Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€38K for falling over after 10 pints

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭sjb25

lazza14 wrote: »
    She looks like a typical inbred knacker pile of sh*t thats living of claims and the dole.

Piece of sh*t scumbucket will just drink the 38k, her and her no doubt fat pile of shít husband...

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

osarusan wrote: »
    No, it means that she accepted that her consumption of 10 points contributed to the accident. She accepted that she was negligent also.

Well if she acknowledged than then she should have packed up her stuff and fecked off home, wasting the courts time

I stand corrected in may not have been 38K awarded.

If she was a member of the club she couldn't have sued as she'd be suing herself. Luckily ;);) She wasn't a member

bjork wrote: »
    Are I reading this bit right

David Dodd, counsel for the club, told the court that Ms Duffy’s legal team had consented to the defence being amended to include a claim of alleged contributory negligence on the grounds of the number of pints consumed on the night.

The club said "Well you've had 10 pints"
    And she said "Amend my defence to include the pub served me too much?"

No. The other way around. The defence was amended on consent to include the defence that there was contributory negligence on her part.

Her claim was for €38,000. In all the vitriol here and the outpouring of grief for those notable charities, insurance companies, with their armies of barristers, Solictors and detectives, does anyone know how much she got in the end?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Is there anything redeeming about her? Anything at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

She agreed she drank 10 pints and the Judge said if it was proved she was a member (she recalls filling in the form) the case would fall, then she settles?

Doubt she got anything near 38k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Misleading thread title is misleading.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭tritium

My guess is she was politely told how much the other sides legal fee would be when she lost, and then settled for a big zero.

Certainly what I hope happened

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

No. The other way around. The defence was amended on consent to include the defence that there was contributory negligence on her part.

Her claim was for €38,000. In all the vitriol here and the outpouring of grief for those notable charities, insurance companies, with their armies of barristers, Solictors and detectives, does anyone know how much she got in the end?

No, but I don't believe that in anyway affects my qualification to give a critical analysis on the complexities of negligence in tort law. Compo culture, judges out of touch, garlic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

...does anyone know how much she got in the end?

If it's anything, it's more than she deserves tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

What's with all the compo-claims threads lately?

Can we not find something else to get outraged by?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,305 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I'd need ten pints to fall into her.

Of fcuking ethanol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

wats her nam on pokerstars?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

endacl wrote: »
    Of fcuking ethanol!

Anyone got a loan of ten pints worth, and point my in the direction of a pub carpark with a pothole. I'll pay you back, twice over.

*disclaimer, I don't need a loan, or help finding potholes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

crockholm wrote:
    Is suing the Council/supermarket/club the main source of income for the majority of dublin females? Must be high up the list anyway,probably relegates fishmonger wife to number two.

Nobody make claims outside of the capital no?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

A 52-year-old housewife
    nice euphemism for a dole scrounger

• Registered Users Posts: 16,622 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Icepick wrote: »

???

Don't see how you think that is the logical conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

catallus wrote: »
    Misleading thread title is misleading.

Yeah, straight out of the Daily Mail school of journalism. Seemed to work though. A good lot believed that she actually got €38k and started sharpening their pitchforks.

38 k is peanuts, i coulda got her $1,000,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Icepick wrote: »

How the fcuk do you make out housewives are dole scroungers?
    You are obsessed, man! :pac:

Satriale wrote: »
    How the fcuk do you make out housewives are dole scroungers?
    You are obsessed, man! :pac:

To be fair...this one doesn't look like she holds down a job....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Clearly the money is better off in her pocket than providing amateur sports facilities for a community.

What's wrong with you people?

there's no way she drank ten pints

anncoates wrote: »
    Clearly the money is better off in her pocket than providing amateur sports facilities for a community.

What's wrong with you people?

The insurance company were going to build a sports facility for a community?

Where? When?

And how much did she get and what facility was lost?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Mr Dodd told Judge Linnane that Ms Duffy’s husband was an “absolute stalwart” of the club and his wife, who was also a member, frequently used it for social family occasions such as the birthday party she had arranged for her husband and other family functions.

I would love to see them go back there now.

Deserve all the abuse they hopefully get from their neighbours and those in their locality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Id say you would.

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    Id say you would.

i would if i had money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The insurance company were going to build a sports facility for a community?

Where? When?

And how much did she get and what facility was lost?

I'm sure the club's premiums will plummet after the payout.

Let's limit this to a short exchange, by the way. You seem to have lots of threads in which to go all interminable attack dog.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

anncoates wrote: »
    Let's limit this to a short exchange, by the way.

The night is young lads, dont be in any panic. There will be time after ye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Look at the size of her , it would be like throwing 10 pints into a barrel of sawdust

whupdedo wrote: »
    Look at the size of her , it would be like throwing 10 pints into a barrel of sawdust

said the actress to the bishop