Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marriage redefinition and Childrens rights

1141516171820»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

In fairness Links, by their logic, as transgender, you should be the perfect parent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

sup_dude wrote: »
    In fairness Links, by their logic, as transgender, you should be the perfect parent.

Ah I think they'd be afraid that I'd warp any kids I might have, probably raise them on a steady diet of Star Trek and Ghibli, or they might be right to worry, what if my taste in music rubs off on them? What then? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Cienciano wrote: »
    I'd rather spend 35 minutes shaving my ballbag with a straight razor than watch him.

What an image :) This suggestion made my day!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭To Need a Woman

I heard Michael Martin say that Finn Fail are in favour of gay marriage(yesterday ardeche). Fine Fail are becoming a good party & I think they have mended their ways. This is yet another example of how they are a politically fashion forward thinking party.

Homosexuals are people too! Go Fine Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I'd appreciate hearing one No campaigner articulate how a No vote will pragmatically improve any child's circumstances in this country before claiming a monopoly on concern for the welfare of children.

Believe me, I've thought long and hard about kids here. I've put this question to three no campaigners and have never had a straight answer. It's as if they haven't actually thought about this! The most common answer I get is 'it will vindicate the right to a mother and father' - a statement that typically precedes acceptance that if the referendum fails, it would not be in the interest of any child to be taken away from their gay parents to be given to a mother and father.

This referendum is not about one group's ideals. It's not a referendum on who has kids. As far as kids go, it's simply about whether we want to give the option of first class legal status and protection in this country to only some two parent households or to more. The argument for withholding status as a means of deterrence is an argument for throwing some families under the constitutional bus. Because yes or no, there will always be kids being raised by same sex parents.

I heard Michael Martin say that Finn Fail are in favour of gay marriage(yesterday ardeche). Fine Fail are becoming a good party & I think they have mended their ways. This is yet another example of how they are a politically fashion forward thinking party.

Homosexuals are people too! Go Fine Fail

What's your point?

I'm genuinely curious, are you suggesting that because Fianna Fail are backing marriage equality that all is suddenly forgiven?

Links234 wrote: »
    What's your point?

I'm genuinely curious, are you suggesting that because Fianna Fail are backing marriage equality that all is suddenly forgiven?
    I was taking the piss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭S.O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

S.O., do you know what you're voting on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭otto_26

Well, if anyone is qualified for that its hardline Catholics.

But even more qualified are hardline non religious people :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

otto_26 wrote: »
    But even more qualified are hardline non religious people :rolleyes:

You've nothing to worry about, Enver Hoxha hasn't taken over any LGBT activist boy in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Patrick Wheelock

Links234 wrote: »
    What's your point?

So because Fianna Fail are in favour of a YES vote, you're going to vote NO?

Arseh*le.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

S.O wrote: »

Have you found out what happens to a child without a mother or a father yet? Or have you disappeared until you find another random link from the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Arseh*le.

Christ almighty, Links is the last person who'd vote no...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Arseh*le.

Where did they say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 wetfoot

I've been trying my best to follow all the assorted arguments about marriage and gays but I've become a bit confused as most of the talk seems to be about children and how married gays will affect children.

Does this mean that if gay marriage becomes law, as a gay, I'm going to be allocated one? Will it be compulsory for gays to have children? If so, I'm voting no. I'm perfectly happy with the cat and the dog and my walls don't wipe clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

wetfoot wrote: »
    I've been trying my best to follow all the assorted arguments about marriage and gays but I've become a bit confused as most of the talk seems to be about children and how married gays will affect children.

Does this mean that if gay marriage becomes law, as a gay, I'm going to be allocated one? Will it be compulsory for gays to have children? If so, I'm voting no. I'm perfectly happy with the cat and the dog and my walls don't wipe clean.

Does my having the grand kids for a night and most of a day twice a month count towards my allocation cos honestly, I'm so over the whole child rearing lark and I have 5 dogs like and they take priority now...

Arseh*le.

Um, yes. That's exactly it. I was all aboard the yes train, but as soon as someone I don't like said they supported yes, I was all like ah **** it I'm voting now just to spite them. Totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

That's the least of your problems, you're going to have to take up loud sodomy as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Does my having the grand kids for a night and most of a day twice a month count towards my allocation cos honestly, I'm so over the whole child rearing lark and I have 5 dogs like and they take priority now...

FIVE now? Feck sake woman, you're one of the big hearts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,445 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Trudiha wrote: »
    That's the least of your problems, you're going to have to take up loud sodomy as well.

Fcuk it, I've been doing it wrong all this time! :pac:

I'm going to run into issues with the neighbours if I get any louder. Am hetero though, so maybe I'm discounted....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 wetfoot

Well, I'd rather that than communism or children.

I like your priorities. I fecked up on the children part of that, but in fairness they were worth it. However, my walls aren't delighted with them. Or floors. Or soft furnishings. Or ears, head-space, TV choice, etc.

The usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Does your child refer to others as comrade? Does your child refer to the country as the motherland? Does you child wish to see privately owned business be owned by the state instead?

If you answered yes to any of these questions your child may be gay.

Does your child refer to others as comrade? Does your child refer to the country as the motherland? Does you child wish to see privately owned business be owned by the state instead?

If you answered yes to any of these questions your child may be gay.

oh ffs!

My son is a capitalist - all those years of fabulous gay parenting gone to waste. :mad:

I'm so ashamed comrades.

You have received a warning! Not all homosexuals undergo that act!

However, it will be law that any homo couple who adopt kids will have to do their sodomy quietly... so they don't leave a mark on the kids!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

...what the hell are you on about?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I love the way the No voters think.

Hetero couple who have kids and one turns out to be gay - no issue
    Gay couple who have kids and one turns out to be gay - child hadn't a chance

What the hell is wrong with being gay anyway? If a child discovers that they are gay - the result is they are gay. It's not a choice. A hetero couple can't make their kids hetero, a gay couple can't make their kids gay.

Even if they could - what's the issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Hyzepher wrote: »
    I love the way the No voters think.

Hetero couple who have kids and one turns out to be gay - no issue
    Gay couple who have kids and one turns out to be gay - child hadn't a chance

What the hell is wrong with being gay anyway? If a child discovers that they are gay - the result is they are gay. It's not a choice. A hetero couple can't make their kids hetero, a gay couple can't make their kids gay.

Even if they could - what's the issue?

Gays will take over and it will be the end of the human race as we know it. Obviously. Duh. Get with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

If you had all been paying more attention to the Liberal Agenda (I have my copy right here) you'd know what was going on. Marxism, spread using Anti-family, cultural marxist ray guns.

A member of the PC Master Brigade told me so.

Don't forget the gays are also communists. Because reasons.

Communists supported by poster stealing/defacing Fascists to be exact.

How did Elton John manage to get a hold of two boys even when there wasn't a law for it? Although there might be now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

How did Elton John manage to get a hold of two boys even when there wasn't a law for it? Although there might be now!

maybe because he lives in a different country

No he obviously kidnapped them. Gays, always up to no good.

Is that sarcasm?? You have received a warning!

I'll let Elton off the hook. I'd have to... after writing a song like 'Sartorial Elequence'. Man, gotta love that

Is that sarcasm?? You have received a warning!

I'll let Elton off the hook. I'd have to... after writing a song like 'Sartorial Elequence'. Man, gotta love that

Is that back seat moderating?

I'll let you off the hook because you let Elton off the hook. I'm sound like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

I want a camera on David Quinn and Breda O'Brien when the Yes vote wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I want a camera on David Quinn and Breda O'Brien then the Yes vote wins!

i got about two thirds of the way through that sentence and suddenly got terrified as to where it was going.

There is however one gay guy who opposed gay marriage. What's his name again?

Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Mr. Garrison in South Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Probably Daffyd, still adamant hes the only gay in the village

There's straight people against straight marriage and we never pass any remarks on them. Why should that fella be any different?

Possibly because he is willingly allowing himself to be used as a 'Vote No because not all gays want to get married' poster boy. Annnd... not many straight people will say it's ok to beat someone up for being straight... which is frankly a very 'odd' way of looking at the world. Some would say it contains an element of self-hatred but I am sticking with 'odd'...

Paddy.
    No seriously, he was on either the late late or brendan o connor 2 years ago. If ye homos listened to him, it might be enough to get through to ye

Banned

No seriously, he was on either the late late or brendan o connor 2 years ago. If ye homos listened to him, it might be enough to get through to ye

Wut? :confused:

If you listened to the gay campaigning for a No Vote (a quick google makes me think she's talking about Keith Mills) talking on the Late Late Show two years ago then you would have realised that gay marriage is a non-runner but obviously you missed him so we're all doomed!!!

Like I watch the Late Late Show daarlings :rolleyes: