Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

CoBo55 wrote: »
    The Minx looks badly rotten a very chancy gamble.
    I thought they were called the Solara here, doesn't look to bad at all there'd be feck all of them left now. The engine and gearbox would be the achilles heel of that car. I'd say parts would be very scarce.

The solara was a 4 door, Alpine was a 5 door, both basically the same car.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,049 ✭✭✭CoBo55

wrangler wrote: »
    The solara was a 4 door, Alpine was a 5 door, both basically the same car.

I'd forgotten that. Fella I worked with had a solara it was a dreadful piece of junk it chomped through Ducellier alternators like there was no tomorrow, we grafted on the old reliable Lucas 17ACR that we dug out of the ground in a breakers yard, never managed to get the red light working but it pumped out the juice that's all we needed. First gear was a hit and miss affair and fifth was the only gear that didn't grind:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,310 ✭✭✭alias no.9

So many doors, were there always this many doors? It's so confusing, which one should I use?

I'd forgotten that. Fella I worked with had a solara it was a dreadful piece of junk it chomped through Ducellier alternators like there was no tomorrow, we grafted on the old reliable Lucas 17ACR that we dug out of the ground in a breakers yard, never managed to get the red light working but it pumped out the juice that's all we needed. First gear was a hit and miss affair and fifth was the only gear that didn't grind:rolleyes:

Bought one new, t was a bitch on fuel, a guy came from the factory and did a few adjustments and it was grand after. It never gave any trouble, it'd do well over 100 mph, up to 130mph

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

The gearboxes were terrible. Either the 4 speed or the "Series 2" 5 speed. The Peugeot 205 and 305 used the same gearbox for a while, and the rule of thumb buying one was not to buy the one with reverse beside 1st.

They were a comfortable car, but potentially lethal. The torsion bar suspension used to pull down on the bottom balljoint. And when that wore, eventualy it would pop out, and the car went whatever direction the side the balljoint pulled out of.

The engines were horribly noisy, and when the tappetts were adjusted, the oil used to run down from the head onto the exhaust because of the lie of the engine.

Father had one for about 10 years, on gas. Did about 250,000 on it. Minded it like a baby. It was mint when he sold it to a lad that had it wrecked in about a year.

Funny enough, I never remember alternators really being a problem with them. Plenty of other problems made up for it.

The gearboxes were terrible. Either the 4 speed or the "Series 2" 5 speed. The Peugeot 205 and 305 used the same gearbox for a while, and the rule of thumb buying one was not to buy the one with reverse beside 1st.

They were a comfortable car, but potentially lethal. The torsion bar suspension used to pull down on the bottom balljoint. And when that wore, eventualy it would pop out, and the car went whatever direction the side the balljoint pulled out of.

The engines were horribly noisy, and when the tappetts were adjusted, the oil used to run down from the head onto the exhaust because of the lie of the engine.

Father had one for about 10 years, on gas. Did about 250,000 on it. Minded it like a baby. It was mint when he sold it to a lad that had it wrecked in about a year.
    Funny enough, I never remember alternators really being a problem with them. Plenty of other problems made up for it.

We musta got a good one, It was never driven easy, drove it from dublin to Larne at well over 100 (nearly late for the ferry) and never thought it noisy.
    Obviously we were lucky. We put a fiat on gas here years ago, it destroyed it, Had to start it on petrol and switch over, eventually it wouldn't start on gas or petrol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

That Alpine has been cloned :)http://platesmania.com/hu/nomer11774273

• Registered Users Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭con747

Love this advert, Caddielac 5.7 diesel swap or sell https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/caddielac-5-7-diesel-swap-or-sell/26291530?campaign=8
    "Swap for tractor or nice vintage car" so the Cadillac is obviously not a nice vintage car.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

con747 wrote: »
    Love this advert, Caddielac 5.7 diesel swap or sell https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/caddielac-5-7-diesel-swap-or-sell/26291530?campaign=8
    "Swap for tractor or nice vintage car" so the Cadillac is obviously not a nice vintage car.

Do you need a C license for that yoke:D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

kadman wrote: »
    Do you need a C license for that yoke:D

Can't get the whole car in any pic :):)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭noelf

1988 BMW 325 e30 touring 80000 miles €10000 ..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,970 ✭✭✭✭elperello

noelf wrote: »
    1988 BMW 325 e30 touring 80000 miles €10000 ..

Lovely car, where is it?

Wheeler Dealers did one about 15 years ago and sold it for c. 2k.

Your mission, pick out todays equivalent and buy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭con747

Jensen GT 1976 €4500 A lock down project for someone https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/jensen-gt-1976-/26243359
    Mercedes G Wagon 1984 €9500 Project https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-g-wagon/26317609

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

elperello wrote: »
    Lovely car, where is it?

Here's the lisiting for it on their own website
    The address on the site is very vague. They seem to be based around Sandyford/Dundrum somewhere

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/26325391

Nice W124, abs light is a common problem on them. Story goes that it’s possible to change the bulbs in the binnacle with the abs light and the low windscreen washer light.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Is that Duke's car?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Is that Duke's car?

It is, I just did a deal on a w123

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭KevRossi

The problem with the light can be easy to fix.

There's a good thread on it here (in German). https://www.motor-talk.de/forum/abs-leuchtet-sporadisch-mercedes-w124-200-e-t6598735.html?page=1

Could be the sensors need to be cleaned at the wheel, or if it goes on when you accelerate and then off when you lift off, it's because it's getting less than 11v of power. Other faults are loose cables and bad earths or simply a defective ABS control unit.

Worksheet on how to diagnose the problem from MB (in German again) on it here.

https://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/OTM1WDEzODM=/z/qvAAAOSwjBVctL9R/$_59.PNG

$_59.PNG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

It is, I just did a deal on a w123

Pics!

Cheers for that, I put three new sensors in it and they were fine for weeks. On the evening of the test last week the light came on again, and it’s intermittent since.

I’ve been meaning to get around to it but just haven’t been bothered now that the colder mornings/longer evenings are setting in, but I do intend on selling it with a full test. Only put the ad up today out of curiosity/boredom

• Registered Users Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭KevRossi

1990 230CE Auto, 08/22 €4,500

Two years NCT and cheap tax for €4,500. Decent price if it's in order but suspension needs to be raised IMHO.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-230-ce/25812864?campaign=8

ZGMxZjNmMzE3ZTFhMjM5MjIzNmU4YmU5ZmJiOGU5NDhYaFvCIAX3XXYb08B-8MQnaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUzMTE5MzJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

con747 wrote: »

Where has that been hiding all these years?

That's like a hen's teeth find on Irish plates. Madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,382 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That W124 coupe is gorgeous! Sits a bit low at the back maybe? Doesn't look like a 30 year old car to me either.
    Where has that been hiding all these years?

That's like a hen's teeth find on Irish plates. Madness.

Wasn't stored for that long as it had an NCT up to 5 years ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭oceanman

KevRossi wrote: »
    1990 230CE Auto, 08/22 €4,500

Two years NCT and cheap tax for €4,500. Decent price if it's in order but suspension needs to be raised IMHO.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-230-ce/25812864?campaign=8

ZGMxZjNmMzE3ZTFhMjM5MjIzNmU4YmU5ZmJiOGU5NDhYaFvCIAX3XXYb08B-8MQnaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUzMTE5MzJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    he could have put a few details up though.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭ccmp

That’s looks really nice. Good value at that if all is well with it. Spent the day working on dash and wood parts replacement on my own 300 ce.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭w124man

I Was VB wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/26325391

Nice W124, abs light is a common problem on them. Story goes that it’s possible to change the bulbs in the binnacle with the abs light and the low windscreen washer light.

Just change the OVP relay. Problem usually solved, if not clean the wheel sensors

w124man wrote: »
    Just change the OVP relay. Problem usually solved, if not clean the wheel sensors

Sorted, retest booked for Monday :)

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/classic-car/26338191

ZTAzNTU1ZWM1YWExOTA3NzcxMTU4MTRlZTcwOGMzOTV4Yu5tjZhxsNlOBcg8nzLGaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjA2MjEyMjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Reasonable looking Rover SD1 2300S, €2500

Needs a bit of fettling but looks ok. No MOT for quite some time but no mention of rust or corrosion on record

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

love that SD1 - a poor mans Daytona !

There seems to be a lot of stuff for sale in Donegal lately no ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭oceanman