Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

stanflt wrote: »
    Santa was good here too-was really good last yr

And there was me thinking that maybe you washed it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

stanflt wrote:
    Santa was good here too-was really good last yr

Is that a new geaneration t6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭stanflt

Is that a new geaneration t6?

YeAh new model t6.145

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I just had an accident in my pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Muckit wrote: »
    I just had an accident in my pants

Of the good kind?

Tis a nice tractor/loader setup

stanflt wrote:
    YeAh new model t6.145

Oh yeah. She range command isn't she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭Grueller

YeAh new model t6.145

Well wear.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

YeAh new model t6.145

Really like the look of the new t6 with the facelift and leds. We'd a demo one for a few days. Haven't spent much time on nhs but I'd find the electrocommand annoying, why can't you get the range command in the smaller models?

MF290 wrote: »
    Really like the look of the new t6 with the facelift and leds. We'd a demo one for a few days. Haven't spent much time on nhs but I'd find the electrocommand annoying, why can't you get the range command in the smaller models?

You cant get the range command anymore. If you want cab suspension you have to go electric command

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Reggie. wrote: »
    You cant get the range command anymore. If you want cab suspension you have to go electric command

That's a pity. On the plus side the high low neutral lever is works great as a anti theft system. Left it in neutral and went to fetch some tools at the house. When I came back there was one of the bosses in the driver's seat wondering why the f it wouldn't move :D

Reggie. wrote:

Oh is rc gone? Suppose they were start in to phase it out as only 2 models of the old t7s were rc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭cute geoge

What is the difference between range command and electro command.I know you have to clutch to switch between high box and low box in electro command .in range command you clutch between a ,b & c range but what other difference is there

cute geoge wrote:
    What is the difference between range command and electro command.I know you have to clutch to switch between high box and low box in electro command .in range command you clutch between a ,b & c range but what other difference is there

On rc you just push a button to go between ranges and nothing for gears. Electro command is more of a gearstick I think, that's only diffrsnce I think

Oh is rc gone? Suppose they were start in to phase it out as only 2 models of the old t7s were rc

Yeah range command is gone. Only electronic command on all models now in the new facelift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I found this badge in the stone when I was cleaning around a drain pipe in the yard. Any of ye have any idea what it came off.

Base price wrote: »
    I found this badge in the stone when I was cleaning around a drain pipe in the yard. Any of ye have any idea what it came off.

Hardly off a 4 in one bucket was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭9935452

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Hardly off a 4 in one bucket was it?
    9935452 wrote: »
    Thanks lads.
    It could be from the 50b as it has a 4 in one bucket. Although I never remember seeing a badge on it. It's possible that it from another machine that was owned by a local contractor that did work here in the 90's.

Will be the 3rd I think but Base you can call in anytime pet

Did you get it Reggie?

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Did you get it Reggie?

The office lady never showed for work today so won't be registered till the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

//www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-tractor-amp-loader-mxm-140-tm/14073212?campaign=3
    998 hours???? With tyres like that???? I think someone was messin with that tractor with a laptop :). How thick does he think people are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

//www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-tractor-amp-loader-mxm-140-tm/14073212?campaign=3
    998 hours???? With tyres like that???? I think someone was messin with that tractor with a laptop :). How thick does he think people are.
    gone round the clock id say. must be 11000 hrs

The office lady never showed for work today so won't be registered till the morning

So...?

So...?

Up and running. Plates going on in the morning

Pics will be posted of course?

If you wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Would you not have stuck on the bit of cardboard with "For Reg(gie)" on it?........:)

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Is that the Irish for Army??

Odelay wrote: »
    Would you not have stuck on the bit of cardboard with "For Reg" on it?........:)

Double meaning there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

We got a bridgeway bale feeder a few months ago. Takes a while to get used to it, but once you learn how to load the bale correctly, and know what speed to drive the tractor its great. Really cuts down on the labor.

405557.jpg

405558.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

We got a bridgeway bale feeder a few months ago. Takes a while to get used to it, but once you learn how to load the bale correctly, and know what speed to drive the tractor its great. Really cuts down on the labor.

How do you find it with bales that are squashed from stacking, or do you stack on their ends? Well wear btw.

no we don't stack on the ends. The green bars stop those bales from falling off. The bale falls back into the cradle when it hits off those bars. As its ran of the spool valves, the speed of the rotation is very easily controlled. Its better to spin those out of shape bales a bit slower.
    There are a good few of those machines on the market in Ireland at the moment, they have been available in the states for a good few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

How did you find bridgeway to deal with? I thought there rep Liam a very ignorant individual. Would never ever consider them again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

Fine looking job there tb. Couple of questions if you don't mind. Does it take long to feed out a bale from the time you start the tractor?
    Is there a lot of up and down off the tractor or what's the sequence of events when using it?
    And finally, if you don't mind, how much? Pm if you want. Thanks

How did you find bridgeway to deal with? I thought there rep Liam a very ignorant individual. Would never ever consider them again

He's not the rep..... he's the owner!! And I know what you mean.

Every lad has his own way of doing things, but I wonder is there much of a need for those bale unrollers now that most silage bales are chopped? You still have to take off the blasted net and wrap. In the states they'd be feeding mostly hay with them.

If there were two similar sheds side by side and two lads one with a tractor with a simple €300 bale spike and the other had an unroller machine, would there be much time saved putting in a bale?

I thought they were grand to deal with it. There was a little niggle with it 2-3 weeks after we got it, they called out and its been grand ever since.
    Fine looking job there tb. Couple of questions if you don't mind. Does it take long to feed out a bale from the time you start the tractor?
    Is there a lot of up and down off the tractor or what's the sequence of events when using it?
    And finally, if you don't mind, how much? Pm if you want. Thanks

The amount of time you need to get up and down off the tractor really depends on the operator, and how experienced you are with the machine as it can take a while to get used to it.
    We take the plastic off all the bales at the start, so you only need to get off the tractor to remove the net. Between disconnecting the body, loading a new bale, taking off the net and reattaching the body, it probably takes 5 mins. Once loaded, a bale in good shape would be feed out in around 1 minute. However, a lot of that time is spent making sure you don't hit cows heads with wheels! they are slowly learning to keep them in now. Usually takes me 45 mins to feed 9 bays. PM sent about the price

Muckit wrote: »
    Every lad has his own way of doing things, but I wonder is there much of a need for those bale unrollers now that most silage bales are chopped? You still have to take off the blasted net and wrap. In the states they'd be feeding mostly hay with them.

If there were two similar sheds side by side and two lads one with a tractor with a simple €300 bale spike and the other had an unroller machine, would there be much time saved putting in a bale?

In all honestly, there is not a massive amount of time saved, once you know the ins and outs of the machine, you might save 20% of your time. Takes me around 45 mins to feed 9 bays from start to finish.
    What is saved though is labor. My dad has had both hips done in the last 2 years, so anything that can save him from forking is very welcome. When thats taken into consideration, and the spread the cost over the lifetime of the machine, I think we went for the right option.
    Also, now were only feeding the cattle as much as they are going to eat, instead of leaving mounds of silage at each bay.

Having a hydraulic top link makes taking off the net much easier, as you can hover the bale over the feeder, then angle it up and easily take off the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Muckit wrote:
    He's not the rep..... he's the owner!! And I know what you mean.

Bought a weed licker off him a few years ago and he's pig ignorant but bought off him stuff was well priced at the time.

Is there much of a difference between that unroller and the rotaspike they do?

Totally different machines. I've only seen the rotospike on youtube, it doesn't leave silage at the feeder, just unwinds the bale.

We only handle 50 round bales a year couldn't justify the unroller but the rotospike I might be able to convince myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

We only handle 50 round bales a year couldn't justify the unroller but the rotospike I might be able to convince myself.

you be better off with a back end loader and grab on it

I just roll them out with the grab on the front loader atm. Looks like I'll be staying with that for the near future anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Bought a weed licker off him a few years ago and he's pig ignorant but bought off him stuff was well priced at the time.

Is there much of a difference between that unroller and the rotaspike they do?

In what way is he ignorant

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

I thought they were grand to deal with it. There was a little niggle with it 2-3 weeks after we got it, they called out and its been grand ever since.

The amount of time you need to get up and down off the tractor really depends on the operator, and how experienced you are with the machine as it can take a while to get used to it.
    We take the plastic off all the bales at the start, so you only need to get off the tractor to remove the net. Between disconnecting the body, loading a new bale, taking off the net and reattaching the body, it probably takes 5 mins. Once loaded, a bale in good shape would be feed out in around 1 minute. However, a lot of that time is spent making sure you don't hit cows heads with wheels! they are slowly learning to keep them in now. Usually takes me 45 mins to feed 9 bays. PM sent about the price

How many bales in 45 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

I just roll them out with the grab on the front loader atm. Looks like I'll be staying with that for the near future anyway.

Have you considered a bale splitter on the back of the tractor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,777 ✭✭✭jaymla627

In all honestly, there is not a massive amount of time saved, once you know the ins and outs of the machine, you might save 20% of your time. Takes me around 45 mins to feed 9 bays from start to finish.
    What is saved though is labor. My dad has had both hips done in the last 2 years, so anything that can save him from forking is very welcome. When thats taken into consideration, and the spread the cost over the lifetime of the machine, I think we went for the right option.
    Also, now were only feeding the cattle as much as they are going to eat, instead of leaving mounds of silage at each bay.

Having a hydraulic top link makes taking off the net much easier, as you can hover the bale over the feeder, then angle it up and easily take off the net.

The trailed bale unwinders are the proper job, they have a spike on the back for loading so no need to be messing around with pipes and unhitching, also carry two bales at a time one on the table and one on the spike.....
    have never seen them in ireland/england but operated them out in australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

They are really made for feeding out in the field and not useing ring feeders.

How many bales in 45 minutes?

I'd say the articulation with loader is handy for pushing in silage