Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread VI: End of the MOC [Revenge of the STH]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭aimee1

molloyjh wrote: »

I don't think he actually got a bang to the head against Wasps though did he? We didn't think so from where we were anyway.

He was taken off against england in the aviva in 6n and it looked innocuous enough too. This is Kevin mclaughlin kinda territory.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Clegg wrote: »
    Injury update from Leinster:

SOB out as per earlier news
    Strauss back after passing return to play protocols
    R.Kearney back in training and hopefully back for this weekend.

Luke McGrath has a medial strain. Out for game this weekend, but hopefully back for Toulon games (excellent news)
    Reid hasn't broken any bones, but has damaged ankle ligaments. Will see a specialist.
    Sexton took a knock to the back against Ulster and has some stiffness, but is fit to play.
    Well that's not too bad, although there are a couple of 'hopefully' cases which makes me nervous

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

aimee1 wrote: »
    He was taken off against england in the aviva in 6n and it looked innocuous enough too. This is Kevin mclaughlin kinda territory.

Ah now come on, we simply don't know enough about what we're talking about here to be making claims like that.

Clegg wrote: »
    Injury update from Leinster:

SOB out as per earlier news
    Strauss back after passing return to play protocols
    R.Kearney back in training and hopefully back for this weekend.

Luke McGrath has a medial strain. Out for game this weekend, but hopefully back for Toulon games (excellent news)
    Reid hasn't broken any bones, but has damaged ankle ligaments. Will see a specialist.
    Sexton took a knock to the back against Ulster and has some stiffness, but is fit to play.

So basically:
    • SOB is out for the foreseeable future.
    • Strauss is back despite yet another concussion.
    • Rob is still at least a week away.
    • Luke McGrath is out until at least the game in the Aviva.
    • Reid is out for a few months.
    • Sexton won't be available this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

I don't think he actually got a bang to the head against Wasps though did he? We didn't think so from where we were anyway.

If memory serves me right took a strong knock to the head and was down on the ground for a while and the game kept on going and no medics came on. Then 5-10 mins later he went down again after something innocuous and then went off.

vienne86 wrote: »
    Well that's not too bad, although there are a couple of 'hopefully' cases which makes me nervous

Medical bulletins and no mention of fitz. Long may that continue

• Registered Users Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

.ak wrote: »
    I've seen him make good hits. Especially last season. He's well capable of it. That's why for me it's more of a positional/defending issue. He gets caught on his heels too much. That's more to do with your preparation than anything.

I'm sorry but I've absolutely no idea how you could watch Reid play over the course of a number of senior (or even "a") games and conclude anything other than the guy has a serious issue with tackling.

I get the nuance that his defensive is poor and that leads to him being in bad positions. I also get that he occasionally makes a good hit.

But we are judging his tackling at the level of a pro rugby player and at that level for me it's very poor. He can't repeatedly and consistently make solid tackles that stop a player, take a player down or drive a player back.

He is a poor tackler,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

So basically:
    • SOB is out for the foreseeable future.
    • Strauss is back despite yet another concussion.
    • Rob is still at least a week away.
    • Luke McGrath is out until at least the game in the Aviva.
    • Reid is out for a few months.
    • Sexton won't be available this weekend.

MollyJ Leinster Branch Injury News Filter. (tm)

Honestly, an extra week off might not be the worst for Sexton. But the worry would be continuity , which we seem to be lacking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Sexton can't play this weekend because a) he's been sh*t and b) it would be eight games in a row by the time the Toulon home match was done, and that's never going to be allowed.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

I'd like to see Marsh play again. Think he's been fairly tidy so far.

And I can't believe I'm going to day this but Boss needs to start ahead of Reddan.

aimee1 wrote: »
    Medical bulletins and no mention of fitz. Long may that continue

Oh for heaven's sake DON'T tempt fate!

Sexton can't play this weekend because a) he's been sh*t and....

Well that's harsh. I thought he was starting to get back into it a good bit against Ulster. Put in a few decent kicks from hand, threw a few excellent cut out passes that created a bit of space for his wingers, Luke especially. He ran the show fairly well and defended really well.

I agree. I thought he was MUCH better last weekend, still not back to what I think we all hoped, but definitely running the backline nicely.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

He really could only be described as bad compared to the best version of himself, he didn't play his best against ulster but I thought he was alright, the way he has the potential to just make things happen with the ball in his hands is so different to what we've seen over the last 2 seasons, it's really obvious

Tox56 wrote: »
    He really could only be described as bad compared to the best version of himself, he didn't play his best against ulster but I thought he was alright, the way he has the potential to just make things happen with the ball in his hands is so different to what we've seen over the last 2 seasons, it's really obvious

Well you have to factor in that he's only just back, learning a new set of systems and doesn't have an in form Reddan on his inside and Darce and Drico on his outside too in fairness. Plus the pack hasn't been providing the same kind of platform. He hasn't been at his best at all, but to say he's been s**t is harsh. He was poor against Wasps, a bit better against Bath and good against Ulster.

So his best display came with luke mcgrath starting at 9. Pity he got an injury.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

padser wrote: »
    I'm sorry but I've absolutely no idea how you could watch Reid play over the course of a number of senior (or even "a") games and conclude anything other than the guy has a serious issue with tackling.

I get the nuance that his defensive is poor and that leads to him being in bad positions. I also get that he occasionally makes a good hit.

But we are judging his tackling at the level of a pro rugby player and at that level for me it's very poor. He can't repeatedly and consistently make solid tackles that stop a player, take a player down or drive a player back.

He is a poor tackler,

For me a poor tackler won't make good hits, ever. You either can tackle or can't. Reid can tackle but is a poor defender

ROG was a good defender but poor tackler to offer a reverse example. He never shirked away from defending a channel despite he couldn't tackle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭flouncer

I want to unreservedly apologize for my comments on the Leinster forum in recent times. They were unjust and untrue. Yes I have been critical in my posts in probably every provinces forums but my comments way overstepped the mark on the Leinster forum last weekend. I apologize to all Leinster rugby boards.is supporters. Not my best moment

I will try an restrain myself in future grrrrr. Not going to be easy. Against my nature :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

flouncer wrote: »
    I want to unreservedly apologize for my comments on the Leinster forum in recent times. They were unjust and untrue. Yes I have been critical in my posts in probably every provinces forums but my comments way overstepped the mark on the Leinster forum last weekend. I apologize to all Leinster rugby boards.is supporters. Not my best moment

Fair play to ya; your origanal comments very nearly caused me to post an anti-Connacht rebuke just for the sake of retorting...I decided against it in the end though because I actually like Connacht :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Not sure if allowed to ask? please delete if not

I have been bumped up to corporate seats for the Toulon match. great but all my mates are sitting in normal seats so don't want to sit on my own. I have a ticket for seats beside them and want to sell on ticket for corporate

Is there leinster forum to allow you to post so other season ticket holder can buy? just selling at face value. Don't like the ticketmaster exchange as you only get 70% of the value and I have no idea who gets the other 30%. My guess is most of it goes to ticketmaster and dont want that.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭LostArt

there was a ticket thread on Leinsterfans, I don't use that site much anymore so I'm not sure if it's still there

flouncer wrote: »

I think given fairly recent trials and tribulations out west, ye deserve a little bragging rights!

Enjoy it while it lasts because the RDS is waiting for ye. ;)

(But also because 2011/12 seems like a distant dream to Leinster supporters now. ;_; )

sheep? wrote: »
    I think given fairly recent trials and tribulations out west, ye deserve a little bragging rights!

Enjoy it while it lasts because the RDS is waiting for ye. ;)

(But also because 2011/12 seems like a distant dream to Leinster supporters now. ;_; )

Really looking forward to the RDS. Doubt there will be an empty seat in the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Is ticketb@stard the best place to get tickets for the New Years Day game with Connacht? Herself is fed up sitting in the "freezing" North Stand so she wants decent seats this time. In fairness, we all had borderline hypothermia after last year's game sitting in the open...

Zzippy wrote: »
    Is ticketb@stard the best place to get tickets for the New Years Day game with Connacht? Herself is fed up sitting in the "freezing" North Stand so she wants decent seats this time. In fairness, we all had borderline hypothermia after last year's game sitting in the open...

Is there anything to be said for getting her a heap of whiskey?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

sheep? wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for getting her a heap of whiskey?

No, because
    a) she doesn't drink it,
    and
    b) I do, so I'd be plastered by halftime

• Administrators Posts: 53,844 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Best place is the Leinster ticket exchange. I'd check there before ticketbastard.

No, because
    a) she doesn't drink it,
    and

Stick it in a hot chocolate and she'll enjoy it. Honestly.

It's like thermite for the soul.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,949 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Thus rendering her moaning irrelevant!

Seriously though, emmet is right, whisky and hot chocolate is fantastic.