Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minor Hurling Championship 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Mackey on permanently, for Willie O'Meara. Slightly surprised, seemed to be doing well.

Mikey Daykin on for Glenn Waters for Waterford.

Billy Nolan has missed a couple of frees, Lyons just dropped one short and Eoghan Mac has just scored his 5th from distance!

John Kennedy on for JP Lucey.

Jack Prendergast has just scored Waterford's score of the half from a free. 0-13 to 1-8, stops Limerick's run of 9 points without reply.

Eoghan Mac has just made another great save, denying Waterford! And Limerick go up the other end and score through Brian Ryan.

We lead by 3 with 10 to go! Intensity picking up.

Ciaran O'Connor on for Conor Houlihan, who picked up an injury.

And Prendergast has just missed a handy free to narrow the gap to 2! 0-14 to 1-08!

Peter Casey has scored a free, and Prendergast missed another.

0-15 to 1-08. About 5 to go.

Conor Boylan is on for Kyle Hayes.

Brian Ryan extends the lead to 5. Second half, we've been much better- much higher intensity, much smarter.

Aaron O'Sullivan free is Waterford's 2nd point of the half, both from frees.

Long-distance score from Darragh Carroll who seems to have been excellent, certainly one of the most mentioned players in a good sense.

Eoin Ryan is on for Thomas Grimes.

And Peter Casey then scores a free quickly after. We lead by 6 going into stoppage time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Limerick win sets up a rematch with Cork? looks like a very impressive 2nd half, thanks for posting

Indeed. Seems to have been a reverse of what happened down in Páirc Uí Chaoimh- Waterford should have been further ahead, as Limerick should have been against Cork and in the second half, it's been all Limerick, as Cork dominated then.

Hopefully we'll put up a 60 minute performance this time.

Goalkeeper Billy Nolan coming up to take a 21-yard free in the last minute!

We've picked up a few yellow cards for cynical pull-backs.

Deflected over the bar by Paddy O'Loughlin!

0-18 to 1-10; great win for Limerick!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I told ye Westmeath had a good team

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

nice_guy80 wrote: »

fantastic result for them, and although I wasnt there, spoke to 2 people who were and said they were more than full value for their win. Congrats to them, and hopefully they can push on for the future with that side. Revenge for losing to wexford in the football 3 weeks ago! Who'd have thought it, Wexford win the football, and Westmeath win the hurling in minor clashes between both counties.

That was a decent Wexford team too, and complacency and a couple of key injuries seem to have been their downfall, obviously not to discredit a great performance from Westmeath too.

Great win for Laois too, beating Offaly.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭The Slobs

Westmeath were full value for their win and well done

They had their home work done on wexford

By swamping the wexford halfback line and mid field using their big strong men
    to win the high ball and much more determination on the dirty ground ball

Westmeath forwards are physically strong and the Doyle brothers might lack pace but are excellent stick men.

The referee a Kilkenny man by the way was fussy and card happy and alot of the frees were lost on most observers and it was a miracle of the eight or so yellows issued that no one picked up a second booking.

A disappointing result for Wexford from a group that had show potential on the way up . The most disappointed will be the players themselves.

No great evidence of any great coaching from management on the line. and that will not come as a surprise to many in Wexford.

A failure at leadership level in Wexford to get the right appointment for this important grade two years ago has now come to pass on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

The Slobs wrote: »
    Westmeath were full value for their win and well done

They had their home work done on wexford

By swamping the wexford halfback line and mid field using their big strong men
    to win the high ball and much more determination on the dirty ground ball

Westmeath forwards are physically strong and the Doyle brothers might lack pace but are excellent stick men.

The referee a Kilkenny man by the way was fussy and card happy and alot of the frees were lost on most observers and it was a miracle of the eight or so yellows issued that no one picked up a second booking.

A disappointing result for Wexford from a group that had show potential on the way up . The most disappointed will be the players themselves.

No great evidence of any great coaching from management on the line. and that will not come as a surprise to many in Wexford.

A failure at leadership level in Wexford to get the right appointment for this important grade two years ago has now come to pass on the field.

Well done to Westmeath for a start wasn't at game
    No surprised at result with the management in place for last 2 years
    Hope they have the brains to walk but maybe that's me being ambitious!!

That's an excellent victory against a Wexford team who ran KK close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Fireball07 wrote: »
    That's an excellent victory against a Wexford team who ran KK close.

Wexford are always happy to run Kilkenny close.
    Whatever happened to beating them?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Wexford are always happy to run Kilkenny close.
    Whatever happened to beating them?

had beaten them in the previous 2 minor clashes and have won our previous 2 U21 clashes. Serious disappointment in losing that one, particularly in the manner they did lose it with a last puc free of the game to draw it for Kilkenny when a free for Wexford was missed, and they also missed their own chances to seal it prior to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

nice_guy80 wrote:

Fair play, great win.

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Hurling Championship Semi Final Draw

Westmeath v Dublin......Cusack Park, Mullingar

Kilkenny v Laois ......... Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

Both games are due to be played on Saturday June 20th with times TBC.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Interesting news with change of dates for Munster Minor championship

Tipp Clare brought forward to 24th June
    Limerick Cork pushed back to 2nd July

anyone know why ?

harsh on Tipp Clare if they've a lot of Leaving Certs
    Certainly gives both side of draw a great look at their opponents

Arguably for winners of Limk Cork gives less time for recovery from injury but maybe maintains momentum into Munster final

any views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Hurling Championship Semi Final Draw

Westmeath v Dublin......Cusack Park, Mullingar

Kilkenny v Laois ......... Nowlan Park, Kilkenny

Both games are due to be played on Saturday June 20th with times TBC.

Should Laois beat Offaly in the senior this Sunday I suspect the Laois V Kilkenny minor game will be pushed back to June 21st to make it a double-header in Nowlan Park with Kilkenny V Wexford/Westmeath that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

N20 wrote: »

anyone know why ?

Arguably for winners of Limk Cork gives less time for recovery from injury but maybe maintains momentum into Munster final

any views?

Heard that rumour and twas about football clash for cork Limerick game
    Cant remember full story

Taught idea was they would both be on same time
    I think I prefer game played earlier
    Minster final on 12th only 10 days later

More preperation is better than less

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

anyone know why ?

any views?

On Clare hurlers it's due to tipp having dual players , tipp requested change
    I rember mention of it if cork had beaten kerry in the football
    Still not sure why cork game moved

Hard luck on Laois minors

Tough to go down to Nowlan park as a curtain raiser, play against wind and lose your CB in first half.

Pity Kilkenny got so far ahead so quickly - I've seen some of those Laois young lads play, some fine forwards, and scoreline doesn't reflect their quality.

Kilkenny drive on - as usual !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Was at Westmeath Dublin game and it was a decent game. Tactical to say the least. I had heard Westmeath were decent side and in fairness they were. They played some excellent hurling but their shooting let them on a few occasions.

Dublin opened tentatively but played well to go 5 - 1 up but conceded a soft goal which brought the crowd and Westmeath to life. Westmeath had a few very good hurlers none more so than the #4 who was superb. His ball winning, handling and distribution was top class. Dublin led by 2 points at half time having had the strong wind in the first half and over played the ball a few times when points were there for the taking. The introduction of Eoghan Dunne changed the game. He showed great pace and the deployment of Eoghan Conroy around mid field saw Dublin dominate for long spells and they ran out 7 or 8 point winners in the end. Dublin have a huge amount of work to do but are a decent side with no shortage of effort or workers on the field.

The talk switched to KK after the game and it appears they, Kilkenny are red hot favourites now to win Leinster.

Tipp by 4 but Clare did close in on them towards the end

Not a classic

Clare has weaknesses in defence and Tipp should have been well ahead by half time

Strange swirling wind made it a bit of a lottery at times

Quirke taken off with knee injury after 15 mins - big loss to Tipp both hurling and football if out - but might only be a bad bang

Tipp FF very busy and their standout man really - David Gleeson

Shanagher hurled well for Clare and their No 9 both troubled Tipp backs when they ran at them Shangher made a few great catches

On a different Night both teams would have shown more potential but Tipp deserving winners overall in a poor enough game

If rumours are true Stephen Quirke is out for 10 weeks with His knee injury picked up V Clare last week.

This puts a serious dent in Tipp's chances for Munster glory in Minor Football next week and weakens their chances for hurling success also. He is an integral part of both squads and captains the hurlers.

This is rotten bad luck for the kid and although no doubt he has a long career ahead of him, it's a shame he can't participate in two Munster finals. I wish him good luck in his recovery.

As the second dual minor player (and captain) to fall at a crucial time you would have to wonder if some of these lads are just doing too much, that their bodies can't cope with the knocks they are getting and the inevitable wear and tear from continued rigorous training and matches !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

If rumours are true Stephen Quirke is out for 10 weeks with His knee injury picked up V Clare last week.

This puts a serious dent in Tipp's chances for Munster glory in Minor Football next week and weakens their chances for hurling success also. He is an integral part of both squads and captains the hurlers.

This is rotten bad luck for the kid and although no doubt he has a long career ahead of him, it's a shame he can't participate in two Munster finals. I wish him good luck in his recovery.

As the second dual minor player (and captain) to fall at a crucial time you would have to wonder if some of these lads are just doing too much, that their bodies can't cope with the knocks they are getting and the inevitable wear and tear from continued rigorous training and matches !

It's true unfortunately, the only good news though is it won't require surgery so the long term prognosis is good, a massive massive loss for the footballer and I would think ends their chances, big loss for the hurlers as well as from the two games I seen he was the only natural ball winning forward we had, young Hasset who came in for Peters had a fine game against Clare so I guess with Peters back the option might be there to move Brian McGrath up to centre forward??

danganabu wrote: »
    It's true unfortunately, the only good news though is it won't require surgery so the long term prognosis is good, a massive massive loss for the footballer and I would think ends their chances, big loss for the hurlers as well as from the two games I seen he was the only natural ball winning forward we had, young Hasset who came in for Peters had a fine game against Clare so I guess with Peters back the option might be there to move Brian McGrath up to centre forward??

Good and bad news so
    shame for him to miss out on a historic opportunity but Tipp will be still be there in both codes after Munster final into August so a chance to come back

Brian McGrath prob make a decent CF - ball winner, strong and distributes ball well - short a bit of pace maybe

does that Peters lad struggle a bit with injuries or is that one of the brothers/cousins?

Limerick and Cork minor hurling teams finalised:
    30th June 2015
    Leo O Connor 168041855
    by Jerome O’Connell
    THE Limerick and Cork minor hurling teams have been revealed for Thursday’s Munster MHC semi final in the Gaelic Grounds.
    The rematch of the round one tie has a 7.30 start in Limerick as the sides battle for a spot against Tipperary in the provincial final on July 12 in Thurles.
    The Leo O’Connor managed and Anthony Daly coached Limerick minor team shows one changes from the team that beat Waterford in the backdoor series with Mikey Mackey replacing William O’Meara.
    Meanwhile Cork have made four changes to their side that beat Limerick back in April.
    Conor McCarthy replaces Niall O’Leary at corner back; Michael O’Halloran is switched to the half forward line alongside another new addition Robbie O’Flynn.
    Sean Powter and John Looney are included into a new-look full forward line.
    Shane Kingston, who has been out with a leg injury for the past six weeks, is named among the Cork substitutes.
    LIMERICK: Eoghan McNamama (Doon); Thomas Hayes (Doon), Conor McSweeney (South Liberties), Jack O’Grady (Knockainey); Conor Byrnes (Murroe-Boher), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Conor Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh); Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), Darragh O’Carroll (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh Castlemahon), Brian Ryan (South Liberties); Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Mikey Mackey (Adare), Barry Murphy (Doon). Subs: Adam O Brien (Ahane), Colum Carroll (Ahane), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Willie O Meara (Askeaton), Ciaran O Connor (Kilmallock,) Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Eoin Ryan (Adare), Paudie Ahern (Kileedy), Cian Flynn Magner (Kileedy).
    CORK: Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills); Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton), David Griffin (Carrigaline), Conor McCarthy (Blarney): Mark Coleman (Blarney), Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields), David Lowney (Clonakilty); Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville); Liam Healy (Sarsfields), Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock), Tim O’Mahony (Shandrum); Sean Powter (Douglas), Ciaran Cormack (Blackrock), John Looney (Aghada). Subs: Barry Kenneally (Cuchulainns), Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons), John Cashman (Blackrock), Conor Cahalane (St Finbarrs), Billy Hennessy (St Finbarrs), Donal English (Sarsfields), Billy Dunne (Fr O’Neills), Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), Robert Bourke (Ballincollig), Shane Kingston (Douglas).

This entry was posted in County News, General News. Bookmark the permalink.

does that Peters lad struggle a bit with injuries or is that one of the brothers/cousins?

He's older brother Jack was on the winning 2012 Minor team. Daragh went over his ankle at a Tipp training weekend 2 0r 3 weeks ago, nothing too serious and had a fitness test last Wednesday morning so cant have been far awaty from full fitness.

What's the word on Emmet Moloney for weekend ?

is he available ?

Dual players will do well to bounce back from football defeat and will need to be full strength as Limerick seem to riding a wave at the moment

What are we expecting from the Munster minor final?

Limerick caused an upset by beating Cork, bit lucky in it by all accounts, but they got there. Tipp are favourites with the bookies but Limerick have some very good players who haven't even nearly hit full flight yet. I don't know a huge amount about Tipp but they've edged through their games and were tipped to be strong at the start of the year. You'd expect it to be close at least.

Kilkenny now favourites with the bookies for the overall thing.

What are we expecting from the Munster minor final?

Limerick caused an upset by beating Cork, bit lucky in it by all accounts, but they got there. Tipp are favourites with the bookies but Limerick have some very good players who haven't even nearly hit full flight yet. I don't know a huge amount about Tipp but they've edged through their games and were tipped to be strong at the start of the year. You'd expect it to be close at least.

Kilkenny now favourites with the bookies for the overall thing.

You didnt hear it from me and I'll deny I ever said it but Limerick are an absolutely incredible price at 6/4, now I have to back them and not let anyone at home, in the local or in Semple Stadium know.....sssshhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

You didnt hear it from me and I'll deny I ever said it but Limerick are an absolutely incredible price at 6/4, now I have to back them and not let anyone at home, in the local or in Semple Stadium know.....sssshhhh

Ovibously it's your right to back who ever you want but I never thought I'd see the day tippeary fan who be fair most hard core fans would back against their own in a munster final
    Each to their own i guess

Ovibously it's your right to back who ever you want but I never thought I'd see the day tippeary fan who be fair most hard core fans would back against their own in a munster final
    Each to their own i guess

I back with the head not the heart, fear not I will be in the old stand roaring for the premier!

But how you truly support tippeary I mean like the great great mean really great grass roots fans when you backed another county huge game for ye

I mean you say want tipp to win doesn't that kind mean you loose money

Why back against you're own county at all at all
    Just my opinion of course but I think it goes against ethos real real support

lol you're funny.

People who only back teams or players they support/like are a bookies dream.

lol you're funny.

People who only back teams or players they support/like are a bookies dream.

I don't see it funny in so called fan he's own county wants he's own county loose key game

I mean let's be honest if you put money on limericks you surely want win bet other wise why back
    You even admitted you wouldn't tell any tipp fans your doing it
    I just see it ironic fella wearing county colours really proud proud hurling county backs opposite team in huge final considering be brutally honest six to four is hardly great odds either in close game anyway so why bet on it

But look i suppose you see that as support but sure we'll agree disagree

I don't see it funny in so called fan he's own county wants he's own county loose key game

I mean let's be honest if you put money on limericks you surely want win bet other wise why back
    You even admitted you wouldn't tell any tipp fans your doing it
    I just see it ironic fella wearing county colours really proud proud hurling county backs opposite team in huge final considering be brutally honest six to four is hardly great odds either in close game anyway so why bet on it

But look i suppose you see that as support but sure we'll agree disagree

So now as well as not being able to write you cant read either, I never once said I wanted Limerick to win. Anyway you are dragging this thread off topic so leave it there.

Tipp were very very lucky to beat Waterford, Carey's frees getting them over the line and Clare would have beaten them if they had a game played, the Clare team that finished the game was a lot stronger than the one that started.

Stephen Quirke is a massive loss in the half forward line, he was the only natural ball winning forward we had, Tynan, Nolan, Darcy and Fairbrother are all very small, one or two you can get away with but not 4. Our backs look solid and young peters return is a big bonus.

Limerick look a lot more balanced to me and I know they rode their luck against Cork but that performance was above anything Tipp have produced thus far.

So now as well as not being able to write you cant read either, I never once said I wanted Limerick to win. Anyway you are dragging this thread off topic so leave it there.

Tipp were very very lucky to beat Waterford, Carey's frees getting them over the line and Clare would have beaten them if they had a game played, the Clare team that finished the game was a lot stronger than the one that started.

Stephen Quirke is a massive loss in the half forward line, he was the only natural ball winning forward we had, Tynan, Nolan, Darcy and Fairbrother are all very small, one or two you can get away with but not 4. Our backs look solid and young peters return is a big bonus.

Limerick look a lot more balanced to me and I know they rode their luck against Cork but that performance was above anything Tipp have produced thus far.
    Again as you consistently have done since you post with respect when you loose debate you get personal with can't read write nonsense

As predicable as night follow day
    Let's stick to the original point
    I'm not bringing this off topic as I said well agree it disagree but knowing many proud proud tipp hurling fans I yet to find even outside county any fan to back against he own
    You made the statement did you or did you not with respect
    I'm giving my opinion on it that's all

It's two ways really let be honest
    When you back team concept is usually to win is it not
    As you said no point being fool to bookies
    So why would you put money on limericks if you really wanted tipp win
    Just my opinion but the concepts would be more interested in making money and that's any body's r right but total support want tippeary win etc

Aside from that your rest of your post is good and actually has real logic to it that I'd agree with

When you back team concept is usually to win is it not

No, see that's where you are wrong. The idea of betting is finding and obtaining value, sentiment has absolutely nothing to do with it. Limerick are over priced simple as really.

Totally agree emotions kept out of it

But there's a line in back against your own county for money
    Blood thicker water as saying goes in gaa sense your own county is there
    Im on about a county where person born lives breaths gaa for county I just don't agree to back against opponents munster final

But look well leave it there
    That my opinion on it
    Best of luck tippeary in senior as Cork man depending on our game we certainly don't want option playing tipp quater final

I don't like shouting tipp as I'm cork but emotions in this case kept out equation as overall benefit tipp winning could benefit cork if cork beat clare

Totally agree emotions kept out of it

But there's a line in back against your own county for money
    Blood thicker water as saying goes in gaa sense your own county is there
    Im on about a county where person born lives breaths gaa for county I just don't agree to back against opponents munster final

But look well leave it there
    That my opinion on it
    Best of luck tippeary in senior as Cork man depending on our game we certainly don't want option playing tipp quater final

I don't like shouting tipp as I'm cork but emotions in this case kept out equation as overall benefit tipp winning could benefit cork if cork beat clare

I'll be backing Tipp on the handicap in the senior fwiw.

I know plenty of Cork lads that would always shout for Tipp when they're not playing Cork, and I would always shout for Cork, there has always been a healthy respect between both sets of supporters.

I'll be backing Tipp on the handicap in the senior fwiw.

I know plenty of Cork lads that would always shout for Tipp when they're not playing Cork, and I would always shout for Cork, there has always been a healthy respect between both sets of supporters.

There is and always will be two great traditional teams but tippeary much ahead us in minor under twenty one and senior at present and while we get no joy it we have call spade spade cork are off tippeary hugely overall at present

Best of luck sunday

Limerick have named an unchanged team as far as I can see. Much like the senior team, performance levels need to be upped but they do have a lot of talent there and have a nice bit of experience too- 6 starters from last year and a handful of subs too. I think we can do it.

Ye haven't performance level ye can and lot expirence from last year and no pressure on ye as ye got all ireland series win or loose

Tippeary are a fine side but if half forward line Mackey and flangan limit peters and the sensation McGrath yell have great chance

It's good tipp team though

Ye haven't performance level ye can and lot expirence from last year and no pressure on ye as ye got all ireland series win or loose

Tippeary are a fine side but if half forward line Mackey and flangan limit peters and the sensation McGrath yell have great chance

It's good tipp team though

Mackey and Flanagan very quiet the last day I know Mackey back from injury so maybe he'll be improved today - Casey the star man for Limerick who definitely have the gods aligned in their favour this championship and could steal 3 in a row

Gleason Tipp FF will take watching, he was their main man the last day - interesting game - the way the dice is rolling for both teams at the moment I'd nearly fancy Limerick although on paper Tipperary have more

why do you say McGrath is sensational ?