Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Musician - Sole Trader.

Options
  • 08-04-2015 10:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭

Hi.

I'm sorry if this has been asked already but I didn't see a thread similar to my situation.

Just looking for opinions on the following....

1. I am in full time permanent employment in my normal job.
    2. I'm also a Musician and have a chance to make €100 cash (give or take) a week from this. Some weeks I'll make more and some weeks I won't have any gig at all.
    3. Do I need to declare this?
    4. Several people told me I should register as a Sole Trader. Should I?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

Put it this way, you would be the most diligent musician in Ireland declaring a 100 quid a week here and there for gigs!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

It's all well and good until the brown envelope from Revenue comes in the letter box.

Revenue officials can end up finding you on any paper/facebook page/flyer you end up being listed on.

I'd register for peace of mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭dbran

Hi

You should declare it although it is a relatively small amount of income. All that has to happen is the venue gets a revenue audit and they just follow the paper trail to you. Dont be thinking that just because he is paying you cash that you are not going through his books.

You will also be entitled to various expenses and deductions so that the level of income tax could be relatively small. You may not need to register as self employed but simply complete a Form 12 each year.

Best of luck with it.

dbran