Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Naas Chat Thread

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,096 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Will they have to take the cranes down now? Surely, they've finally realised that they're a hazard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

beertons wrote: »
    Will they have to take the cranes down now? Surely, they've finally realised that they're a hazard.

Yeah wondered if they were a safety issue after the fire.

I always saw them as 2 fingers stuck up out of the shopping centre saying "F*CK YOU" to the surrounding area

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Muttley_666

Strange the amount of dense black smoke coming from what everyone understood was just an empty shell. Were there cars parked in it - as some people suggested before, but at 20:00 ?? I suppose some building material, insulation etc may have been in there....
    Anyway - fair play to fire department for getting it out when they did. Town under a big cloud last night.

They say about a hundred cars a day park in the shopping center, from businesses who gave up space for it to be built. I'd say alot of BOI staff park there, don't know who else. I always wondered why the gate up by the funeral home was always open. Bit late now, but they should have had the car park open, and a security man on patrol.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

It was apparently an internal room that was insulated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

You would imagine there are a fair amount of portakabins/insulated rooms/even an office set up on site from when they were working anyway

I know for a fact the cranes are being maintained and certified etc etc

I hate them with a passion. There's an estate behind aib in the shadow of the cranes and its got to affecting people's mental health. One of the cranes is basically in someone's back garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Seems it was a lot of smoke and very little damage. One report saying that none of the cars were damaged either and whilst it looked substantial, the fire was in a small area but there was a lot of stored insulation which made for huge amount of smoke.

Hopefully the receiver sells it and it comes into use for something. A business incubator complex would be ideal as a shopping centre just wouldn't have the demand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Hopefully the receiver sells it and it comes into use for something. A business incubator complex would be ideal as a shopping centre just wouldn't have the demand.

Whatever is proposed must be in accordance with the land zoning which I presume is retail and not suitable to business incubators etc. But I could be wrong.

You are one of the few posters/beliebers that a shopping centre in Naas will just wouldn't have the demand........there is a population of 25k ish around so I'm no retail expert but this the opportunity for business to make a killing.....and be a catalyst for the town.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭john_johnerson

1000th post on the thread...

Do I win a prize...

1000th post on the thread...

Do I win a prize...

Free parking on the main street, on a Sunday!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,805 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The cranes all have valid safety inspection certs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Hi All

Anyone recommend someone to clean the gutters ? Approx cost too if possible !

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Anyone elses water gone in Naas?

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭cunnijo

Anyone have an idea as to what the ESB are up to in Morell. It seems they have holes dug all over the place.

Hi All

Cheers

I've the number of a lad at home. I'll stick it up when I'm back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Hi All

Cheers

John in Shine Time cleaners. He's very good. Price will depend on size of house but I've always found him very reliable and he does an excellent job.

087 055 5657 or https://www.facebook.com/pg/shinetime.cleaning/reviews/?ref=page_internal#

Gutters.
    Philip Cawle

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

cunnijo wrote: »
    Anyone have an idea as to what the ESB are up to in Morell. It seems they have holes dug all over the place.

Saw this yesterday and took a photo:

tDakeS0l.jpg

They're laying fibre for the Siro fibre to the home (FTTH) broadband service. Naas is on their roadmap and Newbridge has gone live recently.

http://siro.ie/what-is-siro/

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭franco25

hi can anyone recommend me somebody to hang flatscreen over fireplace?

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭cunnijo

franco25 wrote: »

I can highly recommend a company called TV Solutions

http://www.tvsolutions.ie/a/naas/index.html

The work is of a very high standard and is very neat and tidy. The contact there is Radek.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭tastyt

Hey lads,

I spent the last couple of days just hanging around naas and driving around some of the estates. Myself and herself are looking at moving here in the near future.

I have to say there was a lovely atmosphere all round, we went to a few shops and cafes and even a couple of bars, nice little buzz about the place for midweek and people were sound and friendly.

I know everyone likes to have a moan about where their from but ye should definitely be proud of the place, a lot better to similar areas around the place.

From reading this thread I obviously had to check out the infamous shopping centre :-). Theres no denying its an eyesore but will be a great amenity when its sorted.

Ps. Had a bit of nice grub in the monread which I hope will be my new local!!

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭franco25

cunnijo wrote: »
    franco25 wrote: »

I can highly recommend a company called TV Solutions

http://www.tvsolutions.ie/a/naas/index.html

The work is of a very high standard and is very neat and tidy. The contact there is Radek.
    Excellent thanks very much will give him a try

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

tastyt wrote: »
    Hey lads,

I spent the last couple of days just hanging around naas and driving around some of the estates. Myself and herself are looking at moving here in the near future.

I have to say there was a lovely atmosphere all round, we went to a few shops and cafes and even a couple of bars, nice little buzz about the place for midweek and people were sound and friendly.

I know everyone likes to have a moan about where their from but ye should definitely be proud of the place, a lot better to similar areas around the place.

From reading this thread I obviously had to check out the infamous shopping centre :-). Theres no denying its an eyesore but will be a great amenity when its sorted.

been here 21yrs living a few min walk from the monread
    let me know if you have any questions and can try help you

tastyt wrote: »
    Hey lads,

Naas is a brilliant location, is relatively crime free, has great schools, great socialising amenities like pubs, clubs, eateries, etc. Has great sporting amenities from rugby to soccer to GAA to golf etc to racecourses.
    It is brilliantly located, far enough from town to have a country feel to it but close enough to town for work, with commuting systems like train, bus, the green bus etc.

Has nice walk ways etc and a hospital

That is why people are so frustrated with the state of the main street at present, retail and general amenities wise. It is a missing part and ever diminishing one so, hence, the level of complaining here sometimes.

The town is the perfect location for a University to be honest, pity that wasn't recognised decades ago.

Naas is a brilliant location, is relatively crime free, has great schools, great socialising amenities like pubs, clubs, eateries, etc. Has great sporting amenities from rugby to soccer to GAA to golf etc to racecourses.
    It is brilliantly located, far enough from town to have a country feel to it but close enough to town for work, with commuting systems like train, bus, the green bus etc.

Has nice walk ways etc and a hospital

That is why people are so frustrated with the state of the main street at present, retail and general amenities wise. It is a missing part and ever diminishing one so, hence, the level of complaining here sometimes.

The town is the perfect location for a University to be honest, pity that wasn't recognised decades ago.

As a native, I can agree with all of that. Not sure about the viability of a university though - Maynooth is only 20 mins drive away and there are direct buses to UCD and DCU every day.

Once the Town Centre madness has been sorted, things should improve I hope.

Anatom wrote: »
    As a native, I can agree with all of that. Not sure about the viability of a university though - Maynooth is only 20 mins drive away and there are direct buses to UCD and DCU every day.

Once the Town Centre madness has been sorted, things should improve I hope.

You are misinterpreting what I mean here

I amn't saying that a University/ college/ technical college is in anyway vital etc. I am saying it would have been a very central and accessible location with plenty of housing, amenities, commute sources to it.

I also added that "if it had been recognised decades ago" You can't just build a University overnight.

Re Maynooth University, it is easier for Naas students or indeed most of Kildare students with no car to study in Carlow, or any of the Universities/colleges in town than Maynooth as it has no direct public commuter route and a special bus in and out everyday is not what suits most students as such rigid structure doesn't suit the average student. Late lectures, one lecture per day, evening tutorials, library. socialising, sports etc.
    College isn't like school.
    Most of my friends that studied there had to move there.
    I attended both Trinity and DCU and, trust me, DCU is a frustrating place to get to both public commuting and driving from Naas.

You are misinterpreting what I mean here

I amn't saying that a University/ college/ technical college is in anyway vital etc. I am saying it would have been a very central and accessible location with plenty of housing, amenities, commute sources to it.

I also added that "if it had been recognised decades ago" You can't just build a University overnight.

Re Maynooth University, it is easier for Naas students or indeed most of Kildare students with no car to study in Carlow, or any of the Universities/colleges in town than Maynooth as it has no direct public commuter route and a special bus in and out everyday is not what suits most students as such rigid structure doesn't suit the average student. Late lectures, one lecture per day, evening tutorials, library. socialising, sports etc.
    College isn't like school.
    Most of my friends that studied there had to move there.
    I attended both Trinity and DCU and, trust me, DCU is a frustrating place to get to both public commuting and driving from Naas.

I went to college in Maynooth myself so I understand the frustrating commute. Although, in "my day" we could hitch-hike over quite easily if you missed the bus! I did live there for a while too as well.

We weren't, and indeed still aren't, very good at planning ahead in this country. We don't seem to like spending money and time on things that don't appear magically overnight..!

Naas would be a totally different town had someone thought to put a decent third-level college in place, but realistically we're too close to Dublin for that to have ever been approved. The focus was there and then getting access to third level out to the wider regions. Maynooth was different for historical reasons.

I see they're getting rid of the free parking on a Saturday now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭Doodah7

beertons wrote: »
    I see they're getting rid of the free parking on a Saturday now.

FFS... At this stage it is a study in how to kill the lifeblood of a town. Someone in the future will be able to base their pHD on Naas and how it was slowly strangled to death by County Council incompetence and apathy.