Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Contractor near here did a good bit of sub work but not for the last 4 years, they dont pay very quickly. Nah they are well known, and avoided if possible.
    The owner warren scott has the home farm on the edge of a town, goes contract farming by selling a few acres at 80k a piece until he needs more cash.

That's him. I'd see him driving out fields in his blacked out bentley, sold land for development outside buntingford for £20million. He runs a touring car team in his spare time I was told... Not the best crew to work for. Have an AD as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Great photo's, 290!

Were ye based out of Royston this year?

That first photo was mearing the golf course in Royston! Not a huge amount there anymore as it's very far away, 40 mile round trip. Did a 280 mile day in the tractor one of the days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Bales a few weeks ago
    399049.jpg

There now. I need to figure out how to reduce the size of the photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Jaysus. Terrible view

Bales a few weeks ago

What a view...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Bales a few weeks ago

Fabulous view there darragh

MF290 wrote: »
    What a view...

This is from up on the hill. Very rarely do silage up here

399057.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

That makes two of us.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

If a bale starts rolling is there a splash shortly afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

blue5000 wrote: »
    That makes two of us.

theres some online ones but if you have a full version of office theres a programme that will do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    After Caesin and the washing of the plant after cream and butter manufacture.

High in K is it ?? We've the same JCB except with a front grill. Their a famous digger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭davidk1394

This is from up on the hill. Very rarely do silage up here

399057.jpg

I hope there's a good handbrake on that fendt :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭visatorro

Anyone ever use a bale unwinder?. Was looking at one for the loader. Have narrow feed and an fed up graping /forking in silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭queueeye

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's the way I like to work the machines. No panic and loads of craic. Hate when there is a major panic on

Is that one of the difference between full and part time farming? With falling prices over the last few years, I find pressure is definitely up and craic is really at a premium.

queueeye wrote: »
    Is that one of the difference between full and part time farming? With falling prices over the last few years, I find pressure is definitely up and craic is really at a premium.

It really depends on the individual im working for. Some lads give ya loads of notice and you can take your time and other ones wait till the last second and baler is right up your ass and not even a chance got a piss break

If a bale starts rolling is there a splash shortly afterwards

There would be a slight wait for the splash. 250 to 300ft vertical cliff just in front of where the fendt is heading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Any fans of old Fiats here?
    A few pics I took when on the holidays. Relaxed attitude to passengers at French tractor shows! :D

IXdKy4l.jpg

rQB1VAQ.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,704 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

[QUOTE=davidk1394;I hope there's a good handbrake on that fendt :P[/QUOTE]

That's why the door is open.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There would be a slight wait for the splash. 250 to 300ft vertical cliff just in front of where the fendt is heading.

I remember side filling on a side hill in a spot like that around here. I could see over the cab of the tractor on the harvester on one particularly hairy stretch. There wouldn't have been quite the wait there as the cliffs were only around 100-120ft at the end of the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I thought this post would fit in here:D
    DRILL PRESS
    A tall upright machine useful for suddenly snatching flat metal bar stock out of your hands so that it smacks you in the chest and flings your beer across the room, denting the freshly-painted project which you had carefully set in the corner where nothing could get to it.

WIRE WHEEL
    Cleans paint off bolts and then throws them somewhere under the workbench with the speed of light. Also removes fingerprints and hard-earned callouses from fingers in about the time it takes you to say, "Oh, s !"

SKILL SAW
    A portable cutting tool used to make studs too short.

PLIERS
    Used to round off bolt heads. Sometimes used in the creation of blood-blisters.

BELT SANDER
    An electric sanding tool commonly used to convert minor touch-up jobs into major refinishing jobs.

HACKSAW
    One of a family of cutting tools built on the Ouija board principle. It transforms human energy into a crooked, unpredictable motion, and the more you attempt to influence its course, the more dismal your future becomes.

VISE-GRIPS
    Generally used after pliers to completely round off bolt heads. If nothing else is available, they can also be used to transfer intense welding heat to the palm of your hand.

OXYACETYLENE TORCH
    Used almost entirely for lighting various flammable objects in your shop on fire. Also handy for igniting the grease inside the wheel hub out of which you want to remove a bearing race.

TABLE SAW
    A large stationary power tool commonly used to launch wood projectiles for testing wall integrity.

HYDRAULIC FLOOR JACK
    Used for lowering an automobile to the ground after you have installed your new brake shoes, trapping the jack handle firmly under the bumper.

BAND SAW
    A large stationary power saw primarily used by most shops to cut good aluminum sheet into smaller pieces that more easily fit into the trash can after you cut on the inside of the line instead of the outside edge.

TWO-TON ENGINE HOIST
    A tool for testing the maximum tensile strength of everything you forgot to disconnect.

PHILLIPS SCREWDRIVER
    Normally used to stab the vacuum seals under lids or for opening old-style paper-and-tin oil cans and splashing oil on your shirt, but can also be used, as the name implies, to strip out Phillips screw heads.

STRAIGHT SCREWDRIVER
    A tool for opening paint cans. Sometimes used to convert common slotted screws into non-removable screws and butchering your palms.

PRY BAR
    A tool used to crumple the metal surrounding that clip or bracket you needed to remove in order to replace a 50 pence part.

HOSE CUTTER
    A tool used to make hoses too short.

HAMMER
    Originally employed as a weapon of war, the hammer nowadays is used as a kind of divining rod to locate the most expensive parts adjacent the object we are trying to hit.

UTILITY KNIFE
    Used to open and slice through the contents of cardboard cartons delivered to your front door; works particularly well on contents such as seats, vinyl records, liquids in plastic bottles, collector magazines, refund checks, and rubber or plastic parts. Especially useful for slicing work clothes, but only while in use.

Son of a bitch TOOL
    Any handy tool that you grab and throw across the garage while yelling "Son of a bitch" at the top of your lungs. It is also, most often, the next tool that you will need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ah that made me laugh. Only because it's so true:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Spot the digger☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Spot the digger☺

Is that in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

Spot the digger☺

Bangor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

mayota wrote: »
    Bangor?

Yup. View coming in from Ballycroy

Just spotted this item on the bbc news website.
    The tractor auctions in ely, Cambridgeshire.
    A piece on it tonight on bbc westmidlands at 7.30.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-coventry-warwickshire-37726418

Off she goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Off she goes

There goes the cleanest 398 in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

Reggie. wrote:
    Off she goes

There's always that feeling when a tractor is going 'have I made the right decision, what will the next owner be like, hope he treats her right''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

There's always that feeling when a tractor is going 'have I made the right decision, what will the next owner be like, hope he treats her right''

Unfortunately no one will treat her as well as Reggie. Btw Reggie is the Landini good to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Off she goes

Did you sell her to Flynns in Killucan ?

Was a private sale a headache ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Sometimes I watch the combine and think it's magic
    Found this sucker, it's like 2 combines and a wagon

Sold to a she and no it ain't Whelan :)

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Did you sell her to Flynns in Killucan ?

Was a private sale a headache ?

She was traded in against the landini

Off she goes

:D:D:D:D:D:D;)

pedigree 6 wrote: »

:D:D:D:D:D:D;)

Cheeky swine

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Sometimes I watch the combine and think it's magic
    Found this sucker, it's like 2 combines and a wagon

That's some machine.

I wonder what the feed value of that crop is?

Sold to a she and no it ain't Whelan :)

2 lady drivers so far then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

MF290 wrote: »
    2 lady drivers so far then😉

If you hear a strange tank like rumbling coming down the road tonight it wont be reggie and the partime job coming to visit.

That's some machine.

I wonder what the feed value of that crop is?

Its hemp for fibre by the looks of it?
    Cant say what the leaves are for though, feed like you say i guess

Its hemp for fibre by the looks of it?
    Cant say what the leaves are for though, feed like you say i guess

Yea it explains it in the clip.
    The stems are left in rows behind for fibre and the leaves/tops are collected in the top for cattle feed.

They'd be a right job for kowtow's cows. He could charge a premium for the cheese.:P

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Unfortunately no one will treat her as well as Reggie. Btw Reggie is the Landini good to go?

Early next week but I'm not for for it yet :(

Hows the head now?

Yea it explains it in the clip.
    The stems are left in rows behind for fibre and the leaves/tops are collected in the top for cattle feed.

They'd be a right job for kowtow's cows. He could charge a premium for the cheese.:P

I think he maybe be missing a few of the required genes for that, im sure someone in internet land could help his flax plantation :pac:.. Certainly be a niche cheese product

If you hear a strange tank like rumbling coming down the road tonight it wont be reggie and the partime job coming to visit.

He'd never hear us coming ;)

Hows the head now?

Yesterday and this morning were no fun tbh

Is it just wait about or have you had any scans or that?
    Not conducive to quality of life, army/insurance cover for sick pay etc?

Is it just wait about or have you had any scans or that?
    Not conducive to quality of life, army/insurance cover for sick pay etc?

It depends on what I do. If I do too much physically that can trigger it so it's a bit like russian roulette