Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Lads, ye are ruining the thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Not quite a bargain, but interesting and topical as it runs on LPG. :pac:

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-124/23062062

• Registered Users Posts: 65,397 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Just put up my W201 Mercedes-Benz for sale a few minutes ago, I think it is a bargain :)

503844.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190/24311321

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

now your talking !

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

MOD NOTE:

Right, I've moved 22 posts about EVs into a new thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058057206

Don't mind a bit of chat about not buying things in this thread, but bear in mind the topic title and don't meander too far from it. You can talk classic EVs until the cows come home in the other thread (or even in the EV forum), but not here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭oceanman

unkel wrote: »
    Just put up my W201 Mercedes-Benz for sale a few minutes ago, I think it is a bargain :)

503844.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190/24311321

lovely looking car, probably sell a bit quicker though if it had an e at the end of that 190.

oceanman wrote: »
    lovely looking car, probably sell a bit quicker though if it had an e at the end of that 190.

Not sure if it would?

Funny enough it's the only car I have ever owned that doesn't have fuel injection, but it also easily the most reliable classic car I have ever had. Runs very smoothly too. Don't use it for two weeks and it starts immediately. It suits me down to the ground as the second family car that I only need occasionally. If I didn't also have the Porsche, I wouldn't sell the Mercedes. Maybe I shouldn't sell it but stick the Porsche in storage for some time. I taxed it for the full year last year (€1,080) but I only used it a handful of times, which I find a poor use of my funds.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

Is it not a vintage class tax...56 euro???

Now i see....Porsche:o

I wish the Porsche was vintage motor tax :o

Another 8 years and 10 months to go...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mitsubishi-colt/24283771

YWMxNDk2ZjBmMzI4YTcwMDk2ZGU4YmQ5NzQ5YTU4YjInGGDrZ1STOAqX3-JSOrzGaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI1NTcyMDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I like the look of this. 32k miles, seemingly no rust and in excellent nick. NCT'd for a year and exempt thereafter

I had a 79 3 speed auto Accord a few years ago, it certainly didn't set the world alight but it was a pleasant old thing to buzz around in. If this is anything like that it will be grand too no doubt. In the case of my accord it felt lightyears ahead of its British counterparts of the time.

This is €3400. I think with 500 quid knocked off the asking it could be a decent buy

Am I missing something there Duke? Surely it's only pre 80 that applies to?

No, Duke is right (and so is the seller)

The legislation changed (I think last year or the year before), so going forward the NCT exemption is now a rolling one. When any car is over 40 years old, it will no longer need an NCT

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

No, Duke is right (and so is the seller)

The legislation changed (I think last year or the year before), so going forward the NCT exemption is now a rolling one. When any car is over 40 years old, it will no longer need an NCT

I find that rule bizarre. By all means, lower the bar for emissions and such on cars that do such obviously miles, but every car on the road should meet a minimum legal requirement for tyres, steering,brakes, corrosion, etc.

It will probably keeps more classics going for longer as people will be required to maintain them better. The "no NCT" thing is just a charter for chancers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I find that rule bizarre. By all means, lower the bar for emissions and such on cars that do such obviously miles, but every car on the road should meet a minimum legal requirement for tyres, steering,brakes, corrosion, etc.

It will probably keeps more classics going for longer as people will be required to maintain them better. The "no NCT" thing is just a charter for chancers.
    True, but it still makes little difference. Just look at the ads how many 30 - 40 year old classics have valid NCT.

Seweryn wrote: »
    True, but it still makes little difference. Just look at the ads how many 30 - 40 year old classics have valid NCT.

Let's say the ads on DoneDeal? Which percentage of cars for sale have a valid NCT that should have an NCT? I'd say it's well less than half. Only in Ireland.

I hasten to add that a car does not need an NCT if the car is not driven on the public road. But you get my point.

Let's say the ads on DoneDeal? Which percentage of cars for sale have a valid NCT that should have an NCT? I'd say it's well less than half. Only in Ireland.
    That's what I mean actually. Very few have NCT now, regardless if the test is required or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-450-slc-restoration-project/24310162

MzMwMTIzYzZiZWVjNjUxNGE2ZDVkMDRlMGQ0MzQ0MWJl96jXEz3FqSXfY75X9b-faHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDI3NjQ5NDB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

SLC450, €3200

Anyone brave enough?

Love that it has an L plate in the window

I love them. Always have. The main reasons are the V8, that they were the most expensive Mercedes ever when new and that they've always been unpopular (compared to the SL), so very cheap second hand :p

Would need thorough inspection to determine if the car is not too far gone to restore.

I love them. Always have. The main reasons are the V8, that they were the most expensive Mercedes ever when new and that they've always been unpopular (compared to the SL), so very cheap second hand :p

Would need thorough inspection to determine if the car is not too far gone to restore.

Sure if you have it a wash it wouldn't look out of place at most car shows

NCT exempt!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,191 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

If you could live with the D designation this is a decent alternative SL for small money https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-sl350/24245119
    Nice milage..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

I could never get the hate for these, they always struck me as a stylish car - certainly less gauche than the SL back in the day!

Similar costs to restore and maintain as the SL, so not for the faint hearted.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I get the V8 bit, but they are awkward looking imo I'd rather a v12 XJS or a 928 maybe. Although I love verts, so I probably would have a R107 instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

If you could live with the D designation this is a decent alternative SL for small money https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-sl350/24245119
    Nice milage..

At first I thought you had something against Dubliners, until I read the add :)

On a related note to unkels Porsche, the road tax will be a killer on that. €1809 each year for every year you own it. As time moves on, and more and more cars fall into the post July08 bracket of "cheap" tax, and vintage coming closer to that date, I wonder how long the €56 vintage tax will stay reasonable.

And if I were to pay the max motor tax of €1,809 again, I most certainly would not content myself with a crappy V6 engine :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

At first I thought you had something against Dubliners, until I read the add :)

On a related note to unkels Porsche, the road tax will be a killer on that. €1809 each year for every year you own it. As time moves on, and more and more cars fall into the post July08 bracket of "cheap" tax, and vintage coming closer to that date, I wonder how long the €56 vintage tax will stay reasonable.

Here's my thoughts on the 'vintage' tax...
    It was brought in after lobbying by the IVVCC in an attempt to make 'old car' usage more affordable, not as a 'target to reach' in order to have everyone drive a (Merc possibly ?) as an everyday car.
    Considering it's so affordable, it's surprising to see the sheer amount of untaxed 'eligible' cars you'd see at shows or for sale.
    If people continue to hoard cars waiting to tax the at €56 (or in reality sell them on as 'affordable') some bean countering actuary might suggest scrapping it as a waste of revenue, and suggest increasing it to a level more in keeping with a cost of living margin for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MrCostington

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-450-slc-restoration-project/24310162

SLC450, €3200

Anyone brave enough?

Love that it has an L plate in the window

There was the same model in Limerick on DD for a good while last year for a bout 4k IIRC in a kinda gold colour (also IIRC) - was very tempted. I'd have the SLC over an SL any day, love that styling on the C pillar.

Sweet. Looks to have been stored indoors. Right bargain if it's not rotted. If it was 3 doors and I had a barn, I would be on my way to Arklow already :D

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1971-ford-escort/24343599
    im not a ford fan but that looks kinda cool......pity the steering wheel is on the wrong side though.

That is lovely. Nice to see an original looking 4 door example.

Remember when stuff like this was making close to 20k?

...pity the steering wheel is on the wrong side though.
    It is on the proper side. Cars are designed that way and when they want to sell their cars here they convert them.

Very often some components are left in the wrong place, like a brake master on the left, radio controls on the passenger side, bonnet open latch on the left side of the car, hand brake lever closer to the passenger, etc.

Also the manual gear change pattern is designed for the driver to operate it from the driver side (i.e. left side of the car).
    Sometimes there is no left foot rest in the RHD models. And some cars come with unchanged windscreen wiper rest positions.

So, the RHD cars are always somehow compromised.