Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 10/04/2015 to 16/06/2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I hate to hear of anyone losing their job.

However, there is a time and a place for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Standing yapping all day with the odd few sales of tights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

"you were very good at it too"

How the f*ck do you know Joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

have to admit it's a sad day when Clerys is shut...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Get a room you two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

This one knows feckin everyone.

howya marty petal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

JM Skipton wrote: »
    I can't remember the last time I was in Clearys, did anyone even shop there anymore?

I was in there about three years ago looking for a suit (one for all occasions). Selection for me (early 40's) was dreadful. Got a Strellson in Arnott's instead.

Clerys has been going downhill a lot recently. They should have sublet the individual departments out to main High Street retailers years ago, they would keep the stock (and employees) fresh.

What's a floor walker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

She seems to have been more into auld gossipy chat than work. No wonder the shop got into trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,941 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Clery's FM
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I met someone under the clock there a couple of Saturday afternoons ago, didn't have the urge to even stroll through.

Unforseen consequences of the closure. Now where are people going to meet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Jaysis, is it not enough that he's destroyed Lyric FM

Flukey wrote: »
    Unforseen consequences of the closure. Now where are people going to meet?

Tinder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

They keep saying not enough people for a sit in...what about the 2 guys in the crane?

"you were very good at it too"

How the f*ck do you know Joe?

Joe had to buy his tights from a discreet supplier. The cat's out of the bag now, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Once Marty stopped buying his hair colour products in clerys, the writing was on the wall

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

i bet this wan thought she knew it all just because she was there 44 years, the managers probably couldn't wait to get rid of her!

What's a floor walker?

Retail equivalent of radio presenter telephonist I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

"Orders", if you don't have things people want in stock they go elsewhere, it's a shirt your buying not a pink S Class Mercedes.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    She seems to have been more into auld gossipy chat than work. No wonder the shop got into trouble?

Yeah, and the only thing she seemed to sell was tights, hardly something to make her fortune on.

Shouldn't that be obvious to everyone

M

Perhaps the council could have funded a 1km travelator from the door of Brown Thomas to Clerys, that would have sorted it all out.

Jaysus, theres marty again

What did all the workers do when it was closed there for ages after the flood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Roger_007 wrote: »

the average age of the staff seemed to be 70+

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

Times were tights then

Marty as a guest, then Marty in the ads. RTE know which side their bread is buttered.

Now there's a coincidence. Marty on LiveLine and an ad for Winning Streak.

What's a floor walker?

Not quite the same as a streetwalker.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    i bet this wan thought she knew it all just because she was there 44 years, the managers probably couldn't wait to get rid of her!

You have to wonder, after being there that long why wasn't she management.

Well she's a streetwalker now

Joe backtracking at the rate of knots there.

Joe not letting those callers on complaining about him, and it's the closest you'll get to hearing an apology read out by him.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Not quite the same as a streetwalker.

...or a kerb crawler.

"I was very tempted" if I was there 44 years they would only have dragged me out screaming

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Joe not letting those callers on complaining about him, and it's the closest you'll get to hearing an apology read out by him.

Yeah, pretending it was the dentist who said it and not him. Such a chancer.

Joe - the communist on €275,000 pa

"I was very tempted" if I was there 44 years they would only have dragged me out screaming

Shows how little they really cared. I'm astonished there weren't at least a hundred of them staying put.

M

They should turn Clerys in to an ice rink on the ground floor for the childeriden.

M

I presume their pension fund is safe?

If I was there 44 years, I'd be seriously wondering about my sanity.

knickers

my friend wrote: »
    Joe - the communist on €275,000 pa

Did he take a cut?

Started in the corset department and now Clery's bust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ah now heyor:eek: