Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever met a killer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I dont know if I did or not.
    There is a guy who drinks in my local that keeps to himself but over the years I have gotten to him a small bit and found out that he did time. We were having a conversation in the beer garden one night when he came out with the line 'you could get away with murder, like I did' and stormed off laughing. He could have been joking, probably was but something about the way he said it unnerved me. He was pissed I was only after arriving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

No direct contact but I lived in a house with a few fellas while in college in WIT, 2 of them were from Wicklow. Towards the end of the year we found out that one of them was a first cousin to Larry Murphy! A fact he very understandably kept quiet as this was in 2010 when he got out.

Also the other lad from Wicklow, his father was a Garda and was responsible for first arresting Joe O'Reilly, yer man that killed yer wan up in the Naul in Meath a few years back.

Nothing to do with murder, but my brother in law' brother is a convicted rapist, did time for it and all. The thing is though he's not a horrible monster at all by any stretch, he's actually a nice happy go lucky guy, would go out of his way to help you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Nothing to do with murder, but my brother in law is a convicted rapist, did time for it and all. The thing is though he's not a horrible monster at all by any stretch, he's actually a nice happy go lucky guy, would go out of his way to help you.
    Nice guy, unless he's feeling a bit rapey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Nothing to do with murder, but my brother in law is a convicted rapist, did time for it and all. The thing is though he's not a horrible monster at all by any stretch, he's actually a nice happy go lucky guy, would go out of his way to help you out of your knickers.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

No direct contact but I lived in a house with a few fellas while in college in WIT, 2 of them were from Wicklow. Towards the end of the year we found out that one of them was a first cousin to Larry Murphy! A fact he very understandably kept quiet as this was in 2010 when he got out.

Also the other lad from Wicklow, his father was a Garda and was responsible for first arresting Joe O'Reilly, yer man that killed yer wan up in the Naul in Meath a few years back.

Nothing to do with murder, but my brother in law' brother is a convicted rapist, did time for it and all. The thing is though he's not a horrible monster at all by any stretch, he's actually a nice happy go lucky guy, would go out of his way to help you.

Except he's a rapist, that tends to cancel out his redeeming features :rolleyes:

eviltwin wrote: »
    Except he's a rapist, that tends to cancel out his redeeming features :rolleyes:

Well yeah I know but if you met him you'd just think he was a normal sound out fella, he's gas too!
    It was sort of by accident though as he's a bit foolish with drink in him but there'd be no malice in in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Well yeah I know but if you met him you'd just think he was a normal sound out fella, he's gas too!
    It was sort of by accident though as he's a bit foolish with drink in him but there'd be no malice in in though.

I'm sure his victim doesn't see it like that.....

I tend to think there's a lot of malice in rape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Ah ok, so it wasn't 'real' rape.

*headdesk*

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Dolbert wrote: »
    Ah ok, so it wasn't 'real' rape.

*headdesk*

Yeah, he just kind of fell dick-first into his victim, I'm sure.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I'm sure his victim doesn't see it like that.....

His "victim" was actually in my class going to secondary school. A I never had much time for her, either before or after she got raped. She was a sort of obnoxious type of person and was a jerk to anyone she perceived to be "uncool".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Keep digging why don't you! Your replies are very insulting.

His "victim" was actually in my class going to secondary school. A I never had much time for her, either before or after she got raped.

'Victim'? He was convicted.

He's a rapist, whether or not you happen to like his victim.

His "victim" was actually in my class going to secondary school. A I never had much time for her, either before or after she got raped.
    You didn't like her, she must have deserved it so. :rolleyes:

Well with some of the bullshít & snide comments and I, and others, got off her in the junior cert years, I certainly wasn't crying myself to sleep for her over her troubles. I was in a different class group for leaving cert thankfully. She got a payout out of it as far as I know. Karma's a bitch.

Well with some of the snide comments I got off her in junior cert, I certainly wasn't crying for her over her troubles.
    Because the snide comments of a teenager = rape ?

I'm not condoning it. It was wrong. It's just I don't have much sympathy for her either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭JellieBabie

I sure hope not!!!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'm not condoning it. It was wrong. It's just I don't have much sympathy for her either.

Well you are. You've defended him saying that there is no malice in him, and excused his crime as accidental because of drink, then minimised it because he didn't kill anyone. And because the victim was a bitch in school you have no sympathy for her.

She could be the biggest cnut on the planet and it still does not mean that she is any less a rape victim and he is any less of a rapist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

mod: Chemical Byrne don't post in the thread again
    Furthermore, let's drop the replying to Chemical Byrne also, folks since they're not allowed to reply
    Edit: user has been banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Lad who bullied me at school went on to stab somebody to death. A nasty individual

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

tubs12 wrote: »
    I used to work in a pub a couple of years ago.Pub was not doing the best so i always obliged to the after hours drinks.One night i had one guy left in the pub with me.He proceeded to tell me that he murdered someone and that they were buried not too far from the pub.At the time i dismissed it thinking the bottles of Guinness off the shelf had summoned this fabricated story.I never felt so uneasy in life.The next day i asked the regulars discreetly what was the gentlemen's story.My regular proceeded to tell me that it was common knowledge in the locality.Needless to say i left the job a month later

And you never went to the guards about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Met Mad Frankie Fraser before walking across the Ha'penny Bridge, lovely fellow he was.

Gave my youngster a few bob & left tickets for his 'An evening with..' show for me & my former OH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

An ex of mine murdered a woman and partially dismembered her body a year after we broke up :eek: He came from a very decent family and he wasn't a knacker but he was fairly cracked in the head and always in some sort of trouble. He was on bail for doing a few other unvelievable things when he committed the murder. I had a very lucky escape and I still often think about the poor woman who died and her poor family left behind :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭bolopapa

My dad(was), 2 brothers(is) are soldier. Does that count?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Met Mad Frankie Fraser before walking across the Ha'penny Bridge, lovely fellow he was.

Gave my youngster a few bob & left tickets for his 'An evening with..' show for me & my former OH

Really?

As much as his actions disgusted me when learning of them, I found the man himself to be interesting.
    His record of having been in mental institutions and prisons for half his adult life was intriguing to say the least.

I recently watched a video of him and he really didn't seem to be someone with affiliations with 1960's British gangsters, reminded me more of drunken fools proclaiming their membership and activities for the IRA. Alas, the deception in the character!

As for myself, I once knew somebody who raped a girl who subsequently killed herself. Last I heard, he got 5 years in prison but the sentence has been extended as a result of him orchestrating and committing an attack against another inmate and injuring a prison guard in the process.
    He's not strictly a murderer(might as well be from my perspective) but he's one of the most malevolent people I've known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

I googled the name of an ex partner recently and found out he had been arrested before I met him (back in the late 90s) for stabbing a man 40 times in Australia. He was in prison for 15months while the case went to court twice.

He got off, there was not enough evidence apparently although it was clear he had done it (you would have to read the story to know what I mean).

We separated after one night he put his hands around my throat.

It is frightening to think people capable of this are walking around free. He committed the crime when he was 26, I think. We just have to be careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

Really?

As much as his actions disgusted me when learning of them, I found the man himself to be interesting.
    His record of having been in mental institutions and prisons for half his adult life was intriguing to say the least.

I recently watched a video of him and he really didn't seem to be someone with affiliations with 1960's British gangsters, reminded me more of drunken fools proclaiming their membership and activities for the IRA. Alas, the deception in the character!

As for myself, I once knew somebody who raped a girl who subsequently killed herself. Last I heard, he got 5 years in prison but the sentence has been extended as a result of him orchestrating and committing an attack against another inmate and injuring a prison guard in the process.
    He's not strictly a murderer(might as well be from my perspective) but he's one of the most malevolent people I've known.

I would remind you that Frankie Fraser was an enforcer for the Kray twins, one of whom was a notorious paedophile. I wonder who procured the children and threatened victims who wanted to speak out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

A few I know of and a few more I suspect.

I knew my great-grandfather as a child. He'd been an Ardito during WWI, so it's a pretty safe bet that he killed and had done so close and personal.

He died when I was eight and later, in my teens, I discovered that in the run up to WWII, he's ordered a few things that would have probably put him in hot water post-War, were the Americans not so worried that the communists could have taken over Italy. Shìt happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

A relative of mine is married to someone who killed someone years ago. This person is now in a psychiatric hospital and there doesn't seem to be any sign of them coming out. My relative visits every week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

I knew a guy through an ex of mine who ended up shooting someone in the head at point blank range. The murderer is an utter scumbag and it will do the world good to have him off the streets for a long time to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,081 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

At the place my brother works all discussion of Graham Dwyer has been banned on company property, they all knew him. So did a lot of boards users in the radio controlled/modeling boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,943 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I knew a lad growing up who went to prison for manslaughter,
    The story goes someone robbed a car outside a 21st party and was doing handbrakers around the car park ,
    When the people inside heard, a gang of lads went out and pulled your man from the car and beat him up and he died,
    Supposedly the one guy owned up to aiming one kick at him and said it was in the head so he got locked up for it and no one else did,
    Thats the story anyway not sure how true it is,

He was always a pleasant nice fella so it came as a shock to hear,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Rory Gallagher

I would remind you that Frankie Fraser was an enforcer for the Kray twins, one of whom was a notorious paedophile. I wonder who procured the children and threatened victims who wanted to speak out?

I would remind you that Frankie Fraser infact was an enforcer for the Richardson gang, rivals of the Kray twins.
    I would also remind you that I did not even imply that I condoned the actions of an obviously twisted individual.I found him intriguing not endearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

I would remind you that Frankie Fraser infact was an enforcer for the Richardson gang, rivals of the Kray twins.
    I would also remind you that I did not even imply that I condoned the actions of an obviously twisted individual.I found him intriguing not endearing.

You're right, I was mixing him up with this guy: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frank_Mitchell_(prisoner)

Although as it happens one of their main enforcers was actually Tony Lambrianou:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1456615/East-End-gangsters-mourn-the-Krays-enforcer.html

I never said you were condoning the actions of Fraser, I was simply reminding you that behind the image of these old school 'gentlemen gangsters' are some truly nasty scumbags. The public tend to forget that.

When the people inside heard, a gang of lads went out and pulled your man from the car and beat him up and he died,
    Supposedly the one guy owned up to aiming one kick at him and said it was in the head so he got locked up for it and no one else did,
    Thats the story anyway not sure how true it is...

It sounds true, man joins in with group beating up other man, kicks other man in the head, other man dies, first man gets jail for manslaughter. He can hardly be too upset about the verdict, or expect differently. Presume he had the option of identifying others if he feels upset that he was the only guy caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Yeah was in school with a lad from primary right up through secondary, He killed someone in a very brutal manner and is now serving life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭louthguy25

Hi, i have just found out a friend of mines dad served 5 years when we were younger for killing someone while drink driving. I don't remember him being in jail but i suppose i was young and naive. His dad always seemed sound to me but now i know he deprived a family of their dad and husband because he was so stupid to drink and drive i dont see him as the same person

Am i being stupid? I couldnt live with myself if i done this to a family (even more so since i have a young family myself) and i know his dad still drinks and drives and acts like he doesnt have a care in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

The same thread popped up a few months ago was surprised at how many people knew someone who had!

Given certain circumstances I'm sure you would be able to justify it to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I knew someone who killed everyone once..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I know a chap, let's call him Johnny, who shot someone in Reno. Said he did it just to watch him die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did you any any?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

A couple of lads I went to school with killed people in separate drunk driving incidents.
    louthguy25 wrote: »
    Hi, i have just found out a friend of mines dad served 5 years when we were younger for killing someone while drink driving. I don't remember him being in jail but i suppose i was young and naive. His dad always seemed sound to me but now i know he deprived a family of their dad and husband because he was so stupid to drink and drive i dont see him as the same person

Am i being stupid? I couldnt live with myself if i done this to a family (even more so since i have a young family myself) and i know his dad still drinks and drives and acts like he doesnt have a care in the world
    biko wrote: »
    Did you any any?

Yep.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,209 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I think Hitler killed a couple of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I just couldn't be bothering repeating what I wrote on the recent identical thread.

But, in short, yes. People kill people in wars.

Yes, traffic accidents happen - not all fatal accidents involve drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Unintentionally, I know dozens, if not hundreds.

Deliberately, I know a few.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I worked with Swiss guy once, and went for beers with him and his brother when he visited Dublin. He told me afterwards his brother worked for a certain Swiss Eugenics clinic, no idea if it was true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

MarkR wrote: »
    I think Hitler killed a couple of people.

It was all a bit of a misunderstanding. Jesus said he fed 5000 with 5 loaves and 2 fish. Hitler retorted saying he made 6 million jews toast, the legend grew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,335 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

A couple of lads I went to school with killed people in separate drunk driving incidents.

Jesus, where did you go to school???