Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New proclamation - what should be in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Dem deutschen Volke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Article 1.

-- To clarify, water is not free. --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

donvito99 wrote: »
    Article 1.

--To (further) clarify, water collected in a bucket is free (except the bucket), having it cleaned, treated and piped to your house is not. --

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

That we would walk five hundred miles
    And we would walk five hundred more
    Just to be the people who walked a thousand miles
    To fall down at your door

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

Jesus, how fecking cluless are these eejits. First they launch their 1916 comemerations with a video that mentions apple and microsoft but not a mention of a single signatory of the proclamation, now they want to turn the proclaimation into a FG election stunt?
    I suggest instead that each TD irrespective of party should have to stand outside the bloody GPO over easter and read it out a thousand times so that they might reflect best on how utterly they managed to fail to live up to it's ideals.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

And who are we proclaiming independence from this time? The EU?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

The leader Enda is to have the government draft a new proclamation for 2016.

So what should be in it?

A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

FISMA wrote: »
    A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.
    Doesn't seem to have been necessary for us over the last hundred years, so no. Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

We should proclaim our independence from the RC church and remove all references to the 'special relationship' from our constitution

The Catholic church did more harm to Ireland than the British ever did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

No fat chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

jimgoose wrote: »
    Dem deutschen Volke.

Our 'gallant allies in Europe' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The leader Enda Angela is to have the government draft a new proclamation for 2016.

Fixed the obvious typo there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Have any of the bright sparks in the administration checked on the legality of this? Could the army round up all Fine Gael and Labour TDs and put them before a firing squad?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

arbeit macht frei

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,211 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Seems to be the way modern society is going -

Don't aim for anything greater, just set the bar lower.

They couldn't live up to what was set down in the 1916 Proclamation, so they decide to re-write it and lower their standards this time round. It's broken, so fix it, rather than rewrite the manual and tell people that a broken country is supposed to work that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The sheer arrogance of the man. Neither he nor his flunkies have the right to lick the mud off the boots of the publishers of the original proclamation. We don't need a new one, the old one hasnt yet been fullfilled.

Someone please tell him to stop meddling and keep his greasy election focussed paws out of a solemn non-partisan event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

So we'll have a 1803 proclamation, a 1916 proclamation, a 1919 declaration of Independence, a 1949 proclamation & 2016 proclamation. We really love proclaiming & declaring things.

And FG hate anything Republican anyway.

Akrasia wrote: »
    We should proclaim our independence from the RC church and remove all references to the 'special relationship' from our constitution

The Catholic church did more harm to Ireland than the British ever did.

It's about 60/40 against the British. The Protestant church's did a lot of ham as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

He might as well put the plot synopses of Fair City and Neighbours in it for all I care.

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Did Enda Jump the gun on the Governments april fools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Abortions for all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Albertofrog

We pledge to release the Fennelly report as soon as possible.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-reveals-government-to-draft-new-proclamation-for-1916-commemorations-31108094.html

Not before time in my opinion. We can get rid of the old communist and pie in the sky guff in the old one.

So what should be in it?

Glad you asked.
    Irishmen and Irishwomen. In the name of socialism everywhere, Ireland, through us, summons her children to her flag which is the Starry Plough and strikes for her freedom!
    Having trained her manhood through her secret revolutionary armies, the Irish Volunteer Force and the Irish Citizen Front, having patiently perfected her discipline, having resolutely waited for the right moment to reveal itself, she now seizes that moment, and, supported by her comrades in communist circles worldwide, but relying first on her own socialist strength, strikes now in full confidence of victory.
    We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of the means of production, and to the unfettered control of destinies in the hands of Irish labour. The long usurpation of that right by Irish and foreign capitalists has not extinguished that right, nor can it ever be extinguished, save for the destruction of the Irish proletariat . In every generation, the Irish people have asserted this right by political or revolutionary means, only to have it frustrated by counter-revolutionaries. Standing on that fundamental right, and asserting it in revolution in the face of the world, we hereby proclaim the Irish Republic as a soviet socialist state, and we pledge our lives and the lives of our comrades-in-arms to the cause of its freedom (and the Kremlin), to its welfare, and its exaltation among the nations.
    The Irish Soviet Socialist Republic is entitled to, and hereby claims, the allegiance of every worker within its territory. The reserves of the Republic have been seized and kept in trust for the people. Vital means of production have been seized, and workers councils shall be formed alongside them.
    Until our arms or workers have brought the opportune moment for the establishment of communist government in office, the Provisional Republican Government, hereby constituted, will administer the civil and military affairs of the Republic in trust for the people.
    Signed on behalf of the Provisional Republican Government,
    Brian Boru's spirit
    Enda Kenny
    Mary Lou
    Ming
    Katie Taylor
    The Balcome Street Four
    and eh some other bloke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

donvito99 wrote: »
    Article 1.

Who said water is free? It never was and never will be free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

FISMA wrote: »

That's worked so well for the united statesians in the 21st century....

Abortions for all

Boooooo

That's worked so well for the united statesians in the 21st century....

Sarah Palin seems to think so. Although she doesn't know the name of a newspaper & thinks that you can see Russia from Alaska so ya know 50/50.

iDave wrote: »
    Boooooo
    Abortions for none?

Booooo

Booooo
    Abortions for some, miniature American flags for others!

Yay!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-reveals-government-to-draft-new-proclamation-for-1916-commemorations-31108094.html

Not before time in my opinion. We can get rid of the old communist and pie in the sky guff in the old one.

So what should be in it?

Yes, why have anything aspirational in it.
    Irishmen and Irishwomen,

Shut up. Everything's grand.

Signed
    Inda

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Boooooo
    Booooo

Are you saying Boo? Or Boo-urns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

New proclamation - what should be in it?

Your Friday night one & one from Burdocks

21/25

elefant wrote: »

Boooooooooooooooo

*Throws missiles*

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It's about 60/40 against the British. The Protestant church's did a lot of ham as well.

That'd be a great marketing tool for them.

I'd convert from "Technically catholic but don't believe in God" to "Technically Protestant but don't believe in God" for plenty of ham and other pig related products.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Abortions for all
    Boooooo
    Abortions for none?
    Booooo

Compromise. Have the baby and then fling it off a bridge. Everyone's happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

A reading from the gospel of St Enda for the Proclamation 2016

"Troika, Troika everywhere, not a Euro to spend"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

So what should be in it?

Is that a joke or are you really that clueless? If it's the former the "communism" you are thinking of (Marxism-Leninism) wasn't even a theory never mind have been put into practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I hope he mentions Rockall in it. I think they forgot that the first time.
    And point out that we own all the fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Abortions for all

and what of miniature flags?

EDIT. Curses, too slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

elefant wrote: »

I was saying Booooooourns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Remove the silly preamble from the Constitution. That kind of pietism has no place in a statement of law. It has in the past presented problems of ambiguity to those charged with interpreting the Constitution.

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Just curious, which bits of the original don't you like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Akrasia wrote: »

This was done by referendum in the 1970's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

The draft text of the new 2016 Proclamation has been announced.

EACNAMAÍOCHT NA hÉIREANN
    THE PROVISIONAL GOVERNMENT
    OF IRELAND INC.™

TO THE PEOPLE OF IRELAND INC.™

IRISHMEN AND IRISHWOMEN: In the name of the God of Money and of the multi-national corporations which she serves, and of the dead banks through which she receives her old tradition of cronyism, Ireland Inc.™, through us, summons her children to her brand and renounces her freedom.

Having organised and trained her worker bees through her corporate media, under the command of Denis O'Brien, and pro-business organisations, the Irish Business Employers' Confederation and the Irish Banking Federation, having patiently perfected her discipline, having resolutely waited for the right moment to reveal itself, she now seizes that moment, buoyed by the absence of her exiled children in America, Australia, Britain and elsewhere, and supported by gallant allies in the EU, but relying in the first on her own weakness, she strikes in full confidence of victory.

We declare the right of secondary bondholders, of the wider financial industry, of the government of Germany, and of US multi-national corporations to the ownership of Ireland Inc.™ and to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible. The long usurpation of that right by a native people, but not governments, has not extinguished the right, nor can it ever be extinguished except by the destruction of the Ireland Inc.™ In every generation the Irish people have asserted their right to national freedom and sovereignty; eight times during the past four hundred years they have asserted it in arms. Standing on that fundamental right and usurping it via economic forecasts by discredited economists in the face of the world, we hereby proclaim the Ireland Inc.™ as a Vassal State, and we pledge our lives and the lives of our cronies in banks to the cause of its occupation, of the destruction of what little is left of its social welfare, and of its exaltation among free market economies.

Ireland Inc.™ is entitled to, and hereby claims, the allegiance of every Irishman and Irishwoman. Ireland Inc.™ guarantees a clampdown on civil liberty, the right of all its young people to work for minimum wage or preferably for free, equal rights and equal opportunities to all its banks, and declares its resolve to pursue the happiness and prosperity of the whole of the business community and of all its parts, cherishing all of the children of its crony friends equally, and oblivious of the flimsy rules carefully written by a compliant Financial Regulator, which has deliberately and effectively alienated the majority from the minority in the past.

Until our links to business have been strengthened sufficiently for the opportune moment for the establishment of a permanent Occupational Government, representative of the whole of the financial industry and wider business community and elected by nobody, the Provisional Government, hereby constituted, will administer the civil and military affairs of Ireland Inc.™ in trust for business.

We place the cause of Ireland Inc.™ under the protection of the Most High God of Money, whose blessing we invoke upon our suits, and we pray that no one who serves that cause will dishonour it by bravery, humanity, or protest. In this supreme hour Ireland Inc.™, by its valour and discipline, and by the readiness of its children to sacrifice themselves for the good of business, prove itself worthy of the august destiny to which it is called.

Signed on behalf of the Provisional Government:

ENDA KENNY
    MICHAEL NOONAN JOAN BURTON
    A.D. MERKEL EAMONN GILMORE
    PHILIP HOGAN LORD BRUTON OF BOYNESIDE

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

Variations on the following -
    You should listen to your heart, and not the voices in your head.
    You don't like your job, you don't strike. You go in every day and do it really half-assed. That's the American way.
    If the Bible has taught us nothing else, and it hasn't, it's that girls should stick to girls' sports, such as hot oil wrestling and foxy boxing and such and such.
    The problem in the world today is communication. Too much communication.
    You make people miserable and there's nothing they can do about it, just like god.
    Hey, just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand!
    You don't win friends with salad.
    You can't keep blaming yourself. Just blame yourself once, and move on.
    Trying is the first step towards failure.
    Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It's what separates us from the animals! Except the weasel.
    the three sentences that will get you through life. Number one, "Cover for me." Number two, "Oh, good idea, boss." Number three, "It was like that when I got here.
    you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.
    Once something's been approved by the government, it's no longer immoral.

Honestly, when will everybody ever learn that whatever you want to provide for is covered in The Simpsons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Just a query - do the signatories of this one get taken out and shot?