Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Worst Of Irish Towns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Youghal
    Portlaoise is satans personal sickbag and incontinence nappy all rolled into one.

An slashbowl, kip of unrivalled proportions.

A truly horrible town.

Hopefully satan will drop a nuclear dump on Portlaoise soon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Lt J.R. Bell

Nenagh
    Without doubt Athlone has a few no-go areas, but they are generally self-contained and easily avoidable.

But that's the thing, it is self contained. One must remember it's smack in the middle of Knackersville of Tuam, Ballimasloe and Mullingar. One must thank heavens for small mercies that the town is not over run by these filth (not saying all people in aforementioned areas are knackers for from it)

I don't think the so called no go areas (Battery Heights /Connacht Street) is as bad as it was in the past.On the East side, St Mel's is gone and nearby is reasonably civil.

CooSan and Kiltoom are still spotless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

is delvin bad? Not sure why its on the list, does'nt seem like a pass remarkable place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

Ballina
    I don't think the so called no go areas (Battery Heights /Connacht Street) is as bad as it was in the past.On the East side, St Mel's is gone and nearby is reasonably civil.

CooSan and Kiltoom are still spotless

Connacht Street is home to one of Athlone's finest boozing establishments, Maguire's pub. I highly recommend popping in for a few drinks if you like beers that are a little out of the ordinary. The staff know their stuff too.

For my money the worst part of the East side is now around the Willow Park area, where the front part of it is grand but getting worse and worse the farther in you go from the main road. I haven't been there in a fair few years, but I remember the farthest-in part of it used to look like something out of a war zone, with burned-out houses, boarded-up windows and debris in the gardens and on the street.

I don't understand all the Mullingar hate - I always found it a nice enough town.

Nenagh
    Connacht Street is home to one of Athlone's finest boozing establishments, Maguire's pub. I highly recommend popping in for a few drinks if you like beers that are a little out of the ordinary. The staff know their stuff too.

For my money the worst part of the East side is now around the Willow Park area, where the front part of it is grand but getting worse and worse the farther in you go from the main road. I haven't been there in a fair few years, but I remember the farthest-in part of it used to look like something out of a war zone, with burned-out houses, boarded-up windows and debris in the gardens and on the street.

I don't understand all the Mullingar hate - I always found it a nice enough town.
    Very familiar to Maguires.a selfish part of me would prefer that it remains a hidden gem. But, the gospel should be spread with the good news

Ya, Willow Park use to be the home of many famIles with established Athlone roots. Some of the finest lived there.

They all emigrated to Monksland and elsewhere.an awful hole now sadly

Mullingar, one does not need a reason to hate....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

Moate
    so in effect it seems the country is a kip..

how about a poll to suggest some of the more pleasant towns in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Leif Johnson

Mullingar
    chrysagon wrote: »
    so in effect it seems the country is a kip..

how about a poll to suggest some of the more pleasant towns in Ireland?

Sure, you could do it if you want. I went to Carlingford. Now that's a nice place.

Moate
    yeah nice spot.... and Connemara.......and thankfully I don't have to go through Moate to get there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Ghekko

Portlaoise
    Ballaghaderreen. Mayo and Roscommon argue over it but they've better off building a wall around it.

Saw a headline in paper once which was probably the most exciting thing that ever happened in the history of Ballaghaderreen. It read 'Gang steal a Christmas Tree in the Square in Ballaghaderreen'
    Mind you, I spent many an enjoyable summer holidays there as a child. It's bypassed now though. So not many have to see it anymore.

Ballina in Mayo is a kip of a town - whoever decided on the one way system there had to have been on drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Mullingar
    So the general consensus lads is Ireland is one big s***hole :) nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Longford
    Well I'd consider it inaccurate because Kilrush is not on the poll, and its worse than 70% of the towns on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

Longford
    any Irish rural town is basically a hellhole. Boring, devoid of any sort of decent cultural/sporting facilities, no wonder depression, suicide and alcoholism is very prevalent in rural Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Rational Male

Mullingar
    any Irish rural town is basically a hellhole. Boring, devoid of any sort of decent cultural/sporting facilities, no wonder depression, suicide and alcoholism is very prevalent in rural Ireland

I agree, for me, living in rural ireland is some sort of twilight zone..unbearable and stuck in a conservative time warp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I would have thought those more prevalent in urban areas..yanno with the whole rural community atmosphere and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Ballina
    Still no mention of the hell hole I live in so it mustn't be too bad....or people are just so apathetic about it they don't think of it.

Ummmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

Tralee
    this pll is ridiulous and anybody who voted for tipperary has obv. never bean there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Longford
    this pll is ridiulous and anybody who voted for tipperary has obv. never bean there.

On toast is it?

Tralee
    eternal wrote: »
    On toast is it?

could i get a glasss of tapwater with that

edited to add, pint glass with ice and mi-wadi

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Longford
    could i get a glasss of tapwater with that

edited to add, pint glass with ice and mi-wadi

Get your own goddamn beverages at this unsightly hour.

Tralee
    eternal wrote: »
    Get your own goddamn beverages at this unsightly hour.

they won't serve me, you've a better chance

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Indeed.

But the Dublin area itself is 1.2 million.

Though your Cavan example is a bit silly, I'm sure you realise.
    I do indeed. I was just using it to emphasise my point (how silly it is to include population figures from areas well outside of the town/city itself).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Longford
    Rural Ireland suffers from such a lack of funding (not seen in any other countries in Europe) that its become very barren and unpopulated. (It's depopulating be the day!)

Even the seaside resorts on the west coast have had little funding in several years.

Kilkee, Co. Clare had its promenade/strand line as locals call it damaged last year in a storm in February 2014.The road was falling onto the beach/into the sea in 2 different places. Due to Lehinch getting most of the councils money after getting undue media attention, it was made clear that Kilkee wouldn't get any funding to fix its dangerous road crumpling into the sea in 2014.

By February 2015, the road had dropped 6 feet (in places) from its original place the year before and it was starting to become a threat to the houses on the side of that road.

Finally, later that same month, the tender process was completed and a construction clmpany and BAM set up shop to start fixing the road. 2 months on, they are still well in the process and there's strong rumours going around that the second broken part of the road will not be fixed this year as funding has ran out.

Just a little insight into how the urban centres are ruining rural towns, thus corruption.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Rational Male

Mullingar
    Carnacalla wrote: »
    Rural Ireland suffers from such a lack of funding (not seen in any other countries in Europe) that its become very barren and unpopulated. (It's depopulating be the day!)

Even the seaside resorts on the west coast have had little funding in several years.

Kilkee, Co. Clare had its promenade/strand line as locals call it damaged last year in a storm in February 2014.The road was falling onto the beach/into the sea in 2 different places. Due to Lehinch getting most of the councils money after getting undue media attention, it was made clear that Kilkee wouldn't get any funding to fix its dangerous road crumpling into the sea in 2014.

By February 2015, the road had dropped 6 feet (in places) from its original place the year before and it was starting to become a threat to the houses on the side of that road.

Finally, later that same month, the tender process was completed and a construction clmpany and BAM set up shop to start fixing the road. 2 months on, they are still well in the process and there's strong rumours going around that the second broken part of the road will not be fixed this year as funding has ran out.

Just a little insight into how the urban centres are ruining rural towns, thus corruption.

I was back in ireland this weekend, in south tipp where my folks live. It's nice countryside there and by all means not anyway as bad as some places, but jesus having driven through a few towns on the way..its like they've been evacuated..merely ghost towns. The truth is that I'm beginning to find it unbearable going back. It's just so boring and miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Edgeworthstown
    I was back in ireland this weekend, in south tipp where my folks live. It's nice countryside there and by all means not anyway as bad as some places, but jesus having driven through a few towns on the way..its like they've been evacuated..merely ghost towns. The truth is that I'm beginning to find it unbearable going back. It's just so boring and miserable.

Like most small places, the only people that tended to stay around after leaving school were sons of business owners and sons of farmers. You get some young families, loads of pensioners and not much in between.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I presume Carlow town isn't getting many mentions because none of the utter scobes that make up its population have Internet on their drug-dealing phones and anyone who has to pass through it has been kidnapped by the roaming bands of feral trackies that patrol the streets?

An awful place full of terrible "people" and it always has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

Nenagh
    Longford should be number 1 c'mon people its a total sh!tbox!

Nenagh

They even call their GAA Team Longford Slashers, FFS

I concur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Drogheda

I concur

Which wouldn't be too bad if they were a hurling club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

I presume Carlow town isn't getting many mentions because none of the utter scobes that make up its population have Internet on their drug-dealing phones and anyone who has to pass through it has been kidnapped by the roaming bands of feral trackies that patrol the streets?

Carlow is bad (Their McDonald's has a "no ecigs" sign on the front, the IT has a "no unregistered vehicles may park here" sign) but there are worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

cournioni wrote: »
    I do indeed. I was just using it to emphasise my point (how silly it is to include population figures from areas well outside of the town/city itself).

For a contiguous urban area, it isn't. The population tallies of most cities include these areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

I concur
    josip wrote: »
    Which wouldn't be too bad if they were a hurling club.

The theater they have there beside the GAA is called the Backstreet Theather issue is.... its not on a back street.

I spent 4 months working in Longford dreadful place. Whats odd is I have worked in a lot of the places people mentioned on this tread Id have to say Longford is the worst. It has a good chipper but really nothing else going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Has Athlone been mentioned

No. I find it a great town, friendly, vibrant, good pubs, some good restaurants. A good town to visit from the river. I agree, the river could be utilised more, but that's the same for most towns with a cracking waterway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I agree. I live in the south of county Carlow, and on the unavoidable occasions when I go to the town I find it a depressing and almost fearful experience.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Granard
    Like most small places, the only people that tended to stay around after leaving school were sons of business owners and sons of farmers. You get some young families, loads of pensioners and not much in between.

This is true of Midlands towns but clearly not coastal towns. As a dub I intend to retire to some Irish coastal town. Many of them are fairly cosmopolitan.

I say this every time this kind of thread comes up. Killimor County Galway!

Apart from those already mentioned, Shrule and Ballindine in Mayo are very grim also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

This is true of Midlands towns but clearly not coastal towns. As a dub I intend to retire to some Irish coastal town. Many of them are fairly cosmopolitan.

John Lennon intended to retire to the Aran Islands. No good came of it.

Moate
    Never being to Tipp..Makes me want to visit the town now to see what the hype is about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Edgeworthstown

Wait until winter when half the place shuts down, all the tourists, seasonal jobbers and assorted hangers on leave and they become pretty bleak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭davehey79

Nenagh
    jjbrien wrote: »
    The theater they have there beside the GAA is called the Backstreet Theather issue is.... its not on a back street.

I spent 4 months working in Longford dreadful place. Whats odd is I have worked in a lot of the places people mentioned on this tread Id have to say Longford is the worst. It has a good chipper but really nothing else going for it.

Its actually called the Backstage Theatre !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

The fact that athlone has the river shannon is a big plus although i do hear it has its share of undesirables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I would replace Navan with Kells in this list. I am by no means defending Navan (I left the place as soon as I could!), but I went to school in Kells for a few years and it was an awful shithole of a town!

Moate
    Butterface wrote: »
    I would replace Navan with Kells in this list. I am by no means defending Navan (I left the place as soon as I could!), but I went to school in Kells for a few years and it was an awful shithole of a town!

It has the M3 bypassing it, so that's a plus!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Chrome342

Drogheda
    I dont like New Ross

Moate
    I don't like Jonathan Ross either..
    I still reckon Delvin/ Granard/Longford take some beating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Edenderry.

What a hole.

Moate
    ah sure fook it.. why not go the whole way and say Irelands a dump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Has anyone mentioned Callahans Mills yet? (Don't know if that is the right spelling and screw anyone that replies with Google it)

Even the banjo players are afraid to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

New Ross
    mg1982 wrote: »
    The fact that athlone has the river shannon is a big plus although i do hear it has its share of undesirables.
    It has less undesirables than towns half it's size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Has anyone mentioned Callahans Mills yet? (Don't know if that is the right spelling and screw anyone that replies with Google it)

Even the banjo players are afraid to go there.

O'Callaghan's Mills - hardly qualifies as a town though. More of a moribund village.

(I'm from there.)

Nenagh
    mg1982 wrote: »

Athlone is located near knacker hot spots like Ballinasloe, Tuam, Longford and Mullingar. It would have been impossible to avoid the population from being infiltrated by knacker. Even they have to fund society hot spot. The people are not as bad, superior town to most