is why I go for a pint a bit of argy bargy or sit down look on and have a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

most people on good jobs often tend to be travelling 30-50 miles/day and beyond. My better half put 30K kilometers on her car every year about 18K miles. My eldest lad is putting up about 12K miles a year on his. I will not mention what I put up in mileage a year. A couple putting up 30K car miles a year would have a car fuel bill of 100/week. If they had two fairish cars going down in value by 3.5K/year( you can add another 1-2K if you like) service, NCT and maintain same would cost 6-7K/year or another 100-150/week. Two car taxes and insurances 1500/year or 30/week. Transport costs 260/week

These people get nothing for nothing. Kids in college are costing me 8-10K/year and I am a tight f@@ker so this is where the saving for college comes in. Mortgage payments maybe of 200+/week ( and that is a handy mortgage). Property tax say 500/year, Bins 300, electricity 100/month, telephones 100/month, health insurance (family 2+2) 3K, heating 1.5-2K, water 200/year TV licience 120 and tv package basic 30/month. House insurance3-500/year. Without the college we are hitting 200/week. Kids free schooling 500-1000 each in national or second level.

If the washing machine goes on the blink, the TV pack or the computer crashes something like this happens every year 500 euro. So you can take it that average day to day cost before you cook a spud or buy a pint or give the bread snapper a euro for colours day if you have that sort of income is 6-700/week.

I forgot childcare costs I will not go there
    Do you farm fultime pudsey? Tell me to get lost if ya want I just being nosey

No both of us work and farm tough going at times. Eldest lad in college and has a part time job. Second has started college this year but no real job yet, bit of baby sitting and a few hours waitressing. Youngest lad (doing transition year) works with a handy man now and again. I am involved in the local Gaaaaaaa and one or two other organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭leoch

you are a minefield of knowledge pudsey i love following ur posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

No both of us work and farm tough going at times. Eldest lad in college and has a part time job. Second has started college this year but no real job yet, bit of baby sitting and a few hours waitressing. Youngest lad (doing transition year) works with a handy man now and again. I am involved in the local Gaaaaaaa and one or two other organisations.

You're a busy man