Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever meet your hero/someone famous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I bet it's Damien Dempsey

I bet it's Hitler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Saw Halley's Comet in 1986.

Boring old sh1te so he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

grugni wrote: »
    Met Matthew McConaghey and Sarah Jessica Parker on a random drunken night it in the hills of Donegal although I didn't realize it until afterwards when my GF told me as in my stupor I didn't recognize them. Was chatting to them for a good 20 minutes and having a good laugh with them
    Matthew Broderick would be very interested to hear about this, I'd imagine.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Met Matthew McConaghey and Sarah Jessica Parker on a random drunken night it in the hills of Donegal although I didn't realize it until afterwards when my GF told me as in my stupor I didn't recognize them. Was chatting to them for a good 20 minutes and having a good laugh with them

Matthew Broderick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

My Auntie Mary met Gary Glitter in the early 1970s- she said he was really friendly.:)

Was she about 12?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I saw Britney Spears and the ginger chap from homeland and band of brothers on the same street at the same time in London once.
    JK Rowling is the only one I really like, wasn't the friendliest though.
    Enda Kenny as well.
    Oh I met David Cameron, Miliband, Gordon Brown, and Nigel Farage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭castle

Met Nicky English after Tipp won All Ireland and he best player in the country and as had few drinks on board proceeded to introduce a few yanks to him stating this is our Michael Jordan to which he found amusing but after introducing about the 10th yank I was asked to leave :)

Shane Lowry had to apologize to me as he drove the 4th green in the Castle GC as we where on it he was showing off to Brian O Driscoll and some guy from Love Hate (got the selfie with Lowry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭exgp

As a ten year old I met th e English comedian and actor, Terry Thomas, outside a theatre where his girlfriend was starring in a panto. I asked him for his autograph and he told me to F off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

I was out the back smoking - "new guy in sales". Walked back in and there's Jason Sherlock sitting down in the office. He was a hero of mine growing up."Boom, boom boom, lemme hear you say Jayo". It was surreal to end up working with him. Lovely guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭MathDebater

Doesn't SJP own a holiday home in Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Crazy how many people decide their heroes are sound after the most brief encounters when the objective of the "star" would surely be to avoid confrontation, smile and give off a friendly approachable vibe while simultaneously extracting themselves from your presence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Got a nod and a smile from Bill Clinton once ........

Met Kevin Spacey one morning on my way to work, as lovely a gent as you would expect him to be ...........

Met Mariah Carey once and guess what .......... she was one of the nicest warmest people I've ever met! Was quite surprised.

Met Enda Kenny ........ total knob!

Met Brendan O'Carroll twice ......... first time he was a complete prick ......... the second time he was less prickish ........ but still a little bit of a prick.

Met Brendan O'Connor and Eamon Dunphy out together (a couple of times actually) ......... both are complete and utter vile human beings ....... in my opinion.

Met Brendan Gleeson and Mel Gibson ......... both were as sound as it is humanly possible to be ......... great lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Shandashey

Spent a mad 2 nights with Norman Reedus in Prague one time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭CFlat

I worked on a film set back in the early 90s.The film was called Widow's Peak. It crashed and burned but it had a pretty decent cast.

Mia Farrow was lovely. I was afraid to talk to her but she always said hello with a nice smile. Had lunch one day in the catering truck(which was a double decker bus) with Adrian Dunbarr, he was a good bit of fun. Joan Plowright was chaffeured everywhere so didn't see much of her. Natascha Richardson was one of the cast members too. Neeson was on the set one of the days.

I played a gig once with Aongus McAnally. He's a really talented guitar player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭kilkenny12

Shandashey wrote: »
    Spent a mad 2 nights with Norman Reedus in Prague one time

:eek::eek:

Tell me more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Shandashey

kilkenny12 wrote: »
    :eek::eek:

Tell me more

He was filming Blade 2 & my friend's brother was working on it & we went over to visit. Ended up on a mad one with him & a few others, he is NUTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I bet it's Damien Dempsey

Guess again :D

I also met Steven Tyler and Brad Whitford from Aerosmith at a signing and they were total gents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Lad's please post up your experiences with nasty asshole celebs, the friendly stuff isn't really that interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭laros

Liam Cunningham (Davos from Game of Thrones)

To my wife..... Liam Cunningham is.. and will always be.... Mossie Sheehan from "Falling for a Dancer" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falling_for_a_Dancer

Lad's please post up your experiences with nasty asshole celebs, the friendly stuff isn't really that interesting.

Deepest apologies for meeting some nice celebs.

Also, maybe you should look at the stuff thats not said as opposed to the stuff that is. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭Archeron

I was at Eamonn Andrews funeral.

Archeron wrote: »
    I was at Eamonn Andrews funeral.

This Was Your Life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

Eric Clapton he was an absolute gent,he looked tired and weary but couldn't have been nicer.
    it's great when you meet someone you know is so especially talented and they are so humble and friendly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Met David Jason (aka 'Del Boy') a few years ago. He was an absolute and utter gentleman. Couldn't meet nicer. Friend of mine met him a couple of years later and said the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

CFlat wrote: »
    Deepest apologies for meeting some nice celebs.

Also, maybe you should look at the stuff thats not said as opposed to the stuff that is. Just saying.

Ah....it's true what they say. You should never meet your heroes........you'll only be disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Met Kevin Spacey one morning on my way to work, as lovely a gent as you would expect him to be
    Never met him, per say, but he was at one of those 'after' parties at the Sarajevo film festival a few years back. He had his hands full...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Hector came into a place that I worked in back in 2007, he was a bit of a d1ck. I think he may have been trying to be funny but it just wasn't funny. I asked him if he could enter his pin...He acted like an arse and said what, in the machine here, is it? I put my pin in here, yeah?....gob****e...

Worked in a different place with an ATM machine in the shop. A Mayo Football player came in one night, used the hole in the wall that was inside the shop. He just came in to use the machine, he didn't buy anything. As he was walking out, he threw his receipt from the machine onto the counter in front of me....I kind of figured he must be trying to rub it in my face how much he had in his account or something...turned out he only had a few hundred...another tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Hector came into a place that I worked in back in 2007, he was a bit of a d1ck. I think he may have been trying to be funny but it just wasn't funny. I asked him if he could enter his pin...He acted like an arse and said what, in the machine here, is it? I put my pin in here, yeah?....gob****e...

Worked in a different place with an ATM machine in the shop. A Mayo Football player came in one night, used the hole in the wall that was inside the shop. He just came in to use the machine, he didn't buy anything. As he was walking out, he threw his receipt from the machine onto the counter in front of me....I kind of figured he must be trying to rub it in my face how much he had in his account or something...turned out he only had a few hundred...another tool.
    Generally i would fear they would be an arse.
    I have a friend who works as a crew member on a lot of gigs in the music industry she maintains most humans don't handle fame well and a little fame is worse than a lot. It tends to be minor celebs who behave the worst.

She did a gig for westlife and she saw one of the guys later telling a waitress she would look good with his balls on her face.

Celebrities are not my thing really. A lot try to take advantage or abuse the fame they think they are entitled to. Or they spiral into a pattern of self abuse drugs and self image loathing. I think most just seem crazy. Maybe that's more youngish celebrities though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I kind of figured he must be trying to rub it in my face how much he had in his account or something...turned out he only had a few hundred...another tool.

But you just figured that bit - it's unlikely that's what he was doing.

I did meet Noam Chomsky though he was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Brian odriscol was a regular at tesco dun drum where I worked years ago and would often say hi an knew me name because first time I met him I chatted t him for ages.
    Dead sound but his accent would do your head in

Ha!

I've heard that Bono is meant to be an absolute gentleman.

Had a friend whose gf lived in an apartment beside Andrea Corr.

Said Bono was there a lot.

Anyway, said he was a horrific asshole. Used to park his car anywhere. Friend once pointed out to him that he was blocking others and he got the whole do you know who I am thing.

Anyway, that's what I heard, can't swear to it.

Said Andrea Corr was nice enough but very very very quiet.

Had a friend whose gf lived in an apartment beside Andrea Corr.

Said Bono was there a lot.

Anyway, said he was a horrific asshole.
    I've heard that too. Hat on a plane man is detached from reality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

At the end of the day, when all's said and done, they still shíte thru their arsehole like the rest of us......apart from Bono, who also does it thru his mouth it would seem.....

kfallon wrote: »
    At the end of the day, when all's said and done, they still shíte thru their arsehole like the rest of us......apart from Bono, who also does it thru his mouth it would seem.....
    True that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Gavin Friday - his alright. Bono & Edge also alright.

Sepultura - back in the day, had a session with them, not sure they were aware we invited ourselves to it, sitting at the same table, they were sound!

That's it, I am an anti social git anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

You met Hector and he acted like a complete gobshyte?? STOP THE FÚCKING PRESSES!!!!! By the way I'm not slagging you, I just can't stand that Hector clown. He came on the pitch at half time for the (1st) Hurling All-Ireland final last year and you could see how hard he was trying. It was pitiful...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Sepultura - back in the day, had a session with them, not sure they were aware we invited ourselves to it, sitting at the same table, they were sound!

Awesome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Bill Clinton.. twice sound man,

Bruce Springsteen and the E street band.. soundest bunch of lads ever.. Stevie Van Zandt is some legend.

Rory Mcilroy a bit of a langer

GMAC sound out

Most of th Munster team and Ireland Grand Slam team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭Wompa1

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    But you just figured that bit - it's unlikely that's what he was doing.

True. There's two options for that, I guess. Either

1.) He wanted me to see it
    2.) He's an ignorant f*ck that doesn't know how to use the waste basket for slips at the machine....I can honestly say, in my 7 years working there, nobody had ever thrown their pass machine receipt on the counter like that. Most people would prefer that nobody else see's it, they either stick it in their wallet or crumble it up and throw it in a bin

Both options, make him a gob****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭grugni

galljga1 wrote: »
    Matthew Broderick?

Nope, deffo McConaghey, I would know Broderick from that crappy Godzilla movie anyday!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

True. There's two options for that, I guess. Either

1.) He wanted me to see it
    2.) He's an ignorant f*ck that doesn't know how to use the waste basket for slips at the machine....I can honestly say, in my 7 years working there, nobody had ever thrown their pass machine receipt on the counter like that. Most people would prefer that nobody else see's it, they either stick it in their wallet or crumble it up and throw it in a bin

Both options, make him a gob****e

Was it Mort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Noel Gallagher. Sound fella and his wife is a hottie.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Met Steven Wilson at an album signing. While not a household name, he's probably my favourite musician and it took a lot of effort not to go full fanboy.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Brian odriscol was a regular at tesco dun drum where I worked years ago and would often say hi an knew me name because first time I met him I chatted t him for ages.
    Dead sound but his accent would do your head in

He likes his Nandos does Brian. He's been in there on more than one occasion when I've been eating. I'm not into rugby so I didn't know who he was the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Noel Gallagher. Sound fella and his wife is a hottie.

These lads waiting outside the Olympia in the rain probably didn't think so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Pele = legend
    Jacue Villeneuve
    Roy Keane
    Noel Gallagher
    Carl Cox :)
    Pete Tong
    Eva Langoria
    Anne Hathaway
    Richard Dawkins

Everyone has a Bono story: He told me and my mates on Cedarwood Road to fvck off when we were kids. We were only going to buy wham bars and cool pops in the snuff box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

American singer/song writer Conor Oberst is a bit of a hero of mine.

Stalked him for 3 days around London/Dublin and Belfast in 2013 - waited outside the Belfast gig for him and got friendly with one of his band mates who introduced us.
    Then got invited for drinks with them in a bar afterwards, sat with Conor drinking Guinness.

Even though I looked like a complete groupie and probably a bit of a loser I didn't care, it was a dream come true - still can't believe it happened :)

He is the only famous person I've met, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭MikeSD

Devin Toner told my friend to **** off 2 months ago. I must add, the whole Ireland team had been out in Galway that night, and it was 2.30 am at this stage. He was also trying to look after a less than sober Jordi Murphy :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭foleypio

MikeSD wrote: »
    Devin Toner told my friend to **** off 2 months ago. I must add, the whole Ireland team had been out in Galway that night, and it was 2.30 am at this stage. He was also trying to look after a less than sober Jordi Murphy :P

Glad I wasn't out that night. Probably would have ended up slapping the head off the lanky good for nothing toner.

Anyways lived beside tommy tiernan for a few years. Bit of a gob****e but at least he kept himself to himself.

Knew the keyboard player of the thrills, sound sound chap.

That's about it im afraid to say,couldnt give a crap about celeb culture in general.

Btw I call bull**** on that guy meeting mcoughney in the hills of Donegal when he was flaming. What the **** would he be doing up there with a married SJP.

I tell Ya one celeb Id Iike to meet though, that emilia Clarke from game of thrones. Fine but of stuff, she wouldn't need her dragons anymore after me I tell Ya

Oh I nearly forgot, saw Keira knightly & sienna Miller at a premiere once. Miller looked fit as **** but Keira was far too skinny