Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Naas Chat Thread

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,096 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I see Mr Queally has applied for planning permission for the green area at the top of Maudlins avenue. Says he'll get it too, after building the unoccupied community centre. Object away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

What's he planning to build? An extension to the plant?

If that's the case its hard to see why anyone would object to a local business expanding and probably employing more people who'll presumably spend some of their wages in the town...

He has loads of space across the road. But uses it as a dumping area for machinery.

I heard it referred to previously as an "outdoor showroom"..!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Anyone been to 33 main st yet? Saw their interior pics on Instagram today, looks the biz

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭john_johnerson

Anyone been to 33 main st yet? Saw their interior pics on Instagram today, looks the biz

Not me anyways but I've heard/read good reports, the place looks good and the pics I've seen of the food all look great.

I'll just have to lose the kids some evening and give it a rattle..

Millennium road starting to look a bit more like rathkeale than Naas... Hopefully it's holiday season and they're just passing through.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭cathalj

Millennium road starting to look a bit more like rathkeale than Naas... Hopefully it's holiday season and they're just passing through.

They're just off the roundabout at 'the ball' too.......parasites.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Hooks Golf Handicap

cathalj wrote: »
    They're just off the roundabout at 'the ball' too.......parasites.

It should be a time to embrace the cultural differences between us & our ethnic minority.
    Not their fault those bollards just fell over almost inviting them in.
    Entrepreneurs to man, every one of them.

No more free parking from this Saturday. Even my favourite spot, Gleann Na Greine has a parking meter fitted now, and I heard its €3 an hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

At the roundabout at the Ball aswell. Noticed the fence has been knocked down where they are parked up into Donnellys and the side door of Donnellys has been broken down, no doubt raided for any bit of scrap metal

Its not a great sight of your first moment driving into Naas. The burnt down factory doesn't help anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭Joe Public

beertons wrote: »
    No more free parking from this Saturday. Even my favourite spot, Gleann Na Greine has a parking meter fitted now, and I heard its €3 an hour.

Why have they gone back to charging on Saturday? Sounds a bit anti business to me.

Joe Public wrote: »
    Why have they gone back to charging on Saturday? Sounds a bit anti business to me.

This was all hashed out a few weeks ago......

......Please let's not get into this back and fourth again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭Joe Public

This was all hashed out a few weeks ago......

......Please let's not get into this back and fourth again

It was more to do with 7 day free parking or not, I thought? I could be remembering wrong as too lazy to check back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Joe Public wrote:

Friday night revellers and staff starting early were taking the spaces because they could park for free. The theory is charging a fee will free up the spaces throughout the day.

Its not a completely mad idea. Anyway, wasn't this topic done to death already on this forum recently???!

Got to 33 South main this evening.

Was in a bit of a hurry to get home but needed food so myself and herself went in for a quick main course.

Have to say I thought it was lovely. Place was busy, it was warm and comfy. Got a booth. Plenty of staff and we got our stuff quickly. Definitely a nicer feel than it's previous incarnation.

Had the 8oz fillet, missus had prawn stirfry. All very good. Not a single complaint. Nice beer selection. Pint of moretti on draught.. how bad..

It's not wildly cheap. Fillet was 25, prawns at 18. However, it was very good so it's not a complaint really. Nice food has a price. I probably wouldn't even mention it if I were sitting in a proper restaurant.

Looking for somewhere nice and casual to go with a few other couples where you don't need to move after finishing your food, this will absolutely tick your box. Hopefully the standard keeps up.

Will check it midweek for champions league. Some chicken wings with your football might be a winner if they still serve at that time

First time in naas, looking for recommendations for something to eat tonight. Preference would be Thai or Italian but all recommendations greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,154 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Thai Station (take away in sallins) or Lemongrass for sit-down Thai food..Two Cooks in sallins is meant to be the business if you want to splash out. Had a pizza from the new Italian place Rustic and it was good. Any of those are good options. Enjoy!

Our trashy neighbours on the town side of the millennium road got a Garda escort away this afternoon..
    Place left in a tip as per usual. Looks like they were collecting tree clippings and dumping in behind the caravans.

Lads on the millennium road gone too. 3 caravans still at the roundabout.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

parasites

A lot of helicopter activity tonight over and back - saw one going bkessington direction.

Being nosey, but anyone know why?

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭speedfreak

Armed Garda Q7; X5; and a few squad cars up at ‘the camp’ this afternoon. Wonder will they be shifted.

Naas ball camp??

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭speedfreak

Naas ball camp??

Yep

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭lainycool

About time! I'd be moved on quicker if I pitched a tent!

Back at "base camp ring road" today aswell

Gards never moved the lads at the ball. They were still there well after 6 wallowing in their usual squalor making no effort to move.

The 3 caravans on the ring road roundabout near sheehys were never moved either. (assuming this is base camp ring road).

They appear to have kids in a local school so must be natives. I assume this might be why they were left when their trashy neighbours we're moved on.

They never moved, still there when I came home from work earlier. Think some of them were in a rented house across from the gala shop in Monread. I recognise one of the vans, from being parked up on the road. They're in schools alright.