Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭emeldc

GavFitz wrote: »
    You are so right, bits are either crazy money or just simply can't be got!

http://www.backroads.ie/forums/showthread.php?23584-1988-Sapphire-Cosworth

Getting there but its very slow progress

Fair play, that looks lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 GavFitz

davycc wrote: »
    I can't reply to your thread on back roads so I will quickly here, lovely car I mercury grey.

I owned it's identical twin ni reg ikz7557?
    I brought it from kilshane cross for only 4k.
    Might we original 88 spec bar some 17fox rims.
    Light grey recaro cloth interior
    Some of the most comfortable seats I ever used.

I used to get stopped and searched by garda almost every time I come home to darndale .

I had friends in Ashley Ford back in the day and any new oem parts I got from them at a staff discount!

Man I used to have boxes of motorcraft goodies in every room.
    Good luck with your resto.I'll keep an eye on the thread
    emeldc wrote: »
    Fair play, that looks lovely.

Cheers ! I could do with some rooms full of OEM parts !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭emeldc

• Registered Users Posts: 65,294 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Cheap Roller!

YzA2NzNiNzY2YWRmZDg2ZDJiY2U3NWI4OTgyMjQxNTWMvNd5QdeiyH8YHPAZ71OTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184MzI1OTc3Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Linky

• Registered Users Posts: 20,835 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Folks, from what I know:

Classic cars registered before 1980 don't need NCT
    Classic vans registered before 1980 still need a DOE

Does anyone know what the case is with a little mini bus or 9 seater? What about the classic VW campers say? What would be a good, cheap classic 9 seater to keep an eye out for? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Commercial vehicles registered before 1980 still need a DOE.

If its not commercial you're laughing. I don't know of anything other than a VW that might suit though! Landrover maybe?

unkel wrote: »
    Cheap Roller!

YzA2NzNiNzY2YWRmZDg2ZDJiY2U3NWI4OTgyMjQxNTWMvNd5QdeiyH8YHPAZ71OTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184MzI1OTc3Nnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Linky

It was up last week; same seller/ad.

I'd say if it was truly a bargain it'd have been snapped up by now..

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Testacalda

Cheap Roller!

You're in oxymoron territory now!

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭11wingnut

cormie wrote: »
    Folks, from what I know:

Does anyone know what the case is with a little mini bus or 9 seater? What about the classic VW campers say? What would be a good, cheap classic 9 seater to keep an eye out for? :)

Mercedes g wagon

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Testacalda wrote: »
    You're in oxymoron territory now!

Haha, was just going to say 'Cheap Roller' is a bit of a contradiction in terms!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,194 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Agricola wrote: »
    Haha, was just going to say 'Cheap Roller' is a bit of a contradiction in terms!

"Starts drives stops"

What more do you need in a roller? :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Commercial vehicles registered before 1980 still need a DOE.

If its not commercial you're laughing. I don't know of anything other than a VW that might suit though! Landrover maybe?

When the new regs come into action in 2020 this is set to change though isn't it?

As in: a commercials won't need a crvt after it hits the 40 year old mark.

Re: cheap classics with lots of seaters don't the lwb passenger defenders have up on 8 seats? Could be an option as long as passenger comfort isn't an issue.

Esel wrote: »
    "Starts drives stops"

What more do you need in a roller? :)

You'd only buy it for pottering around in now and then. If you had a garage. Car is taxed, doesn't need an NCT and would cost €100 to add to your insurance. And if something dramatically expensive fails, just sell it to a specialist dismantlers (I'd say Traynors would come down to take it and trailer it away) for a few grand.

How many of us can say they have owned a Rolls-Royce? :cool:

Not so sure about that. Most people just don't have the balls to buy it nor the garage to store it in. And seller needs to get rid. Probably only has garage for one car, and that is now the new Roller for him. Doesn't want his old baby to rot away, so is keen to sell. I'd say he will take a close offer. But not if you say you'll scrap it if it goes wrong :p

cormie wrote: »
    Folks, from what I know:

11wingnut wrote: »
    Mercedes g wagon

Thanks, I think there was a few of them posted here before but might be kinda pricey :pac:

Is it the low tax you're after cormie? If so, any camper will do as they have their own cheap camper rate of €102 per year. Look in the caravan / campervan forum!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

You want deep pockets for a classic vw camper, even the T25's now.

Moreso just looking to have something that will be very seldomly used for going places where it would be great to have 9 seats and wouldn't need to worry about having to take it for a DOE/NCT every year and then the cheap tax and cheap insurance so it probably makes sense to get a pre 1980 9 seater, but not sure what I'd get with a small budget then too :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

It's no big deal to bring a vehicle for a test every year if you're going to keep it roadworthy, especially if you're going to carry kids in it.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/kadett-c-coupe/17262338

N2ZiYjg0ZjM4MmRiMmJlZTZkNmExMTNmNzJiMTNmYjQoSU_lwkdLhKYv8l1d63JraHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184ODk1Njc2N3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Love this, not sure I see €12k, but its very cool

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

When the new regs come into action in 2020 this is set to change though isn't it?

As in: a commercials won't need a crvt after it hits the 40 year old mark.

Re: cheap classics with lots of seaters don't the lwb passenger defenders have up on 8 seats? Could be an option as long as passenger comfort isn't an issue.

Classic commercials over 40 years old won't need a CVRT under the new rules if they aren't used commercially.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I had one of these 10 years ago and sold it for not much less than this.
    If this is in good nick ( they do harbor some major issues ) then I have to think its worth more than a lot of the tat thats asking bigger money out there

from an era when Mercedes really did build and engineer them superbly well

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-280-ce/17051074

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭w124man

RobAMerc wrote: »
    If this is in good nick ( they do harbor some major issues ) then I have to think its worth more than a lot of the tat thats asking bigger money out there

Gorgeous car. Love the shape but they hide some expensive surprises if they are rusty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭w124man

kadman wrote: »
    You want deep pockets for a classic vw camper, even the T25's now.

A good T25 is an expensive thing these days. I recently sold my T25 Syncro for over €20,000 .....

kev1.3s wrote: »
    It's no big deal to bring a vehicle for a test every year if you're going to keep it roadworthy, especially if you're going to carry kids in it.

Ah I know, the NCT is a good value overall check for your motor, but if it's sitting up most of the year being used once or twice and you just want it for a rare trip here and there it becomes a bigger headache when you need to keep it NCT'd and paying high tax etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

N2ZiYjg0ZjM4MmRiMmJlZTZkNmExMTNmNzJiMTNmYjQoSU_lwkdLhKYv8l1d63JraHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b184ODk1Njc2N3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

I've viewed this car up-close a few times...it would cost more than 12k to achieve such a ground-up restoration as this car has received.

The nice '1' registration number also adds to its appeal :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Silvera wrote: »
    I've viewed this car up-close a few times...it would cost more than 12k to achieve such a ground-up restoration as this car has received.

The nice '1' registration number also adds to its appeal :)

That may be the case and I fully understand the sellers reasons for asking for it but in cars of this value a good restoration nearly always costs more than the value of the car if the car was in poor condition to begin with. Doesn't mean it is automatically worth what was spent on it, it is a nice car and registration all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

Cheap Roller!

Linky
    It was up last week; same seller/ad.

Yep, no such thing as a cheap Roller. Even if it looks good on the outside the sub frames rust badly and they cost a serious amount of work to get right. You'd also need to ensure that the hydraulics are in top condition as repairs on them are big money too.

If the car is in good condition it could easily be sold to a UK buyer for €5,000 more. They'd be more than happy to travel to buy it as well and as its more than likely a UK import, the paperwork is no issue.

If it's been kept to its original spec then its a bargain. If it was LHD it would make a good bit more than that in Germany. There just isn't that much of a cult around them here. Pity as I've very fond memories of C Kadetts.

If I did win the Lotto I'd pick it up, the reg plate sets it off beautifully.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

RobAMerc wrote: »

Had one of them. ('73) . Fab cars but they suffered from frame rot which is the way mine went.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1